Reviews

10/10

Somehow, my garage door had gotten out of alignment and the wheels were rubbing against one side of the track, sometimes getting stuck on it. Danny realigned it and lubricated everything, leaving me impressed with how smooth and quiet it was. That was back in June. Now, 6 months later, it's still working well, although perhaps not quite as smooth and quiet as it was originally. The cost seemed reasonable but I did not get other quotes to compare. I would definitely use them again.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi there jack
Thank you for the review:)
As i advice all my costumers to spray lubricant on the tracks and springs every 6 month to keep the garage door in good working order

10/10

It took 3 visits to fix 3 separate problems with our fridge (bad freezer fan, dirty condenser, bad compressor relay) but Joe only charged labour for 2 because that's just the kind of guy he is. He carries a lot of parts with him so he had the ones he needed with him when he diagnosed the problem. I will definitely use him again for our next appliance repair.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thanks so much for this wonderful review. I'm so glad we were able to salvage you refrigerator which surprised us with multiple problems. I am very proud that its purring along again. Glad I could service you in this way. I'll be here if you need me again. Take care!
Thanks again
Joe

10/10

Having Chris do our outside paint job was a pleasure from beginning to end. To begin, his quote came in slightly lower than the 2-3 other quotes we got from companies on Homestars. A lot of the wood we were painting was somewhat damaged because we left the job too long but he seemed to do a good job of prepping it and the painting was clean and in the lines as you would expect from a professional. Chris was always pleasant and cheerfully accepted our changes with only modest increases to the quoted price where appropriate.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Jack and Shayla, thanks so much for the very kind words. It was a pleasure to work for you.

10/10

I considered only two companies for the job: UHS and one other highly-rated one from Homestars. In the end, I went with UHS because my friends, whom I trust, used them and because UHS was willing to give me a guarantee for the flat roof while the other company would not. They showed up when they said they would and were super-fast, finishing by around 4:00 pm on the same day. I wish I could give an intelligent comment on the quality of the main roof job but all I can say is that it looks good to me and after 2 months, there have been no problems. The garage job was to repair a shoddily done flat roof (by a company now out of business) that has been leaking in one spot for several years. Jason gave me several options and in the end, I opted for the cheapest which was to repair that one spot for just over $1000 and get a 5-year guarantee on no leaks there. The first guy who did the job seemed to know what he was doing but it still leaked when it next rained. Of course, I let Jason know and he promised to send an expert (he said it was the guy who taught him). That guy was incredibly thorough. I didn't expect them to go right down to the wood but that's what they did, replacing the rotten planks and then putting layers on top. I'm very happy with the work done. The garage roof repair obviously turned into a bigger job than Jason had thought but he stuck by his price with no push-back or hesitation, and that's one big reason that I wouldn't hesitate in recommending him to friends. *** Edit on Dec. 3: I had originally commented that Jason hadn't stopped by to look at the work but later found out that he had and just hadn't stopped in to talk to me which is not a significant issue.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Dear Jack and Shayla,

I want to thank you for your business and your wonderful and honest comments.

I apologize for not coming to speak with you while the roof was being completed. This was an extremely busy part of the year for us and I was attending to some obligations I had made prior. However, I do assure you that I stopped by the site to ensure your roof was being installed according to the standards I expect on every roofing system we install.

While I was on site I took a picture of the accessories we installed and the new flashing kit we installed on your chimney. I am going to upload these pictures to my Homestars gallery along with the installation date of October 11th. I will also send these pictures to you.

I believe in transparency and high quality, which is why I keep my business small. This way I can ensure the highest quality end product. We always stand behind our work and our word no matter the cost.

Thanks again for your business and your wonderful review.

Best regards
Jason and The Ultimate Home Services Team

9/10

I bought a GE fridge from them in 2008. There's no super-friendly service to rave about but the price was really good and the fridge is still working well 9 years later so I would definitely consider going to them again for our next appliance. (We haven't bought any appliances since then.)

Was this review helpful?
9/10

Anil and Arby seem to have a very customer-oriented attitude. When booking the move, Arby suggested a 16 ft. truck and I explained that I was very nervous about getting a truck that was too small because of two bad past experiences. Arby said something like "I don't want us to be one of those bad experiences -- let's make it 24 ft.". No need to convince him it was needed or justify it. (In the end, I think it was needed but I'm not sure. There was still room in the truck but it didn't seem like very much.) Our move was done by Anil (a partner?) and another guy whose name I've forgotten. As far as I could see, both worked almost non-stop for the entire 7.5 hours without the long break mid-way that I've seen other movers take. Anil, in particular, impressed me by his cheerful, helpful attitude for the entire time. I was a bit disappointed by the amount of time it took for the move but I think I just underestimated the time needed to go down long hallways and use the elevators in both buildings (one of which was quite small and slow). The only negative thing I can say is that they arrived 45 minutes early. I suppose some people wouldn't mind that but it made an already stressful day a bit more stressful. But of course, that is better than being 45 minutes late.

