You Move Me Toronto/Gta

Moving & Storage
9 Dibble St. Toronto ON M4M 2E7
Write a Review
Write a Review
Website
HomeStars
Moving & Storage
You Move Me Toronto/Gta
Star Score
StarScore uses a complex algorithm which considers a company’s review ratings, responsiveness, reputation, and recency. Learn more.

91%

This is the average rating based on homeowner reviews.
This indicates how long it's been since the last review.
Low reputation means there has been review tampering or a company request to remove a review. This score is also impacted when we do not have enough information i.e: low number of reviews.
How well a company responds to Service Requests and Reviews.
Reviews by rating (past 12 months)
Verified by HomeStars
Best of 2018 winnerBest of 2018winner
Giving Back Award winner 2 timesGiving Back Awardwinner 2 times

Reviews for You Move Me Toronto/Gta

Average customer rating:
9.2 10 (350 reviews)

Sort by

Al Ho
Al Ho
8 reviews Toronto, ON
5/10

Poor communication and 3 hours late

As a loyal customer that has used Wow1Day and 1800 Got Junk I had high expectations, and my experience was not that great. Impeccable communication is key to a happy customer.

I was able to book the You Move Me very easily by phone and they showed up on time and ready to move Sat Aug 24. This was a 1 bedroom + den condo to condo move within Toronto in the Bayview/Sheppard area. As I live in a condo, they are very strict about moving times. We thought we would be able to move out within 2 or 3 hours, unfortunately it took 4 hours. The moving team itself was friendly and Move team 1 Aug 24: Dave and Nicholas. They carefully loaded the truck, only a few small nicks which is expected. They came in uniform and provided 4 wardrobe boxes for free which was great.

At the receiving condo I wasn't able to complete the move within our elevator booking time. The rest of the day Aug 24 the moving elevator was fully booked. Which resulted in a full truck and nowhere to put my items.

Moving team Dave suggested I keep the items on the truck until Mon Aug 26. I agreed and would pay a modest fee for storage. My building does not allow any moving on Sundays. Operations Dave said this was not possible to leave items on the truck as it would take a truck out of service for an entire day Sunday. He suggested moving my items to a storage locker which was a great idea. This resulted in Move 1 charge for 6.5 hours.

Move 2 was to occur on Monday from 3pm to 6pm. Move team 2: Nicholas, Anthony and Lex were supposed to arrive at the storage locker for 3pm. We get a call at 3pm saying they can't get there until 6pm. So you can imagine how angry that we rushed to get off work early, only to wait 3 hours!!! I called their operations phone number only for it to go straight to voicemail. We tried several times to get through and were unable to reach Dave and Tyler had no idea that their truck was even running late. They did provide a $100 discount, but better communication and better planning could have prevented this. For example leaving at least a 1 or 2 hour gap between jobs to account for traffic and delays. This also provides a break for your moving teams.

Pros
Extra boxes available for purchase.
Hourly based moving which gives the customer some flexibility.
Moving team is fairly careful and able to disassemble the bed frame.

Cons
Receipt provided Sept 9, 17 days after the service date.
Communication with Dave and Tyler was not very good. I called their phone number several times and it would often go straight to a full voicemail. Customers need to be able to get a hold of the operations leaders quickly within 1 hour, not in 6 hours.
You Move Me cannot accept e-transfers leaving only credit card as the preferred option. I believe cash and cheque are also options. I stated that both charges invoice 1 and invoice 2 are to go to a specific credit card, and I provided the credit card number. They ended up charging the credit card that was just used for the hold!!! I informed them they charged the wrong credit, they resolved this issue on Aug 28.

I requested a 2 man crew and Dave promised to provide a 3 man crew at the 2 man rate ($140/hour). Guess what they charged? The 3 man rate ($240/hour). I tried to inform them of this Aug 26, 27 and 28 and have given up trying to contact them. I spoke with Tyler Aug 27 and he said he would correct the invoice. Corrected invoice Aug 28, but they overcharged my by $157. Amount refunded on Sept 9.

