Reviews

0/10

First, they left a big mess of adhesive materials on my concrete patio and interior stairs. I took pictures of it and someone had to come and scrape it off. The door looks uneven and never closed properly. It was stiff and stuck. Someone came to "fix it" and now it's too loose. I have to always lock the door or any slight wind will open my door. I also feel quite a bit of cold air coming in. A few months ago, my husband swatted a fly with a fly swatter. Lightly touched the glass and it broke! We have done this with all of our windows that my husband installed with no issues but I suspect it's because it's installed unevenly. This company has major attitude and theu don't call you back when they say they will. You have to chase them down if you have an issue. Keep calling them! A red flag that I should have seen was when the salesperson came to my house to sell me the window, he was pushy - offering a 'deal' that I could only get if I signed right then and there. I wished I had done my research because after he left, I Googled this company and found out they had some legal issues due to some shady business practices. Another redflag: the salesperson bad-talked other local window and door companies with good reviews in this area. Stay away from them! They were not even the cheapest quote I got. Nothing but problems. UPDATE: I have had a few companies come out to give me a quote on replacing the broken glass. They have confirmed my suspicions that this was installed atrociously. First, there is bowing down the side of my door. There are cracks all over the place and it's uneven after only 3 years? You should be able to lightly swat a fly without glass breaking. If it was installed properly, this would not have happened. No company will fix my broken glass because without removing the door and completely replacing it "it will just happen again". It's shifting and there is pressure on the glass. I am now looking at getting a complete replacement of the door due to shotty installation. It was even recommended by another company that I take consumers choice to court. They keep saying that their manufacturer won't cover it but it's not the material that I am disputing it's the INSTALLATION. Take a look at the pictures I have attached. They also put in non tempered glass in the transom which is dangerous. Does this look like good work? I don't want this company back in my house.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Dear Lauren. I know you are disappointed we could not cover the broken glass in your transom under warranty at no charge. Unfortunately, we installed this door system 3 years ago. As you stated you hit the glass and it broke. This is one of the few exceptions in the manufacturer’s warranty. We cover the glass for the 1st year, but unfortunately this is way past that date. If we could get it covered under warranty for you, we would. As with all our customers, we have tried very hard to make you happy. Every time you have called with an issue, we have come out. When you called about some debris that was left after installation, we immediately responded. Several years later when you called about the transom glass breaking and the door being too tight, we responded and performed an inspection on the transom and adjusted the door. Now you have indicated that the door is too loose, we have also scheduled a service immediately to address this issue. I’m sorry we haven’t been able to meet your expectations. Should you need anything else we will continue to do our best for you.

9/10

We had Rockwood plan the layout of our new kitchen and we ordered our cabinets from them. We also had them install our granite after the cabinets were installed. The cabinets came within the time promised and with no damage. My husband who is a red seal carpenter, assembled and installed the cabinets himself. Please be aware that there is no instructions that come with the cabinets if you are thinking of assembling them yourself. He was able to assemble the cabinets within a day. Overall great quality, except the shelves bow a bit when a lot of weight is put on them. There were a few minor hiccups with the hardware we ordered however, Rockwood was diligent and make sure any problems were taken care of. Once the cabinets were installed, we got the granite within 2 weeks as promised. We were told the day of the granite installation that it could not be sealed with children in the house because of all the chemicals. It would have been nice to have been informed of this ahead of time so I could have made arrangements to leave the house for the day. That's my only criticism. Granite looks beautiful and so do the cabinets! I continue to recommend Rockwood to family and friends. The prices were less then other places we looked and the customer service was great!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
9/10

We ordered kitchen cabinets, hardware and granite from Rockwood in Newmarket Ontario. We were on a tight time line. The cabinets came in on time. My husband assembled and installed the cabinets himself. There was an option of having the cabinets sent already assembled. My husband is a carpenter so he was able to do it himself in a day. Please note the cabinets DO NOT come with instructions, so unless you have experience assembling cabinets you might want to take the option of having them delivered assembled. Cabinets look great! One little thing we noticed was that the shelves do bow a bit when heavy dishes are placed in the shelves but it's not by a lot. The prices were far less then other cabinet places around here and they look beautiful. If we had any problems we could call rockwood and they would take care of us promptly. Our granite was measured and installed within 2 weeks as promised. The day of the granite installation, I was told that the installers could not seal the granite with children in the house due to the chemicals. I am glad that they informed me of this rather then going ahead and sealing it with kids in the house, however, it would have been nice if they informed me of this before they came so I could make arrangements to leave for the day ahead of time. Overall, we were very happy with the service and product. I have and continue to recommend rockwood to family and friends.

Was this review helpful?