Ashton Renovations

Bathroom Renovation
14 Black Willoway Toronto ON M2J 2A8
Write a Review
Write a Review
Star Score
StarScore uses a complex algorithm which considers a company’s review ratings, responsiveness, reputation, and recency. Learn more.


This is the average rating based on homeowner reviews.
This indicates how long it's been since the last review.
Low reputation means there has been review tampering or a company request to remove a review. This score is also impacted when we do not have enough information i.e: low number of reviews.
How well a company responds to Service Requests and Reviews.
Reviews by rating (past 12 months)
Verified by HomeStars

Reviews for Ashton Renovations

Average customer rating:
9.5 10 (89 reviews)

Sort by

2 reviews Toronto, ON

Beaches Bathroom Renovation

Ashton Renovations removed the existing bathroom fixtures and drywall, reversed the position of the bath, replaced the fixtures, installed underfloor heating and completed painting and tiling. They kept the impact on the rest of the house to a minimum, keeping things clean and tidy. They were respectful of the house and out family when coming and going which was very important to us with a young child in the house. We are pleased with the quality of the tub, vanity, toilet and sink they installed and the underfloor heating has made a big difference in the room.
There was a miscommunication regarding target completion dates which led to a time crunch with some of the final aspects and some touch-ups were required, but overall we are happy with our new bathroom and it is a significant improvement on the old one.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thanks Shane. The home made quite a transformation. We appreciate your referral to your sister-in-law.

Kathy E.
Kathy E.
1 review Toronto, ON

Bathroom & Laundry Room Renovation

This is my second project with Ashton Renovations. I live in a two story condo and for this project had the bathroom and laundry room done. Both rooms were completely gutted to the concrete. I chose porcelain tile for the floors and tub surround. The tilers did an excellent job. It is very satisfying to see the tiles all lined up perfectly. Mark sent me to Domenic at Taps who was excellent and helped me pick out a tub, toilet, faucets etc. I am happy with the fixtures and got what I wanted at a reasonable price. Mark uses top tradespeople who are professional, polite and good at their jobs. I am not experienced with home renovations so I rely on Mark to steer me in the right direction when it comes to products and finishes to select. He is a good resource and I am very satisfied with the project. I would recommend Ashton Renovations and in fact, have recommended his company to relatives who used him for their kitchen reno. Thanks for another great job, Mark!

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you Kathy. We hope you enjoy the new laundry room and bathroom.

Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Toronto, ON

Main Fl

Two years ago we completed a basement renovation with Mark and his team. The renovation went extremely well and the finished product was well worth the inconvenience that comes with a renovation. So when we decided we were going to do a complete renovation of our main floor, we didn't hesitate to contact Ashton Renovations. This renovation involved opening up the main floor of a century old home, installing a new kitchen, new floors, new plumbing and electrical. As usual, Mark was responsive to our many questions and the finished product is...well...just look at the photos - Spectacular. Mark - thanks again for all your work in truly transforming our home.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thanks for the compliments. We too enjoyed working with your family and hope you enjoy stereo system on the main floor.

Lesley Laurence from Toronto
Lesley Laurence from Toronto
1 review Toronto, ON

Bathroom renovation

We hired Ashton Renovations in the spring of 2015 to do a complete renovation of our main bathroom in our 80 year old house. We met with Mark a couple of times before work began to have him assess our needs and present a design. Mark and his team promptly began work in May, 2015. Mark's team installed tarps to telescopic poles located outside our bathroom threshold and tarped our entire staircase and front hall to protect our flooring from any damage. The demolition team was efficient and completed their work within 2 days and hauled the debris away. We had discussed our concerns about having a refuse bin parked in our driveway (as we have a shared driveway and this would inconvenience our neighbours). Mark agreed to work around that and the demo team filled their truck with the debris instead. The demo team left our house clean and tidy. Going into this project, we knew that we would have to take the room right down to the exterior walls as there was not insulation installed when the house was constructed. Mark stepped us through the whole process and he was very responsive to our questions that arose during construction. Using Mark's expertise and contacts with the suppliers provided us with great comfort that the job was progressing well. The contact at TAPs helped up to select the correct fixtures for our space and we are extremely satisfied with the quality of the products and the installation of the fixtures. We did run into an issue when the tile we had selected was not available but we had secondary choices that worked well and we are very happy with the end result of our bathroom. It is the most solid room in our house with new studs, insulation, drywall and tiling. Our cast iron radiator was moved to a better position to allow us to have a slightly larger vanity. The appropriate HVAC specialist was used to move the pipes and install a new rad. Mark was very easy to work with and accommodated our needs. Renovation is no easy process. It can take longer than expected and there are always a few bumps along the way, but we are extremely happy with Ashton Renovations and the workmanship they provided. We completely love our new bathroom. We will definitely contact Mark for our next renovation for our kitchen.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank-you Lesley. We appreciate your comments and are thrilled that you are enjoying your new bathroom. We look forward to helping you on your next project.