Wasn't informed in advance that the mattress bag would be $10. This ended up being a surprise charge :(

Protip - Always try and book your job to be first in the day, 2nd and 3rd jobs high risk of being delayed.
Give them the same credit card number for the hold and that will end up being charged. They wont be able to keep track of which cards to charge things to.

I would not use You Move Me again.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi Al.
Please do accept our apologies regarding our arrival for your second, unscheduled, move. Indeed, as you've noted, we had to make special accommodations to fit your second move into our already booked solid and very busy end of August schedule. The move prior to your second move experienced similar delays to those of your original move (outside of our control) and this caused the delay. I believe that we've now sent all of the changes to billing that you requested.
We hope you enjoy your new home.
Cheers

Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Toronto, ON
10/10

Move

Fortunately for us we used You Move Me for our move. They came highly recommended. But they far exceeded our expectations. The crew was great and Vince the crew chief went above and beyond.. I definitely recommend them and will be using them for our next move!

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thanks for the 10 stars. Each and every day we strive to exceed expectations. So glad we could help you into your new home. Looking forward to next time!
Cheers

Dawn Hagerman in Toronto
Dawn Hagerman in Toronto
3 reviews Toronto, ON
7/10

move from storage to condo

I used You Move me for my recent move on June 7, 2019 and there were a couple of items broken in the move. One was a desk leg, which has been fixed, but the other was a marble cabinet top. When they came to fix the desk leg, they took the measurement for the top and a picture. That was June 21st, I have not heard a word from either the repair company or You Move Me with regards to when this will be fixed. I have sent several email and tried to call 2 or 3 times and it goes to voice mail and the mail box is full. I am very disappointed in the service as prior to the damaged items the service was excellent. I would like my cabinet top fix asap.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi Dawn. Thanks for taking the time to write this. I'm glad your move experience was excellent and I'd like to help move along with any issues you may have had with your move experience. You can reach me directly at dean.hefford@youmoveme.com

Len in Old Toronto
Len in Old Toronto
1 review Toronto, ON
10/10

Perfect moving experience

Great experience all around. Always concerns with moving companies who let you down, so this was a breath of fresh air. Great communications, great guys, clean, super respectful, stress free. Very impressed. Cannot imagine using anyone else! Thanks!

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi Len.
Thank you for the kind words and the 10 STARS! We truly try to make the moving experience as best as possible and stress free.
Your entire You Move Me team hopes you enjoy your new home!
Cheers,

Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Toronto, ON
10/10

Best Move ever

We recently had cause to use the services of You move me movers , wow i had heard that they were a different breed of movers and that they move more than just your boxes , well that definatley held true in our situation

These guys , delivered to our unit two very large heavy armoires they took care to navigate the furniture and wall coverings that were in place when they arrived , they were polite courteous and made a otherwise stressful time a actual pleasure , we have moved many times and those were just that a move this one was different a true pleasure becasuse they went to great lengths to make things work out .

Kudos You Move Movers

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Best Move Ever is what we like to hear! Thanks for your kind words. Indeed, we strive to provide a superior service and truly hope you enjoy your new home! See you next time.
Cheers,

Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Toronto, ON
0/10

Worst moving company!

This company has made my moving experience hell. They sent three men who did seem to work hard but did not know how to pack a truck properly so they claimed they had to do two trips to a storage unit. On the first trip to unit they disappeared for 40 min. while I was waiting for them --they said they would be 15. They would not answer texts or phone calls during this time. By the time they returned to the house, the new owner had inadvertently locked the house--the movers obviously did not want to wait for someone to come and unlock the house again so they said that there were only a few boxes and two chairs still in the house. So I let them go. When I got into the house, I saw that there were still many things to be moved in the basement and on the third floor. I called them first thing in the morning to request they return to finish the move and they refused. They did not give me an invoice so I have no idea what I was charged for. The movers blamed the sales person for misquoting the job, and the office for being disorganized and not providing paper work. After calls and emails I still have no bill but a huge amount was charged to my credit card for an unfinished job. I, too, will be taking them to court.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

