Chair Source

Furniture
8305 jane st Vaughan ON L4K 5Y3
Write a Review
Write a Review
HomeStars
Furniture
Chair Source
Star Score
StarScore uses a complex algorithm which considers a company’s review ratings, responsiveness, reputation, and recency. Learn more.

32%

This is the average rating based on homeowner reviews.
This indicates how long it's been since the last review.
Indicates how well a pro reacts to reviews and review-related interactions with Homeowners.
How well a company responds to Service Requests and Reviews.
Reviews by rating (past 12 months)

Reviews for Chair Source

Average customer rating:
3 10 (21 reviews)

Sort by

Laura
Laura
8 reviews King City, ON
10/10

Kitchen chairs

Ordered 4 leather kitchen chairs. They arrived 4 months after they were expected, but the manager gave us similar chairs to use in the meantime and delivered the new chairs himself due to the inconvenience. Chairs we received are great and have had them for 2 years now, no issues. I am very surprised at all the negative reviews....

Approximate cost of services:
$1,000.00
What could this company do to improve their services?
Any advice to offer fellow homeowners facing a similar project?
Was this review helpful?
SF from Vaughan
SF from Vaughan
1 review Vaughan, ON
0/10

Recover of an Ottoman

Along with purchasing 2 chairs, Chair Source recovered an Ottoman for us in a cream leather. Upon delivery, we noticed a nick or slight gash on the top of the Ottoman. While the damaged area was not very large, we brought this to their attention and they sent someone to our house to patch it up. Neither my wife or I were satisfied with the job that was done and this was brought to their attention. After constantly being told that they could not see any damage and this is as good as it is going to get, my wife left the store with our damaged Ottoman, with clearly no-one caring at all. My wife was told on numerous occasions that we should be more concerned with the state of the legs than the leather covering - which completely blows my mind. She was also told that the customer is not always right and they will not be doing anything further in this regard. She asked to speak to the owner who was not available at the time, but upon leaving the store, another person came to speak to her and tried to appease the situation, and said that they will document what has happened, and should it get any worse, they will address it then. When she asked to speak to the owner again, she was told "you don't want to speak to them - they have less people skills than the other staff you have been dealing with".
Very reassuring to hear!!!!!
People - beware.... If you want to be treated like garbage, made to feel like you are meaningless and once they have taken your money, you are nothing to them, then this is the place to shop.
0/10 is a complimentary review for this disgusting store!

In response to Chair Source's response to us - firstly the "gash" was originally about a 1cm squared area, which was attempted to be patched up and repaired. The "repair" job was not done satisfactorily and this was pointed out to the rude sales staff at the Company. The damage is far from a "pin prick" in size, and at the end of the day, we are your customers who have paid you to do work for us. We are not satisfied in the quality of your work and more importantly, your disgustingly rude attitudes. For some reason, we are treated like we are in the wrong. To be told by your sales staff that the customer is not always right is a tribute to how much you care for your customers.
Business must be great for you guys if you don't care how you treat your customers, or if customers will return.

Approximate cost of services:
$1,500.00
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

This client brought us their ottoman to recover and purchased 2 custom chairs from our location. Both pieces were inspected and came out beautiful. The customer made us aware of what was described as a "gash" in the leatherette. This turned out to be a pin prick size mark on ottoman that I could not find until it was pointed out and even then could barely see it. I explained that if her concern was the worsening of this mark, I would be happy to make a note that if this should occurred, we will look after the situation. She wanted the entire ottoman recovered in fresh leatherette at our expense and unfortunately that could not be justified for what was an almost non existent mark. We do try to resolve all issues with clients to the best of our ability but some clients cannot be appeased and as such write angry reviews.

