EconoShield Windows and Doors

Windows & Doors Installation & Service
320 65 Avenue SE,F Calgary AB T2H 0R8
Write a Review
Write a Review
Website
Star Score
StarScore uses a complex algorithm which considers a company’s review ratings, responsiveness, reputation, and recency. Learn more.

90%

This is the average rating based on homeowner reviews.
This indicates how long it's been since the last review.
Low reputation means there has been review tampering or a company request to remove a review. This score is also impacted when we do not have enough information i.e: low number of reviews.
How well a company responds to Service Requests and Reviews.
Reviews by rating (past 12 months)
Best of 2020 winner 2 timesBest of 2020winner 2 times

Reviews for EconoShield Windows and Doors

Average customer rating:
9.3 10 (63 reviews)

Sort by

dbernhart
dbernhart
0 reviews Redcliff, AB
10/10

Bedroom windows

From the moment they came to the door everything they did was done with efficiency and professional care. We will definitely be calling them for more windows and doors.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you for your feedback. We are very happy to hear you are satisfied with your order. Kind regards and all the best from EconoShield Windows & Doors.

Nick in Calgary
Nick in Calgary
0 reviews Calgary, AB
9/10

Front, patio door and window replacement

We had a big project to not only replace the doors and windows but to also enlarge the windows and extend the door way to add another room after entry. Econoshield performed a great job, quickly and efficiently. They also replaced the windows with a 3 layer pane for the price of 2. We also received a $1500 rebate from the government.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hello Nick. Thank you for your kind words and feedback. We really do hope you are enjoying your new windows and doors and if there is anything else we can do to improve our service, quality, and workmanship, please don't hesitate to let us know. Thank you for your business!

Ambi61
Ambi61
1 review Maple Creek, SK
10/10

Double front door replacement, Sliding patio door replacement, 2 big bedroom windows and 1 frosted bathroom window replaced.

If everyone would have the work ethic of the two gentlemen who did the work for us, we would be far better off. Clean, fine finishing, precise and meticulous are just a few superlatives that I can think of for their expertise in workmanship. Once we get this venture paid off I am positive we will get them back to replace a few more windows and/or doors.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you for your feedback, it is much appreciated. We strive for your satisfaction and if there's anything else we can do for you, please let us know. In the meantime, enjoy your new windows and don't forget to spread a good word about us to your friends and neighbours! Best Regards from Team EconoShield!

Pam
Pam
1 review Beaverton, OR
10/10

new windows (7) and one new door

Great to have Econoshield come to my home to explain windows and doors - all the options. The work was done well and any mess was cleaned up after the job was complete. The installers were friendly and answered all my questions. I am glad to have new windows and a new door from Econoshield, and have already recommended them to friends. Thank you!

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hello Pam! Thank you for your feedback. We are very happy you are pleased with your windows and door. Thank you for your business!

diavig
diavig
0 reviews Medicine Hat, AB
9/10

Full house window replacement

The installers did more work than I expected, making adjustments to existing inconsistencies and making everything flow.
They were polite, friendly, cleaned up after they were done. I love how the whole appearance of the house has changed. They were flexible when I had to change the planned installation date.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hello! Thank you for your feedback, it's much appreciated. We strive for your satisfaction and if there's anything else we can do for you, please let us know. In the meantime, enjoy your new windows!

jujubewood
jujubewood
0 reviews Medicine Hat, AB
10/10

Doors and windows

Replaced front and back door and 3 basement window .
Work was done fast and good .
The installers were super nice .

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hello Judith. Thank you for finding time to spread a good word about us. We appreciate the business of great customers like you. Enjoy your new windows and doors! All the best from EconoShield Windows & Doors!

Tracy in Calgary
Tracy in Calgary
0 reviews Calgary, AB
10/10

New Windows

EconoShield team did an excellent job at our house. We had our windows installed 2 months ago and can't be happier with them. With the recent snowstorm in Calgary the windows performed excellent, our house stayed warm and was not loosing heat as it did before with our old windows, also no ice build up on the inside! We also noticed a huge reduction in noise. We replaced all the windows in our house and installation took two days to complete. EconoShield office administrator also helped us with filing documents to receive our government rebate. Overall we are very happy with the company and new windows they installed.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you, Tracy, for finding time to share your impression about us. We love our windows and stand by the quality of the product and craftsmanship. Enjoy your windows and please keep in mind, we offer a referral incentive of $100 cash if you recommend us to your friends or neighbors. All the best from EconoShield Windows & Doors!

