This company has been flagged by our moderators for suspicious activity.

Brigadier Group Inc

Formerly Future Perfect Construction & Durham City General Services
General Contractors
785 Westney Rd S Ajax ON L1S 7G1
Write a Review
Write a Review
HomeStars
General Contractors
Brigadier Group Inc
Star Score
StarScore uses a complex algorithm which considers a company’s review ratings, responsiveness, reputation, and recency. Learn more.

65%

This is the average rating based on homeowner reviews.
This indicates how long it's been since the last review.
Low reputation means there has been review tampering or a company request to remove a review. This score is also impacted when we do not have enough information i.e: low number of reviews.
How well a company responds to Service Requests and Reviews.
Reviews by rating (past 12 months)

Reviews for Brigadier Group Inc

Average customer rating:
9.8 10 (48 reviews)

Sort by

Pawprints
Pawprints
1 review Pickering, ON
10/10

Grooming salon renovations

The Brigadier Group came in to rectify someone else’s poor workmanship in my salon. Not only were they super professional, reliable and on time to get my salon up and running again, they were a pleasure to deal with and reasonably priced for such high quality of workmanship.
Highly recommend this group of professionals!

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you so much for the great review, Manuela!! We are looking forward to getting started on your kitchen this spring!

Andy in Scarborough
Andy in Scarborough
4 reviews Toronto, ON
7/10

10 x 12 Bump out addition

I hired Brigadier Group to build a 10 x 12 unfinished interior bump-out addition to my brick bungalow. One the positive side, I am happy with the quality of the framing and roofing. After sometimes lengthy conversations most aspects of this project were built properly to my satisfaction. The core team is friendly to work with and kept things professional even when there was friction.

I had two major problems with this project:

Schedule. For this small project without a foundation needed (built on helical piles), Aaron expected to take 3-4 weeks. Instead it took nearly 20 weeks to completion. Other than some unexpected concrete support work which cost a few days there were really no unanticipated challenges with this project. So the fact it took 5 times longer than expected says to me either Aaron doesn't know how to properly schedule his work, or he was willfully misleading when bidding on the job. Either way, I was certainly not impressed. There were several weeks during the build where either no one showed up, or maybe one guy showed up for a couple of hours. I rarely felt like my project was a priority for the team.

Stone Siding. This subcontractor was a nightmare. The first day they arrived I asked them why they were using thin staples to attach the rainscreen lathe rather than screws right to the studs as the manufacturer instructions require. Next thing I know they have packed up their equipment and left for the day. They did not speak English so I only found out later from Aaron that they left because they didn't like to be questioned. In hindsight, this was a red flag I should have acted on but the project had gone on so long that the weather was starting to get cold and I was worried we could not find a replacement sub before winter.

When they returned the next day to start working again, they literally did everything wrong with installing the rainscreen - They still missed half of the studs, they hung it oriented 90 degrees the wrong way, and they plugged up the ventilation on the top and bottom. I asked them to make sure to fully back-butter the stones but there is strong evidence they did not do this. For example at least half a dozen stones are already loose. When I questioned the head stonemason (the only one who spoke some English) he said he didn't really care because this project was "Mickey Mouse" for him.

On the last day of the stone work they decided to use my sunroom (which I would consider a finished space) as a workshop, covering it in stone dust, which they then proceeded to hose down at the end of the day, soaking all the wood. The double-glazed windows now have a thin layer of dust inside of them that will never come out.

So, overall the results were mostly acceptable, but the process was painfully long. If you hire this company I would suggest at a minimum to request alternate stonemasons.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi Mr. Kromkamp.

We appreciate the fact that you took the time to give such honest feedback. In this industry, it is impossible for every project to go perfectly every time so this helps us to strive for 100% satisfaction. You were clear about your feelings about the stone masons but we don't hire based on race or ethnicity. The gentlemen doing the work are from Greece and they are some of the best in the industry as far as quality is concerned. We reminded you to voice your concerns to our management team and the rain screen and staples were explained. When you place hidden cameras to watch our crews and question the crews on every installation method based on what you read on google, it is bound to create a difficult working environment. We advised against your stone installation method and specifically warned you about the exact issues you are having. Regardless, you insisted that we install it exactly how you outlined, and we obliged.
If you decide to do renovations in the future, I would suggest you google all installation methods before making a contract. This way, you can get feedback and make your intentions clear before beginning. This will cut down on delays as the crews will not have to stop working every day because you are outside with a diagram you got form the internet. It sounds like all the extra work we did for free with the skirting and the artificial grass, along with the overall quality of work, is satisfactory. We have moved your project to warranty status so please feel free to reach out if you have issues with anything at all.

Angela M.
Angela M.
2 reviews Whitby, ON
10/10

Main floor renovation with beam and new kitchen

Aaron and his crew completed our main floor renovation and we are incredibly happy with the results. Aaron is forthright and honest when providing quotes and answered all questions we had along the way. We would definitely recommend Brigadier Group Inc!

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you Angela! It was nice stopping by to check on things. Thank you for calling us back to talk about the other work you need in your house as well. You are a pleasure to work with!

Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Ajax, ON
10/10

Home renovation

We used the company to renovate our house from top to bottom and were more than satisfied with their work and craftsmanship. We are excited to move into our new house. The team was friendly to work with and would work with them again. Overall it was a positive experience.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you so much for the kind words. We had a great time working with your family and we are very pleased with how the vaulted ceilings turned out in the grand room. Your input on the new layout worked out great as well! I am glad we worked well together throughout the process and hope you enjoy your new home.

Dan M.
Dan M.
0 reviews Hampton, ON
10/10

Complete Second Story Above My Garage, Including Removal of existing roof...