Mark Ashton

catherine from Toronto
catherine from Toronto
5 reviews Toronto, ON

kitchen, Bathroom&Converted Garage Renovation

We are the owners of a 1 &1/2 story 1950's Bungalow.
This has been our home for the past 16 years.
As homeowners of several properties over the years, both my wife and I have experienced the process of home renovation , all have been successful and were taken to completion without incident.
We are returning to HomeStars to review Ashton a Division of 8777392 Ontario Inc. , as our "nightmarish" experience continues since hiring this renovation company last year.
Renovation plans for 3 rooms included our 12' x 20' kitchen dinning area, our second story 6'x9' bathroom . the third room, the attached garage 9'x 18 room ,open and adjacent to our kitchen. This room had been converted to a living space by the previous owner .
We found Aston Renovations on HomeStars. We were impressed with their many positive reviews. We were also impressed by their website. A small family business with a page dedicated to "Why Hire Us" " Good workmanship takes time, patience and pride. We are detail oriented & use the best and most durable materials in order to avoid costly future repairs" The website also features photos and bios of two "experienced " carpenters. In March /2014 , on their on-line blog this company claimed that they now use a virtually dust free device on lal of their home renovations. The Festool Planex LHS 205. Dust was a huge concern for us as we both suffer from Asthma.
During the initial meeting that took place in our home , Mark presented himself as the CEO. He also explained that he would also be acting as Project manager for our renovation.
He assured us on more than one occasion , that considering the scope of work , we did not need to apply for permits.
He also told us we had a healthy maximum budget , as long as we stayed within his guide lines with regards to to the amount spent on such items such as the new kitchen cabinets, flooring options, plumbing fixtures, new replacement windows etc. everything would be fine.
We expressed our design ideas & that we knew exactly what we wanted in terms of function and design , we just needed someone to walk us through the entire process from beginning to end . At this point in time , Mark appeared to be a good fit for renovation.
We signed a firm Price Quotation in March 2014.
We found it strange that a series of " door & window salesmen began calling , wanting to come to our home to give us a quote....
We sat through a few appointments & however these salemen did not have suitable product . We contacted Mark with our concerns , yet another saleman appeared, his quote was high & he did not have the basic product or style we were looking for. We felt it was a better option to locate our own window supplier , arrange measure , order , pay for and arrange installation dates.
In our opinion , this was the first red flag .
Our Renovation began as scheduled on May 3rd/ 2014.
We made arrangements to move out of our home during the renovation process.
In our opinion, multiple red flags appeared as soon as reconstruction phase of our home began.
We were disappointed in the lack of communication and consultation on key construction issues.
We were shocked at the poor workmanship and unsuitable choices in materials applied to our home.
Whenever we approached Mark with our concerns, he would become defensive.
On May 8th, days into the renovation, we were notified of a change Order for an additional $13,114.00.
Several onsite meetings took place to discuss this substantial increase.In our opinion the explanation offered up was vague. Our key questions were not really answered. We were simply told that this was "normal" and reassured that we would be happy with the end results. We requested suggestions on how to get our budget back on track, he suggested cancelling our pantry wall of kitchen cabinets or we could live without a bathroom medicine cabinet for a year until we saved up some more money.
At this point we felt we had no other choice but to agree to this increase and hope that the remaining renovation would be completed as per our contract.
The newly revised Labour Contract was now $72,101.00.
By June 26/2014 we had paid Ashton Renovations $54,650.00 in Labour & 5,320.00 for materials fro a total of $71,966.00 including HST.
In our opinion , following the meeting to discuss the increase , this was the point that our renovation completely fell off the rails.
Many onsite meetings took place throughout the summer months , in an attempt to get our renovation back on track. Whenever our concerns with the poor quality of the workmanship were brought to Mark's attention he became increasingly defensive.
Our specific requests were ignored, he continued do things the way he thought was best...
In the early stages we notified Mark that the "Big Box Store" Install Team had been scheduled for their first measure of the kitchen area . He told us it was not part of his job to be present for this measure. He ignored several invitations from our Kitchen Designer to meet and review our kitchen layout plans. He became very defensive & refused to have the drywall in place as requested by the Cabinet Install Team . He insisted that they should measure and then subtract the depth of the drywall from their calculations. Onsite meetings revealed his plans to cut holes in our newly installed $18,000. kitchen cabinet uppers, rather than run the vent pipe in the space behind the crown moulding , as suggested by the Big Box Store reps. The day the cabinets arrived we received a phone call from the Delivery Company Dispatch ... informing us that the Ashton Renovation Trade on-site , refused to help carry one large corner cabinet box into our home... due to a disability.

