TWG Landscaping & Property Maintenance Inc.

Landscape Contractors & Designers
59011-728 Anderson Street North Whitby ON L1N 3V6
Write a Review
Write a Review

Landscape Contractors & Designers
TWG Landscaping & Property Maintenance Inc.
Star Score
Learn more about how StarScore uses a complex algorithm which considers a company's review ratings, responsiveness, reputation, and recency.


This is the average rating based on homeowner reviews.
This indicates how long it's been since the last review.
Indicates how well a pro reacts to reviews and review-related interactions with Homeowners.
How well a company responds to Service Requests and Reviews.
Reviews by rating (past 12 months)
Best of the Best '22 
Best of Award '22 winner 10 timesBest of the Best '22 Best of Award '22winner 10 times

Reviews for TWG Landscaping & Property Maintenance Inc.

Average customer rating:
9.7 10 (193 reviews)

Sort by

Brooklin Butlers
Brooklin Butlers
1 review Whitby, ON

Front and Backyard Landscaping

Dealing with Todd, Tammy and the whole crew at TWG was always easy. Two summers ago, we installed a pool and wanted interlocking brick and a garden to work around the pool and deck. Todd came prepared with different ideas...wasn't married to his own ideas (an issue with some other contractors) and incorporated everything we were looking for. He told us when he hoped to start and given that landscaping is largely weather-dependent, he was here right on the date. Awesome.

Workmanship was A1. The crews were generally here when they said they were going to be and they always cleaned up so it wasn't an issue. We have been very pleased with everything that TWG has done for us.

Todd has said that his average client contact is 4 years. He's right. We used TWG in 2007 and 2008 (front yard) and we are having him look at a couple more things this year. Let's hope that's it!!!

Approximate cost of services:
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you for the review and kind words...Todd works very hard at pleasing every client which is not always the easiest task...i know when he enjoys working for a client, and even the guys say you are easy clients...meaning things are asked of them not barked at them, and they are treated with respect by you...that makes a world of difference since they truly do have a skill that not all can do "properly". Thanks again and yes I do exist as a true live person...others have asked the same and yes someday we will meet (he locks me up! ha!)

All the best,


G Whitby
G Whitby
1 review Whitby, ON

Front Yard & Steps

Last year my wife and I decided to get some landscaping done to our front yard, steps and walkway. The front yard had very little grass, so my game plan was to dig it all up and replace it with Armour Stone River Bed Stone and Mulch and plants... This is where TWG comes in. I met with Todd and gave him a crude drawing, of what I was looking to have done. I then met him at Hard-Co Sand & Gravel to pick out the materials for the job, everything from the colour of mulch to China cut flagstone for the entrance, I found this part of the process to be very helpful, and allowing me to visualize what was going where. When everything had been picked out Todd and his crew set to designing my vision and then improving on it, the end result was very eye catching. Todd was very approachable if I wanted something changed or reconfigured. There were some aspects of the job that had varying prices, like the sand between the interlock, Todd gave me some options, but in the end, I went with the Polymeric sand. This product cost a bit more than traditional methods, but with a mist of water when it is applied it goes hard like concrete, so it is not necessary to replace like regular sand every year which blows away or allows weeds and insects to ruin. In the end we were very pleased with the outcome and how our vision was met and then exceeded but Todd and his crew.

Approximate cost of services:
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thanks for the response to our work. We appreciate the effort it takes to provide a good referral and hope to be of assistance to you soon.

Take care.
Tammy Gould

25 reviews ,

Front walkway and garden landscaping

We got friendly service from Todd and Tammy Gould, the husband and wife team who run TWG. They also offer a 2 year warranty on their work. Immediately after the construction was complete, I had two questions: wouldn't the large crevice in the rock we were using as a step fill with water and freeze creating a slippery step in the winter? Also, the "sand" that was holding our flagstone in place seemed to not be coming up already and this was worrying. Our fears were allayed, but after the first winter, both questions proved to be real concerns. Todd did come out, true to the warranty and re-sanding the sand between the flagstones. I wasn't sure how doing the same thing would address the issue. This is the third year and yes, the sand has mostly gone and now some pavers that were adhered to our porch are coming off. We called Todd and were informed, rightly so, that the work was no longer under warranty. Tammy did send us a letter addressing our problem and outlined how we could undertake the DIY of fixing the stones and what do buy to do so.

EDIT: A response to Tammy's response below:
1. Yes, natural products have natural flaws. However when a customer brings up a SAFETY risk, it should be addressed. In fact, if only you had turned the stone over, we would not have a risk of slipping on ice every winter. An easy, free solution to something a customer had brought up before the stone was laid.

