The Great Plumbing Co

Plumbing
Toronto ON M3A 1Z5
Write a Review
Write a Review
Website
HomeStars
Plumbing
The Great Plumbing Co
Star Score
StarScore uses a complex algorithm which considers a company’s review ratings, responsiveness, reputation, and recency. Learn more.

98%

This is the average rating based on homeowner reviews.
This indicates how long it's been since the last review.
Low reputation means there has been review tampering or a company request to remove a review. This score is also impacted when we do not have enough information i.e: low number of reviews.
How well a company responds to Service Requests and Reviews.
Reviews by rating (past 12 months)
Best of 2019 winnerBest of 2019winner

Reviews for The Great Plumbing Co

Average customer rating:
9.9 10 (186 reviews)

Sort by

Paula
Paula
7 reviews Toronto, ON
10/10

In good hands

Jeff recommended a solution and the price seemed reasonable. We didn't shop around. He did call when he couldn't make it and we rescheduled. He seems reliable.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank You Paula;
Great to hear you were happy with our service. It certainly is rewarding for us to receive such a kind review and is very much appreciated. It was our pleasure to be of service and hope to hear from you should you require our service in the future, we are always here to help! The Team at The Great Plumbing Co

angelica
angelica
4 reviews Toronto, ON
10/10

Water Leakage

Outstanding service. Water was leaking from the upstairs bathroom and kitchen to the basement. Jeff found the water leakage and fixed it. What a relief for me to find someone trustworthy, efficient and professional. Truly exceptional service.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank You Angelica;
Great to hear you were happy with our service. It certainly is rewarding for us to receive such a kind review and is very much appreciated. It was our pleasure to be of service and hope to hear from you should you require our service in the future, we are always here to help! The Team at The Great Plumbing Co

scott
scott
2 reviews Toronto, ON
10/10

Bathroom Renovation

Jeff was very professional in his communication and in completing the work. He was respectful of my time and followed through on his commitments. I would highly recommend his services.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank You Scott;
Great to hear you were happy with our service. It certainly is rewarding for us to receive such a kind review and is very much appreciated. It was our pleasure to be of service and hope to hear from you should you require our service in the future, we are always here to help! The Team at The Great Plumbing Co

Keith
Keith
2 reviews Toronto, ON
10/10

replacement of laundry valves/taps

I contacted The Great Plumbing Co regarding replacement of the hot and cold laundry valves for my washing machine, which were leaking. The front office advised me of their policy re written estimate and option to proceed with work in advance. I received an email and text within seconds confirming the appointment. On the appointment day, I was notified that Jeff Wright was on his way. Jeff arrived as scheduled and proceeded to provide a written estimate while explaining 3 options for repair and replacement with the relevant costs. Jeff was professional and courteous. At completion he advised that I operate the washer on a test basis to check for leaks, which there were none. The entire process from start to finish proceeded in a timely manner. I would highly recommend Jeff Wright and The Great Plumbing Co for all your plumbing needs.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank You Keith;
Great to hear you were happy with our service. It certainly is rewarding for us to receive such a kind review and is very much appreciated. It was our pleasure to be of service and hope to hear from you should you require our service in the future, we are always here to help! The Team at The Great Plumbing Co

Bella
Bella
0 reviews Toronto, ON
10/10

Identify water leakage

Noticed a swollen ceiling below bathroom a few days ago. Jeff came in today & did an assessment to identify the water leakage. Couldn’t be repaired right away because the leakage is caused by shower’s panel liner around the drain and we basically need to redo the whole shower area but Jeff explained to me thoroughly how the panel liner caused the problem, how it should be installed next time, what kind of wood board to get, what questions I should ask when shopping for renovation contractors, etc. He even fixed my improperly installed toilet fill valve for free which avoided another flooding disaster for us! Highly recommended! Will definitely go with Jeff whenever we have plumbing issue again!

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank You Bella;
Great to hear you were happy with our service. It certainly is rewarding for us to receive such a kind review and is very much appreciated. It was our pleasure to be of service and hope to hear from you should you require our service in the future, we are always here to help! The Team at The Great Plumbing Co

Private User
Private User
Private User reviews , ON
1/10

Plumbing Quote

Despite this company having several great reviews I did not have a pleasant experience with TGPC. BEWARE that if you call these guys and the plumber stays more than 30 min for their consult (even if they can’t find what your issue is) then you will be charged for EVERY 30 min-thus the consult fee is not a flat rate. I paid $178 for a consult where I was given SUGGESTIONS of how to fix - my prob was not solved. My experience may be uncommon or maybe others have experienced the same-but wanted to inform others. The plumber was very nice and even offered to help put stuff back under my sink-but I didn’t realize they charge for that. Customers beware of hidden fees

