Dr. Digital

Electronic Repairs
Toronto ON M5T 1S3
Write a Review
Write a Review
Star Score
StarScore uses a complex algorithm which considers a company’s review ratings, responsiveness, reputation, and recency. Learn more.

84%

This is the average rating based on homeowner reviews.
This indicates how long it's been since the last review.
Low reputation means there has been review tampering or a company request to remove a review. This score is also impacted when we do not have enough information i.e: low number of reviews.
How well a company responds to Service Requests and Reviews.
Reviews by rating (past 12 months)
Verified by HomeStars
Best of 2019 winnerBest of 2019winner

Reviews for Dr. Digital

Average customer rating:
8.8 10 (37 reviews)

Sort by

Deja in Toronto
Deja in Toronto
1 review Toronto, ON
0/10

Horrible Service

I have a story here as to why you should not bring your phone to get fixed here at this location. It’s a long story but worth your while to save you time and money to avoid headaches caused by this store.

I came to this store to fix my water damaged phone. After about 2 days, they called me to let me know they had gotten the phone working, they just needed me to come in and enter my iCloud password. The phone had been restored during the repair, so I had to set up my Face ID, which somehow wasn't working anymore. I took it back to the store the next day, the tech advised me that he would have a look at it and let me know if it could be fixed or not.

I let him know that I would be leaving for vacation is 3 days and would need the phone back by then. On the third day, I received a call letting me know that it would take an additional 5-7 days for the phone to be repaired. I did think that was a bit excessive so I told him I would pick up my phone and bring it back after my vacation. He told me “That's fine, bring it back whenever you have the time.”

Being back from my vacation, I noticed that my camera and flashlight would work intermittently. I assumed that maybe it was just a loose connection in my phone. Sometime after, I went to go charge my phone after it died, only to find a big green line run vertically through my screen. I was surprised since my phone was literally sitting on my bed; it didn’t drop or face any sort of physical impact.

I decided to take my phone to another place for as Dr. Digital seems to have long turnaround times. I explained to this other repair location of the issues I was having with my cameras and the screen. They opened up my phone, and showed me that the bracket/shield, that holds all my connectors in place, was missing, leaving small pieces to move around inside my phone. This caused the LCD of my phone to damage from the inside. The tech at this new place also told me that my original Apple battery has been switched. My phone has never been opened or repaired since I’ve had it, other than being at Dr. Digital. I was advised to bring my phone back to Dr. Digital since the issues I was experiencing is from the poor repair I got at Dr. digital.

I went back to Dr. Digital and spoke with the original technician who worked on my phone. I TRIED to tell him what was going on, but he would cut me off and response aggressively. He told me that he didn’t place all my pieces back on my phone since I had intentions of coming back after my vacation. Personally, I feel like this is ridiculous. Regardless if I was coming back or not, all original parts should be put back exactly where they came from. The technician began to yell, telling me that I MUST HAVE dropped my phone, causing the screen to break. I’ve tried to explain, multiple times that the phone did not drop, there is no dent or scratch ANYWHERE near where the LCD was broken. I asked what was going to be done, since clearly this was not my fault. He said to bring my phone back in 2 days and he’ll look into it.

After this altercation, I’ve made my way back to this location FOUR TIMES, only to find them close at around 6:30PM, when their store hours indicate that they don’t close until 7PM. I work until 5PM, so 6:30 was the earliest I could arrive at this store. I decided to take a day off at work, just so I could get to this store early enough in the day.

When I arrive, I spoke with a very nice lady who was very apologetic and understanding. She informed me that the technician I’ve been dealing with wasn’t in that day, but she would reach out to him during his next shift and have a look at my phone.

The next day, the lady called me to let me know that the technician looked at my phone, and said the damage was caused because the battery was replaced. I was confused because I never requested to have my battery replaced, and only had my phone fixed at Dr. Digital, which was for water damage. All of these issues that happened AFTER the repair, came up after the technician worked on my phone.

After this whole hassle of running back and fourth just to get my phone fixed, the technician refused to fix my phone.

I’ve reached out to corporate and also filed a complaint to the Better Business Bureau.

This specific tech who worked on my phone was obnoxiously rude and very unprofessional as he made me feel belittled for something I clearly did not do. I was never formally told of any potential damage that could occur after the repair.

If you are looking for good customer service, a store that is open during their listed hours, someone who takes the time to put all the pieces back together in your phone, GO ELSEWHERE!!!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

You brought a seriously water damaged iPhone X to us. We told you there was no guarantee with water damage, but we were able to get it back to you in mostly working order. Only FaceID wasn't working when we initially returned the phone to you. We did try to repair the FaceID for you when you brought the phone back to the store the second time. Any water damage repair takes time, this one was especially challenging, but we still spent days attempting to fix it.

