Kitchen & Bath Inc

Kitchen Planning & Renovation
5783 Steeles Ave Toronto ON M9L 2V1
Write a Review
Write a Review

Walter  from Etobicoke
Walter from Etobicoke
5 reviews Etobicoke, ON

Kitchen reno

We are retired seniors who decided to renovate our 1990s era kitchen and were initially very impressed with Kitchen & Bath (K & B). They were highly rated on Home Stars with many positive reviews and the designer, Narges, was personable and helpful. We now have a nice kitchen and are enjoying it. However, we only gave them a 3 out of 10 because the rating asks whether we are satisfied and would recommend the company. And we are not satisfied and would only recommend them with a warning to beware. Here is why:
The reno started on May 19, 2022, and we were told it would take about 4 weeks. It was finished with the last cabinet installed on October 12, 2022
Our project manager, Ali, felt free to ignore or respond to our texts, emails or other attempts at communication. We never knew if or when he might answer. One day he texted that a crew was coming to work between 9 a.m. and 11a.m. They came at 6 p.m. and worked until 10 p.m. Good service means you reply to messages and show up on time.
The kitchen often sat empty with no work being done. For example, the cabinets were delivered and languished in our garage for two weeks with nothing happening inside. Yet because of K & Bs payment schedule we were required to pay 90% of the total project cost by this point.
Materials ordered for the job were not checked by K & B to make sure they were correct. We had picked 3 colours to make an attractive backsplash design and only one colour was delivered. K & B blamed the tile company but we had to settle for what was available in-house.
Internal communication at K & B was poor. For example, Ali did not know that the backsplash tiles were missing and called suddenly wanting to do the tiling on Canada Day.
The companys typical response to complaints was to blame the supply chain for errors and delays. The supply chain did not prevent K & B from communicating with us; it did not prevent making a realistic work schedule with completion dates; it did not prevent checking on the correctness of ordered materials.
When the reno was mostly done and the appliances moved to their locations, they left gouges in our recently laid hardwood kitchen floor. Ali promised to send his floor guy over to do repairs. Well, we are still waiting for that to happen as our messages are ignored. It looks like we will have to pay for the repair ourselves.
We find the many 10/10 ratings for K & B a puzzle and wonder if these ratings are above board and from real clients. This company has skilled trades people working for them and the quality of materials (if and when you get them) is good. But communication, responsiveness, scheduling and organization are terrible. Hence we gave them 3/10.

Approximate cost of services:
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi Walter

Thank you for your feed back.
We did go over and above every time you had any additional requests to the main scope of work, and completed them as much as possible.
It is unfortunate that despite our best efforts you still felt unsatisfied with the communications.
We are delighted you are happy with the final results as that is the long lasting affects.

We wish you and your family many years of happiness in your newly renovated home

Kitchen & Bath Team