Metropolitan Movers

Moving & Storage
16 Spinnaker Way Vaughan ON L4K 2T8
Write a Review
Write a Review
DHultgren from Delta
DHultgren from Delta
15 reviews Delta, BC
0/10

Residential move

We made a short move from Coquitlam to Delta, BC, and decided to hire this company based solely on all the positive reviews and ratings we found on Homestars.

The positives: 1) the call centre was prompt and professional when booking and confirming the move; 2) the crew was very hard working and worked quickly; 3) the price point was very competitive; 4) this company moves larger pieces, like pianos, with care and precision. (Randy was great with ensuring the piano was well taken care of.)

The negatives:
1) There was no pre-move inspection of our home. If we had not moved all of our boxes on our own, the truck would have needed to make two trips.

2) Although the rest of the crew was very hard working and very quick, all of our wood furniture and large items with a softer finish, like leather, was badly scratched up and damaged during the move.

3) I was told the movers would be prepared with blankets and boxes should we need any minor packing done. The crew we got was not prepared. Our smaller items were randomly squashed into whatever they could use around the house as a "box". The language barrier also resulted in items being placed in incorrect rooms in the new house.

Had I known that all of our larger items would be damaged, I would not have tipped the crew as generously as I did.

4) I filed a claim for damages according to the company's processes and timing, and after 19 days, I have not received any kind of acknowledgement that my complaint was being addressed. I called three days ago and was promised a receipt (I was never emailed an official receipt for payment), a call from the crew manager, and some acknowledgement of my claim.

I have been now waiting 21 days with no receipt, no call, an ignored claim, and a house full of damaged furniture. Unfortunately, my experience with this company does not align with the rest of the positive reviews on this site.

For anyone looking to move within the Vancouver lower mainland, I would not recommend using this company unless you want a lot of your stuff damaged and your claim ignored.

UPDATE (11/15): Homestars contacted this company to verify my review. Metropolitan denied that I was a customer, despite providing a valid order number. I have still have not received a response from the company for a receipt or on the status of my claim.

UPDATE (12/16): In response to the staff member who responded below: you need to review your files again. I was indeed a customer and I raised my issue many times. Due to the lack of response to all of queries, this issue is now going through the Better Business Bureau process for resolution.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi DHultgren! I'm sorry to hear about your experience but as I have checked with our customer service, we have not encountered a situation like this. First of all, we do not know when did you booked with us. Scanned all of our moving files from September-October but no similar story like yours. Please feel free to contact us and provide your name and moving date so we can do a deep investigation. Thanks

Previous versions of this review:

DHultgren from Delta
DHultgren from Delta
15 reviews Delta, BC
1/10

Residential move

We made a short move from Coquitlam to Delta, BC, and decided to hire this company based solely on all the positive reviews and ratings we found on Homestars.

The positives: 1) the call centre was prompt and professional when booking and confirming the move; 2) the crew was very hard working and worked quickly; 3) the price point was very competitive; 4) this company moves larger pieces, like pianos, with care and precision. (Randy was great with ensuring the piano was well taken care of.)

The negatives:
1) There was no pre-move inspection of our home. If we had not moved all of our boxes on our own, the truck would have needed to make two trips.

2) Although the rest of the crew was very hard working and very quick, all of our wood furniture and large items with a softer finish, like leather, was badly scratched up and damaged during the move.

3) I was told the movers would be prepared with blankets and boxes should we need any minor packing done. The crew we got was not prepared. Our smaller items were randomly squashed into whatever they could use around the house as a "box". The language barrier also resulted in items being placed in incorrect rooms in the new house.

Had I known that all of our larger items would be damaged, I would not have tipped the crew as generously as I did.

4) I filed a claim for damages according to the company's processes and timing, and after 19 days, I have not received any kind of acknowledgement that my complaint was being addressed. I called three days ago and was promised a receipt (I was never emailed an official receipt for payment), a call from the crew manager, and some acknowledgement of my claim.

I have been now waiting 21 days with no receipt, no call, an ignored claim, and a house full of damaged furniture. Unfortunately, my experience with this company does not align with the rest of the positive reviews on this site.

For anyone looking to move within the Vancouver lower mainland, I would not recommend using this company unless you want a lot of your stuff damaged and your claim ignored.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?