City Gas Company Limited

Heating & Air Conditioning
710 Kingston Road Toronto ON M4E 2Y9
Write a Review
Write a Review
25 reviews Toronto, ON

First Review


furnace repair

In Jan/2014 our furnace 7 year old furnace broke down. We had no heat for three days. City gas, said we needed a new part and left us with no heat on our own. I was sick with pneumonia and a baby in the house. They also took the part so I could not call anyone else for help. They told us to get space heaters. they could of got us a used part in the meantime. The summer before our air conditioner broke down needing a new compressor. Very expensive to fix labour not covered under warranty. I believe this company is in the parts replacement business and buyer beware. I called another gas company and he came over and said it could of been repaired. He did this for free. Not be using this company ever again

Approximate cost of services:
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you for taking the time to place this review. We are sorry to hear that you were sick when your furnace broke down that is very poor timing. Unfortunately we do not carry used parts to try and temporarily fix any equipment as it is not safe to install any used parts that have not been properly tested. We wouldn't take the risk of something going wrong and hurting you or your family.
It is also too bad that the suppliers weren't able to get your new part sooner than 3 days. I imagine this break down must have happened over the weekend when all suppliers are closed. We always do our best to source new parts from suppliers as soon as possible.
I am curious to hear about how this other company was able to fix your equipment for free, especially given that we had to take the old part to properly match up the replacement part. Sometimes if a part doesn't have adequate markings of the model and serial number we take the old part with us as its not functional anyway to ensure that we are able to get the correct part as quickly as possible for our customers.
As for your air conditioner that broke, the manufacturers do not cover any labor coverage for replacement parts. So we would not have been able to install any parts for free. I wish we could have helped you, but it is just not possible to work for free on equipment. If it was any work that we had done we offer warranty on all of our workmanship and stand behind our work.
I assure you we are not in this business just to make a quick buck, we are a small family business that has been around for over 30 years and we pride ourselves on this and on being an honest and reliable company. We do not take this lightly. If you have the time I would love to speak to you and see if we can come to some sort of an understanding of what happened and why. We would never intentionally leave anyone without heat if there was something we could have done to fix it at that time. I myself have a new baby and we would never want a child to go without heat if at all possible.
I am assuming this other company coincidently had a used part that they were able to install for you. As I said before we do not carry old parts as it is a liability issue.
Please call our office and ask to speak to Janae, I would like to resolve this situation as best we can for you.