THE WORST EXPERIENCE EVERY!!!!!!!
They installed a Carrier AC in May 2015. From the very first day it did not work properly. I kept calling them that the AC pipes from the unit to the Furnace were freezing up and the unit kept running NEVER stopping. My hydro bill was enormous because of their mistakes.
Omid, told me that the problem is mine, they gave us one excuse after the other. On the hottest days of the year, this unit was not working. I asked him to send me his “best” technicians. He did, only to be told that the problem was mine again…In fact, I believe that the individuals that came, were not certified technicians. When I called the 4th time and asked that I get a new unit, they told me that the problem is not theirs and that I should report the unit to “Carrier Head Office”.
I called Carrier, they sent me their technician(s) and they realized that the unit Maple Air installed is not adequate enough for my home. Maple Air installed a 3 TON unit. Maple Air then asked me to obtain a “Heat Loss Document” from the City. (This is something they should have done from the very beginning themselves). I obtained this document and it indicated that I need a 5 TON unit for my home.
They installed the 3 TON unit without visiting our home; the entire conversation was over the phone. Carrier Technician couldn’t believe that they sold me a unit without even visiting the home and obtaining all necessary documents first.
Although Maple Air was told that they need to exchange the 3 TON for a 5 TON, they kept procrastinating, Totally UNTRUTHFUL they would set up an appointment and not show up. UNREAL, how do people like this stay in business.
They finally came and removed the 3 TON for a 5 TON; they charged me for the difference. Any other company wouldn’t have charged me anything. And to top it off, they installed me a LOW SEER (13 SEER) rather than the 15 SEER I originally asked for.
My hydro bill was enormous, ENOURMOUS because of their mistake and lack of visit(s).
These people should be reported and should CLOSE THEIR DOORS IMMEDIATELY……
- Approximate cost of services:
- Company Response
Thank you for your feedback! We as a consumers our self understand your frustration but we have fixed this issue for you and now you have a brand new air conditioner in your house based on Carrier's recommendation. Heat loss calculation is always an extra cost which home owners usually do not require unless if they have no clue what size they need for their house. We provided you with an air conditioner which was a right size based on the information which you provided us. any house around 3000 sqft will need either a 3 ton or 3.5 ton. But your scenario was different and as per results it was not the right size due to volume the house. Again we apologize for your frustration and we have now fixed this issue for you and if there is anything you need from us to better your perception about us please let us know and our customer solutions department will take care of you. With regards to your NEW Air conditioner you were in full disclosure that you were receiving the 5 ton air conditioner, and you had the choice of choosing which ever air conditioner you like. but due to availability you agreed to put the 13 SEER. You wanted an Air conditioner that was 5 ton and you knew you were getting the 13 SEER and not the 16 SEER efficiency. Having said that this between 13 and 16 SEER efficiency is really not much in a heating season. We even offered that we can fully refund you and you can install through another contractor and if you're still unhappy we are more than happy to refund you and remove the unit if you are not happy. You SPOKE with MARK from Carrier and he explained you the differences between the units and you said that you did not care about energy efficiency but rather you just wanted the issue fixed. We value our customers a lot and we do whatever we can to assist them but please provide honest information as we did not forced you to do any action and we followed the procedures that needed to be done and we finally replaced your air conditioner to a 5 ton capacity based on your permission. Our company is based on honesty and quality and we never want to have customers like you unhappy for such issues. We always learn from these feedback and we hope you enjoy your new air conditioner. sincerely, Maple Air Customer Solutions Manager