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

“Private User”, It is unfortunate you feel this way. We at The Great Plumbing Co take providing our plumbing service very seriously. Our scheduling process is informative, thorough and detailed, this way providing the best experience and value to the customer. This approach is clearly exemplified with numerous great reviews that we have that provides a significant overall 99% rating.
Unfortunately your description as to the service provided is not accurate. Below are the facts as to what exactly transpired with providing our valued service to you.
Nov 11 2019 at 1pm we were contacted by you as to an odour in your home, both in the kitchen area as well as the basement washroom.
You were notified by our dispatch as to how we operate and provide service. Your questions were answered and your service call was scheduled for the following day Nov 12 2019.
An e-mail and text message was sent confirming your appointment, these also explain very clearly once more our policies, procedures, terms and conditions for you the customer.
Our fully Master Licenced and insured Plumber arrived the very next day Nov 12 2019 at 10:10am to provide you with help with respect to your issue.
The issue as explained by you and documented was then addressed by the Master Plumber with 35 years experience on site with you.
There was considerable discussion as to what the possible cause of this odour was or could be. This included an approach that was the least invasive to start. We did not recommend any excessive work such as opening of walls etc... prior to the suggestions we provided be fulfilled by you, this way also keeping the cost to you under control. As your home was of age and had been renovated top to bottom it was suggested we take one step at a time in the approach to ascertain where the odours originated.
Total time spent at your home was 1 hour 22minutes 10:10am – 11:32am and you were part of the overall assessment performed every step of the way.
The result was as follows and was duly noted on your work order.
“Assessed above issue by performing inspection of existing kitchen and basement bathroom”
It was discovered and explained in detail and also noted on your work order that there was an issue with respect to the vent connection on you kitchen sink waste.
You understood our approach and what the next step would be that could be performed easily by you in order to save any unnecessary costs to you. These next steps were agreed to by you and also noted on your work order.
Prior to presenting the work order / bill to you it was explained verbally the minimum we could charge for our exploratory work would be $158.00 + HST. You agreed, paid, and we expected to hear from you in a few days as to the suggestions provided and what the results were.
Nov 29 2019 a telephone call was received by you by our dispatch that you were not happy and felt you had been overcharged, an e-mail was also received that same day.
You were contacted that same day whereby a discussion ensued with respect to your complaint.
We were at a loss as to why you felt this way as the work order and prior discussion as to our approach and fees to be charged were made very clear. You had accepted the service and work that was performed, signed the work order and paid. There was no mention at the time of service as to your feelings that were stated by you 17 days later by e-mail and telephone call, and ultimately again with this poor review of our service an additional 20 day's later.
To expect a professional plumbing company to send a licenced and insured plumber to your home, spend almost 1.5 hours plus travel time to your home in a fully stocked and outfitted truck for $59.00 in our opinion is unreasonable. Again this is unfortunate you feel this way but we assure you our fees are well within industry standards. We wish you all the best with your home issue and Happy Holidays and Happy New Year

David
David
2 reviews Pickering, ON
10/10

Repair cracked floor flange for toilet and install 5 shutoff valves.

Jeff arrived on time. He provided quotes and suggestions for approval before starting any of the work. We decided the prices were fair and he proceeded with the work which was competed in a few hours. He took care to protect the flooring and cleaned up after his work in each area. We are very pleased with the efficiency with which he proceeded and completed the work. He was polite, professional and a nice to deal with.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank You David;
Great to hear you were happy with our service. It certainly is rewarding for us to receive such a kind review and is very much appreciated. It was our pleasure to be of service and hope to hear from you should you require our service in the future, we are always here to help! The Team at The Great Plumbing Co

Sonia in Toronto
Sonia in Toronto
3 reviews Toronto, ON
10/10

Frozen Outdoor & Broken Copper Pipe

Jeff has provided service on 2 occasions this year: 1. In July 2019 he serviced - my mom's old Victorian home. He was professional, arrived on time and repaired a number of plumbing issues including clogged sinks, broken toilets, and leaky faucets. 2. More recently, and even though I shut off the valve for the outdoor faucet from inside my home, I forgot to drain the pipe outdoors and left my hose attached. When a cold snap hit Toronto in early November 2019, I broke my pipe while trying to open up the faucet to allow drainage during the winter months. Jeff replaced the valves, faucet and copper piping from inside to out. The job was complicated by having inside cabinets that needed to come off the wall to access the old shut off valve, which Jeff handled. I now have an additional small valve from the inside to ensure all the water has drained out of the pipe from the shut off valve to the outdoor faucet. On both occasions, Jeff provided a detailed estimate of all the work required and completed excellent service. The bonus is that he is an absolute pleasure to deal with and is very trustworthy. I highly recommend Jeff to handle all your plumbing needs. Keep on plumbing and drumming Jeff!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank You Sonia;
Great to hear you were happy with our service. It certainly is rewarding for us to receive such a kind review and is very much appreciated. It was our pleasure to be of service and hope to hear from you should you require our service in the future, we are always here to help! The Team at The Great Plumbing Co

Allen
Allen
0 reviews Richmond Hill, ON
10/10

Amazing Service

I phoned Great Plumbing Co. because of the great reviews on HomeStars. I was not disappointed. Jeff was able to fit me in his busy schedule. My condo was experiencing leaking from some exhaust pipes in our furnace room. He quickly assessed the problem, but what i loved about this experience was that he helped me identify some other problem issues in my furnace room. As a result I was able to get my water tank and furnace fixed as I didn't realize they were also in need of maintenance. He genuinely cared and was super helpful throughout the process. I will be going to his company from now on in. I completely trust his opinion when it comes to my plumbing needs. Thank you!