It was in these early stages that WE felt we had no other choice but to step in. My wife stepped into this role , as she was already involved with the design and function aspects of our renovation . I did not have the time ,as my work requires my full attention.
With each visit to our home we were sicken by another "surprise" , or another disappointment in the poor quality of workmanship applied to our home.
One day she arrived to hear yelling and screaming coming from inside our home ... the "carpenter" had been left alone while operating a wet saw. He was attempting cut the concrete blocks in the doorway to the garage room... she alerted the other trade of his cries for help ... immediately after the incident he appeared angry ,upset and shaken . He described how he almost lost his arm in the ordeal.
We began to receive calls & complaints from neighbours with concerns about the strange activity taking place at our home.
We would drop in usually at the end of my work day (4pm).. one day we found a child siting in our staircase while Mark and his little brother grouted. He could be heard shouting out the upstairs window , calling for the "carpenter" to get back to work... we received several complaints from our neighbours concerning one trade. He was spending his days hanging out in their yard &it had goo ten so invasive that the had to politely ask him to leave. We live in a neighbour with many renovations taking place ... in our opinion the unprofessional work ethics taking place at at our home caused us a great deal of concern. Load blasting music , the main trade always with one ear on a cell phone while he was working or not. No protective safety gear worn ... we were informed of dangerous incidents such as bricks falling on his head while working by himself . Mark and his trades continually complained about our neighbours & accused them of spying or video taping while they tried to work.
We were told that the trades were feeling uneasy therefore their safety was compromised . In our opinion the more we saw & heard from "carpenter " working on our home .. the more we questioned their capabilities. WE stood by and listened them to debate & argue if things were going to fit or not . The "carpenter" was constantly told to stop talking and get back to work.
Mark had the electrical roughed in the way he thought it should be ... rather than the way it had been laid our by our Kitchen Designer. He now told us he was also a Kitchen Designer.
Another example of an issue : We had supplied lists of all plumbing products prior to order placed , for Mark's review , one item purchased was a high end shower system ($1,300). This system included a beautiful rain shower head . On the day of the plumbing rough in , we were informed by Mark that he felt the rain shower head did not suit the shower area.. We told him we wanted it regardless of their opinion. It was the look we wanted in our small bathroom. He then informed us we would have to purchase another diverter for the shower head to function. We requested a price quote for required diverter. Our multiple requests for this price were ignored. He proceeded have to wall & tile the shower without installing the shower head. In October of 2014 , while reviewing documentation , the plumbing supplier sales rep .confirmed that he had included the extra valve required in our original order. We had paid for it and he confirmed delivery to our home. The rain shower head in question and the valve cannot be located anywhere in our home.
The two "experience ' carpenters featured on their website were never to our home.
To our knowledge Dust Free Festool was not used for our renovation. Rather a squeaky hand held stick with sand paper attached at one end.
We felt we had to apply protective paper covering to our newly laid hardwood floor and plastic over newly installed windows . Mark did not feel this was necessary .
To add to our growing concerns we were finding additional damage to our home. Examples: the front entry door casting was damaged during a sheet rock delivery , along with our foyer light fixture. We were told he would have it hammered back into shape. However the metal casting had been severed leaving a razor sharp edge exposed. Mark eventually agreed to have the casing replaced and promised to cover the cost. the quote came in at approx. $700.00. He did not keep his word , it was not replaced. At some point his "trade" attempted to put our side by side refrigerator back together ... they reinstalled the door hinges backward ... it appeared they had attempted to push the appliance into the custom cabinetry space, however it would not fit , as the backward hinges were protruding.... his pushing efforts left large dents on both doors, missing lower panel, they left fridge left sitting in the middle of kitchen floor.
By July -August, in our opinion , the renovation had virtually ground to a halt. We requested a work plan or schedule of some sort to see how this job was gong to be taken to completion. We needed to move back into our home.
We have up to 50 emails illustrating our many attempts to take this job to completion.
We felt we did everything possible in an effort to take this job to completion.
We were at the end of our rope ... What turned out to be our final on-site meeting with Mark took place mid Sept /2014.
During this meeting we reviewed all of the deficiencies in the workmanship & the work not completed as per our contract. We also discussed multiple charges listed that we did not understand . One example of this type of charge : $2,644.00 for a light fixture in the garage room. Mark explained how he had "designed" an elaborate hanging rectangular light fixture hung with chains . He explained it would take several trades to install this item. We had no idea what he was talking about.
He also reassured us that when the renovation was complete we would sit down and and review and adjust all charges line by line. This review did not take place. This charge and many other unexplained charges remained on the contract.
During this meeting we informed Mark that we felt it it was necessary to hold back the last invoice of $5,000.00. We needed to see something , ANYTHING taken to completion as outlined in our contract.He became very defensive and told us if this was the case then someone by the name of "Alan" would be contacting us. We asked who this "Alan" was? We were told he was sort of ,or kind of a part of the company .
