We had our potlights installed by majid and Nima. They finished the installation of 10 indoor potlights, 4 light fixtures in one day, which was good. However, they had to drill extra holes in the ceiling to avoid pipes/plumbing due to a washroom on the second floor. The other extra hole they made was because of a design flaw. We asked them to install a light fixture in the living room and they drilled a hole above the sofa, close to the window, which was off. When we saw them make the hole, we immediately told them to move the light fixture so that it would be at the center and above the coffee table. At first they said that we agreed on the design (a rough drawing) already and that we should pay extra for moving the light fixture. But moe waived the extra charge, which is just right since their drawing was not exact and had no measurements. Also, they knew the placement of the furniture when they did the "design" which puzzles us why they thought of putting the pendant fixture above the sofa? The third extra hole they made was for the installation of a separate switch for the potlights. These 3 extra holes are really an eyesore. we regret as we look at our ceiling and see these poorly patched holes, which we think shouldnt have been there, had they been more careful. We brought these up to moe and he gave us $150 off our total price. Appreciate that but Sadly that is not enough to repair the ceiling.
For the outdoor potlights, we had timer switch installed. They charge $65 for the timer, which you can find at your local hardware store for $30. Brought this up again and they slashed $15 from the price. If you know how to install a switch, DIY and save $35. We didnt know that it was way cheaper at the hardware store until they installed it, then we looked it up online, and it was already too late to cancel.
Except for the extra holes on our ceiling, the potlights look fine and really brightened our home.
We also had them (nima and randy) do electrical work.one was to make a new electrical outlet which went well. Another job was to extend the tv outlet 9 inches forward since we were building a new stone wall to hold our fireplace and tv. What they did was just tap the original tv outlet and ran a wire to extend to where the new wall would be, which was really disappointing. That would mean that the original tv outlet or electrical junction would be hidden behind the new wall and that is against electrical code, dangerous and would cause too much hassle to repair in case of problems. Our new wall would have to be opened or destroyed to access the junction, and that defeated our purpose of hiring an ESA certified company/electrician to extend our tv outlet to be up to code. They did not even warn or say something about the hazards of hiding a junction behind the wall. Fortunately, we were able to check before building the wall, and found out that what the connection shouldnt be that way so we called moe about it. They said that in order to be up to code, it would take around 6 hrs to work on it and would cost a whole lot more. How come they did not tell us about this beforehand and why would they do something against code?We specified that we were going to build a wall, thus we wanted the tv outlet to be placed on the new wall. We ended up having them remove the extension and revert to the original setup. We did not test the outlet when they left so when we plugged our tv, the outlet was not working because of a loose neutral wire, which we had to wire ourselves for the outlet to work. We did not bother calling them anymore, but that was really disappointing. By the way there was no refund for the supposed extension of tv outlet.
Overall, Moe is really nice and pleasant to deal with. But we think his workers need more training and experience. Not only on the actual electrical job but also on communication skills, and politeness. Before drilling a hole, it would be better if they asked and confirmed with the customer first. When you want to clarify some things with them, especially nima, all he says is "talk to moe", even if you only want to know what they did exactly. And they tend to always hurry up and leave.
Also, i think they should remove their promise of "absolutely no damage" because when we asked them if they always had to make extra holes, they said yes. So customers should prepare to patch and repair their ceilings.
Would we recommend quality potlights? Most likely not, unless moe or a more experienced electrician does the job, or is present to supervise.
- Company Response
Thanks for your review. we mention on our website and our estimate (like you mentioned in your review) a cut or two might be needed for switch wiring! and you knew before you gave us the job. so not sure why after all the talk and agreements and even after the discount i gave you(which you asked for in order to be happy!) you still felt this way. in regards to your fixture, our team and myself personally advised you on the position you planned for it. we mentioned it will be in way of your TV(which was mounted too high by whoever installed it) you wanted to proceed anyway. and as a result, after it was installed you saw the point. now the story is changed here and you are blaming us for something you asked for. with all the respect customer is always right. so we moved it to where we suggested at first (FOR FREE) and patched the old hole for you (FOR FREE)
I am actually very proud of my guys and my team. my guys are still with me after three years. I trust them and we can see other peoples comments here as well. Im proud of the patch job we have done for you on popcorn ceiling. glad you posted pictures!!!
in regards to the fireplace, we never do or offer to do anything thats against the code. you asked for a plug, we did it for you. I agree it wasn't connected and i sent back guys immediately to connect it for you at no charge of course. however when you mentioned they will close the wall around the fireplace we advised that cant be done. you need a hard-wire connection if no access panel is installed. and it was only then when you asked us to remove it. and we did. three visits for a job that we charged $250 (including installing a breaker and individual line for this plug) my cost was $370 on the plug. we gave you a lower rate just to make sure you are happy with us since you weren't too happy with the holes from potlight installation. also gave you some money off the bill (like you mentioned in your email) and specifically asked you if you are fully happy and if there is anything else we can/could have done to make this experience better and you mentioned "now im happy"
all this being said, I still apologize if you had a bad or anything less than pleasant experience with Quality Potlight. I am still willing to make this experience better for you if you wish. give us a call!
Thanks for your business