Avonlea Kitchen & Bathroom Concepts

Bathroom Renovation
1980 Danforth Avenue Toronto ON M4C 1J6
Write a Review
Write a Review
HomeStars
Bathroom Renovation
Avonlea Kitchen & Bathroom Concepts
Star Score
StarScore uses a complex algorithm which considers a company’s review ratings, responsiveness, reputation, and recency. Learn more.

95%

This is the average rating based on homeowner reviews.
This indicates how long it's been since the last review.
Low reputation means there has been review tampering or a company request to remove a review. This score is also impacted when we do not have enough information i.e: low number of reviews.
How well a company responds to Service Requests and Reviews.
Reviews by rating (past 12 months)

Reviews for Avonlea Kitchen & Bathroom Concepts

Average customer rating:
9.8 10 (90 reviews)

Sort by

Anna from Toronto
Anna from Toronto
4 reviews Toronto, ON
10/10

Bathroom renovation

John and his team recently renovated our upstairs bathroom and also installed a shower in our basement bathroom. We are thrilled with the outcome and it is beautiful. The renovation was on time, on budget and very professional. We liked the convenience of purchasing some of the products directly from John's store. We made a few changes along the way, such as adding an additional pot light and a shower shelf, which they easily accommodated. We will definitely consider John when we eventually renovate our kitchen.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you for your kind review Anna. It is always nice to hear that we have met those very important criteria that leads to a smooth renovation - on time, on budget, and professional. It was a pleasure to work for you and we would love to be considered when you eventually renovate your kitchen. But for the moment, enjoy that bathroom!

Cindy
Cindy
4 reviews Toronto, ON
10/10

Master bathroom renovation

This is the second time I've used Avonlea and again I had a terrific experience. They are on-time, on-budget, reliable, knowledgeable, friendly, experienced professionals who get it done and get it done right! My experiences with them have been the smoothest renovations I've ever experienced and I wouldn't hesitate to recommend them.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you for the positive feedback Cindy. It has been a pleasure to work for you on both occasions.

Love My House in Toronto
Love My House in Toronto
1 review Toronto, ON
2/10

Nice people, horrible project managers, and leave you hanging at the last minute

We chose this company for their experience with older homes, their positive HomeStars reviews, and the fact that the one owner we met - John - seemed like a nice guy. Sadly they 'broke up' with us at the last minute because we purchased a tub and coils for radiant heat from a different source, yet they didn't try to sell us anything. There was minimal communication leading up to the reno and a 'don't do' approach to the few ideas we shared (rather than a 'can do' approach). I would not recommend them if you want a reliable contractor who is going to show up and not cancel the day you are supposed to start a long-awaited and overdue reno. We are disappointed and wish to warn everyone to expect little to no contact with these people. They are simply not a good match for anyone who doesn't know all the steps of a reno on their own. You're pretty much solo for the entire time leading up to the reno, and then judged on whether you followed unspoken rules re: purchasing materials. Big Ugh!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Your input and feedback is important to us and we thank you for taking the time to post your experience.
Avonlea strives to keep all of their customers happy and we take all comments and reviews seriously.
I would like to take the chance to comment on some of your points.
There was a larger issue that I feel I should point out.
We had a job description and a timetable for the complete job to be done which we had agreed upon. Very close to the start date I was told by the customer that she had found other people willing to do portions of the job (or piecemeal as she put it) and did not require all of our services. In other words this job would be shared between different contractors and Avonlea would be on and off the job as she required.
Such a significant change in the job description at such a late stage in the process affects our overall company schedule and will have an impact on all of our other customers through potential delays. As a result this can put their start dates at risk. We are committed to fulfilling our time lines with all of our customers.
When I expressed my concerns about this revised need of our services I was asked by them to return the deposit which of course I did. I was anticipating more of a dialogue where we might be able to come to some mutually agreeable terms.
It is very rare that we take a “can’t do” approach because most things can be done. What we do is give advice to customers based on our knowledge and experience and we understand that many of our customers rely on this for guidance. We will also explain the pricing, complications, positives, negatives etc. which are not always in line with what a customer wants to hear. We let the customer make the final decision.
Our customers are always welcome to buy their product from whatever source they choose. We have gotten a lot of positive feedback from our customers over the years because they are free to purchase their product from any source of their choosing. We only ask that if they do buy their product from another source that they have it at their house on the first day that we start the job. This is simply because we don’t normally have the manpower to pick up product from various sources across the city. Of course exceptions are made but these are the general guidelines we try and follow.
In this particular case the customer was made aware of these general guidelines but still insisted that we pick up their bathtub from a supplier that is outside of our work area. I reminded them how it would be difficult for us to do.
In terms of the heating coil for the floor, the only interaction I had with them was advising them of the correct size to purchase.
With regards to communication leading up to the job, we are always available by phone or email for any advice including purchasing any product from any store. We explain the renovation process at the outset and then play a supporting role based on the particular needs of the customer. If Effie or Michael had any unanswered questions or concerns they could have been easily answered with an email or phone call to us.
We are truly sorry that Effie and Michael were unhappy with their experience with us.
We will certainly review our own procedures to see if there is anything we can do minimize the chance of a similar situation happening again.

Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Toronto, ON
10/10

Bathroom renovation in old Toronto home

Our bathroom was a total mess! A mixture of old an new plumbing, old and even older fixtures, a sagging floor, we knew it would be a challenge finding a company we could trust to turn our vision into a reality. Avonlea was without a single doubt that company. From the first encounter with John, we knew that we were in good hands.

