AMJ Campbell Movers, Moving and Storage

Moving & Storage
9924 River Road Delta BC V4G 1B5
Write a Review
Write a Review
Website
HomeStars
Moving & Storage
AMJ Campbell Movers, Moving and Storage
Star Score
StarScore uses a complex algorithm which considers a company’s review ratings, responsiveness, reputation, and recency. Learn more.

51%

This is the average rating based on homeowner reviews.
This indicates how long it's been since the last review.
Low reputation means there has been review tampering or a company request to remove a review. This score is also impacted when we do not have enough information i.e: low number of reviews.
How well a company responds to Service Requests and Reviews.
Reviews by rating (past 12 months)
Giving Back Award winnerGiving Back Awardwinner

Reviews for AMJ Campbell Movers, Moving and Storage

Average customer rating:
4.7 10 (178 reviews)

Sort by

Jonathan in Hamilton
Jonathan in Hamilton
1 review Hamilton, ON
8/10

Winter Move

Very professional and very efficient. Moved during a winter storm in February and the team was very diligent and respectful of property. Would highly recommend them for any move and would gladly use again.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi Jonathan,

Thanks so much for writing us; it's so thrilling to hear about your positive experience while moving with AMJ Campbell! Hope you are all settled in your new home now.

Enjoy your day!

Chicago27! in Ottawa
Chicago27! in Ottawa
1 review Ottawa, ON
10/10

Great moving company!!!

This is by far the most professional, organized moving company ! Great service, very hard working staff. I would recommend AMJ CAMPBELL MOVING to my friends and family!!! 100% very reliable.

Was this review helpful?
Anonymous
Anonymous
5 reviews Vaughan, ON
0/10

Terrible Service and damaged items

I would never use this company again. they damaged an antique table, dropped a stack of boxes. Repeated efforts to speak to someone in management resulted in absolutely nothing. terrible customer service. Ran the hours up, did not do as they promised they would. For sure go elsewhere when choosing a mover.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

We are so sorry to hear about your experience. This is definitely not the level of service we typically provide. We do want to thank you for reaching out to our management team to try and resolve. This truly does educate us and take each experience as a learning opportunity to improve our services for our customers. Thank you for taking the time to write us.

AMJ Campbell #1 movers in Dashwood
AMJ Campbell #1 movers in Dashwood
1 review Dashwood, ON
10/10

Wayfair purchase delivered

I had two young gentlemen deliver my bathroom vanity I had ordered from Wayfair they were extremely polite and very professional. They insisted that they remove their shoes even though I had said please leave them on. I hope AMJ Campbell are aware of the great representation that these young men showed in my home. It was a truly great experience having them there and they certainly put the bigger movers to shame. Please if you ever need a mover for any reason give them a call. They are a 10 plus in my book.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
John in Lake Errock
John in Lake Errock
7 reviews Lake Errock, BC
10/10

Moved a 500 pound fridge from the garage to the kitchen on the first floor.

Another freight company had been hired to move the fridge but they we’re unable to finish the job. AMJ Van Lines we’re engaged to move the fridge. Additionally they were able to schedule the job to meet a very tight time line to coincide with the appliance installers. Would definitely recommend this company.

Was this review helpful?
Kaija in Toronto
Kaija in Toronto
2 reviews Toronto, ON
1/10

Moving cross the country

The only thing they were good at was giving a quote. Lots of promises no delivery!! My things were broken damaged and lost during the move. I went with big company as I thought I pay more I get better service, not the case. They basically broke 50% of my things and I didn’t have a lot to begin with.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

We would require more information to confirm this review unfortunately with only a first name and no information on where the move originated and the destination we cannot locate the file to advise the office that was involved with this relocation.This is not the type of service we provide and obviously we wish to help sort out the problem if you wish to contact me directly I will have the correct branch manager contact you.You should also immediately contact us to start a damage claim. My contact email is abrown@amjbc.ca

Bryn S
Bryn S
1 review Mississauga, ON
2/10

Slow, inexperienced, time milking movers that created a horrible experience

My wife and I have used AMJ twice. The first time in 2015 it was a great experience. The crew worked hard, they could carry a lot of stuff, the were diligent, and also friendly. Because the first time was great, we used them again in July for another household move. This time they were terrible. These guys were working in slow motion in order to bill more hours and it was so obvious that we called AMJ that morning with concerns about the crew that was sent. Our account manager assured us that all crews are qualified and ..... (insert corporate jargon here). The move was estimated at 10 hours and these guys did it in 13. They took long breaks, carried what I would call a half loads most of the time, and were so inexperienced I had to turn away several times because I thought expensive items were going to get dropped. My wife brought this up to our account manager after the move and this was escalated to someone but we never heard back from them. Clearly they don't care since they got their money and they know we wouldn't use them again anyway.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi Bryn,

It's great to hear you had a great first experience with us. It's extremely unfortunate your second experience did not turn out the same way. We also truly do want to assist further if at all possible. Therefore, feel free to reach out to Krystal Duz, Customer Service Support and with a little more information regarding your move, we can definitely look further into your situation.