Overall the guys were fantastic to work with. The owner Aaron was pleasant and always available for any issues that came up. As for the framing crew that did the removal and rebuild of the second story, I couldn't believe how efficient they were. We had originally planned a 10 day schedule for the work, and by the time they were finished up, we were 4 days ahead of schedule! The guys were all very polite, tidied up the work space and delivered 100% of the time. The lead Framer, Mike, was a true professional that listened to my concerns about salvaging what we could from the demolition (pot lights, eaves troughs, etc) and made sure that things were done carefully and with purpose. The most impressive part was their work ethic. These guys were never sitting around, they were always working. I felt that I received amazing value for my money and wouldn't hesitate to highly recommend this company. Hats off to you guys and thanks for a job well done!

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi Dan.

Thank you so much for the comments. The crew was ecstatic when we showed them your review. You were very well prepared for this project when you called us and very easy to work with. A good relationship and a personality match will go a long way in a successful project. We would be more than happy to work with you again or to refer other services from our network. I'm looking forward to seeing your setup once you're all moved in.

Bonnie in Toronto
Bonnie in Toronto
3 reviews Oshawa, ON
7/10

new foundation

ups and downs. Job was completed and I am happy in having a new updated foundation from one that was crumbling. I was very disappointed that care was not taken in digging with an excavator, the siding was slightly damaged in this and the water supply to my house was ripped out and immediately after it was left up to me to call the city for the water to be shut off. Overall I got the feeling that I was low on their priority list, by this I mean there were times when the crew did not show when I was told and consequently after calling was then told that they would not be working or that they were delayed. After full payment they did come back and fixed some minor areas and since then have ignored my requests for further work and the repair of my fence that was promised by the company.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi Bonnie. Let me start by saying that it was a pleasure working with you. I am very surprised to see a poor review from you given all that was accomplished on your house. We replaced the full foundation of your home on schedule and within budget. All while you remained living there!
I'm sorry that you had to call to have the water shut off. They are your service provider and we do not have the authority to make that request. As for the "delays", we had off days while concrete cured and was inspected. There were also some inclement weather delays. We feel that was managed pretty well considering we still finished on schedule.
Even after we finished, we came back and installed foam insulation all throughout your basement, basically for free. The fence post is one of the first things on our list this spring but we haven't had much of a chance due to weather.
We really do appreciate the feedback. Given the fact that we have multiple means of communication, and a full time Co-ordinator working in the office, I just wish this was mentioned before it got to this point. I think you may underestimate the amount of damage a review like this can do.

Michael and Melissa in Oshawa
Michael and Melissa in Oshawa
1 review Oshawa, ON
10/10

Basement Construction Project February 2019

We hired Future Perfect Construction to build our basement and could not be happier with the seamless planning, stress-free process, and final result.

In the early stages, we tendered many quotes, and Aarons professionalism, knowledge, and trustworthy demeanour set the company apart from the rest. With excellent rankings on various reputable online platforms from other satisfied customers, the decision was clear.

Now, we want to do our part to not only express our appreciation for a job well done, but to recommend Future Perfect Construction to others who simply want an honest and hardworking company that will stay on budget, build a quality product, and keep in constant communication.

Ultimately, we are both thankful for an excellent result and relieved that we chose right in hiring Aaron to get the work done properly with exceptional workmanship. His skilled tradesmen arrived each day, worked long hours, and were exceptionally pleasant. Future Perfect abided by our agreement, exceeded all expectations, and were honest professionals. You will not be disappointed in choosing this company and can rest assured that your investment will be protected.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you for the amazing sentiment! You are by far some of the easiest people we have worked with in a while. We're happy with how big the space turned out. I hope your family enjoys it for years! My favourite part about this job is knowing that your kids will spend a part of their childhood growing in a space that we helped create. Thank you again for the opportunity!!

Andy
Andy
2 reviews Cavan, ON
10/10

Porch and garage framing projects

We constructed a 30x30 detached garage. We also constructed a covered front porch on the front of our home.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi Andy.

Thanks for the great opportunity. This was one of our favourite jobs of the summer.

ucyinc in Toronto
ucyinc in Toronto
1 review Port Perry, ON
10/10

Uxbridge renovation

Hired Aaron to complete a renovation on my house. He was very professional and very punctual. All the work was very clean and he met all time lines that he gave me.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi Neil.

Thank you so much for the review. I'm looking forward to doing some more projects together.

Mountain
Mountain
1 review Whitby, ON
10/10

Custom Home Build

Aaron and the staff at Future Perfect Construction are true professionals. I Had them take over the construction of our house after having to fire the previous contractor for terrible workmanship and cutting corners. Future Perfect took over and Completed our custom built home weeks ahead of schedule. Aaron's expertise and years of experience made the whole process a lot easier for us. Whether it was pointing out previous deficiencies that needed to be fixed, lining up the appropriate trades or just meeting building inspectors to ensure things are done right the first time. Thank you to everyone at Future Perfect construction for your hard work and dedication. We are extremely happy with our home and couldn’t have done it without you.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you so much for the great comments, Dave. It was great to build the relationship and to be a part of your family's goals.

The reviews on this page are the subjective opinion of the Author and not of HomeStars Inc.

More about Brigadier Group Inc

Please take the time to read our reviews. We had 2 clients change their score after we followed up and Homestars has now decided to unfairly flag our profile. We specialize in Commercial and Residential Building Projects, Custom Homes and Construction Project Management. Our primary goal of meeting customer's needs ...
Company profile information is not moderated by HomeStars. Ask the contractor to verify before hiring.
Looking for General Contractors pros in Whitby?