**Note to all consumers. Please take into account, when on sites like these, that Chair Source services over 2500 clients a year and has been doing so for over 20 years with only this handful of disgruntled clients. We have a beautiful showroom with helpful experienced staff. I have had dozens of clients attempt to post positive reviews but unless I pay Homestars a monthly "account management fee", they are NEVER posted. This is how they extort monies from honest businesses. Please do not support this site by posting or visiting them on line.

karen from Toronto
karen from Toronto
1 review Old Toronto, ON
1/10

2 living rm leather chairs

I found a grey chair - made of soft, fine leather with accent-coloured (possibly) hand-stitched pillows - in the showroom. The sale price was $999. The salesperson, Robert, said it was made in Turkey, available in brown, and I could have 2 for $849 each. Standing @ 6 ft away, on the far side of the sales counter, he held up a leather swatch. “How’s this?” The colour was perfect. When my son brought them home (Chair Source ‘does not deliver’), I was aghast. They felt terrible. At first, I thought the seat must be different, spoke to Robert on the phone, and took them back to the store. Robert wasn’t there when we dropped them off. When my son saw the one I’d fallen in love with (and I sat in it), we realized what was really the difference. My chairs did not have the same fine leather, the distinctive stitching on the pillows, and the same finishes.* My son said, “Your chairs feel like Pleather! Perhaps they’re knock-offs.” (*The leather on the arms of my chairs was not finished properly: rather than laying flat, on each of my chairs, one arm had leather sticking up a little at one corner. It poked your hand and looked cheap.) I called Robert the next day. He said, “It’s not the seats. I took them apart. They’re identical to the showroom chair.” I said, “I know. Sorry for steering you wrong and wasting your time.” Then I explained the differences. Robert checked out the showroom chair and said he’d talk to the ‘manufacturer.’ A couple days later, he said the manufacturer was coming into the store. I said, “From Turkey?” He said, “No. He’s in Toronto. He lives in Toronto.” If Robert was referring to a supplier, he managed to call this person ‘the manufacturer’ at least 5 times. A few days later, Robert said, “There’s nothing I can do.” When I said that I’d paid a lot of money for chairs that were so different from the model, he said, “$850 dollars is nothing for a chair. If I’d known you were going to be so picky, I wouldn’t have sold them to you.” Robert wasn’t there when I returned to pick up my 2nd-class chairs. Speaking to a different salesperson, I said, “I should have been informed that the brown leather would have a completely different treatment, look, and feel. Perhaps you should think about managing customers’ expectations.” My suggestion fell on obstinately deaf ears. I asked the owner, Nick, “So, it’s my tough luck if I got the [making a car analogy] Monday chair?” He shrugged and said, “Yep.” BOTTOM LINE: BUYER BEWARE. I won’t ever go back to Chair Source. RE THE STORE'S REPSONSE THAT FOLLOWS, ALL IS PRETTY MUCH TRUE – IF BY BELLIGERENT THEY MEAN LOUD- MOUTHED (THE FIRST TIME I CALLED, I TALKED NON-STOP AND CALLED BACK A COUPLE DAYS LATER TO APOLOGIZE. I KEPT MY COOL FROM THEN ON.). ROBERT COULDN'T LET GO OF THE FACT THAT I GOT THE PROBLEM WRONG ON FIRST SEEING MY CHAIRS. CAN'T REALLY BLAME HIM FOR BEING UPSET ABOUT WASTING HIS TIME LOOKING INSIDE A SEAT CUSHION (WHICH I ALSO APOLOGIZED FOR). BUT WHEN I SAID, I'D BEEN WRONG ABOUT WHY MY CHAIRS WERE DIFFERENT FROM THE FLOOR MODEL, HE DECIDED I DIDN'T WANT THE CHAIRS, WHICH WAS FAR FROM THE TRUTH. I JUST DIDN'T WANT TO BE SO SURPRISED AND DISAPPOINTED BY MY PURCHASE. AS FOR THE CO. BIT ABOUT A SHEET WITH COLOURS ON IT, I'VE NO CLUE WHAT THEY’RE TALKING ABOUT. I’M NOT SAYING ROBERT WAS TRYNG TO BE DECEPTIVE (HOW WOULD I KNOW?), BUT, WHY NO INTEREST IN TRYING TO MANAGE CUSTOMER EXPECTATIONS, AS I SUGGESTED?