You were told to bring the phone back to us when you returned from vacation so we could properly reassemble the brackets. You chose to return to the store a little over a month later (initial repair was August 15th, you came back September 19th). That being said, under no circumstances would a few missing internal brackets cause damage to your phone. There are no small pieces rolling around the inside of your phone, the cables don't magically disconnect and snap like a rubber band causing damage...it just isn't possible.

Any problem with your forward facing camera and flashlight is related to the initial water damage. They are both located in the same area of the phone (top of the phone where the FaceID sensor is located), the same area that sustained the majority of the water damage.

When you came back to the store with your phone, there was a line going from the top to the bottom of the screen in one area. We looked at your phone and could quite clearly see and feel a crack at the bottom of your phone, above the charging port, right where the line ends. If you are still stuck on believing that the brackets are the cause of all your issues, the missing brackets were located at the top of your phone...not the bottom where the phone is cracked. Also, again, you can FEEL the crack on the outside...on the LCD.

Regarding the battery, we did not replace the battery. Full stop. End of Story. The battery was not replaced at Dr. Digital. We did not steal your battery, we are not thieves. We have cameras everywhere and can prove with HD video footage that the battery was not replaced in your phone.

Your phone was damaged again. The LCD was broken. It is not the fault of Dr. Digital that your phone sustained additional damage over a month after the initial repair.

If you would like to continue this discussion, please call the store at 416-554-8176 and we will happily give you our lawyer's number.

Orhan in Richmond Hill
Orhan in Richmond Hill
0 reviews Toronto, ON
0/10

Waste of money

Phone wasn’t installed correctly, got attitude when I complained, didn’t rectify their faults , terrible customer service , could not even tell me about a missing screw or replace it, will never use this company’s

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

We are sorry you are unhappy with the repair. Please contact the store at 416-554-8176 to discuss how we may rectify this.

Urokz
Urokz
0 reviews Toronto, ON
10/10

Laptops 250!

Great last minute laptop shopping upgrade for 2019 after 8 years 3 Gig AMD Steam games Streaming sweet better with a unlimited internet plan! Great Staff Service! In person and Online!

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Richard, we thank you for the awesome review and for being such a wonderful customer! Very happy to hear that you are enjoying the laptop you purchased from us. Hope you will continue to visit Dr. Digital for any and all of your tech needs :)

Tom Wright in East york
Tom Wright in East york
4 reviews Toronto, ON
10/10

Quick fix for a broken gamepad

Charging port on my child's DS was broken after much misuse. The guys took it in, sourced the required part and fixed it within 48 hours. Price matched the original quote, service was prompt and friendly.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you so much for your business and taking the time to leave a review! We appreciate it :)

Thomas in Toronto
Thomas in Toronto
1 review Toronto, ON
10/10

MacBook Repair

My laptop wasn't working suddenly and this place was close by and open later than other places so I went in. They were really great and I never felt like I was being taken advantage of, they were honest about the pricing and did all they could to make it affordable for me. Zero complaints and will be coming back to get my phone fixed soon.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review, Thomas. We appreciate your business!

Sarai in Old Toronto
Sarai in Old Toronto
1 review Toronto, ON
10/10

They always take care of me!

Came in to buy a new phone j3 - with tax and case $240! Amazing deal and I’m soooo happy ! Thank you thank you! You guys always take care of me!

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

We glad you're happy with your new phone! Thank you for supporting our small business, we sure appreciate it!

Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Toronto, ON
10/10

Aria

I came in to get my iPhone screen fixed- done in just over an hour- they were really friendly too! Affordable too! I would definitely go back there if I ever break my screen again- which I am sure I will! Lol

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review! We appreciate your business!

Sulabh in Toronto
Sulabh in Toronto
1 review Toronto, ON
0/10

BEWARE of this store!!

