As a loyal customer that has used Wow1Day and 1800 Got Junk I had high expectations, and my experience was not that great. Impeccable communication is key to a happy customer.
I was able to book the You Move Me very easily by phone and they showed up on time and ready to move Sat Aug 24. This was a 1 bedroom + den condo to condo move within Toronto in the Bayview/Sheppard area. As I live in a condo, they are very strict about moving times. We thought we would be able to move out within 2 or 3 hours, unfortunately it took 4 hours. The moving team itself was friendly and Move team 1 Aug 24: Dave and Nicholas. They carefully loaded the truck, only a few small nicks which is expected. They came in uniform and provided 4 wardrobe boxes for free which was great.
At the receiving condo I wasn't able to complete the move within our elevator booking time. The rest of the day Aug 24 the moving elevator was fully booked. Which resulted in a full truck and nowhere to put my items.
Moving team Dave suggested I keep the items on the truck until Mon Aug 26. I agreed and would pay a modest fee for storage. My building does not allow any moving on Sundays. Operations Dave said this was not possible to leave items on the truck as it would take a truck out of service for an entire day Sunday. He suggested moving my items to a storage locker which was a great idea. This resulted in Move 1 charge for 6.5 hours.
Move 2 was to occur on Monday from 3pm to 6pm. Move team 2: Nicholas, Anthony and Lex were supposed to arrive at the storage locker for 3pm. We get a call at 3pm saying they can't get there until 6pm. So you can imagine how angry that we rushed to get off work early, only to wait 3 hours!!! I called their operations phone number only for it to go straight to voicemail. We tried several times to get through and were unable to reach Dave and Tyler had no idea that their truck was even running late. They did provide a $100 discount, but better communication and better planning could have prevented this. For example leaving at least a 1 or 2 hour gap between jobs to account for traffic and delays. This also provides a break for your moving teams.
Extra boxes available for purchase.
Hourly based moving which gives the customer some flexibility.
Moving team is fairly careful and able to disassemble the bed frame.
Receipt provided Sept 9, 17 days after the service date.
Communication with Dave and Tyler was not very good. I called their phone number several times and it would often go straight to a full voicemail. Customers need to be able to get a hold of the operations leaders quickly within 1 hour, not in 6 hours.
You Move Me cannot accept e-transfers leaving only credit card as the preferred option. I believe cash and cheque are also options. I stated that both charges invoice 1 and invoice 2 are to go to a specific credit card, and I provided the credit card number. They ended up charging the credit card that was just used for the hold!!! I informed them they charged the wrong credit, they resolved this issue on Aug 28.
I requested a 2 man crew and Dave promised to provide a 3 man crew at the 2 man rate ($140/hour). Guess what they charged? The 3 man rate ($240/hour). I tried to inform them of this Aug 26, 27 and 28 and have given up trying to contact them. I spoke with Tyler Aug 27 and he said he would correct the invoice. Corrected invoice Aug 28, but they overcharged my by $157. Amount refunded on Sept 9.
Wasn't informed in advance that the mattress bag would be $10. This ended up being a surprise charge :(
Protip - Always try and book your job to be first in the day, 2nd and 3rd jobs high risk of being delayed.
Give them the same credit card number for the hold and that will end up being charged. They wont be able to keep track of which cards to charge things to.
I would not use You Move Me again.
- Company Response
Please do accept our apologies regarding our arrival for your second, unscheduled, move. Indeed, as you've noted, we had to make special accommodations to fit your second move into our already booked solid and very busy end of August schedule. The move prior to your second move experienced similar delays to those of your original move (outside of our control) and this caused the delay. I believe that we've now sent all of the changes to billing that you requested.
We hope you enjoy your new home.