Approximate cost of services:
$850.00
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Karen came into our showroom accompanied by her designer and selected a chair that she felt was comfortable and met her budget. She inquired as to other colours and was handed a sheet (not 6' away as indicated) with a cutting of all colours for both of them to feel and select from. A few days later, her designer ordered that chair in the top grain leather. The items arrived on time and in perfect condition and the client had her son pick them up. She then called me and became very loud and irate as she claimed the chairs did not sit right and that the foam in them was substandard compared to the floor model. I asked her to bring them back so I might investigate further and she did just that. Upon further inspection, I observed that there were no differences in the fill and when I called her to let her know, she informed me that it was the craftsmanship that was the issue. I once again compared the her chairs and the showroom models and called her to let her know that once again there were no differences. She then advise that is was now an issue with the leather standard. I had the supplier come in to confirm that this was indeed the same quality of leather which he did the following week. The client was belligerent and unreasonable from the first conversation and once informed that there was nothing wrong with chairs, she continued with such behavior. This client was given the exact item ordered, the exact colour chosen and the exact quality promised. I believe this was more a case of buyers' remorse then "substandard product".**Note to all consumers. Please take into account, when on sites like these, that Chair Source services over 2500 clients a year and has been doing so for over 20 years with only this handful of disgruntled clients. We have a beautiful showroom with helpful experienced staff. I have had dozens of client attempt to post positive reviews but unless I pay Homestars a monthly "account management fee", they are NEVER posted. This is how they extort monies from honest businesses. Please do not support this site by posting or visiting them on line.

B. Franciszkiewicz from Concord
B. Franciszkiewicz from Concord
1 review Concord, ON
0/10

glasstop bar table

After 18 months the top glass came off by itself!!! lucky for them nobody get hurt. We were told somebody will call after 1-3 days. Nobody did. After 2 weeks we called and the general manager said we will pay for delivery or parts additional 40 dol. After 5 weeks I asked for refund but there is no refund after warranty (1 year!) and you pay for everything even if it was a manufacture defect . The table top came off- no signs of abuse , no scratches and we were told this was our fault (????) because the top shouldn´t come off. When I complained about services (no communication from their part, we always called them!) and telling about writing this review, the general manager said nobody cares about reviews, nobody reads them only people like we. When asked about the owner, he said he is the person to deal with. So be aware : before you buy you get coffee and smiles , when there is a problem - totally different story. After 1 year warranty - garbage or pay for replacement!

Approximate cost of services:
$380.00
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

This client brought in a 2 year old bar table on September 18th with a glass top that had been broken off it's mount. I gave her a service document and emailed the supplier regarding the situation. About a week later, I contacted the client and informed them that the item was over it's warranty period but I would be happy to have the part shipped in from LA for $40 in order to resolve the issue...they accepted this resolution. They arrived on October 19th and refused to pay for the service, grew increasingly agitated and were very loud in the showroom. I gave them the option of paying for the part or leaving with their table in its original state of disrepair. They chose to pay and leave with a fully repaired item. I did explain to them that it is not plausible that a glass top fused to a metal puck would simply slide off without any outside interference or pressure on their part but her response was that Costco would take it back...**Note to all consumers. Please take into account, when on sites like these, that Chair Source services over 2500 clients a year and has been doing so for over 20 years with only this handful of disgruntled clients. We have a beautiful showroom with helpful experienced staff. I have had dozens of client attempt to post positive reviews but unless I pay Homestars a monthly "account management fee", they are NEVER posted. This is how they extort monies from honest businesses. Please do not support this site by posting or visiting them on line.

akh in Toronto
akh in Toronto
2 reviews TORONTO, ON
10/10

6 dining room chairs

I'm surprise to read some of the reviews below. After a 6 month search for dining room chairs we finally found them at this store. We returned twice before we made our final decision and the staff person who helped us was very knowledgeable and helpful.
The store does offer delivery through an outsource company (ours was $80 to downtown Toronto) which is pretty much the same with every other store we've bought furniture from. So no surprises there.
Our chairs came on time and in excellent condition - and we're very happy with them!

