Lido Pools & Aquatic Services

Swimming Pools, Spas & Hot Tubs
17817 Leslie St Newmarket ON L3Y3E3
Write a Review
Write a Review
Website
HomeStars
Swimming Pools, Spas & Hot Tubs
Lido Pools & Aquatic Services
Star Score
StarScore uses a complex algorithm which considers a company’s review ratings, responsiveness, reputation, and recency. Learn more.

86%

This is the average rating based on homeowner reviews.
This indicates how long it's been since the last review.
Low reputation means there has been review tampering or a company request to remove a review. This score is also impacted when we do not have enough information i.e: low number of reviews.
How well a company responds to Service Requests and Reviews.
Reviews by rating (past 12 months)
Best of 2010 winner 2 timesBest of 2010winner 2 times

Reviews for Lido Pools & Aquatic Services

Average customer rating:
9.3 10 (55 reviews)

Sort by

Mitch in Thornhill
Mitch in Thornhill
1 review Thornhill, ON
10/10

Pools

We always wanted a pool and did extensive research before deciding to proceed with Lido Pools. We are very happy we chose them because our backyard was an odd shape...long and narrow...and we wanted to incorporate a spa in our backyard as well. No one had anything that we liked or that would give us enough space around the pool for lounging. And then...we found Josh at Lido Pools who had many suggestions and pictures for us to choose from. We decided on a custom ROMAN SHAPED POOL with a spill over spa...which is perfect! We absolutely LOVE how it looks! The service we received was exceptional and the price was very reasonable. Lido Pools offer the complete package. If you need landscapers, carpenters etc...they have it all. We highly recommend Lido Pools for their extensive knowledge, great ideas and fabulous customer service.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Neil and Nancy, Kettleby Ontario
Neil and Nancy, Kettleby Ontario
1 review Kettleby, ON
10/10

Pool Liner Replacement

Lido Pools originally installed our pool 20 years ago and the quality of workmanship has stood up extremely well. Finally this summer we decided to replace the pool liner and called Josh for a quote. Not only did he provide the most competitive quote, he also was able to do the job in the shortest amount of time.

John installed the new liner in no time at all and the pool looks like new. After 20 years we continue to be impressed by the quality and service provided by Josh Katz and his crew.

I have provided a number of recommendations for Lido Pools over the years and am happy to say that given the recent work, would be pleased to continue to do so for years to come.

Neil

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Ronda in Thornhill
Ronda in Thornhill
1 review Thornhill, ON
10/10

Lazy River & Pool with complete landscaping

Lido Pools designed and built a spectacular pool with lazy river in our backyard. This project included a spa, and 2 revolution water slide on an island with a stone bridge connecting the patio to the island. The river gently pushes you down the river into the pool and the current takes you back to the river! The actual stone coping around the pool is magnificent and so are the 4 waterfalls and small pond. The wood deck and cabana and interlocking and firepit were all supervised by Lido and their great team of employees. This was a very complicated project that all other pool companies we approached couldn't do because we wanted a vinyl pool and no one had the expertise to design it. Josh did an incredible job designing and John followed through with amazing workmanship. The landscaping was done by Lisa of Rococo and Russel & Ron did all the carpentry and everyone worked together to bring this project together.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Cory and Andrea in Thornhill
Cory and Andrea in Thornhill
1 review Thornhill, ON
10/10

Amazing Pool Design

We have just finished having our pool built by Lido Pools. Josh and his crew were exceptional. They were professional and courteous. The end result is brilliant. We live in a neighborhood where we are surrounded by other pools, but ours stands out for several reasons. The design is unique, no other pool in the area has our exact shape. It has a beautiful waterfall that was recommended by Josh, (it surpassed our expectaions). The waterfall is gorgeous and the great thing is , is that there are jumping rocks around it that the kids have tons of fun jumping off. The coping around the pool was done very skillfully by Josh's crew. Each piece of flagstone was individually cut and placed. The crew took the time to make sure that it was done just right. The deck and stairs were just as exceptional. We are thrilled to have a finished product that is the envy of the neighborhood. We highly recommend this company.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Joe and Tina
Joe and Tina
1 review Maple, ON
10/10

Pool and SPA heater

Lido installed my pool in 2001. Straight and simple fact is that it ran problem free since then. You realize how lucky you are when all my neighbours seem to have constatnt problems with their pools. Water leaks, constant draing, repairing and refilling of their pools. 8 years later, my pool heater packed it in. I decided on replacing it as it showed signs of corrosion and the new ones are more efficient. I called several companies on a Saturday and only Lido called me back within an hour. 2 days later, I had a new heater at my door. I would recommend LIDO to anyone. My cousin also had a pool installed by LIDO and it too has run trouble free since 2001. Josh also recommended a carpenter by the name of Russell. He did an amazing job on my cabana and elevated deck.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Isabel & Sam in Richmond Hill
Isabel & Sam in Richmond Hill
1 review Richmond Hill, ON
0/10

