Power Moving

Moving & Storage
Toronto ON M3H 5R9
Write a Review
Write a Review

Ted in Toronto
Ted in Toronto
1 review Toronto, ON

Damaged Items

Long distance move from Port Hope to Thunder Bay. A few of my items were damaged during the move. We purchased the extra insurance through power moving which turned out to be pointless. I asked a few times to put a claim through because of the damages and they never even acknowledged the request.
They did send someone to fix my dining room table and small hutch that were damaged but didnt do anything about my broken/ unusable large tool box (the tall type with drawers) I waited months and there reply about it was as soon as we have another move to Thunder Bay we will pick it up and get it repaired) my move was their first to Thunder Bay so I guess they expected me to wait for years to get it fixed.
Thats just a couple of the many things that was damaged.
Do not waste your money on buying their extra insurance, they dont honour it.
One positive I do have is the workers were great!! Very friendly, professional and hard workers.

Approximate cost of services:
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you for your feedback, Ted.

Our company serves customers all over Canada. We are traveling to Nova Scotia, New Brunswick, Alberta, British Columbia, and more. Your move to Thunder Bay wasn't our first and definitely not the last
Your review is a perfect example of how unfair a customer can be.
You rated our company a very low score. When a potential customer sees the rate that you gave us, without even reading your review they can think that the company ripped you off, damaged your belongings, added hidden fees, send you unprofessional movers and I can go on and on...

Let me explain to you and to whom that read this review, what happened step by step from the time that we contacted you the first time on January 27th, 2022 until your last email on July 26th, 2022


We provided you with a quote based on the number and amount of hours that the move will take. Our quotation was correct from beginning to end. We mentioned to you upfront about every additional charge that may be applied and we were 100% clear and honest with you


We provided you with professional movers that did a great job for you as you mentioned. The movers were able to load your 4-bedroom house inside of our 30ft truck without leaving anything behind. A good mover is maybe the important thing to have when you are booking a move.


You are recommending our customers not to purchase the additional insurance that we are offering because this is "pointless". But the fact is that the insurance cost you only $199 and we spent over $600 on fixing your two damaged pieces of furniture.


Unfortunately, damages can happen from time to time to any moving company, we are all humans. At Power Moving we can be proud that damages are very rare when it comes to the service that we are providing.

As you stated in your email after your move was completed, only 3 items were damaged:
1. Dining table
2. Hall table
3. Tool box drawer

We provided you with a contractor that came to your house, took both of the tables, and fixed them for you. That was your response on May 31st: "Thank you for getting my dining table and hall table repaired. He did a great job."
So we managed to complete successfully 2 of the 3 damaged items.

Regarding your toolbox drawer, it was bent and needed to be hammered and painted. Unfortunately, we couldn't find anyone in your area to come and fix it as they are all were busy, so we offered you instead $100 as a goodwill gesture. You demanded us to buy you a new toolbox (cost $350), only for a bent drawer. Even though your request wasn't reasonable, we agreed to spend an additional $350 just to make you happy, but we mentioned to you that we need to come and pick up your old toolbox first. Again, we are not talking about a damaged toolbox, but only 1 drawer. If your whole toolbox was destroyed, we definitely replaced it for you right away no questions asked. You had only one drawer that got bent and couldn't be opened. A $100 goodwill gesture to bend it back is more than fair. You didn't agree and you decided that you don't want to wait until we will arrive back in Thunder Bay

Here's what we replied to you on July 26th: "I'm very sorry that you are feeling that way. We did everything that we can to satisfy you. Everything was done to your satisfaction except the toolbox issue. You need to look at that from our point of view.
You are asking us to purchase you a new toolbox because of a small dent on the top of your toolbox. If your toolbox was totally destroyed without the option to be repaired, we would purchase you a new one no questions ask. Because of the long distance, our contractor can't come and repair it, so we offered you $100 as a goodwill gesture from our end to make you happy. You refused to accept it, so the best that we can do is to pick up your old toolbox and purchase you a new one. It doesn't make sense to drive all the way from Toronto to Thunder Bay for only 1 toolbox, so I mentioned to you that once we have any job in your area, we will come and replace your toolbox right away. Sorry for the inconvenience. I will definitely keep you posted"

You asked us not to contact you again or you'll share a negative review against our company. We did what you asked, but apparently, it didn't stop you from trying to ruin our reputation


We answered every call and email from you. We never ignored you even once. We replied to every question or concern from you from beginning to end. You emailed and called us more than 25 times before your move and we always answered your emails and phone calls quickly and assist you with everything you needed.

We are always doing the best that we can to keep every customer that we have happy and satisfied. Even though 99% of our happy customers never shared their reviews and 95% of our unsatisfied customers did share their reviews, we are still one of the best, honest, and fair moving companies in Canada you can see it yourself online. Even HomeStars, the place where you shared your review, chooses us 4 years in a row as one of the best moving companies that customers can find. We are always doing the best for our customers and we are always proud of that :)

This response didn't mean to be an argument with you, but we needed to show the whole picture
We will still be more than happy to assist you with your last issue and provide you with $100 goodwill gesture or a new toolbox (but we will need to pick up the old one), as our customers are our top priority no matter what

Feel free to contact us back at any time so we will assist you with this matter

Power Moving Team