Edit#1 (Reply to Dr Digital's response):
HomeStars doesn't allow customers' to respond to a reply from the business, so here is my response to the comment.
#1: The laptop could open and it worked fine. The lid at the bottom would come off a little when pushing the screen. The reason I know that is because I used the laptop 1-2 hours before coming to your shop and the problem with the hinge happened 3-4 days ago. Also, when I came to your store I did mention that the laptop works fine. So, yes I know the laptop was working before I gave it to you because I used it!!
#2: As far as testing the laptop goes before I left, if you look at your "Camera" footage you seem to mention so much, I didn't have the charger of the laptop with me and when I used the workaround charger you provided, I clearly mentioned that it keeps shutting off and then it was mentioned to me that the technician had to leave early due to a migraine, thinking that this may be an issue because the laptop is not charged, I said I will test it at home with the actual charger.
#3: When I went back to your store on Monday to see what the issue is, the technician told me that he doesn't think it was working before I brought to the store and when I mentioned that I was using it 1-2 hour before I brought it to your store, he didn't believe it. He said he will send it to another store. On asking how long would it take for the other store to get back to me, he said he doesn't know, then he said two days then when I told him that I have some important documents in my laptop he said, maybe try on the next day. He also mentioned that they will only look at the laptop but will not fix it. Of course, I had reservations leaving my laptop at your store, especially when the problem clearly started when I left my laptop at your store.
You can happily verify all of the above on your camera, I brought a working laptop in your store and it wasn't working when it came out.

Original Review:
I gave my laptop for repair because it was missing a couple of screws and the back flap was popping out a little if i push the screen a little further. I was told that there is a plastic hinge inside and i can pick it up in a couple of hours. When i picked the laptop from the store and tried to open it, it will boot till the home screen and then shut-off. Thinking that the laptop is not charged I thought I will try again after charging the laptop at home. After leaving the laptop on charge for a few hours, when I tried to switch on the laptop, the same problem persisted and my laptop will shut-down after 15-20 seconds.

I went to the store on Monday and the technician who "fixed" my laptop had a brief look at it and couldn't figure out what is wrong and said I have other things to do and I will have to send it to another location and they will take a couple of days to tell me what is wrong with the laptop but it is not their fault and of course I will have to pay because they didn't "Break" it. The technician said that it was broken from before because of a dent in one of the hinges (which i had for over an year) and since I didn't switch on the laptop to show them it worked at the time of leaving it in the store, there is nothing that they have done.

So basically, I gave a fully working laptop with 3-4 hours of battery backup and the laptop is not working anymore. They put in a couple of screws and messed up some other stuff.

I then went to get it fixed at another store, spent more money because of they mess they created and now even though I can use my laptop with a charger plugged in, but my battery is dead and doesn't take any charge. I am not sure what exactly was done with the battery but all I know is that my laptop was working perfectly fine when I gave it to you and it wasn't when it came out of your shop and now the battery of the laptop is dead. What is appalling to me is that instead of taking responsibility for an issue that was clearly created at your store, you shrugged it off saying the problem with the laptop was before it was brought to your store.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hello,

You brought in a laptop with a hinge that was so broken that it would not open. If the laptop could not even be opened, how is it that you are sure it was working fine before you dropped it off? Our technician repaired the hinge as requested, and you tested the laptop before leaving (we have it on camera). You seemed quite satisfied and left happy.

When you returned, our technician told you he could look at it again, but that you would have to leave it for diagnosis as this was an unrelated issue (as he told you, it seemed like a battery issue). We even said we would have another one of our technicians take a look at it. You told us you were taking the laptop to another repair shop, we said of course, it is up to you.

In your review you stated that you did indeed take it to another repair shop and can only use the laptop with a charger. You need a new battery as we told you. A new battery has nothing to do with a broken hinge repair. A new battery is indeed an additional cost as explained to you.

You are free to leave a review, it does seem patently unfair though to leave a terrible review when the repair requested was indeed performed and when you are on camera happily testing your laptop on the way out.

Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Toronto, ON
10/10

Great Service, Reasonably Fast, Fair Price, Nice People.

Great service, reasonably fast, fair price, nice staff. Can't go wrong. Highly recommend. The only way I could be more happy is if they had a puppy for me to pet.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thanks for leaving a great review! Sorry no puppers in store to pet. We all wish we had a puppy or two here! Hope you consider Dr Digital for your next tech repair :)

Kuldeep in Scarborough
Kuldeep in Scarborough
1 review Scarborough, ON
10/10

Amazing work

I have one plus 5 T
My screen was badly amaged
I go to the Dr Digital work shop and they give me a very good service
In one day my phone recovered
Thank you for your good service.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you for leaving us a review, Kuldeep! We're glad our service pleased you. Hope you come back again next time you need a tech device repaired!

The reviews on this page are the subjective opinion of the Author and not of HomeStars Inc.

More about Dr. Digital

At Dr. Digital, YOU come first. We understand the importance of your tech, so we provide the highest quality of service in everything we do. Our team is committed to ensuring your experience with us excites you to use your technology and join this generation’s thriving technological advancements. Our mission ...
Company profile information is not moderated by HomeStars. Ask the contractor to verify before hiring.
Looking for Electronic Repairs pros in Toronto?