Speedy Appliance Repair

Appliance Repair
45 Bishop Tutu Blvd Toronto ON M5V 2Z8
Write a Review
Write a Review
Jordan Holmes from East York
Jordan Holmes from East York
9 reviews Toronto, ON

Gas Range Install

Horrible experience. Had an appointment booked for between 8-10 am. When no-one contacted me by 10am I tried calling - left a message. No return call. Eventually I got a call at 11:30 from the tech, who showed up 5 minutes later. No explanation, no apology. Not a good start.

The tech comes in, takes one look at the gas range and says he needs to go to Home Depot for a gas hookup kit. The intake people knew that this was a brand new Bosch gas range install, so why the tech didn't have a kit is beyond me. Why a gas appliance tech doesn't have a supply with them at all times is also beyond me. I happened to have a new one that I bought off Amazon, so I told him to use that one.

The guy finally gets the range in place, and I need to remind him to install the anti-tip plate. He proceeds to install it on the wrong side, and drills into my wood floor twice trying to find the right spot. Had he read the manual, he would have seen a plain diagram showing the correct side and measurement from the wall. Even then I had to explain to him to add 3/4" to the measurement to account for the backsplash. Wow.

He gets the gas line installed, and proceeds to push the range back without even turning the gas fully on. He pretends that he was going to notice. OK. After the range is in place, I see that he scratched the wood floor because he didn't bother to use cardboard or anything to protect the floor. Then I see that the leak test solution in the gas line kit wasn't even opened. Wow. Not feeling super safe here, guys.

At the end, my options to pay are via cash or charge. I go with charge, after which he *hands me his phone* to give my cc number to dispatch. Super professional, and not sketchy!

I ask if I need to pay full price since I supplied the gas line. Yep, sure do.

What a joke. Avoid this company.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hello, our tech had to determine what he needed and hence you proving the kit we did not charge for parts as you provided the part. We quoted the hook up at 280.00 labor before hand and that is what was charged. There was a snow storm outside this Saturday and we were late to call clients. We had a tech that got into an accident and we were running behind. We did work for a client and we were rcomended to you by that client. You did not mention anything about scratched floors.