Reviews

10/10

We were looking for someone to repair some stone work that had shifted and posed a danger to anyone using our front entrance. We looked to Home Stars for a referral and liked what everyone had to say about A&A. I first contacted them just before Christmas and they were very friendly. I got caught up in the holidays and had not got back to them so they called me to see if I was still interested in having the work done, which I appreciated because we really did need the repair job but have a tendency to procrastinate especially since I could have had an iPad for the price of the job, on the brighter side we no longer have to worry about bodily harm upon entering or exiting our home. All in all, A&A called again when they said they would and did the job within 24 hours of calling. The day the job was done I came home and found no evidence that anyone had been there except for seeing that the work was done, there was no mess of any kind. The work was done neatly, and my husband who is very fussy and precise in his own work gave them a thumbs up. Payment was very professional as they were not calling my home asking for the money before the work was even started as another company I rated poorly did. Not knowing much about stonework I am probably completely failing to say how well the work matches up with what was already there. Many thanks to Phil, Corine and Andy for all their help.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thanks for the review! Sorry about the iPad but sometimes deteriorating masonry comes first. Glad we could make it as painless as possible!

--Andy

10/10

We actually went to the Oakville store before this one reopened and the lady there was very helpful with colours and styles So we knew what we wanted going in which made it easier. I will add that Rob did respond to our e-mails and phone calls before and after purchasing the floors. We had someone else install them, a friend of a friend kind of deal. Both locations are great for the simple fact that there is a toy area for kids to play in, this made life a lot easier for us. We picked a maple in riesling that matches oak staircases very well. The wood floors were really nice and we have been happy with them.

Was this review helpful?
0/10

We had a leak in our roof which the salesman quickly diagnosed without an actual inspection. He wrote us up a contract with a promised inspection on itfor the job we chosewhich was a sure fire resolve for our problem according to them. A couple of weeks later the workers arrived, very hyper and in a hurry climbed on the roof and down in 10-15 min having completed their $400.00 job. They left without saying anything; I just happened to see their truck drive away. Meanwhile the company is on the phone asking for payment. They promised they would work with us if the job they reccomended didn't work. The first rain we got after their repair we still had a leak and it seemed to get worse. We explained to them the repair din't work and that we were willing to pay more money to have it fixed but there was no interest from them only insult. The manager said to me that he didn't know why his salesman took on such "little jobs". I told him it may be little for them, but to us it is a lot of money for a repair that didn't work. We contacted them repeatedly kindly and angrily and finally put in a complaint with the BBB because we never got an inspection that was promised with the job we requested. We have since gone with another company from Home Depot who charge half of what they charge. I can't believe Mike Holmes has them on their list of contractors If only he knew.....Unless you are Mike Holmes I would just skip giving this company your hard earned money.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

We are unable to warrant repair jobs because we are adding on to someone elses work. We always reccommend doing the entire roof if you have experienced leaks and then you will receive a full warranty. This customer was well aware that there was no warranty. We did the repair and it obviously did not work. When called back to do another repair job our answer was no. We were not willing to do another repair, the option for the entire roof was still available but they were not interested. There is nothing more we can do.