Reviews

10/10

We needed a dying oak tree removed. Mark and his crew showed up right on time, safely and quickly did the work (they make a dangerous job look easy) and then cleaned up everything. Mark took some time to suggest replacement trees (he knows his stuff) and the price was great too. Can’t recommend Rileys enough!

Was this review helpful?
10/10

We had some estimates done for replacement downspouts and eavestroughs. We’d done a similar job years ago at a different house and knew what we wanted. Blackstar took the most time doing their estimate: they put thought into locations of downspouts, colour options, and discussed leaf guard and downspout diverters for rain barrels with us. So glad we went with them because the installation was quick and clean, the finished product looks great, and it takes water where we wanted it. We love the rain barrel diverters they installed and the leaf guard too. We were able to go with those upgrades because the price was fair and held up very well to other companies who offered less for the same price.

Was this review helpful?
10/10

Placed our order online for about 70 sheets of various sizes on a Sunday night, and delivery was made on Tuesday. All the sheets were delivered cleanly into the basement, not a single one was damaged. Excellent customer service, worth every penny. I would definitely purchase drywall and supplies from these guys again.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

We are so happy you were pleased. Our customers are our top priority. We hope to be of service to you again in the future.

10/10

Jim and his crew did an excellent job with the major parts of our basement renovation. They were professional, efficient, and flexible with the various projects we hired them to take care of (framing, plumbing rough-ins, and drywalling). I am especially impressed with this company because they are able to work easily with us as we try to do some of the renovation tasks ourselves - I know this is sometimes a pain for professionals, but they haven't had any issues working around our timelines. We will definitely have them come back to do some of the finished carpentry and tiling. Highly recommend this company, because it's really been the best renovation experience we've had and their work is top-notch.

Was this review helpful?
10/10

I called General Gas Service at around 8pm on a weeknight and spoke with Keith, who asked questions about what I suspected was a small gas leak, in order to determine the scope of the problem. He arrived the next day right on time and fixed the leak and tested the gas line to make sure there were no other leaks. Problem solved professionally, politely, and for a reasonable cost.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you Matt for your kind words. I appreciate and value your business.

10/10

We were provided a fair quote with a thorough explanation, and decided to go with Langstaff & Sloan for all the electrical work in our basement. Brad and others have been on site twice so far and have got each stage of the project done quickly, cleanly, and properly. The quality of their work is superb. This company cares about their clients.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you Matt! Many people only review when they are unhappy. We really appreciate your flattering words and time to post them too.

10/10

We're very happy with Art Metal Workshop despite a delay in getting our railings installed. But I can't really blame them, they were up front about the delay and it seemed out of their control. The finished product was just installed and it looks amazing. They bolted the railings to our stone steps and concrete porch and everything looks great and feels solid. I would highly recommend this company for quality and value.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you Matt, and yes the turnaround time is a bit over our head right now

10/10

Serge and his crew are the best at what they do. We started with a reasonable and well-explained estimate from Serge. He talked us out of an expensive and unnecessary product (larger size eavestroughs), and he sold us on a product that we are now glad to have (leaf guard system) without being pushy. The work itself was done quickly and cleanly, and it looks and works great (we have a large, complicated roof too). Although we had concerns about one small section of the job after it was finished (a downspout), Serge handled it like a true professional and responded to us immediately. He basically said to us 'Look, I think it's going to work fine, but if you have concerns, I will come back and make the changes you want because I care about your long-term satisfaction.' That is a rare quality to find, and we really appreciate that we hired All County. Overall, one of the best home-improvement experiences we've had.

Was this review helpful?

First Review

10/10

Tony came over with samples and gave us an estimate on the spot. He installed the carpet and there were no issues. He was quick and clean and did a great job. A year and a half later and we're still very happy.

Was this review helpful?
10/10

Fantastic selection of countertop materials (quartz and granite) and sinks. We went with a white quartz. The install was great, the undermount sink was great, and even though we rescheduled the detail measure 3 times (delays with the kitchen cabinets), Toronto Granite still came within a week to install the countertops. I had no idea it would be so quick to get such high quality kitchen countertops.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?