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank You Allan;
Great to hear you were happy with our service. It certainly is rewarding for us to receive such a kind review and is very much appreciated. It was our pleasure to be of service and hope to hear from you should you require our service in the future, we are always here to help! The Team at The Great Plumbing Co

Ashley
Ashley
2 reviews Vaughan, ON
10/10

Powder room back up

We had a party that inevitably ended up with one of the bathrooms backed up. I booked online post-party and was able to book Jeff to be onsite the next morning. He was professional and efficient and cleared up all the issues, no problem. He also clearly outlined what his process would be and any possible alternative outcomes. Would definitely recommend The Great Plumbing Co for the impressive service.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank You Ashley;
Great to hear you were happy with our service. It certainly is rewarding for us to receive such a kind review and is very much appreciated. It was our pleasure to be of service and hope to hear from you should you require our service in the future, we are always here to help! The Team at The Great Plumbing Co

The reviews on this page are the subjective opinion of the Author and not of HomeStars Inc.

More about The Great Plumbing Co

About The Great Plumbing Co.
Why waste time looking around for a plumber while your plumbing problem gets worse? The Great Plumbing Co. provides the fast, friendly expertise you need when there’s no time to wait.
***
The Great Plumbing Co. is a 100% locally owned and operated Canadian based plumbing company. For nearly three decades, we have been proudly serving residents in Toronto, ON and the greater Toronto area, solving their residential and commercial plumbing problems.
***
As a full-service plumbing company focused on providing high quality plumbing solutions and unbeatable customer care, there is no job too small or too large for us to handle. Whether it’s a small repair, full installation or remodeling project, we will always take the time to listen to your concerns, and work with you to decide on a cost-effective solution.
***
Trusted Plumbing Experts Since 1989
When we opened our doors in 1989, Founder and Master Plumber, Jeff Wright set out with the goal of helping homeowners in the greater Toronto area with their residential plumbing needs. Providing value for the customer with a respectful, professional, and quality service approach has always been his top priority from the start.
***
Several years after we started The Great Plumbing Co., industry was booming in the GTA and we saw an even greater need outside the residential plumbing space. Thus, we shifted our attention to provide general contracting for local business owners. Fast forward to 1999 when we took the opportunity to become involved with the city’s development, providing CCTV inspection and cleaning of large diameter sewers.
***
While we gained valuable experience from working in the commercial and industrial space, today we are happy to be back to our roots focused on helping homeowners with their residential plumbing needs. We’ve been able to help thousands of homeowners ease the inconvenience that plumbing issues can cause and keep their appliances and fixtures running flawlessly.
***
What Can You Expect from Us?
When you call The Great Plumbing Co., you’ll speak with a friendly, knowledgeable advisor. Upon your request, we will be happy to send a licensed and insured plumber who will be able to answer your questions and provide you with a written quote for the work required.
***
Enjoy the benefits of working with a reliable, professional plumbing company that prioritizes your needs:
***
VIP Treatment on Every Call
On-time Arrival and Fast Turnarounds
Friendly, Local Experts
Licensed and Insured
Cutting-Edge Technology
24/7 Emergency Service
100% Satisfaction Guaranteed
No Mess
***
Service Areas
Toronto • North York • Richmond Hill • Markham • Leaside • East York

CATEGORIES
Plumbing and Drain Services
PRODUCTS
Problem with your Plumbing? Drain blockage, drain backup? Do you require a new plumbing fixture installation?
SERVICES
Full service plumbing, to include emergency plumbers Repiping Services Clogged Toilet Repair Bathroom Plumbing Sewer Line Repair Drain Repair & Installation Water Filtration Systems More plumbing services
BRANDS
Moen, American Standard, Delta, Waltec, Emco. Toto, Master Plumber.
STYLES
Precise pricing on the spot provided in writing prior to any work performed.
SPECIALITIES
Bathroom and Kitchen - Plumbing and Fixtures, Plumbing Repair, Drainage Contractors, Drain Servics.
WEBSITE
http://www.thegreatplumbingco.com/
YEAR ESTABLISHED
1989
PAYMENT METHOD
Cash, Interac, Visa, MasterCard, American Express
LICENSES
Master Plumber, Plumbing Contracting, and Journeyman licensing
LIABILITY INSURANCE
Yes
WORKERS COMPENSATION
Yes
PROJECT MINIMUM
No Minimum
BONDED
Yes
WRITTEN CONTRACT
Yes
WARRANTY TERMS
1 Year
Company profile information is not moderated by HomeStars. Ask the contractor to verify before hiring.