Thank you for taking the time to write us, we do appreciate it.

Yana in Toronto
Yana in Toronto
1 review Toronto, ON
0/10

Worst experience of my life

If i could rate it - , I would.Thanks to AMJ Campbell. I lost thousands of dollars and faith in humanity. If you do not want your move to be a complete disaster, run away from this company.
I moved with my family from Winnipeg to Toronto in July 2018, full service for packing and moving 4 BD house. The price was between the highest, after a negotiations, the company reduced the price a bit to be more competitive, it ended with $6406. Although I had better prices, AMJ Campbell convinced me to go with them. The packing day was long. Only 3 people worked although I requested 4 because I had a lot of stuff. The delivery was late in 1 day, the company offered a discount of $300 which I accepted.

The day of receiving was a complete and total disaster.
I put all my family gold, diamonds and my jewelry in home in a jewelry boxes. I was wearing on me some of the gold items, such as my wedding and engagement rings, my grandmother ring and gifts from my mother, day before I received the shipment. I used to wear those specific items every day. The day of the receiving was very long and stressful, all the jewelry were in the boxes in the house. The movers had an access to everywhere in the house and I couldn't possibly watch every step in 2-floors house. I never thought it could happen, however next morning after receiving the furniture and stuff, I couldn't find 2 jewelry boxes with most precious and priceless items, inherited gold and diamond jewelry from my mother, my Mother-in-law RIP and Grandmother RIP, my wedding and engagement rings, my mother and Mother-in-law RIP engagement and wedding rings, and gold items my husband gave me. My husband is only one child, his mother gave me her gold before she died.
I filed complain to the police. Total lost is appraised above 27000. The company takes no responsibility and is not willing to conduct any type of investigation. They just answered my question, stating that all the movers have clean criminal record, and refused to provide any supportive documentation. I had also a painter in the house at the same time, but he started to work before the moving day and continued to work another month after moving day. The jewelry went missing on the moving day. Nothing else disappeared during any other day. I am heartbroken, all the memories, all the jewelry I had form my mom, Grandmother and Mother-in-Law are gone. I don't know how to talk to my mom, she's old sick lady, she worked very hard her whole life and she gave me her jewelry to keep with me. I am ashamed to look into my husband face. Everything precious from 3 generations of my family disappeared on the moving day. It happened 2 months ago, and only now I can find a strength to talk about it. My family pain is endless, this is ruining my life. I'm not pointing fingers, those are sad facts.

The team of the movers who came with the furniture were unprofessional to say the least. They didn't wrap my wooden stairs in the house and didn't put runners at the beginning, there didn't care if they cause any damage and started to argue from the beginning. Only after me pointing out the scratch they just made on hardwood floor, they wrapped the stairs and placed the runners. The movers refused to re-assemble the furniture. The furniture was only partially wrapped. After my call to the office, they reassembled only part of the beds. The team lead, Frank, was extremely rude, he yelled at me in my house in front of my kids. How did I dare to call the office and cause him trouble. Just to be clear, re-assemble was part of the contract, I can't do it myself. This is why I hired "professionals" and payed for the service a lot of money. After an argument, I found out that my expensive Ashley furniture and things were moved 3 times from trailer to trailer, and the last small trailer was to small.

I don't know why I deserved such a horrible experience, I was very nice, calm and polite with the movers, I offered them a lunch and beverages, one of them even ate. I paid more than 6 thousands to receive a service which was below 0.

Only after few mails and phone calls, 3 days later, another team cam to assemble the furniture.

Part of the furniture and other stuff such as iron or paintings came broken and damaged. Box, rugs, desk and some few items are missing. Most of the furniture is scratched, damaged and chipped. There is a lot of damage to my king bed and king mattress, some damage to the kids beds and desks. I am upset, because all the furniture was purchase a year and half before the moving day, We purchased a new house in Winnipeg less then 2 years before the moving day, and we invested a lot in new expensive furniture and decorations. Some of the unbreakable items such as books were wrapped in a lot of paper, but other breakable items such as glasses were jammed inside small box with a lot of the paper on the top and the bottom. I guess different packers use different system to pack, or the packers were tired by the end of the long packing day and just didn't care anymore. Any ways, most of the boxes were just filled with the papers, 2 months later I'm still throwing the papers away.

