Goemans Appliances

Appliance Retailers
1-7975 Heritage Rd Brampton ON L6Y 0B3
Write a Review
Write a Review
Star Score
StarScore uses a complex algorithm which considers a company’s review ratings, responsiveness, reputation, and recency. Learn more.

37%

This is the average rating based on homeowner reviews.
This indicates how long it's been since the last review.
Indicates how well a pro reacts to reviews and review-related interactions with Homeowners.
How well a company responds to Service Requests and Reviews.
Reviews by rating (past 12 months)

Reviews for Goemans Appliances

Average customer rating:
3.2 10 (118 reviews)

Sort by

David Ma in Mississauga
David Ma in Mississauga
4 reviews Mississauga, ON

First Review

2/10

Kitchen reno - appliance supplier

We purchased 5 items (stove, fridge, hood, dishwasher and dryer) from Goemans on the recommendation/reputation of Goemans for providing good quality appliances and service. We are happy with the appliances, however, it was a nightmare to receive them.

The appliances were part of a full kitchen renovation. With any renovation, a delay in one aspect can snowball and delay everything down the chain. Our appliances were scheduled to be delivered the day before our granite counter top was to be measured. The appliances were needed to ensure that the measurements could be done accurately.

They have a funny policy of asking for full payment 2 weeks in advance prior to delivery. No problem... as long as there are no issues.

I was told I would get a friendly call to make payment as we had purchased them a couple months prior. No call... I had to call to check if I indeed had to pay. Their response was pay or your delivery would be terminated. I immediately hung up and drove to the store to pay. I was guaranteed at time of payment that my delivery was on schedule and would receive a call the day before delivery to confirm the time.

The day before delivery I received no call. I followed up and they said the reason I did not get a call was because the order had been bumped 2 weeks due to non-payment. You could imagine my response, as they didn't even have the courtesy to inform me. The manager was away and the shipping dept was closed. Next day I received no call from anyone and rather than waiting drove down to the store to talk to someone.

I spoke to the manager and he apologized for the mix-up and assured me my delivery would be on the first truck next morning to arrive prior to my granite appointment. I was happy with this solution, but needless to say problems continued. Essentially the next morning, the delivery truck was delayed and showed up after my granite guys had arrived and completed their work. The measurements were done and not optimal. When I called to enquire where was the delivery truck, I was informed it was in Toronto... so what happened to being the first delivery...? Then I get another call saying my delivery was not on that particular truck but on another that had mechanical problems... the excuses were getting ridiculous.

Needless to say, Goemans jeopardized my kitchen renovation. Had my granite guys not been accommodating, this would have meant a further 2-3 week delay in rescheduling another appointment. A kitchen reno is not an experience one wants to live through (cooking/eating in temp space). It is frustrating when you are anticipating the end of a long process to have it delayed by what we believed would have been the easiest part of the process. What is so hard about delivering appliances on time, especially when they have been paid for in full? So for 2 long days (felt like an eternity), we didn't know if the appliances were going to show up and whether this would cause further substantial delays.

Overall, although the manager promised he would solve our problem, there is clearly something wrong in the company structure that prevented a smooth resolution.

For our pain and suffering, a $200 credit was offered... Goemans was not getting any further business from us.

I will never again agree to paying full price in advance of receiving any goods, and would recommend that if anyone is considering buying from Goemans to fully engage the company at multiple times to ensure delivery is on time.

Having been to the store multiple times, I was became aware that delivery issues were not uncommon.

Another major issue is if you are building a custom kitchen to not rely on the specs given to you by Goemans... they are inaccurate! They of course will blame the manufacturer. We bought a counter depth fridge... and it stuck out 3 inches more than the counter. This resulted in our contractor needing to recess the wall behind the fridge in order to give us the 3 inches. I would recommend that you take your own measuring tape to measure the floor model, including anything that might stick out, such as electrical, etc.

Approximate cost of services:
$10,000.00
3 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Steve in University Downs
Steve in University Downs
3 reviews Waterloo, ON

First Review

10/10

Appliance selection

We visited Goeman's Appliances and we were amazed at not only the fantastic selection of appliances, but also the professional advice from the sales staff. We weren't sure of exactly what we wanted, but through asking the right questions, the sales staff were able to narrow down our choices and enable us to make a purchase that fit our needs.

Approximate cost of services:
$4,000.00
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Lakeshore Home Maintenance - Oakville
Lakeshore Home Maintenance - Oakville
5 reviews Oakville, ON
10/10

Repair of fireplace

After Goeman's installed our gas fireplace, we realized that the fan was not working, as the power was not hooked up in the install. We let it go for over a year and were disappointed but never called Goemans to complain as we figured we could live without it. This winter we decided to at least see if they could resolve the issue and we were pleasantly surprised to learn that they could not only fix the problem, but that they would do it under warranty as it was never working in the first place.
Carrie was very helpful and I told her that I was very appreciative of the excellent service they gave us to fix this problem. I was not going to recommend the company based on my first experience, but was so impressed at their help that I will go out of my way to refer them now. The repairmen were also very helpful and polite.

Approximate cost of services:
$0.00
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
R. Preyra Mississauga
R. Preyra Mississauga
2 reviews Mississauga, ON
10/10

Kitchen Renovation

We purchased all new mid/high end appliances for our new home including a double oven, gas stovetop, fridge, wine cooler, etc. from Goeman's at Dundas/403.

