Adept Services

Bathroom Renovation
Toronto ON M9B 6H7
Write a Review
Write a Review

HomeStars  >  Floor Laying & Refinishing in Vaughan  >  Adept Services  >  Flooring Renovation
2 reviews Toronto, ON

Flooring Renovation

See photos in response to from company, pics are worth more then words - photos are taken after company left and said Reno was complete. We had to to a lot of work after you say the deficiencies were taken care of including a through cleaning as there was a lot of saw dust everywhere, sand baseboards remove nails and in addition fix chipped paint by your workers. The reason we said it was fine was your team was taking too many extra days to complete and had to get someone that could actually complete the job proper. These are facts and only some of the issues weve had with this company! How many extra days should be allowed for your deficiencies?? Especially at exorbitant cost that you charged?? Terrible Reno experience. Commitments not followed through on throughout the project. Would not give our house keys back to us when asked. Promise the world but unable to deliver and made many changes to the agreement but made it sound like it was all in our favour.
To start off - they came to the job site hours late. Unprepared! no dolly, no tarps. 3 days in and still hadn't completed demo to remove flooring of a very small area. No man power. NEVER met any of they're timeframes. Couldn't determine how long it would take to complete each task. Blamed lack of progress on our building but I talked to her and she had a totally different story.
Not to mention how dirty everything was left on a daily basis. They put our furniture on top of saw dust they created and didn't take any care in protecting our stuff. Numerous times I had to place the tarps back on the furniture that I went out to purchase.

None of workers had safety gear - no safety glasses, nothing to cut the flooring on - used they're leg. Totally unprofessional and super dangerous but no supervisor was on site.
We were told that the baseboards would come finished but this is not true they were filled with caulking - seams were awful, they left nails sticking out of them, they glued together short pieces, left tape and glue on the floor. We now have another issue where one of the thresholds came off.

We spent 15k on this Reno - the most expensive quote we received - very disappointed for costly Reno.

Approximate cost of services:
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thanks Diane for taking the time to provide feedback. In addressing the photos first, please note, we don't have the capability to add any photos at this point of our finished work. However, these photos that the reviewer posted were taken during the project and before deficiencies were addressed. Furthermore, we would like to provide some context for our other readers. Firstly, this is an insurance job where the homeowners were not occupying the condo during the renovation. Secondly, please keep in mind that, because we were working in a condo, cutting had to be done within the unit. However, this flooring is vinyl plank and doesn’t generate as much dust as regular laminate floors do. While recollections differ as to the site conditions, we addressed all housekeeping issues during the project, and the completed job was handed over swept, vacuumed and swiffered.

Thirdly, we would like to mention, free upgrades were provided while keeping the project within the fixed price that was agreed upon by the insurance company. These free upgrades were provided to improve the build quality. For example, we upgraded the baseboards to a more expensive one to eliminate the need for quarter round. This change was documented and absorbed by us so that the final product would look more upscale.

Important to mention is that during the final walk through, we took note of any issues brought to our attention by the reviewer and her sister (the condo owner) and took care of them within the next 3 business days. With regard to the threshold in question, we completed the adjustment within 3 business days of receiving response of availability, which is what we do with all warranty issues. We then did another walk through to make sure that the owner was happy with the final product, which she was. Finally, this work was completed safely, within the contracted time and on budget. When the project was fully completed, the reviewer's sister your was very pleased with the results of the project and we are confident she will continue to enjoy her renovated space.