The following evening we did receive a call from an"Alan".
He informed us he was now in charge of our renovation . Mark was no longer on the project. He continued by hurling insults and disparaging remarks , aimed at my wife. He outlined his intentions & his plan of action, if we did not pay up.We were given the weekend to think about it. If we did decide to deliver a certified check for $5,000.00 he would arrange an on-site meeting to survey the "alleged" work to be completed.
We foolishly decided to deliver the $5,000.00 cert cheque as per Alan's suggestions . At the time, we were extremely stressed and pressured , are only hope that this would take our renovation to completion.
Alan did not come to our home... a new set of rules were now in place. He told us he had sat down with "his boys" to discuss the "alleged " scope of work to be completed.
We were not allowed to be present in our own home during scheduled work dates, specifically my wife . They had decided I was OK.
He informed us of a scheduled work date for the following Friday. This 1/2 day work day resulted in further damage to our home. We received an email with photos of the "mishap".
It appeared that during attempted installation of our Restoration Hardware Steel Medicine Cabinet had been dropped or had fallen? The "mishap" resulted in damage to our Custom Console Sink ($600.00) damage to our new high end Rowe & Perrin Faucet Set($800.00) and multiple scratches to the finish of our new RH Cabinet (600.00) .... The following day we returned to our home to see the damage , when we attempt to contact Alan, to discuss the situation. He responded by saying "not a good time , I'm about to Tee Off.
Despite another email offering re-order information of the damaged items ... he did not respond & the damaged items were not re-ordered nor replaced.
When the Medicine Cabinet had been delivered back in June , we had requested that it be attached or tapped into a wood stud due to it's 35lb weight. My wife was told she "worried too much" & they had installed one "just like it the week before" using plugs. We were assured that in fact a suitable stud did exist and they had taken a photo of this stud prior to new dry wall installation. When we asked to see this photo ... we were told it could not be located . We had supplied a template to illustrate of the desired door swing direction , we sent photos and emails to confirm ... yet the Medicine Cabinet was installed upside down , wall plugs were used , the safety cable and brackets were not applied. The safety cable left hanging , the safety bracket attachment that came with the RH medicine cabinet , found in the box of construction debris left outside the bathroom door.
With Alan now in charge , we made an attempt to call Mark but he would not engage in conversation & suggested we contact "Alan" from this point forward.
We were instructed by "Alan " to now communicate by email only , no more phone contact allowed.
A second "exclusive " work date was arranged by "Alan", this resulted in further "mishaps"within our home. Unapproved under cabinet lighting was poorly installed , bathroom sconces were installed upside down , the bathroom ceiling light was not working after installation of the new ceiling fixture .
None of the previously discussed deficiencies were addressed.
Following receiving the last and what could only be described as another "bully" email . We felt it was time to contact our Licensed Lawyer, The City of Toronto Licensing Dept, the Electrical Saftey Authority , The College of Trades, the Consumer Protection Board & the Metro Police Dept.
All have sent Inspectors and or Licensed Officers to our home. They all have taken reports, photos, and documented their findings.
The ESA informed us that the final inspection had been cancelled. They immediately sent an Inspector to our home.
As it was left , it did not pass final inspection. The Inspector sternly suggested that the electrical company sub-contracted by Mark , return to complete some of the work, enough to make our home safe. The Final Electrical Inspection was re- scheduled with the ESA.
During the initial electrical rough in Mark had contacted us and told us we did not need an inspection , however considering the replacement of old wiring it might be an idea to have one. If we wanted to have the electrical inspected he would have to charge us an extra $300.00 . Of course we wanted an inspection and agree to the charge.
We moved back into our home on October 8th /2014.
we returned home to no heat source in the back room ( the cast iron rad still sits in our backyard, no running water in the kitchen, no stove ,no new gas line for range, dishwasher not hooked up , range vent hood not installed , holes in the kitchen ceiling , holes cut too large for most all of the newly installed pot lights, pot light over sink installed 10" off centre. Exposed wires , incomplete outlets some located inside kitchen lower cabinets? no back splash , cable capped off and hanging from kitchen ceiling in wrong location . One cast iron rad not re-installed not in requested original position, now sits off centre & too close to new pantry wall. We cannot access the valve for annual maintenance .. the valve now drips water . No safety barrier to a 42" drop to garage room , garage room left unfinished, No stairs,, no flooring... veneered wood used for threshold the new garden doors. At some point were were informed that paint ready walls did not include prime coat.... all badly seamed and mudded walls now exposed. None of the many deficiencies had been addressed as discussed during our final on site meeting with Mark. Our bathroom was/still is unusable. With the approx price tag of $29,000.00 ( this does not include the cost of the faucet, shower system, toilet, tub , sink, lighting, or tile .The ceiling continues to crack and peel ( we were told they were not responsible for the old portion of the ceiling) The new Toto toilet rocks from side to side, we suspect that new the seal must be broken as it leaks water at the base. The soaker tub drain cap was never installed . Charges appear on our material invoices for the ceiling fan $394.00 x 2 charged and again on the labour estimate. The newly installed ceiling fan with a cost of approx. $1,000. clangs and bangs when ever there is any wind outdoors. There are