Capital Windows And Doors

Windows & Doors Installation & Service
2212 Gladwin cres Ottawa ON K1B 5N1
Write a Review
Write a Review
Website
Star Score
StarScore uses a complex algorithm which considers a company’s review ratings, responsiveness, reputation, and recency. Learn more.

87%

This is the average rating based on homeowner reviews.
This indicates how long it's been since the last review.
Low reputation means there has been review tampering or a company request to remove a review. This score is also impacted when we do not have enough information i.e: low number of reviews.
How well a company responds to Service Requests and Reviews.
Reviews by rating (past 12 months)
Verified by HomeStars

Reviews for Capital Windows And Doors

Average customer rating:
9.1 10 (32 reviews)

Sort by

GL in Ottawa
GL in Ottawa
1 review Ottawa, ON
0/10

Don't Expect Good Work or Service

Disappointed in the standard in which Leo and his workers at Capitall Windows adhere to. I previously had them do work on windows for my home and decided that I would go with them again for a bedroom basement window. All I knew for that type of job was that it meant that the foundation needed to be cut into so that a bigger window could fit. I asked if this was possible for them to do and they said it was and that they hired their own people/company to cut the foundation. They said it would take a day, no problem. Now I am not a contractor or anything and when they finished the job at the end of the day, I looked at the work and everything seemed fine. Two weeks have since passed and only recently has it rained in Ottawa and I noticed that water was now coming into the basement bedroom that got the enlarged window. This was not acceptable at all.

Fearing that something may have happened to my foundation, I called for someone who specifically works in foundation repair to come take a look. When that person came, he just shook his head right away when he saw outside what Capitall Windows had done. He said that whoever Capitall Windows hired to cut the foundation has now compromised the structure of my home and that the work was left unfinished. He also asked if Capitall Windows got a work permit since the foundation had been worked on and I never was told of a permit or saw one. Again, I am not a contractor or someone who works in construction and I did not know any of this. Apparently, a permit is required when cutting into the foundation because the structure of the house is being tampered with. He also explained that since more of the foundation is exposed it also needs to be protected by the elements (summer/hot and winter/cold) because the dirt surrounding the foundation originally is no longer there and therefore there needs to be insulated. He said this is important because, once winter comes, the cold air can get into the foundation and cause cracks and multiple other problems long term. Furthermore, to top it off, he said the work was left unfinished and there were edges around where the people who cut the foundation should have done parging to seal up the work. This was not done and water is now coming into the room. Additionally, to fix this absolute mess is now going to cost me more than what I already paid in the first place.

Disgusted with everything that I have now learned, I have since contacted the owner Leo at Capitall Windows. Leo was uncaring to my concern as a customer and would not even offer an apology or reimbursement from the poor work. Leo was dead set that the only problem was the parging and did not want to acknowledge that the insulation of the foundation needed to be done as well. It seemed that Leo did not understand why the foundation needed to be insulated to protect the home. Leo kept saying “we don’t do parging, the water coming in must be from something else, this second opinion is just trying to get money out of you”. Excuse me? The water was not coming in before and now it is. It’s obvious that something is not right. Leo was stuck on the parging as being the only issue and wanted one of his guys to come by for a “small fee” to fix it. I should have been told in the first place that parging would have been required afterwards…why was I not told in the first place and only to know afterwards now that water is coming in? No. Clearly for the work to be completed properly was above the skills that the Capitall Windows workers have. There is more that needs to be done now than a simple coverup/sealing of the foundation. Whoever Leo hired to do the foundation work half a*sed the job and, Leo, you are standing behind work that is embarrassing to be proud of. I will never contact Capitall Windows again and to whoever reads this and is thinking of choosing them to do work, I say: look somewhere else.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi Gloria ,sorry to hear that you are not satisfied with window installation
1.to cut down existing window no permit required.2,existing window well has already weeping tile installed 3.we dig down to allow for cutting, we installed new window well and put back stones 4. no insulation required for foundation 5.Only work, which needs to be done is to fix the purging where the cut was done, as you have been told. My installer Chris called you several times and left the massages, you never called him back. We will try to find someone to do purging repair for you Thank you.

mikejtags in Toronto
mikejtags in Toronto
1 review Montreal,
9/10

3 window and glass sliding door replacement

Thank you for resolving our last concern on the job for our back sliding door and front window. We appreciate the quick response by Michael to our online review. Thank you

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Dear Mike,
I spoke to the installer, Alex, who did the Window installation for you. You had asked Alex directly to do the extra side job, which was not the part of the contract between you and Capitall Windows. Unfortunately, the installer was tightly booked and we didn’t have any knowledge of this extra job.
Please contact the installer directly to arrange the time to do the job.
Also, we will appreciate if you will change the rate on the job , which was done according to the contract with Capitall Windows
Sincerely,
Lana

Wayne G.  in Ottawa
Wayne G. in Ottawa
0 reviews Ottawa, ON
10/10

Bedroom windows

My experience with Capitall Windows was excellent. I had two larger casement windows installed. I feel like I got a very good product and their pricing was better than all other quotes. Communication regarding the timeline was great. I didn’t have to chase them for anything - they let me know when the windows were ready, set the install date and time, showed up as promised and the finished job looks great. I have no complaints and will not hesitate to recommend Capitall Windows to others - and in fact I already have

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you Wayne for nice review about our job. It's pleasure to work with you!

Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Lethbridge, AB
10/10

Window Replacements

From our first meeting with Michael (Sales Manager) we had a very comfortable feeling that Capitall was the right choice. Michael was very professional and very knowledgeable about his products. He offered us the best price for quality windows. We replaced 8 windows and 1 patio door. Alex and his crew did a great job with the installation, while keeping the work area clean both inside and outside the house. The finished product has a very professional look, everything properly aligned and level. The crew were pleasant and worked together cohesively – very efficient. Captall was able to do the work ahead of schedule and on budget. Highly recommend.
(Dino M.)

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you Dino for your review!

Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Ottawa, ON
10/10

New exterior door purchased and installed

We invited the sales manager to our home and picked a door that we loved ... no pressure and very competitive pricing. Installation was arranged during that first visit and they later sent a technician to ensure measurements were accurate. We found them to be professional, friendly and offering good value. Later, the installers (Steve) did an excellent job while problem=solving and keeping the area clean while keeping us apprised of the progress. We could not be happier, and would definitely recommend this company.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you

Pierre L in Collingwood
Pierre L in Collingwood
1 review Collingwood, ON
10/10

Good company

On time, clean and professional. Work was done as promised by competent workers. The worksite was kept clean and safe and all debris was hauled away. I highly recommend this company.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you

Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Niagara Falls, ON
10/10

Windows replaced

I recommend this company. Clean and efficient installation. Seems to be high quality windows. Sales staff was excellent too. Owner came onsite for final measurements -- nice personal touch. The entire staff appears to be of Russian descent - strong work ethic.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you

Fox in Ottawa
Fox in Ottawa
3 reviews Ottawa, ON
10/10

Solid Company and Service

I needed to get a few windows replaced after some water damage. Capital Windows came highly recommended by the remediaton company I hired. They were friendly, and helpful despite being obviously busy. Fortunately I was able to get everything done within good time and it didn't impact me in any way. Good prices and the workers were very clean.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thanks for review

Robert in Gatineau
Robert in Gatineau
1 review Ottawa, ON
10/10

Windows and doors

7 hours ago

It was a genuine pleasure dealing with Erik and Leo and I can't say enough good things about the 3 man crew who installed our 10 windows and 2 doors along with all the hardware. From my initial meeting with Erik to discuss product and pricing through to the final installation, everything ran smoothly, on time and on budget...no surprises.
The crew worked together like well-oiled machinery and left the place spotless.
Every person we dealt with at Capitall Windows is a credit to the company and to their profession.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you Robert for your review

James Forrestal
James Forrestal
3 reviews Ottawa, ON
9/10

Solid Team and Solid Work

Taking advantage of the Green Ontario Fund to update my windows, I settled on Capital to do the installation of a few windows on my main level.
They were efficient and fast, from the time of the call, to the estimate and installation. No issues with their work, and so far the windows are holding up!

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

James,
Thank you for your review.

The reviews on this page are the subjective opinion of the Author and not of HomeStars Inc.

More about Capital Windows And Doors

We are Ottawa’s busiest Window and Door replacement company. We provide quality service from start to finish. We specialise in residential replacement windows and doors. Delivering fastest possible service in the Ottawa region. We guarantee our work and thrive to make every customer happy.
We are a local business and we understand what our customers need. We will only offer you the products that you need and will help you find the products that you want.
We will challenge every offer from a competitor by our price match guarantee. Join our family of happy customers and become one yourself.
Enjoy our products. Enjoy our service.

PRODUCTS
windows and doors, vinyl windows, replacement windows, steel entry doors, sliding patio doors, storm doors, porch enclosures, fibreglass entry doors.

CATEGORIES
Windows & Doors Installation & Service and Sunrooms, Solariums & Greenhouses
PRODUCTS
windows and doors, vinyl windows, replacement windows, steel entry doors, sliding patio doors, storm doors, porch enclosures, fibreglass entry doors.
SERVICES
Sales and installation of windows and doors. Free at home consultations and estimates.
BRANDS
Vinyl-Pro window systems inc,, Window City, Max Door, Thermolux, Ocean View Patio Doors. York Aluminium.
STYLES
Casement Windows, Fixed Windows, Awning Windows, Single Hung Windows, Double Hung Windows, Single Slider Windows, Double Slider Windows, End-Vent Windows, Bay Windows Bow Windows,. Shaped Windows, Steel Entry Doors, Fibreglass Entry Doors, Doors with Sidlites, Double Doors, Garden Doors. Transom, Back Doors, Venting Doors. Sliding Doors. Storm Venting Doors
SPECIALITIES
Windows and Doors quality sales and installations. Honest approach. Quality customer service. Fast response.
WEBSITE
http://www.capitalwindowsottawa.com
PAYMENT METHOD
Cheques, Visa, Mastercard, Financing
MEMBERSHIPS
BBB
LIABILITY INSURANCE
Yes
WORKERS COMPENSATION
Yes
BONDED
Yes
WRITTEN CONTRACT
Yes
WARRANTY TERMS
Lifetime non-prorated Warranty
Company profile information is not moderated by HomeStars. Ask the contractor to verify before hiring.