Red Bins Disposal

Junk Removal
7 Connie Street Toronto ON M6L 2H8
Write a Review
Write a Review
HomeStars
Junk Removal
Red Bins Disposal
Star Score
StarScore uses a complex algorithm which considers a company’s review ratings, responsiveness, reputation, and recency. Learn more.

59%

This is the average rating based on homeowner reviews.
This indicates how long it's been since the last review.
Low reputation means there has been review tampering or a company request to remove a review. This score is also impacted when we do not have enough information i.e: low number of reviews.
How well a company responds to Service Requests and Reviews.
Reviews by rating (past 12 months)

Reviews for Red Bins Disposal

Average customer rating:
6.7 10 (51 reviews)

Sort by

Billy E
Billy E
2 reviews Toronto, ON
0/10

Hostile customer service, nonsensical billing

Rude customer service. "Don't know" ETA and no call before arrival. Invoiced weight was shocking. Requested copy of scale as proof (standard practice), I get "Did YOU weigh it?" "If we did this we'd be out of business." and no copy 2 months later.

Was this review helpful?
Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Vaughan, ON
2/10

No transparancy in weight billed - Not Happy

I had opportunity to rent a 14-yard disposal bin from Red Bins for a 10x10 feet bathroom renovation project. I rented for 7 days for $150 and $ 95/ T with minimum 1 T disposal fee plus taxes. The waste was so small (under 1 T) that I estimated $150 + $100 = $250 + tax will be my bill. To my shock I was billed over 2.5 T with the total bill exceeding $400. Even my contractor was shocked. Their invoice email asked me “If you feel a 5 star review isn't warranted then please reach out to us first and let us try to make it right. We work hard to keep our customers happy.” So, I ventured to reach out to the customer service, share my concern and request to tell where they weighed it. She told we can not share it due to privacy policy and the weigh bridge used was a regulated one. I mentioned if Red Bins want 5-star review then we need to discuss, and you please understand my concern. It was Friday 4;40 pm ish. She accused me of attempting to bribe for changing the invoice and said she will have to connect me to the legal. I encouraged her to do so. Subsequently, long story short no one properly contacted with their name and role to listen and understand the issue. All communications were signed as Red Bin Team. Did not find any task ownership culture . . . who cares for customers. Just a few email trails to show that they attempted to respond and care. I was small and not a repeat business customer. What I really wanted was to discuss and offer a suggestion to improve something and differentiate themselves. They did not care – RED BIN the name itself should have alerted me. Perhaps it is the industry problem and practice. If they have a way to improve such that the customer can see the weight when they can pick up the bin it will be very transparent and truthful. The current technology can easily enable it cost effectively and customers will not have feeling of resent. Good luck in your Bin rental!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Alastair Jenkins in Etobicoke
Alastair Jenkins in Etobicoke
1 review Toronto, ON
1/10

Construction debris bin service

Promised delivery was late but more importantly the specifically agreed pick up Window morning before noon was missed.

When I called at noon to ask why the pick up did not take place the support staff said “ we don’t make guarantees will get to it when we get to it “ they had specifically confirmed the morning pick up less than 18 hrs earlier. When I then asked for them to contact dispatch to find a new estimated pick up time so I could re schedule other planned deliveries they refused saying the driver make their own decision.

Net result I incurred additional delivery fees , inconvenience and possibly one of the worst customer service experiences ever.

Lot of other bin rental companies out there suggest you try a competitor

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Dan Gonzo
Dan Gonzo
2 reviews Toronto, ON
0/10

Red Bin disposal

Not a pleasant experience. When I placed the order over the phone I explained what will go in the bin, all items categorized on their website as clean fill. She sent the invoice for mixed waste. The clean fill disposal is a flat rate of $450 for a 14 Cubic yard bin. The mixed fill is charged by ton disposal fee and a $150 fee for bin rental. I ended up paying over $1400 for a bin that should have costed me $450. When I called the next day that I need a second bin, they were at my door by 7:30 am next day. When I called about my second bin being full and not requesting another for replacement, they sent the driver two days later, even though I had pre-arranged items being delivered that day. When I called them back asking about the difference in price, I was told that I could not mix dirt with stones, even though on their website it is clearly defined what clean fill means. I ended up paying almost $1000 extra for one bin. It is clear that they don't care about the private customers, probably they deal in a different manner with contractors who are repeat customers. I am seriously contemplating taking them to court for false advertising and misleading the customers.There are companies out there that would provide me with a bin for clean fill for a flat rate of $250, only I found that out after my experience with Red Bin.
In the end I was able to speak with the manager who agreed to charge me at their cost which means $65 per tone and the $150 rental fee and waived the $100 for their mistake in sending the wrong bin size the first time. They kind of gave something back but still not completely satisfied.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Vaughan, ON
6/10