holes in the floor around the heating pipes , missing tiles on the wall .. the cast iron rad was re-install using rust washer to prop up the legs. The rad re-installed unlevelled now bangs once heat is on. I did Not make this noise this prior to renovation. The silver flanges installed on heating piping were not the correct size , it appears there was an attempt made to cut them to fit? They do not cover the holes in the flooring and razor sharp edges are exposed. The deficiencies in the floor and wall grout continues to crack and crumble. The causing that was poorly applied fell off right from the start. The damaged sink medicine cabinet and faucet were not replaced. The console sink was installed off centred and off level on it's stand this is clear visible with the naked eye & we were told our level was not working properly) . Trim work , casting and base boards were not completed nor installed. Ashton Renovation "carpenter" used on our reno had originally re-installed the rotten window casing covered in black mould & multiple layers of old paint. 3/4 pine was slammed in on a Friday afternoon This was to serve as for the windowsill that partially sits in the shower area.When we asked the "carpenter" why he was put this rotten wood back up .. he responded by saying he was just doing as he was told. He then admitted did not have tools or the skill to make a proper wooden stool or windowsill .. we would have to get one professionally custom milled and it would be very costly.. We were told after they "spackled " the deficiencies and it was painted it would look good ... This was their standard application for window sill installation .We had to insist that a proper windowsill or stool had to be installed . We found photos and videos as to how this could be done . In the days that followed Mark contacted us he had found a lumber yard that sold the proper windowsill but he told us due to it's location we would have to pay for a driver @ $600. per hour to picket up from it's locate out side of the City. The next day my wife walked over to their "sister" Lumber Store location of this same company. It is located 2km from our home .
They also carry the proper wooden stools @$4.00 per linear foot and the casing that matches the original casting used in our home.
It took a week of back and forth, emails , arguing to have the rotten wood casting 3/4" pine wood sill removed and the damaged window box (one side only) corrected.
We had raised concerns regarding Marks plans to install 4" pipe to vent the new Industrial style "Vent-a -Hood " exhaust fan over our gas range. , rather than the recommended 6" . We were told this 4" pipe was sufficient & a 6" would only create problems . We were told it that It could create a backdraft in the room. The College of Trades Inspector that came to our home advised us to have the pipe changed to the proper size. The one used was not to Code. We hired a "Licensed " trade to install the vent hood and he informed us he found the 4" pipe that had been installed , was not properly sealed at the "joins" in the pipe system. He also discovered it had been directed to vent into the wall cavity. It was not hooked up to vent to the exterior of our home.
The new garden door that were installed must be removed as the opening was not properly prepared prior to installation. Mark recommended that we replace the old sliding patio door with new ones. He did not recommend that we install a garden door as we requested from day one. He told us he had not installed a garden door in the past 15 years . We now are convinced this must be true . At one point , Mark took it upon himself to order a sliding patio door without our approval. He told us that there was not a garden door out there , that would fit the existing opening .. my wife came up with a solution to add additional framing to each side and introduced this solution to Mark , we then placed the ordered for our desired garden door. It was in the spring of this year that our intuition was confirmed by a Licenced contractor , that indeed the opening is not properly prepared prior to garden door installation . Now we are facing the fact that garden door must be removed , opening corrected and the garden door re-installed if possible or replaced. The basement ceiling opened up to access wiring and plumbing etc ... remains open , ceiling material hanging down and incomplete. The newly installed wiring in the fuse panel was not re-label . In the end we paid labor charges of approximately $11,000 to re-wire 3 rooms. We approached Mark in the final on-site walk through to find an answer why his pricing in our case, appeared to be a great deal more than the industry standards. He responded by saying , that's what it costs & he had to get paid too. We suppose the holes in our kitchen ceiling & outside each spotlight were an extra charge!The window box in that surround are new replacement window was installed off level and the casting applied off square. All .... must be removed and straighten, prior to the installation of the backsplash .
The above are just some of the situations we are dealing with since moving back into our home ....
In October of 2014 we were informed by the City of Toronto Licensing Dept, Ashton Renovations was not Licensed to renovate in the City of Toronto . We were also sent a copy of the charges laid .
We filed a complaint with Consumers Protection , as this Government Service offers a mediation process to reach a fair resolution for contract disputes . Ashton Renovations was not interested in this process.
We have paid a total of $92,000.
Several new quotes from Licensed Renovation Companies have arrived. The quotes include work required to correct and complete our renovation as outline in our original contract & the revision.
These estimates average in at $20,000.00 plus materials estimates of $5,000.00
The cost of the replacement and repair to other damages to our home and property have been estimated at a total of $7,000.00
We received one final "bully" letter from "Alan". He outlined a couple of options for us . If we argued to pay a new "reduced"amount they would return and work on short list. i.e. hook up the kitchen sink , re-hang the original bathroom door. He would also write up a new contract .The new contract would also include a clause that we would not allow us to post on review sites such as HomeStar or like sites.

