Durham Doors

Garage Doors & Hardware
Ajax ON L1S 6W7
Write a Review
Write a Review

Star Score
Learn more about how StarScore uses a complex algorithm which considers a company's review ratings, responsiveness, reputation, and recency.

80%

This is the average rating based on homeowner reviews.
This indicates how long it's been since the last review.
Indicates how well a pro reacts to reviews and review-related interactions with Homeowners.
How well a company responds to Service Requests and Reviews.
Reviews by rating (past 12 months)

Reviews for Durham Doors

Average customer rating:
9.2 10 (49 reviews)

Sort by

Anthony
Anthony
1 review Whitby, ON
10/10

Replacement Garage Door 16 x 7

Most reasonable quote I received for a quality 2" R-18 door, 16 x7.
Sales and tech were all professional, courteous, punctual. Nice installation job. Room over the garage is much warmer now.

Approximate cost of services:
$3,200.00
Was this review helpful?
David in Toronto
David in Toronto
1 review Toronto, ON
1/10

Walked away from Completing our Garage door installation

Very frustrating and unprofessional! They left us high and dry with a poorly working garage door and completely unprofessional and dangerous install of our garage door motor!!!!!

We hired them because we needed a flexible company to help with our custom install of siding onto our door to match the house. From the beginning, they became less accommodating that originally suggested. Our contractor was supposed to be allowed to install the siding on the door in their factory, but then they said he had to do it onsite, which was quite tricky.

Bigger issue was that they contacted the siding company and worked out the weight of the custom siding to know which springs to order. At the time of install, they couldnt get the garage door to balance well. Turns out the weight was off. Despite this not being our fault, they then tried to get us to cover the costs of redoing the door and potentially re-ordering the springs for hundreds-thousands of dollars and pay for any re-adjustment! Even though we then arranged to have the door fixed to correct weight, they never came back to fix the springs, or even got back to us about any plan.

I sent them the below pictures of the horrible and unsafe installation of the garage door motor, and even that they have not taken any ownership of.

We gave them several chances to address these issues or prove to us with any supporting evidence that this was our fault, and each time they have not returned our e-mails meaningfully.

They will probably try to turn the blame back on us and say how they were misled, but again cant/havent offered any proof of that when I insisted they provide it. There certainly can be no fault of ours on the lousy installation of the motor.

Regardless, they certainly dont stand by their work or product, or feel the need to complete the work they start.

Be very wary of using this company for any job.

Approximate cost of services:
$3,000.00
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi David. Sorry that you are not happy but we do not see this review as fair. From the very beginning the importance of the extra weight being added to your door was stressed to you and your contractor. We were told several times to "just order heavy springs" despite explaining the importance of getting the exact extra weight. Your contractor passed us off to his supplier who eventually (verbally) gave us a weight to work with. As we explained to you, and proved after, that weight was off. We came back twice, at no cost, to adjust things for you. At our last visit, the door was running, there was a balance owing to us, and you were told that the door would never run properly as is. We have offered to resolve this issue, but not for free. We ordered your door based on misinformation, after insisting the importance of the spring engineering. That is the only issue here, the springs need to be changed, but we have refused to cover this cost as it was not our mistake. We are still happy to take of this for your, however the cost of the new material, and the labour to redo it needs to be covered. Whether by you directly, or by your contractor but not by Durham Doors as we did everything that was asked of and agreed upon for us to do. We stand behind our work, we told you that this was wrong and needs to be redone, and we are waiting on you to allow us to do so.

Andrew in Toronto
Andrew in Toronto
0 reviews Ajax, ON
0/10

Worst Company I have ever had to deal with

Save your money! Beware! No customer service! 1/2 years waiting for repair. Used damaged parts!