We are truly sorry that you feel this way about your move. We strive, daily, to provide superior service. I understand that there were issues on move day and ask that you please contact us (your review is nameless) so that we may assist.
Regards,

HomeStars in Toronto
HomeStars in Toronto
1 review Toronto, ON
10/10

Cleaning out basement for reno

Second time using You Move Me. Another great experience. Robyn and his team were considerate, friendly, professional and reliable!! I am happy to recommend You Move Me and I will definitely use them again!!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thanks for the kind words and the 10 STARS!! We have a great team that truly goes beyond on every move.
Cheers,

EE in Old Toronto
EE in Old Toronto
1 review Toronto, ON
1/10

Not the best experience.

Didn’t start on a good note. Movers arrived a hour and a half late. And then one of the times broke. Movers themselves were nice thought, too bad about everything else.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hello. We're sorry that you feel our service was delivered as promised. Indeed, we schedule every move with a 2 hour arrival window and try our utmost to arrive as close as possible to the beginning if the window. Please do call our office so that we may chat live. 416-572-0202

Stephanie in Burlington
Stephanie in Burlington
1 review Burlington, ON
10/10

Moving from storage to condo

My movers (Jesse and Tanner) were fantastic! They showed up on time, were very friendly and personable and took great care with my belongings. I felt totally confident and comfortable with them during my entire move. I would highly recommend You Move Me.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi Stephanie.
Thanks for your kind words. Indeed, we constantly strive to make moving day easier and less stressful for our customers.
Cheers

Geoff in Toronto
Geoff in Toronto
8 reviews Toronto, ON
8/10

Move Good/Service So-So

So a bit of a good news/bad news story on these guys. I will say the initial sales process was pretty good. Matthew was quite responsive in setting up a time to inspect/quote and was good in getting packing boxes over.

On moving day, a small hiccup to start the day (They had the wrong starting address, so the start was delayed by an hour), but the crew was excellent, very personable, and professional. The move itself went quite well, including unpacking both the truck as well as a Pod that we'd had packed from a previous move.

I'd say they fell down a bit in the after-sales support. My move included a donation to Furniture Bank that was supposed to come with an income tax receipt. After several months of not receiving the receipt, I'm still following up with them. The person I was dealing with left and my issue wasn't transitioned to anyone. I'm now trying to deal directly with Furniture Bank.

On balance, I'd recommend... Sometimes you just need to fight for that last 10% (and two stars!)

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi Geoff.
Thanks for your review and, indeed, the kind words.
I will say we have experienced some delays with tax receipts from FB and truly apologize for that.
I am, though, please that you were happy with the actual moving end of our services. We truly strive to ensure that our customers never fear moving day again!
Enjoy your new home.
Cheers, from your entire You Move Me team.

The reviews on this page are the subjective opinion of the Author and not of HomeStars Inc.

More about You Move Me Toronto/Gta

We're a professional local moving company created to move more than just your boxes. We'll move you with our hard work and genuine smiles. Call us today and we will be at your door tomorrow to deliver an onsite estimate for your upcoming move!

CATEGORIES
Moving & Storage
SERVICES
residential movers Toronto, commercial movers Toronto, Moving Truck Toronto, Moving Service Toronto, Moving supplies, Packing service, Packing and unpacking companies, Packing specialist, Moving company, Moving Companies Toronto, Toronto Moving Companies, Moving company reviews Toronto, small move, large move, load and unload movers, moving company to load and unload truck
WEBSITE
http://www.youmoveme.com/ca/toronto
YEAR ESTABLISHED
2013
NUMBER OF EMPLOYEES
30
PAYMENT METHOD
Visa, Mastercard, American Express, Debit, Cash
LIABILITY INSURANCE
Yes
WORKERS COMPENSATION
Yes
BONDED
Yes
WRITTEN CONTRACT
Yes
Company profile information is not moderated by HomeStars. Ask the contractor to verify before hiring.