We would not recommend this company based on the poor workmanship an non completion of paid work as per our contract.
We welcomed this company into our home, many creature comforts such as a coffee station, indoor bathroom , beverages and snacks & paid for some meals during this process . After each "mishap" we would sit listen to the all the excuses,
then agree to move on and hope for the best. We were told on several occasions that we there were two types of clients , the ones that let him do the renovation his way and the second type that became too involved. Apparently we fell into the second category and therefore we were to blame.
We deeply regret hiring this company , this experience has left us emotionally drained , financially in ruins and our nightmare continues .... the garage roof sprung a leak in the early spring . We discovered a pool of water on the sub floor after removing the plastic cover from kitchen door way . The roof flashing had not been resealed after it was lifted to re-shingle the garage portion of the roof. The roofing company was supplied by Mark. The new drywall is now damaged and has falling down from water damage. The garage room ceiling , is approximately 15 feet high at the peak damaged area. We have no way to reach this area with using scaffolding. The same problem applies to the paper label left glued on the new replacement sky light window installed in this room.
Our nightmare continues , we now lay awake at night wondering what other deficiencies are hidden behind the walls.

Up loaded photos were taken the week we moved back into our home. The damaged garage ceiling photos were taken in the early spring following discovery of the leek following winter thaw.
We invite anyone interested in seeing the workmanship first hand to contact us .