2. I don't see anything in my review to say I felt "so strongly against our craftsmanship". In fact, if you read my review it is very factual in terms of events that happened. Not in one place did I "trash" your company. In fact I mentioned you were friendly and that you stuck by your warranty AND that you offered us a solution after the warranty was over. Your response was unduly and disproportionately harsh.

3. You say that "it is a shame that one is able to just write whatever on site about a company without having to prove that it was all done in fault of the company whose image is being trashed." Actually, it's not a shame that consumers are able to review companies so that other consumers can make informed decisions - this is the goal of such a website after all. I said what happened in factual terms in a very respectful way. I never said it was your fault how the stone was built, I simply believe it was your job to provide solutions that worked for our project.

4. As for your comment that you "never guaranteed that the sand would not blow out or have to be replaced, it is sand. ” We asked for flagstone to be surrounded by a material that would harden and stay in place. Your company suggested the "sand" which you said, is a sand-based product that would harden and set in place, but in fact it simply came out. Again, it would be your job to recommend a product that would accomplish what the customer wanted and we trusted you to do this. However, the product not suitable for our project. We appreciated Todd coming out again to live up to the warranty, but simply putting more of the same product did not solve our issues.

I'm sure you get lots of people "ranting praises" and lots of referrals from previous clients. However, you do have to understand that not everyone is satisfied with the work and everyone has a right to discuss their experience in a truthful and respectful way, which is what I have done and this is the purpose of this website. Have a look at some other reviews if you want to see a really scathing review. I have not said that ALL your craftmanship is poor or that you are terrible people; I have simply stated my personal ONE experience of your company, which I have every right to do and which is the reason for having a site like this. You seem to be angry at the fact this website exists and you seem to only want customers to post positive reviews; this seems contrary to the fact that you're a registered company on this site, a site that requires customers to review contractors. Best, Lisa

Approximate cost of services:
4 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Every Contract handed and agreed upon with our company explains that Natural products come with natural flaws and we cannot control what the weather is going to do to a crevace or if water will pool and that the client acknowledges this before using such products as they are not returnable. It is unfortunate that you feel so strongly against our craftsmanship however, we build things to suit a clients request and our craftsmanship and reputation within the industry is exemplary with clients constantly ranting praises of our work. We wish you better luck with your next choice however, our company does everything in its power to go over and above regulated bases and care in our work to provide properties that far exceed manufacuturer specifications to provide great end results for our clients and most are repeat and referral clients. It is a shame that one is able to just write whatever on site about a company without having to prove that it was all done in fault of the company whose image is being trashed. We did what you requested in the way you requested it and in the budget you requested it for and never guaranteed that the sand would not blow out or have to be replaced, it is sand.

The reviews on this page are the subjective opinion of the Author and not of HomeStars Inc.

More about TWG Landscaping & Property Maintenance Inc.

As a family owned and run business since 1993 and started in Ajax Ontario, we pride ourselves in the fact that our company has been through a recession in our earliest of years and have built our name on our reputation for quality landscapes, professional services, and superior craftsmanship our clients rely on and refer without hesitation.

Landscape companies are distinguished by what they provide, how they provide it and the price in which that costs. We have been around to prove that you get what you pay for. Our landscape designs are unique to every property owner, and our landscaped projects are as detailed as you need. TWG Landscaping will incorporate plants that will expand on your project and soften the hardscaping. Landscapes should fit the property, and grow with the family.

Big or small, every project receives the same professional services...

Serving the Durham Region of Ontario since 1993, encompassing Pickering, Ajax, Whitby, Oshawa, Bowmanville, Courtice, Newcastle, Port Perry Ontario and surrounding communities for the past 27+ years, we pride ourselves in adapting to the needs of our clients...Our clients are moving and asking us to move too...For that reason, TWG Landscaping not only serves the usual areas out of our Bowmanville private yard, but we now have office in Northumberland County central to Quinte and Clarington so we can service all our clients, past and present where they need our services.

Landscape Contractors & Designers
Patios, walkways, interlock driveways and inlays, soldier courses, stairs natural and precast, retaining walls natural and precast, garden walls, BBQ surrounds custom, Arbors, Pergolas, waterfalls, Designs/Service customization and so much more.
Residential Customized Landscape construction Design/Build Services, Commercial, and Industrial, Multi Residential property winter maintenace within Durham Region and some surrounding areas.
Permacon, Unilock, and others as preferred by client...We are not limited or committed to any one product but list our preference in order preferred
All styles
Natural full service landscapes and Formal garden design
Contract to Policies and warranties
Visa, Master Card,Cash and Cheques
CFIB, Landscape Ontario Horticulture Trades Association
Warranty Terms 2 years workmanship
Company profile information is not moderated by HomeStars. Ask the contractor to verify before hiring.