Approximate cost of services:
$1,800.00
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

**Note to all consumers. Please take into account, when on sites like these, that Chair Source services over 2500 clients a year and has been doing so for over 20 years with only this handful of disgruntled clients. We have a beautiful showroom with helpful experienced staff. I have had dozens of client attempt to post positive reviews but unless I pay Homestars a monthly "account management fee", they are NEVER posted. This is how they extort monies from honest businesses. Please do not support this site by posting or visiting them on line.

Ed in Stittsville
Ed in Stittsville
11 reviews Toronto, ON
2/10

Table and Chairs

Lovely building. Great selection.
NO DELIVERY....I repeat...NO DELIVERY.
Some of the staff are very rude.
Very poor qulaity control...you are basically on your own, so beware.
I would NOT return or recommend.

Approximate cost of services:
$3,000.00
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

This client purchased a table and chairs from our store and when it arrived was called to let him know of their arrival and to give him the opportunity to inspect them prior to receiving the product which we delivered at no charge to him. He refused to inspect and hung up on the associate. There ended up being a defect on the product that was noticed after delivery. We immediatley ordered a replacement which at this point the client had to pay to be delivered as was instructed to him via the origianl phone call.

Derek Faulconer in Whitby
Derek Faulconer in Whitby
2 reviews WHITBY, ON
1/10

Living room furniture

I found exactly what I wanted, but didn't realize they don't deliver so I rented a truck and crossed the city to get my items. They didn't warn me to unpack them and check them thoroughly as one of the chairs was defective when I got home. Little did I know that they expected me to get the item back to the store myself and worse, they send the item off to the manufacturer and I'm supposed to wait for the manufacturer to decide if he will replace the item. Then they send the replacement to the store and I have to go get it!!!!
Beware - if you buy anything from Chair Source, you better make them unpack it and throughly check it before you take it away. Especially if you live a fair distance away, like I do.
I don't think I have ever told anyone to avoid a store, but this would be the first. They had absolutely no care what-so-ever about the inconvenience I was put through by way of their policy. I hold them responsible for not warning me that they don't actually provide any acceptable service for a defective product they pass on to the unsuspecting consumer

Approximate cost of services:
$3,000.00
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

This client was given excellant service, his product arrived in a matter of days and as he had arranged for a truck and was clearly told he would have to pick up that was not an issue. He and a friend inspected the product prior to leaving our warehouse and damaged it on route. We do ask clients who are picking up product to inspect in order to avoid these issues. I did however offer him an exchange without question but required the defective product back in order to do so. This was unacceptable to him and he never returned the item for exchange.

Sheena in Toronto
Sheena in Toronto
1 review TORONTO, ON
0/10

Kitchen Chairs

I purchased my kitchen chairs from ChairSource, despite my friends advising me against it and they came in in the wrong colour. I told my salesrep John about it and he said that there was nothing that could be done. He said that the colour on the Purchase Order was the same as the chairs...but it was written as a code in numbers so I had no idea when I signed it. They refused to change the chairs or do anything about it. I even spoke to ROB the manager who was rude and abnoxious and doesnt care about customers. He told me that I was wrong and I was changing my mind about the colour. He told me that his staff is trained well and that they do everything by the book, so if the colour that the chairs came in as was the colour that I ordered.

BOTTOM LINE - DO NOT PURCHASE FROM THIS PLACE - THEY DO NOT CARE ABOUT CUSTOMERS!

Approximate cost of services:
$2,000.00
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

This client did purchase chairs and a custom bench from our location and unfortunatley changed her mind on the placement of fabrics once the items came in. She did sign a purchse order which clearly shows that it was made correctly and we did offer to redo the items at the cost to us to do so. She agreed and once completed never paid the balance or picked up her chairs even after several attempts to contact her. They are still here in stock and have been all along.

The reviews on this page are the subjective opinion of the Author and not of HomeStars Inc.
Company profile information is not moderated by HomeStars. Ask the contractor to verify before hiring.
Looking for Furniture pros in Concord?