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi Anthony, renovating your house with multiple contractors can be stressful. I believe you are writing on Catherine's behalf, and thank you for your very detailed feedback. It was unfortunate that we were not able to come to a satisfactory resolution for both parties during this challenging project.


Mark Ashton, B.A, B.A.S, AKBD

Ann W. from Toronto
Ann W. from Toronto
3 reviews Toronto, ON

Fantastic Kitchen Renovation

Assisted Review

An assisted review is collected by a contractor on behalf of the homeowner after their work is completed. The homeowner must confirm the text of the review and may make any changes she or he deems appropriate. The homeowner then assigns the contractor a review score out of 10. Assisted reviews receive the same scrutiny as other reviews and must follow our review guidelines.

When I began to think about undertaking a much needed kitchen
renovation in my 95 year old , semi detached home in east end
Toronto, the biggest barrier for me was my anxiety about being
able to find the right contractor. For me, that contractor
needed to be skilled, competent, reliable and someone with whom
I could readily communicate and trust. I needn’t have worried.
My search resulted in my contacting Ashton Renovations. From
my first contact with Mark Ashton, I felt confident that I had
found the right company to complete the work in my home. Mark
was engaging but low key when we first met together. He
listened carefully to me regarding my thoughts about a renovation
and how I use my kitchen. He asked excellent questions which
expanded my own thinking about what would make the most sense,
given my particular needs. We had an honest discussion about a
budget, in the context of my home, the value of homes in my
neighborhood, the resources that I had available, and what made
sense to invest in a renovation of this nature. Within a short
period of time, Mark created a thorough plan, which included
concept drawings and a budget. I was ready to proceed. Work
began on the date specified. Living through a renovation is no
picnic to say the least, but work proceeded steadily and
predictably. I was informed at every stage of what to expect.
As inevitable “glitches” emerged (namely, asbestos in a wall that
was being removed, and a compromised supporting beam in the
ceiling) Mark informed me quickly and thoroughly, with supporting
photographs, about the work required and the budget
implications. The skilled trades’ people who were involved in
completing my renovation were at all times professional and
thorough. Mark was consistently available, either by phone, text
or e-mail, to respond to any and all of my questions and did so in a
very timely manner. He managed the whole process in a way that
not only got the job done, but that exceeded my expectations. I
am now the proud owner of a beautiful and functional kitchen.
Many of my friends and family have confessed to having “kitchen
envy”. Based on my very positive experience, I can confidently
recommend Ashton Renovations to anyone who is considering
having renovation work done in their home. Thank you, Mark!

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thanks Ann. We are more than happy that we exceeded your expectations. And we looked forward to keeping in touch.


sherry in Etobicoke
sherry in Etobicoke
2 reviews Toronto, ON

basement renovation

Ashton Renovations renovated our basement this winter. It was our 3rd project with them. Previously they renovated our main bathroom, ensuite and kitchen. We were happy with them then, and are happy with the work they did on this project. Our original basement was quite dated and we wanted a more updated space now that our kids are older. It's now a much more functional room that includes all new framing and spray foam insulation, insulated flooring with cork, all new electrical and spotlights, and built-in cabinetry for our entertainment system. We look forward to hiring them on our next project.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thanks Sherry. I hope you and Steve, as well as the kids, enjoy the new space.


Nathan from Toronto
Nathan from Toronto
1 review Toronto, ON

Main floor reno

We had Ashton Renovations do a home renovation for us a little over a year ago. We were not super impressed with the work that Mark did in our house, in particular there were some issues with his hvac subcontractor (missed hooking up a vent and ended up making a big hole in the floor as a result, which was left for me to fix myself...) For the most part, we thought the work was okay though. Not great, but okay. Since Mark was in our house, though, we have been doing some additional smaller renovations (mostly diy) and have uncovered some bad electrical work. The first (last spring) was a hot wire junction that was not in a box, just stuffed up behind some floor joists. I contacted Mark but also called the Electrical Safety Authority to see how their inspection could have missed that. The ESA told me a permit had not been taken out for the electrical work (even though we were billed by Mark for an electrical inspection). We brought that problem to Mark's attention but rather than admit that wiring like that is not up to code he was defensive and just repeated that his electrician was reputable. We had that issue fixed by someone else. Now today, I found in a bedroom upstairs that a new outlet (3-hole) had been installed just over old ungrounded wiring (so that it looked like new wiring had been done when nothing had actually been changed). Another outlet in the same room had new wiring behind a new outlet, but the wire is trimmed too low (below the box) and there was no clamp holding the wire in the box.

In general, Mark's regular crew seemed pretty good but he doesn't seem to have much oversight of his subcontractors. Now we're left wondering what else could be hiding behind our walls...