To sum up, I do NOT recommend AMJ Campbell. This was the worst service experience of my life. If I went back in time, I would prefer to leave my furniture behind and not hire this company. I filed claim for all the missing and damaged items, except the jewelry. The police investigation is open, I am waiting to receive the results and considering to go to the court against the company and against the movers personally for the missing jewelry.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi Yana,

It seems as though you had a very poor moving experience which involved several personal items which are near and dear to you. We can't even imagine how you must feel and what it is like to go through this type of experience. It has taken some time to put words together to express our sincere apologies to you and would like to help you in any way that we can. Allow us a little more time to connect with those involved to see what we can do to assist you. Someone will be in toch with you again soon.

Thank you for writing us and sharing your experience, it is very helpful to know.

Lea & Nick, North York
Lea & Nick, North York
6 reviews Port Perry, ON
10/10

Amazing job !!!!

A big kudos to AMJ Campbell, especially Glen and his amazing team. What a delight they were - courteous, professional, very hard working and proficient. Moved from Toronto to Port Perry mid April. Took about 7 hours and they were working non-stop. We couldn't keep up with them!!! Nothing broken or chipped. Also had our kitchen dishes and all kitchen ware packed by a wonderful team of ladies. I could never pack dishes the way they did. Absolutely amazing!! We can't say enough about how AMJ made our stressful day more relaxed. We wouldn't hesitate for a minute to recommend them to anyone. Again, thanks to AMJ and Glen and his wonderful team. Awesome job!!!!

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi Lea & Nick,
Thank you very much for your glowing review! We were thrilled to receive this note. We're also so glad to hear your move went so well. Our crew members do work very hard on each and every move. Wishing you all the best in your new Port Perry home!

Darrell in Kanata
Darrell in Kanata
1 review Ottawa, ON
0/10

Deceived and lost money

I moved in 2017 and chose AMJ Campbell after getting estimates from several other moving companies. I prepared a very detailed list of items I had to move. I packed myself and gave them the number of boxes. I went into every room in my house and itemized everything. The estimate they gave me was $1860. In an email to the company I stressed how my budget was tight and I could not afford more than this. I asked how accurate the estimate vs the actual cost would be. I got a call and I was assured verbally that they are always good at estimates vs the actual charge and I would not have any worries. It was followed up by an email stating how they are not a company that would levy big charges that didn’t match the estimate. However my final bill came to $2518. A 40% INCREASE. I could not believe this. I had to borrow money from my line of credit to pay this bill and I’m still trying to pay it off on a single income. It took them 3.5 hours to unload my old house. Loading my new house took 6 hours. They poked as much as possible loading my belongings into the new house. Meanwhile I’m paying by the hour. Instead of 4 guys they promised to send, they sent only 3 guys which made it worse. I asked the head mover where the 4th guy was and he told me after surveying my house he decided it would move fast due to what I had and they wouldn’t need a 4th guy. It was a bait and switch arrangement where I was told one thing but then presented with something entirely different afterwards. I started collecting documents and emails to take this to small claims court. With the unpacking and work to be done getting settled I just didn’t have the time. I’ll probably regret that forever. At least I can write some reviews to let others know what I went through. I found AMJ Campbell to be completely dishonest. Beware of this company.

Was this review helpful?
The reviews on this page are the subjective opinion of the Author and not of HomeStars Inc.

More about AMJ Campbell Movers, Moving and Storage

AMJ Campbell Movers, Moving and Storage have been moving people into their new homes since 1934. With 80 years of experience, your next best move should be with Canada's largest mover. AMJ Campbell Movers, Moving and Storage. Visit http://www.amjbc.ca/

Services:Local and Long Distance Residential Moving, International Moving, Packing, Unpacking & Put Away Services, Short and Long Term Storage, Express Vault Moves, Office and Industrial Moving, Corporate Relocations, Supplier of Packing Materials

CATEGORIES
Moving & Storage
SERVICES
Local and Long Distance Residential Moving, International Moving, Packing, Unpacking & Put Away Services, Short and Long Term Storage, Express Vault Moves, Office and Industrial Moving, Corporate Relocations, Supplier of Packing Materials
SPECIALITIES
Canada's largest coast to coast moving company providing exceptional, personalized service. AMJ Campbell is the largest Canadian agent for Atlas Van Lines.
WEBSITE
http://www.amjbc.ca/
YEAR ESTABLISHED
1934
MEMBERSHIPS
Better Business Bureau Accredited Business since 1982
Company profile information is not moderated by HomeStars. Ask the contractor to verify before hiring.