Approximate cost of services:
$1,500.00
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Andrew, we do not believe that this is a fair synopsis of what took place. There were issues with your original installation, which we took full responsibility for. Replacement parts were ordered and at that time, due to global supply chain issues, and the fact that you have an American made door, you were told that the ETA for the replacement parts would be in the Summer. Your parts arrived, and were immediately installed in July as predicted. The section was brand new out of the package, and the adjustments to your tracks were made as per our discussed plan.
We are sorry that you had a negative experience. Sometimes these things unfortunately happen, but of course no one wants them to happen on their job. We do however feel that the issue is finally rectified, and all be it long. This did take place right around the time that we predicted based on shipping issues that are out of our hands.
All the best.

Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Ajax, ON
2/10

garage door

initial scheduling a bit cumbersome. Techs were attentive yet the job they performed was not entirely correct. Asked the coordinator to send tech back to fix but no more contact. Dissapointed with the service from the coordinator.

Approximate cost of services:
$150.00
Was this review helpful?
victor in Woodbridge
victor in Woodbridge
2 reviews Oshawa, ON
8/10

Door install

I had problems with door rubbing on frame after instal. After making numerous calls owner finally answered my calls and fixed it. Too much foam expansion in between frame and stud. All is good now.

Approximate cost of services:
$4,000.00
Was this review helpful?
Leonard in London
Leonard in London
0 reviews Courtice, ON
10/10

repair garage door

I couldn't get my garage door open last week, so, in panic, I called the first local company I could find. They seemed amateurish and very expensive. I found out later they were not local. I then located an old bill from 12 years ago, when Durham Doors did a repair for me. I called them, spoke to Jason, who was exceptionally helpful, and arranged the repair for the next day. Jason was able to schedule it earlier in the day, which was better for me, Cody and another technician arrived, got the door open, completed the repair in 15 minutes, tightened and lubricated everything, and charged me almost $300 less than the first company.

I am very impressed with the quality of service provided by Durham Doors. And I would not hesitate for a moment to recommend them. My next door neighbour later asked me what had happened, and when I told him, he asked for details about your company.

Approximate cost of services:
$141.00
Was this review helpful?
Satish
Satish
1 review Toronto, ON
10/10

Replace broken spring on garage door

The spring on one of my garage doors broke. Durham Doors fixed the problem in 15 mins. They showed up before time. Great job. Also greased my other garage door. Would highly recommend Durham Doors.

Approximate cost of services:
$170.00
Was this review helpful?
mclennan.susan
mclennan.susan
1 review Whitby, ON
10/10

New Garage Doors and installation

Jason is a true professional. He was a pleasure to deal with and the work was done on time and at a very competitive price. I have no need to phone around for any garage needs requirements, they’re my instant “go to”.
Thanks guys!!

Approximate cost of services:
$2,700.00
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you so much Susan. Always happy to help out, glad you love the doors!

Pickering
Pickering
13 reviews Pickering, ON
10/10

Garage Door Fixed

Spoke to Jason today. Within 2 hours of speaking, Cody arrived & fixed our door within 15 minutes. Great service, prompt, knowledgable, and professional. Would highly recommend & will hire them again. Thanks for a job well done.

Approximate cost of services:
$1.00
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Always happy to help and glad we could get this handled for you before the weekend. Thank you for the kind words!

jamie in Ajax
jamie in Ajax
1 review Ajax, ON
10/10

spring replacement

The guy arrived when they said he would, he did the job I asked of him, no mess left behind , no micky mouse set ups everything was done correctly and the service tech was quite pleasant. ALMOST looking forward to my next breakdown, but seriously, this was a good experience and I found them quite professional.

Approximate cost of services:
$250,290.00
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you Jamie for your business and the great review.

The reviews on this page are the subjective opinion of the Author and not of HomeStars Inc.

More about Durham Doors

Durham Doors is an established and reputable company offering a wide variety of overhead garage door and garage door openers including: installation and repair for the home owner throughout Durham Region. We value honesty, moral business practices and future growth founded on customer satisfaction. We're proud to supply the following ...
Company profile information is not moderated by HomeStars. Ask the contractor to verify before hiring.
Looking for Garage Doors & Hardware pros in Ajax?