First Review

10/10

We had Cindy from the new Lowe's help us plan and design our new kitchen cabinets. We went with cherry KraftMaid cabinets and are thrilled with the results. Lowe's (mostly Cindy!) was responsive and helpful throughout the process. We made some last minute changes and they were easily able to accomodate us. The guys they sub-ed the cabinet install to (Grant and Daryl) were fantastic, 10 out of 10 for them.

Was this review helpful?
5/10

We hired Natanael and his crew to do a large part of our kitchen renovation. After we gutted the old kitchen, he was responsible for everything except the kitchen cabinets and countertops. That means the tile floor, the walls, the plumbing, electrical, gas, trim, door to the deck, paint, and installation of appliances. He sold us with the "I'll treat your kitchen like it's my own" bit. They "finished" the job yesterday and took their last payment. They didn't bother putting covers back on some of the light switches. They put some of the old switches back ,covered in paint and drywall mud. They did a poor job installing the expensive range we bought (they left the plastic wrap on after sliding it in, for starters). They didn't follow the installation instructions for the dishwasher and the door won't open all the way (had to fix that myself). They tried to get out of moving the fridge into place, even though our contract stated "install ALL kitchen appliances." The paint job is sloppy. For three weeks of downtime when another company was building and installing the cabinets, they left live wires poking out from the walls, didn't bother to tape or cap them or flip the breaker or anything. They knew there was going to be a break in the work, so I'm not sure how they could let that happen. The worst part of it all is the floor - uneven tiles, and a mess of not one but two grout jobs. The first grout they installed cracked and discoloured within two days. They blamed the subfloor (which they installed) and the fact that we have a "long" kitchen floor (it's appx. 10x20). It was a cement based grout, which I've installed before without any problems, and they didn't say anything about it when I provided it to them to install. My guess is that they rushed installing it after setting the tiles, and it was too wet. After they dug all that out (chipping a bunch of tiles in the process), they told us to buy about $100 worth of epoxy grout. They made another mess of this grout job. They had to come back and spend a day frantically trying to remove stains from the tiles (epoxy grout is tough to use). They managed to clean the stains, but the actual grout between the tiles is now rough and uneven. It's also stained with drywall dust because they didn't keep the job site clean. We are pleased with the potlights and plumbing. They are nice enough guys. But we're a little upset because we chose them based on their HomeStars reputation, and didn't see what most people on HomeStars apparently got. Looking at the other reviews here I have to wonder if we're overly demanding or crazy, but we've worked with other contractors in the past without any problems, and Nat and his crew never said anything about anything to us during the process. In fact, there was very little communication from them at all.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Our company is very surprised and disappointed with your comments. Honestly we did not expect it from you, we are wondering why you did not tell us anything on the last day when we reviewed with you the completion of the project (as you remember we stayed in your place until 9:00 pm). On that day you had the opportunity to tell us you were not satisfied with some of our works and the reasons, but instead of that you did thank us and congratulate us.
We would like to tell you that our company worked in your place with professionalism and commitment and we solved and fixed every detail you asked us, even we gave you more than 100%, for you to get satisfied, finishing not only our work we also repaired works performed by others at no extra charge, and also performing for you extra works at no extra charge either, and you know that, but it looks like you never get satisfied.
Our company has more than 10 years of experience with many satisfied customers and that is our goal.
We appreciate everyone comments, they allow us to improve our business and provide better client satisfaction. Thanks, Natanael and his crew.

6/10

Based on an advertisement for all-inclusive duct cleaning, we made an appointment. I told them we only wanted the services included in the advertisement, but Stronghouse nevertheless "upsold" my wife a "furnace cleaning" package that consisted of opening the front panel to our BRAND NEW furnace and sticking a vacuum hose in (something I do myself all the time). When I pointed out that this was ludicrous, they were chagrined enough to give me a "deal" for this useless additional service. Still, a complete waste of $40. They also managed to dent one of the metal grates covering an air return so badly that it needs to be replaced. Not impressed. I asked one of the technicians if he could fix or replace the damaged grate, and he managed to slip away and ignore the issue. Nice enough guys, I just wish they had a bit more integrity when it comes to their treatment of customers.

Was this review helpful?