The sales staff was very knowledgeable, their price of our package beat the competition by a mile and the appliances arrived on time and in proper condition. I recommended Goeman's to my brother who recently used them for his appliances again with no problem.

Approximate cost of services:
$17,000.00
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Jay - Burlington
Jay - Burlington
8 reviews Burlington, ON

First Review

8/10

New Kitchen Appliances

My wife and I bought new appliances for our kitchen - Fridge, Stove, Dishwasher, Microwave, Washer & Dryer. Goeman's was recommended by friends of ours and they told us to deal with Ian Atherton. Ian is probably Goeman's best asset in terms of client service, product knowledge and attention to detail. Ian spent about 3 hours with us discussing our needs, types of things we would be using the appliances for as well as showing us all the appliances that matched our criteria. His product knowledge was astounding and was a big help in selecting our final appliances.

Ian was able to put together a great package price, taking full advantage of each and every manufacturers rebates and incentives, as well as a store discount. I was very pleased with the pricing.

Delivery was not an issue, either. They has told me they would arrive between 9 - 11 and arrived at my door at 9:10! The guys were very careful to bring the appliances in the house and all the products were the right ones.

Overall, a very good experience with Goeman's. Make sure you speak with Ian!

Approximate cost of services:
$1.00
Was this review helpful?
Lou from Niagara
Lou from Niagara
1 review Oakville, ON
0/10

outfitting entire kitchen with high end appliances

The purchasing was easy, fast and friendly but the nightmare began on delivery. A broken glass door of a stove came right off the truck, 3 of appliances were the wrong model and pieces missing. Trying to get it addressed was the most painful experience with no one willing to set it right without speaking to someone else - service does not deal with sales and to date we are still waiting. Worst experience I have ever had in thirty years of buying appliances. I should have listened to the delivery guys as they unboxed -" those head office guys don't care" - safer to reject all all delivery and fight for the credit.

Approximate cost of services:
$18,000.00
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Neil in Etobicoke
Neil in Etobicoke
2 reviews Etobicoke, ON
2/10

Kitchen appliances

We were doing a major kitchen renovation and ordered a fridge, stove, dishwasher, and outdoor BBQ. The salesman was very friendly and helpful, and didn’t try to upsell us on anything. We hadn’t considered how to vent the stove, but didn’t want a big hood hanging down in the middle of the room, so the salesman showed us this nifty vent that mounts behind the stove and rises/retracts as needed. We were thrilled.

It turned out that the vent he sold us only works with stovetops – there is a boxlike section where the blower motor is which juts out below the counter, right where the oven would be. There is a store policy against returning or refunding venting products, but since it was the salesman who recommended it to us in the first place, and it hadn’t been installed, I didn’t think there would be a problem.

I went back and spoke to the store manager, and he ran us around for about two weeks claiming that he was trying to find out what to do from “head office”. I finally told him that either they would take back the vent with a full refund, or we would cancel the appliances that were still on order ($5000 worth). They tried to stick us with a 20% restocking fee on the vent, but I refused to pay for their mistake, so we wound up cancelling the remaining appliances on order and keeping the vent. (I went into a competing store that same evening with the invoice and said “match these prices” – “SOLD!”, they said).

After a few weeks I wrote a letter to their service department explaining in minute detail how things played out, and how they let a solid deal fall through for the sake of a small restocking charge. The next afternoon I got a call from the store manager, who admitted that they had handled everything completely wrong, and offering to take the vent back for a full refund. So in the end the store made everything right, but I suspect it was only because somebody fell on them from a great height.

Honestly, from other things I’ve read about the store and their customer service, I think we just hit them the wrong way on the wrong day. But for something that seemed to me like a no-brainer, it sure turned into an ugly, needlessly dragged-out experience. Use your own judgment.

Approximate cost of services:
$7,000.00
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
JD78
JD78
1 review Etobicoke, ON
10/10

New Home Appliance Purchase

My wife and I were actively searching for quality appliances at an affordable price. We were recommended to check out Goemans as a friend of ours had a good expereince there. At first, we were a little apprehensive figuring we were in for a huge sales pitch. Pleasantly surprised instead we got excellent service with no pressure. In fact, we left the same day with a written sales quote that we could use to shop around with. The prices could not be beat, two weeks later we returned and purchased our fridge, stove, dishwasher, over the range microwave, washer, dryer, and even a bbq.

I recommend this store to anyone looking for quality appliances at a great price!

Approximate cost of services:
$6,000.00
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
RP in Mississauga
RP in Mississauga
1 review Mississauga, ON

First Review

1/10

All new kitchen appliances

Goeman's was very quick to sell up. Sales people were very attentive until they made the sale. At this point all communication stopped, incorrect products were delivered (more than once),some products were not even ordered, other products didn't work. No response from Goemans. Horrible service!!!!

Approximate cost of services:
$25,000.00
4 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
The reviews on this page are the subjective opinion of the Author and not of HomeStars Inc.

More about Goemans Appliances

Our Company: Goemans Appliances is a family owned and operated independent appliance retailer. We planted our roots in Stoney Creek in 1978, and before we knew it we had 7 locations across southern Ontario and have become one of the largest independent appliance dealers in Canada. And it's no wonder ...
Company profile information is not moderated by HomeStars. Ask the contractor to verify before hiring.
Looking for Appliance Retailers pros in Mississauga?