Reviews

10/10

I called Paul at Drywall Doctor when a general contractor left me high and dry after going broke (a story for another review). I had multiple holes and cuts in drywall that needed to be repaired, along with a stairwell that needed to be smoothed. Paul went above and beyond - he even touched up things that we didn't include in the quote, because, and I'm paraphrasing, it was against his professional code to leave shoddy work alone. Tell me where you find that ethic these days? Paul is from the old-school mentality of trades, and I really hope he passes on his knowledge to a new generation. Speaking of, he had a junior drywaller (Josiah, I think) with him, and he was great too - very professional. I had no problems whatsoever leaving them alone in my house. Everything was clean and tidy between visits, and the final product looks great. Thanks again Drywall Doctor!

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

thank you for the work..it was a pleasure working with you..Paul

1/10

Horrible experience. Had an appointment booked for between 8-10 am. When no-one contacted me by 10am I tried calling - left a message. No return call. Eventually I got a call at 11:30 from the tech, who showed up 5 minutes later. No explanation, no apology. Not a good start. The tech comes in, takes one look at the gas range and says he needs to go to Home Depot for a gas hookup kit. The intake people knew that this was a brand new Bosch gas range install, so why the tech didn't have a kit is beyond me. Why a gas appliance tech doesn't have a supply with them at all times is also beyond me. I happened to have a new one that I bought off Amazon, so I told him to use that one. The guy finally gets the range in place, and I need to remind him to install the anti-tip plate. He proceeds to install it on the wrong side, and drills into my wood floor twice trying to find the right spot. Had he read the manual, he would have seen a plain diagram showing the correct side and measurement from the wall. Even then I had to explain to him to add 3/4" to the measurement to account for the backsplash. Wow. He gets the gas line installed, and proceeds to push the range back without even turning the gas fully on. He pretends that he was going to notice. OK. After the range is in place, I see that he scratched the wood floor because he didn't bother to use cardboard or anything to protect the floor. Then I see that the leak test solution in the gas line kit wasn't even opened. Wow. Not feeling super safe here, guys. At the end, my options to pay are via cash or charge. I go with charge, after which he *hands me his phone* to give my cc number to dispatch. Super professional, and not sketchy! I ask if I need to pay full price since I supplied the gas line. Yep, sure do. What a joke. Avoid this company.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hello, our tech had to determine what he needed and hence you proving the kit we did not charge for parts as you provided the part. We quoted the hook up at 280.00 labor before hand and that is what was charged. There was a snow storm outside this Saturday and we were late to call clients. We had a tech that got into an accident and we were running behind. We did work for a client and we were rcomended to you by that client. You did not mention anything about scratched floors.

10/10

I contacted Adrian to do CAT6 drops from my basement to my main floor and 2nd floor. My house was built in 1977, and there weren't a lot of air vent return options. I still don't know how he did it, but the lines ended up just where I need them, and you can't see any trace. Adrian is a true pro - I will absolutely have him back for any future cabling work.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you Jordan for choosing Techsystem Telecommunications to provide you with Cat6 wiring services and also thank you for your feedback.

10/10

Just wanted to share my very positive experience with a Reliable service call. Had an issue where my ~4 year old furnace was not responding to the thermostat. Resetting the mains switch would make the furnace spin up, but it wouldn't spin up again after dropping below setpoint. Called Reliable, and Dave came within a couple of hours. He eventually traced the problem back to a faulty switch. I'm very happy my family had heat last night! I've had Dave come out for an AC issue before, and he was fantastic then too.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you Jordan Dave and Reliable are glad we could help you and your family

10/10

There are a lot of companies that install Vinylbilt windows, and when my wife and I were looking to replace our original (circa 1977) windows, we got quotes from a few of them. The salesperson (Eli) at Welda really stood out - he was low-pressure, but very knowledgable. He took us through the product, including doors, and gave us a very competitive quote. We ended up replacing 13 windows, 2 entry doors, and 1 glass sliding door, all brick to brick. The installers were total pros - the whole project took 2 days. There was a minor issue with the wrong glazing being installed in the bathroom window, but Welda cleared it up without any issue. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend Welda to anyone looking for Vinylbilt windows!

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Jordan
Thank you for your business. We appreciate having you as a customer and we value your comments and we thank you for your support.
Team Welda

10/10

I recently got some stone work done on our porch and retaining wall, which required us to remove our old (ugly) iron railings. I got a few quotes for new railings, and RJ was very competitive on price and came very highly recommended on Homestars. I dealt with Joe Sova, and couldn't be happier with his professionalism and attention to detail. He was able to work with me to coordinate the installation of the railings with the stone work, so that we weren't left without railings for very long. He was also very helpful in replacing the soffits that the posts connect to. Overall, I wouldn't hesitate to recommend RJ Railings. I think the pictures speak for themselves!

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you!
RJ Aluminum Railings
http://rjaluminumrailings.com/

10/10

My wife and I moved into our house 3 years ago. It's a 1977 build, and the original driveway retaining wall did not have any drainage. Consequently, over the years, the freezing and thawing cycles caused the wall to buckle and the cinder blocks under the stairs to crumble. We got a number of quotes from reputable sources, some of whom turned out to be a little sketchy - one (actually one of the top 2 rated on Homestars) wouldn't give us a quote in writing. Brian from Otto's Masonry came by, and I immediately felt at ease. He was eager to show us their work, and was very adept at problem solving our particular retaining wall situation. The price was very reasonable, so we went ahead. Despite being foiled by the weather, Otto and his crew (we had Conroy and his son doing the stonework) did a fantastic job. Both my wife and I couldn't be more pleased with the results. There was a slight issue with some minor damage to a window, but Otto was very stand-up and replaced the window without question. Mistakes happen, and all I ask is for honesty and transparency in a contractor. For that reason alone, I wouldn't hesitate to recommend Otto's Masonry to anyone looking for high-quality, reasonably-priced work. Pictures below.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi Jordan, thank you for this review! I will pass it on to Brian and Conroy and Conroy Jr. -Alyson

10/10

I called Atiar in anticipation of a new gas stove being delivered - he was able to schedule me a time over the Christmas holidays (actually on New Year's Day - how's that for service?). I found his service to be excellent, and the price very competitive. He connected the gas stove and did a full leak test. He even helped me move the old stove out to the curb for garbage pickup! I will definitely call Atiar if I have any issues with my appliances in the future.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you for taking the time to write a great review. We are glad that you are happy with our services. We always care about our clients satisfactions. Greatly appreciate.

10/10

Assisted Review

An assisted review is collected by a contractor on behalf of the homeowner after their work is completed. The homeowner must confirm the text of the review and may make any changes she or he deems appropriate. The homeowner then assigns the contractor a review score out of 10. Assisted reviews receive the same scrutiny as other reviews and must follow our review guidelines.

We needed our panel upgraded. Hotwire electric did the esa and hydro connection and all was done in one day. Quick and efficient electrical services provided. They priced it without seeing the site and with their knowledge their price remained the same. no unexpected changes. HotWire was thorough and professional - I would not hesitate to use them again.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

wow Jordan, thanks for the review and taking the time to post with pictures. Very much appreciated sir. All the best from Hotwire.