Was this review helpful?
6/10

Summary: I believe that Amilcar and his crew want to do a good job but they made some mistakes and, originally, I had some trouble getting them to stand behind their work once paid. In the end, they do seem to have fixed all the leaks. <p> Details (written Nov, 2010): <p> Things started off well with Oxxo. Their quote was about $1000 cheaper than the next cheapest and I found Amilcar very friendly and easy to deal with. The price difference made me a bit nervous but Amilcar explained that as their business was new, they had to charge less than others in order to attract customers. <p> My office overlooks the garage so I was able to watch the crew do a lot of the work and to my untrained eye, it seemed like they were doing a good job. However, now I know that they did make mistakes. <p> I noticed the first problem right away. Amilcar had promised to slope the roof so that it would drain well after a rain and they did that but there were two spots with large puddles that weren't draining properly. That turned out to be caused by the top of the existing drain pipe being a couple of centimeters higher than the roof. That wasn't their fault but a good roofer would have noticed the problem and fixed it before putting the bitument on top. However, we talked about the situation and considered various solutions and he was able to almost completely solve the problem by digging out from under the metal cap of the drain pipe, pulling it down and screwing the side of it to the wall to hold it in place. At that point, I paid 90% of the bill. <p> I can't remember the exact sequence of events but I believe it was at the next heavy rainfall, I noticed that the roof was leaking at almost exactly the same spot as before, although not as badly. I called Amilcar and he surmised that he just needed to caulk the area around the drainpipe and came over to do that fairly soon. I couldn't test the repair right away because it had to dry but a few days later, I went up with a hose and sprayed all over the roof, only to find that it was still leaking. A little later, I narrowed down the location of the leak to one small area. Over the next 6-8 months, I called Amilcar 4-5 times and left messages but he never answered the phone or returned the call. So, in October, I left a message threatening a bad review and possible legal action, but still got no response. <p> Update (December, 2010): <p> A day after this review was originally published (saying pretty much what you see above but with no response from them), Amilcar called to apologize for not getting back to me and explained that he has been away for months dealing with an urgent family matter (which I won't go into here). In my opinion, the family issue may have justified not being able to work on my roof but it doesn't justify not returning calls. <p> Anyway, Amilcar showed up today and surmised that the roof was leaking mostly at the nail holes so he patched all those, and more, with plastic cement. He said that if that doesn't work, he'll come back and torch on a patch. I'm not thrilled that my new roof has to be patched already but at least now he seems committed to keep working on it until there are no more leaks. <p> Update (June 2011): <p> Amilcar's attempts at patching the roof with plastic cement were unsuccessful and then the snow came and he couldn't do anything. In spring, about a month ago, he came back, ripped out a small section of the bitumen and torched down a new piece. I'm not 100% sure but I think that finally fixed the problem. When I felt the underside of the roof after the last heavy rain, it was completely dry and I have not seen water dripping since then.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

OXXO ROOFING, thanks since you understand the problem that appeared, soon this problem is going to be resolved ... many thanks...

10/10

I was skeptical about all the good reviews but I have to admit that Kevin was pretty good. I called him Sunday night and left a message. On Monday morning, he called back and was able to come within the hour. He patiently answered all my questions, left some poison for the wasps and, as far as I can tell, they're now all gone. The only doubt I have is that he made it all look so simple that I wonder if I couldn't have done it myself. However, he used a poison that killed them while most recommendations on the Internet were to spray something like Raid. I don't know how that would have turned out.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thanks Jack: Usually the public calls us for interior wasp nests. When wasps are going in and out of a crack in a wall void. Those ones require an insecticidal Dust. A Tracking powder. Where The insects carry the dust into the nest. In rare cases an interior nest may require additional treatments to totally eliminate it. Eye protection and gloves should be worn near wasps/hornets. They seem to try and sting the eyes and hands of intruders. These insects know how to find sensitive locations of their targets. Thanks Jack glad the nest is gone....and your right I do make it look easy. However into August the game changes and the risk increases 10 fold. When the heat and humidity comes its tougher to terminate wasps. Thanks Kevin.