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

This project was a main floor renovation that mainly involved the kitchen, a new powder room, and electrical service and panel upgrade. The homeowners were a young couple and first time homebuyers. Things were moving along quite smoothly up until the point were Nathan and his wife began to run out of money and tensions started. I believe this occurred because little was left for allowances should a problem arise with their house. And indeed it did. Asbestos was discovered, and this added considerable cost, along with termite damage on the main floor that was hidden under the hardwood floor. Common in the beaches. Their furnace also broke down in the middle of the project, and required immediate repairs, which we assisted them with.

More specially, regarding the ductwork, it was originally all removed in the basement and first floor by the asbestos abatement crew. Later, it was replaced with all new ductwork. During the rough in stage of construction the homeowner noticed limited heat to 2nd floor. Next day we were on site and noticed a take off on the top of one of the plenums, which was extremely difficult to see, was missed. It was impossible to connect to from below, so I instructed the HVAC contractor to connect to it from the first floor, which required a section of flooring to be removed. This was not a big deal, as the flooring had been removed above, and in many sections the subfloor had already been removed due to terminate damage. The following day we returned to repair the floor, but the homeowner had already repaired it. I believe this was done because the homeowner was actually installing hardwood on the main floor and wanted it filled in right away. Originally we were contracted to do the hardwood flooring and subfloor, but the homeowner asked if he could do it to save money. We agreed to remove this work from the contract, and I believe he was thankful we allowed him to do it to save money.

Regarding the electrical work, it simply isn't true that Nathan was charged for a permit, and did not receive an inspection. A copy of that inspection is available at the Electrical Safety Authority, and at our office in his file.

Last spring, a problematic wire was brought to my attention by Nathan. Unfortunately, he would not permit us to visit the home to look at it. I looked at photos he provided me. After speaking with my electricians, and getting more details, I believed it was a connection missed from an earlier renovation. I wanted too confirm this, but could not.

Almost towards the very end of this project, Nathan and his wife decided to end the work, and we parted ways. As with all our jobs, we requested to inspect the project but Nathan refused. In an email I asked if all the work was completed to his satisfaction and he confirmed that yes it was.

Again, I cannot comment on wiring again that we are not allowed to see. However, I am surprised as our contract involved work only on the main floor and the basement level. In this instance, Nathan is concerned about wiring on the 2nd floor. An area we did not work in through the course of the renovation.

At Ashton Renovations, we are committed to customer satisfaction. We are a licensed contractor, certified designers, insured, and covered under WSIB. We are proud of our many positive reviews we have received over the years on Homestars, and are very grateful Homestars chose us over other contractors on their site to participate in their Bathrooms 101 video last year.

Mark Ashton, AKBD, B.A., B.A.S.

Katherine from Toronto
Katherine from Toronto
2 reviews Toronto, ON

Bathroom Renovation

Ashton Renovations expertly renovated the master bathroom in our century old home. Mark guided us from planning to completion, and was an excellent resource for design and materials selection. The various tradespeople involved provided creative, practical solutions while troubleshooting around legacy renovations, and the team took the utmost care while working in our home. The end product is excellent, and we look forward to using Mark and his team on the next project.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thanks Katherine. We hope you enjoy your new bathroom.

The reviews on this page are the subjective opinion of the Author and not of HomeStars Inc.

More about Ashton Renovations

Your Toronto Home Renovation Contractors

We Are A Team Of Experienced And Reliable Contractors, And Can Handle All Your Renovation Needs.

Ashton Renovations is one of Toronto's leading renovation specialists. For over 20 years, we have provided a full spectrum of services, including kitchens, bathrooms, Toronto whole house renovations, and basement finishing. From planning & design, through all phases of construction using our project management software, we provide the expertise, trades, and suppliers required to make your project a successful one.

We have built a solid reputation with her clients for quality workmanship, and project professionalism. Our unique approach to working closely with our customers, and our care for craftsmanship, has led to countless successful renovation projects.

Our Services Include:
Planning & Design
Kitchen and Bathroom Renovations
Basement Renovations
Whole House Renovations

Bathroom Renovation and Kitchen & Bathroom - Cabinets & Design
Will work to any style
Kitchens, Bathrooms, Basements, Laundry Rooms, Whole House Renovations
Cheque, Visa, Mastercard
Yes. Toronto Licensed.
National Kitchen and Bath Association
AKBD, B.A., B.A.S. (Mgmt.)
1 Year plus manufacture warranty
Company profile information is not moderated by HomeStars. Ask the contractor to verify before hiring.