John guided us every step of the way, from the initial consultation down to product advice. He was fully transparent, providing options at every stage and managed our expectations perfectly. Additionally, John and his team were adaptable to last minute changes - and requests - to our design.

The team demonstrated amazing patience and support when the project had to be suspended owing to municipal work, which was totally unforeseen and outside the control of either party. A lesser company would have added to our stress when the city decided to close the street, but John and his crew reassured us that everything would be fine (which it was!).

The worksite was left clean and tidy each day, and John provided us with regular updates.

We would without hesitation recommend this company and would use Avonlea again if we had the opportunity. It was a real pleasure from start to finish!

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you for the great review. We were able to come up with an action plan for you when the city unexpectedly closed your street for a couple of weeks mid-renovation. Thank you for working with us to overcome this obstacle. It was a pleasure to work with you.

Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Mississauga, ON
10/10

Bathroom Reno

Thank you for an superb effort and workmanship on my bathroom. Everything looks more than wonderful. The entire bathroom looks terrific and was completed flawlessly and without any issue. I would happily recommend this company for anyone seeking to upgrade their bathroom with no problems.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you so much for the review. We love to make people happy in their new bathrooms and I am glad we were able to achieve this goal.

Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Toronto, ON
10/10

Kitchen Renovation

I hired Avonlea to completely gut and redo my kitchen. This was a big job. My house is a small upper beach semi, with the kitchen on the back of the original 1920's structure. They took out the original brick wall between kitchen and dining room, moved stack and plumbing, levelled (as much as possible) a floor, ceiling and walls where no original angle was at 90 degrees. My kitchen looks amazing now. They did such great work. Excellent workmanship, so much patience and good advice. I had complete trust in them and would recommend hands down to anyone.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Wow, what a glowing review. It is very much appreciated and it was a pleasure working for you. We strive to be the company that you have described and I am happy we have met our goals.

Chris from Toronto
Chris from Toronto
6 reviews Toronto, ON
10/10

Kitchen renovation

We hired Avonlea, a local company, to gut our old kitchen and install a new one. We love our new kitchen and appreciate how responsive, tidy and helpful Avonlea's team was throughout the process. Avonlea's suggestions helped us keep within our budget. Very glad we chose this company to work on our home.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you Chris. It was a pleasure to work with you. I am glad we were able to meet your expectations.

Vik in Toronto
Vik in Toronto
8 reviews Toronto, ON
10/10

After Sales Support

Avonlea did our bathroom renovation about 5 years ago, we still love the work they did. This note is to commend them for their after sales support -- they stand behind their work and their customers years after the job is done!

Here's what happened: I required a replacement cartridge for the shower system they installed. First, I tried to source it myself but was unable to find it online anywhere. Next I called the local plumbing company to replace it, but they also informed that they could not source the cartridge (the shower system had been discontinued) but offered to install a new shower system for $1360.

In a last ditch effort, I decided to contact John to see if he could point us in the right direction. He was able to check his files from 2010, told us the exact model number of our shower system, and even a direct contact number for the manufacturer! A week later I had the $30 replacement cartridge in hand and did the installation myself. Happy ending! $1330 saved.

Thanks again John.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

It's great to hear that were were able to save you that much money. I am so glad we were able to be of assistance in tracking down the needed part. It has been a pleasure helping you out.

JSC from East York
JSC from East York
2 reviews Toronto, ON
10/10

Bathroom Renovation

Avonlea did a bathroom renovation in my 75-year old house that involved moving the doorframe to give me more space, gutting the entire bathroom and replacing everything. Though I wasn’t sure about believing online reviews, every good thing I read about this company is true. They were organized, honest and straightforward every step of the way. The job began and finished on time. All my questions were answered thoroughly and immediately. Gabriel cleaned up at the end of every working day, so the disruption/mess that usually comes with a renovation was minimal. Most importantly, the final result speaks for itself. The new bathroom is exactly what I asked for, and the finishes are flawless because Gabriel went above and beyond to make sure everything was perfect. I don’t have a single negative thing to say about this experience, and I’ll certainly have Avonlea back to do my kitchen in the future.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

It was a pleasure creating the bathroom that you envisioned. Your satisfaction is what motivates us each day. Please do call us when the time comes for the kitchen. We would love to work with you again!

Heather Simpson from Toronto
Heather Simpson from Toronto
1 review Toronto, ON
10/10

Bathroom and Kitchen

A year ago Avonlea completed my kitchen reno. They were great to work with and I love the finished product. I have just had them back to do my bathroom and again I am very pleased. They are incredibly tidy and conscientious of looking after the rest of the house, garbage doesn't sit around and they worked fast. I have had several people through my house and all have commented on the quality of the tile work (I'm totally in love with my floors).

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you for your kind review. We enjoy working for you and have now completed both your kitchen and your bathroom. I am glad you are happy with the work. Your bathroom floor did turn out beautifully.

The reviews on this page are the subjective opinion of the Author and not of HomeStars Inc.

More about Avonlea Kitchen & Bathroom Concepts

WE SPECIALIZE IN THE OLDER HOMES OF TORONTO and are a full service kitchen & bathroom renovation company that is able to handle all aspects of your renovation including the specialized knowledge required for older homes.
Company profile information is not moderated by HomeStars. Ask the contractor to verify before hiring.
Looking for Bathroom Renovation pros in Toronto?