Home renovation disposal

Service was courteous and staff were friendly and mostly available. No mistakes in the execution. However, was charged 2 tons on items that were basically thin-walled wood panel. I called and asked for the ticket to confirm the weight, and the service advisor explained that they do not give out the tickets. The lack of transparency in disposal fees is my main reason for this rating. Whether or not they're being honest, I'll never know.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Rita from Toronto
Rita from Toronto
2 reviews Toronto, ON
10/10

Amazing company

I have dealt with red bins 3 times already, they are the best priced, the most efficient and the nicest staff. I love this company and would recommend this company to everyone!

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Shanth in Whitchurch-Stouffville
Shanth in Whitchurch-Stouffville
1 review Whitchurch Stouffville, ON
10/10

Service & Timing

Great service in dropping the bin off on time. Got a chance to really understand the available options and pick the correct size based on my needs. Customer service was exceptional. Definitely recommend them to family and friends and I am now a repeat customer.

Was this review helpful?
Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Toronto, ON
0/10

They should call themselves Rude Bins

I called Red Bins on Tuesday and ordered a bin for Wednesday morning drop-off. I was assured it was no problem. I have a worker ready to go based on this information.

Wednesday noon rolls around and no bin in sight.

I call to ask where my bin is and I am told they make no guarantees and unfortunately they over-booked and the driver is behind schedule. I pointed out that I had a worker who was being paid to do nothing and was brusquely told that they are not responsible for any of that. Fair enough, I wasn't asking for them to pay my worker.

I said the problem was that I wasn't told when I placed the order that the bin might arrive later in the day.

I cancelled the order and the response was "Fine, thank you sir", as though all they wanted me to do all along was cancel.

What a way to run a business… into the ground.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

This user is not a customer of RedBins Disposal. It is clearly stated that a transaction needs to take place in order for a user to leave a review. This user cancelled his order because he could no longer wait for his delivery. No transaction was ever made. Please enforce your policies.

Rob McCowan in York
Rob McCowan in York
5 reviews Toronto, ON
5/10

4 bins

I used Redbins for part of my 400sqft 2nd floor remodel, the floor was gutted entirely including the roofing (lathe & plaster, flooring, shingles, misc). The invoices say it was over 8 metric tonnes across 4 bins (I still have one invoice incoming) which I think was pretty accurate.

Their drop offs were often late in the afternoon, and their pickups were around 6:30am meaning you functionally only get about 5 days out of your week of rental (3pm drop off wednesday, 6:30am pickup wednesday).

Twice the driver had to wake me up at 6:30am to move my car as I wasn't expecting the pickup to happen so early. He's just doing his job, but Redbins should have given me a heads up about the timing.

I called to extend my last bin rental by a week, but the message didn't make it to their drivers. I gave them late notice which was my fault, but I got confirmation about the extension and the driver was here to pickup the bin anyways. I would have preferred to hear the extension wasn't possible and I would have been able to make other arrangements.

Improvements they could make
- Give your clients pickup and drop off time windows so we can prep the area for your drivers
- Put a drain on the back of your bins to help with water runoff
- Make sure you tell your clients the same story you tell your drivers, they work hard for you and shouldn't be in charge of handling customer relations.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
The reviews on this page are the subjective opinion of the Author and not of HomeStars Inc.

More about Red Bins Disposal

Hassle free Disposal Bin Rentals and Junk Removal in Toronto and GTA. RedBins provides fast, efficient service to residential and commercial customers. Our fleet consists of smaller trucks for tight spots as well as larger trucks that can deliver any size of bin from 04 yard to 40 yards.
Company profile information is not moderated by HomeStars. Ask the contractor to verify before hiring.
Looking for Junk Removal pros in North York?