Michael Durham Landscaping

Landscape Contractors & Designers
Oshawa ON L1J 6G1
Write a Review
Write a Review

Star Score
Learn more about how StarScore uses a complex algorithm which considers a company's review ratings, responsiveness, reputation, and recency.

90%

This is the average rating based on homeowner reviews.
This indicates how long it's been since the last review.
Indicates how well a pro reacts to reviews and review-related interactions with Homeowners.
How well a company responds to Service Requests and Reviews.
Reviews by rating (past 12 months)

Reviews for Michael Durham Landscaping

Average customer rating:
9.4 10 (127 reviews)

Sort by

AM
AM
2 reviews Oshawa, ON
10/10

Backyard Project

MDL took on the project of getting our backyard re-soded, add stone patio and address standing water issues and clogged window wells. They did an amazing job and we are very happy with the result. The crew was always on time, courteous and friendly, they always cleaned up at the end of the day. Michael was great to work with, from the initial quote to many conversation regarding our project, he was always there to answer all questions. We are already looking to get MDL take on our next project the front yard.

Approximate cost of services:
$12,000.00
Was this review helpful?
Crystal Nicole in Toronto
Crystal Nicole in Toronto
1 review Ajax, ON
2/10

Driveway Widening and Removing Garden

Contacted me at 4 am that workers would be coming the next day (which was technically the same day). We bought the workers pizza bc they said they were working late and they took the pizza, left abruptly and were sick the next day and unable to work. The patio stones were put in less than a year ago and already have weeds growing through. Very disappointed.

Approximate cost of services:
$8,000.00
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hello Crystal,

Checking in regarding the stone work that was mentioned above as the team returned and redid this for you, thank you
Michael Durham Landscaping Inc.

Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Oshawa, ON
10/10

Amazing clean up transformation

I had an amazing experience having one of Michael Durham Landscapings employees come and do a clean up at my home with bush trimming and gardens done also. Courtney made It look amazing I was so happy with the final results as I just dont have time for it anymore! I will definitely be using Michael in the future!

Approximate cost of services:
$400.00
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you for the Review! Courtney is amazing at what she does! She is an integral part of the team!

Michael Durham Landscaping

Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Pickering, ON
10/10

Landscape design

Always great working with Michael Durham landscape. On time and always reliable for anything landscaping.

Approximate cost of services:
$8,000.00
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you for the great review!
Michael Durham Landscaping

Sam from renoWOW!
Sam from renoWOW!
0 reviews Pickering, ON
2/10

Over rated. Over priced. Terrible after sales service

Very poor after sales service. Unresponsive to questions about warranty. Offers no meaningful information regarding what to do about an expensive tree that was planted based on there professional recommendations yet it died almost immediately.

From the outset this business seems like a top notch organization, but in reality farthest from the truth. Do not hire Michael Durham Landscaping unless you are willing to make it a full time job tracking and chasing this guy down. They now block my calls and fail to own up to faulty workmanship with even less after sale services.

Overpriced and over rated. 2 star review is being generous

Approximate cost of services:
$2,000.00
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hello Sam,

Unfortunately the placement and size of tree as suggested is not where it should have been planted, we do not have a warranty on plants as this is the homeowners responsibility to maintain we are sorry you feel you did not receive the service for having a warranty as we are going through staffing right now for the office yes we are slower to reply, but still do manage to reply once able. At this time

CR  - Oshawa
CR - Oshawa
21 reviews Oshawa, ON
0/10

Bad experiene all around

I paid a deposit to confirm a date for early June and had three no-shows without the benefit of a phone call. Excuses included truck problems, rain storms and going through a divorce. I had to call to inquire every single time as they did NOT feel it was necessary to call and inform me that no one was coming. I finally asked for my deposit back after waiting for a month. I was lucky to get another company to complete the work the following week. If you want peace of mind and professionalism, this is NOT the company to use.

Sept 15, 2023 - Follow-up

After reading the company response, I felt it was necessary to respond. First, this review is based on my experience with the company. Its very nice that it does not reflect your company and that others may have had a better experience. Unfortunately, my experience was not positive, and, as you agreed about the details I provided about my experience, I stand by them 100%. The big issue was the lack of communication, which highlighted a lack of respect for my time. Since I had to rearrange my schedule for your arrival, I was inconvenienced when you did not show up. Your review would have been better if you picked up the phone and told me you could not complete the job due to unforeseen circumstances. It is not too much to ask.

Approximate cost of services:
$10.00
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hello CR,

Unfortunately I have been dealing with much personal issues which have reflected my business communication etc. Over the last while as explained over the phone, when you requested for the deposit back you did receive it as yes unfortunately my business was affected including health issues on top of what I'm going through currently, I'm glad you have found someone to perform your project, as the service you received does not reflect how MDL operates. I strongly disagree with your last portion, as we do have many positive reviews, unfortunately the "excuses" are very real issues that have affected the business for a small portion of time.

Lisa in Paris
Lisa in Paris
3 reviews Oshawa, ON
10/10

Beautiful stonework

Second project weve done with Michael Durham & definitely not the last. Michael is pleasant & easy to work with. All of the people working for him are very professional. Previously had a small patch of grass replaced in backyard & latest project was stonework around our columns. The workmanship was beautiful & everything turned out better than I had expected. Thanks Michael for another job well done!

Approximate cost of services:
$2,500.00
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hello Lisa,

Thank you for the review, greatly appreciated!! :)

Michael Durham Landscaping Inc.

HomeStars in Toronto
HomeStars in Toronto
0 reviews Oshawa, ON
10/10

Landscaping

Michael and his team have assessed, priced and executed a number of landscaping and property maintenance projects for me in a timely manner and on budget. Sodding, yard maintenance, snow plowing, spring and fall cleanup - all completed on time and on budget. Would happily recommend Michael to anyone who needs similar services.

Approximate cost of services:
$10,000.00
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you for the great review!! :)

Michael Durham Landscaping

obi.simpson in Mississauga
obi.simpson in Mississauga
0 reviews Whitby, ON
9/10

sodding part of my front lawn

The work was done as promised with no hassles. The staff they had on my project were very polite and courteous. A rogers cable was cut, but through no fault of their's as it was not buried deep enough when installed. My only beef is the cost of the extra yard of top soil that I had them deliver to top dress my back yard. I should have asked first, and then checked out other alternatives. I would have saved myself some $$$.

Approximate cost of services:
$1,850.00
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you for the review!

Michael Durham Landscaping

Carollincoln2003
Carollincoln2003
0 reviews Oshawa, ON
10/10

New Sod/Lawn and a few Shrubs

The crew was amazing. Very professional and polite!! I highly recommend Michael Durham Landscaping. I am definitely going to inquire about other services as this experience was great.

Approximate cost of services:
$2,160.00
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hello Carol,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a kind review! We are happy that you are satisfied with the work that was completed! Thank you for supporting your local community by supporting Michael Durham Landscaping. We hope to service you again soon!

The reviews on this page are the subjective opinion of the Author and not of HomeStars Inc.

More about Michael Durham Landscaping

Michael Durham Landscaping-289-928-8206 Working Hard so you don't have too! Serving Oshawa & Durham Region for over 6 years WSIB. INSURED. DEPENDABLE. QUALITY. Michael Durham Landscaping is an insured, growing business ready to continue growing and take on your next landscape or property maintenance project let us work hard so ...
Company profile information is not moderated by HomeStars. Ask the contractor to verify before hiring.
Looking for Landscape Contractors & Designers pros in Courtice?