Urbanest Construction

Kitchen Planning & Renovation
Mississauga ON L5L 1K4
Write a Review
Write a Review
HomeStars  >  Basement Renovation in Mississauga  >  Urbanest Construction  >  Won’t return deposit
Amy in Toronto
Amy in Toronto
1 review Mississauga, ON

Won’t return deposit

I met with Marko from Urbanest to do some renovations on my home in the fall of 2019. At the time he came recommended by a friend whose house he was working on. We agreed on a budget and price. I gave him a $5000. Deposit plus hst.

Within two weeks he defaulted on the work on my friend’s house - angry tradesmen showed up at her house demanding to be paid because they had not been paid by the contractor, Marko.

I wrote Marko to say that I could not in good faith proceed with the work and he promised to refund my deposit. I have yet to see that money. I have written him attempting to come up with a payment plan but so far, nothing.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi Amy, Thank you very much for your review.

With regards to the project at your friend’s house, yes we did experience some delays during the project which unfortunately had pushed the finish date forward quite a bit, but we certainly did not default on it. We made every effort to see the project right through to the end, even with the looming first wave of lock-downs due to COVID-19. We have fully completed the project and are quite proud of the final product as we hope the client is as well.

Because I was working on your friend’s home, you reached out to me to quote a renovation project on your home. You approved the budget provided and as stated, provided a deposit prior to the commencement of the project. I received notice from you just a week before we were to begin the project letting me know that you wished to cancel our contract. At that time, it was agreed upon that I would reimburse you for the entire amount of the deposit provided. We both agreed on how and when these funds would be repaid and to this date, I have upheld my side of that agreement. We have been in contact since the termination of your contract and at no point have I not responded to your requests.

It would have been a pleasure to work on your project, however, I did completely understand why you wished to terminate our contract. I sincerely hope that you’ve been able to complete your renovation and are happy with the results.

Sincerest Regards,

Marko Furlani

President & Creative Director

Urbanest Construction