David in Calgary
David in Calgary
5 reviews Calgary, AB
0/10

Incompetent salesperson, inferior installation and product

We had a total of 7 windows and one door installed by this company. We should have spent an extra $500 and gone with another company we got a quote from, but the opportunity of saving money appealed to us. Our initial interaction with our salesperson was so-so. She was fairly abrupt and spoke to us like we knew nothing about home renovations when we asked her questions for clarification. (We have renovated over 4 houses) Once she took the initial measurements we went over window styles and asked her if the particular style we were looking at (awning) had hardware style that opened on the outside edges to make them egress compliant for the bedrooms. She said ‘yes, yes of course’ and waved off our questions/concerns. We had seen this style previously in another house where the window had an awning style opening mechanism and the hardware did not block the exit from the window. We were very adamant with the salesperson that if they did not meet egress we wanted a different style and she said not to worry and it was all good. So we signed the contract, gave a deposit and waited for the measurement person to come for an appointment at a later date. Fast forward 10 days (too late to change our minds) the measurement guy shows up, takes our measurements and has the service order in front of him and goes over the window purchase information. He said NOTHING about our window choice not being egress compliant for the bedrooms. Of all people he’s supposed to be the specialist who does installations all the time and knows what to look for and what meets code. Also, he started questioning why our furniture was setup like it was and tried to argue with my wife about the placement. Completely ridiculous! Our windows finally showed up and once they were installed, none of the screens fit properly so they had to be reordered. The installation was shoddy at best. For the basement windows they filled in around the frames with cement. This makes me wonder if they even measured properly to begin with. Our back door currently has such a loose fit that we have ice around the edges in the winter which is causing the door to warp. They should have squared up the frame and made everything fit properly. Our windows don’t sit with a tight fit when locked because they were not leveled properly, and form ice on the inside during the winter. This should not be a problem with 2 year old windows that are triple pane. To top it all off the bedroom windows are not egress compliant. My wife phoned the company and had a couple of extensive phone calls with the main person a few months after they were installed. (And I need to mention, it was only after we had another window company come in for different windows did we realize the heap of problems with these windows.) (After ALWAYS having to leave a message with Econoshield. No one answers right away, it goes to an answering service company) The person (either Dimitry or Andrew, depending on the day) basically told us that since we signed off on the contract and that the salesperson didn’t work for them anymore, the error was on us and there was absolutely nothing he would do. Even though we repeatedly asked the salesperson to verify the window requirements BEFORE everything was finalized, she never got back to us to say we should choose another style. We tried to follow up on the door warranty and that company(the manufacturer) also told us it was not their problem. What a waste of time, money, and effort all around. I would highly recommend you look elsewhere if searching for a window installation company. There are far better, less incompetent companies out there. Don’t try and save a few bucks. You’ll regret it. Windows were installed in 2017.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hello David,
Thank you for taking the time to leave this review.
The purchase and installation of your windows took place in 2016, and unfortunately, the project manager you were dealing with back then is no longer working with us. As a result, we cannot verify the information discussed verbally between yourself and our representative. We can only rely on what is written on the agreement you signed with us. Based on that, we have done everything according to the specs you requested.
To avoid future disputes, strict company policy was implemented to refuse installation of bedroom windows that do not meet egress specifications, even if a customer insists on a particular design.
The installation of your windows and door meets and exceeds the building code regulations which we strictly follow. We have searched through the records and we never received any of your complaints regarding the window or door malfunction as it would have been addressed right away.
The call answering service is used after business hours or when all other phone lines are busy. This is done as a better alternative to the voicemail option, so in case of an urgent matter, appropriate personnel can receive a caller's message at any time even when the office is closed. During the business hours, all calls are answered by the office personnel.
Once again, thank you for your feedback. We strive for the best possible customer service and always looking for ways to improve. We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience we may have caused you.

ben4idol in Calgary
ben4idol in Calgary
1 review Calgary, AB
10/10

windows and patio door

Our experience with the Econoshield team was excellent. From Dmitry, the estimator, to Kelly setting up the installation date and to Alex and Dmitry the installers, they were all very professional. Their product was great, and their price could not be beat.
Thanks again.
Ron and Susan April 2019 Medicine Hat

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hello Ron and Susan. Such a pleasure to do business with you! We appreciate you sharing your experience with us and with others. We strive for 100% customer satisfaction and your feedback validates our mission: to offer the highest level of products and service to our customers. Please enjoy your new windows and patio door.

Bill
Bill
1 review Calgary, AB
10/10

Kitchen, Dining, living room windows and new front door.

The installation team was efficient, clean, methodical and courteous. The attention to detail was excellent. T2

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hello Bill! Thank you for your feedback. We are very happy you are satisfied with your windows and door. Thank you for your business!

The reviews on this page are the subjective opinion of the Author and not of HomeStars Inc.

More about EconoShield Windows and Doors

EconoShield Windows & Doors provides energy-efficient replacement windows and doors in Calgary, Medicine Hat and surrounding areas. From free in-home consultation to the inspection and final finish of energy-efficient windows, the EconoShield team is with you at every stage.

CATEGORIES
Windows & Doors Installation & Service
PRODUCTS
Windows, Doors
WEBSITE
http://www.econoshield.ca
LIABILITY INSURANCE
Yes
WORKERS COMPENSATION
Yes
BONDED
Yes
WRITTEN CONTRACT
Yes
Company profile information is not moderated by HomeStars. Ask the contractor to verify before hiring.