Impressive Climate Control

Heating & Air Conditioning
107 Colonnade Road, Unit 3 Ottawa ON K2E
Write a Review
Write a Review
Website
HomeStars  >  Moving & Storage in Ottawa  >  Impressive Climate Control  >  Great technician, terrible office support
Private User
Private User
0 reviews Ottawa, ON
0/10

Great technician, terrible office support

The technician was great but the office support is terrible. Technician diagnosed a bad pilot assembly in my gas fireplace, said there’s a 1/100 chance the board is bad too but won’t know until he replaces the pilot assembly. Quoted the pilot assembly at $180-200, board (if needed) $150 and max of 1.25 hours labour at $90/ hour. By my math that means a max of $472.50 + tax. They also charged me $130 for diagnostic visit. The next day Mary from the office informed me that the cost would be $650 + tax. I told her the prices the technician quoted and she replied they are just “ballpark” and prices have really increased due to the current situation. The exchange rate is great and fireplace pilot assemblies are not in demand due to COVID so it’s not clear what situation she’s referring to. I found the parts I need online for prices similar or less than what the technician quoted. Mary also indicated that the pilot assembly and board are special order so I need to pay in advance and are non-refundable. I asked why I need to buy a non-refundable part when there’s only a 1/100 chance I’ll need it but she never responded. It’s been nearly 2 weeks and has not followed up so I assume she does not want my business and I need to find a new fireplace repair company. I am actively searching for a new company now. Impressive Climate Control was a total waste of my time.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Dear Mr. Andy McKenzie. Our Tech has provided diagnosis and a ballpark figure for the cost. Techs don't have all the parts pricing on them. Since we only supply original manufacturer's parts for repairs as they accompany a warranty incase they don't work when tech is installing them. We only get the correct parts pricing once we check according to the make and model of your fireplace with the manufacturer. Since every unit is CSA approved we are unable to use aftermarket equipment or parts on your fireplace as it would jeopardize your manufacturer's warranty. Thank you for your understanding.