Concrete pool maintenance & repair

Last Spring, my husband and I decided to go with Lido because of the HomeStars reviews as well as a good initial meeting with John, who responded to calls, came on time and seems knowledgeable. We have an old custom inground pool which is in need of renovations, including replacing the pump and heater, re-painting as well as tile and coping work. In addition, we were also looking for a better company for service. Fortunately, we decided to start out small with just the weekly service and replacing the pump. Things went well during the pump installation. However after a few weeks, algae started to appear (for the first time in our 10 years plus with the pool!). Lido did try to fix the problem but it was never resolved. Then things got worst for the next couple months. We noticed that the service was unreliable and we hadn’t received any invoice after the first one. By then, we had been trying to contact John for weeks but hadn’t heard back from anyone. When finally reached someone at the office, he was not only unhelpful, but rude and condescending. When the invoice finally arrived, Lido double charged us for our weekly service – calming that they serviced twice a week instead of once. After our pool was closed with unresolved issues, Josh showed up (we never heard back from John again) with promise to fix things this season. Of course, they never follow up with us this year. Overall, the entire experience was frustrating and extremely disappointing. We will never use them again not even to do regular pool maintenance.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

A “0” rating, we did absolutely nothing right? If the service was so bad why did this homeowner continue with us throughout the entire summer & even asked us to close the pool? From the onset, our service foreman, John, attended to this house in Bayview Hill, he had assessed the pool, equipment & surroundings & had discussed with the homeowner the procedures that were required to put the pool in proper working condition. The homeowner went on to tell John that he was unable to find a service company that could take care of this pool to his standards throughout the past many years, had specifically named approximately 5 of the most long established premier pool companies in the city & hoped that we would be the first.

John had informed me that this back yard is completely overgrown and un-kept. The vegetation has been left unchecked and more closely resembles a “jungle”. The interlock decking was old, un-level & had dirt & weeds growing up between the cracks. The pool needed to be drained, acid washed, re-plastered or at the very least painted. The stone coping was dislodged with few intact areas of grout where required. The tile work was in need of repair, or more appropriately replacement. The homeowner went on emphasize that only his wife swims in it & at that perhaps once or twice per year and that is why he neglected it & furthermore did not want to spend any money on it other than to nurse it along. He only approved the bare necessity of an acid wash & a pump as it too was in disrepair. It is most certainly true that there had existed an algae problem with the pool specifically in two main areas. This was a direct result from the garden soil running beneath the stone coping after any precipitation, bringing with it enough organic matter to cause more than just algae. This was brought to the homeowners’ attention & he was told that this problem would persist until the proper & needed reparation to the stone coping had been done. He was given a price & we were told that it was simply not in the budget. Despite the conditions that we had to endure, we had continued on faithfully every week throughout the summer with each visit requiring more than twice the effort to clean this pool. The client was advised in June that we would need to double the rate to continue on as the procedures took over twice the time.

Upon presentation of the final bill at the end of the season (as was customary with our regular clients), the homeowner basically offered half & then decided that it was a good time to complain about the service he had received for the past four months. At this point we had decided to fire the client, however, as a measure of goodwill in the send off we had told the homeowner that if he contacted us in the springtime, we would extend our cost price on the two items which he wanted replaced, I believe was the filter dial valve & the heater, both of which had been disconnected. He was told that we were not interested in doing any more work for him & that he could find someone else to install the items. We felt that he did not deserve this offer of value but opted to take the high road anyway.

We did not receive any further correspondence from this client until the following spring when this review was posted. In his review he noted that we had not contacted him, nor fixed the said items, the reality was that there was never a promise or otherwise from us to do anymore work there and he was to call us if he wanted the discounted items In retrospect we wish now that we did not extend that offer of value and instead just moved on cleanly in the fall time. No good deed goes unpunished.

Nancie in Caledon
Nancie in Caledon
1 review Caledon, ON
0/10

Custom inground pool

We reviewed 3 pool quotes and settled on Lido as Josh had some interesting design concepts. They weren't the least expensive, however, we are willing to pay for a good product and warranty. Everything was on time as they started the install last fall (and were paid 80% of the pool contract), however, when they arrived in April to put the liner in, John found that it did not fit (and asked for another 10% which we trustingly paid). Josh indicated that there had been a mistake made at his end as he had overlooked that the drawing had somewhere indicated that there was to be an 11' foot stair and they had installed a 10' stair. John came and took the liner away on April 15 and here we are 2 months later on June 15 with no idea still as to when we will have the liner back and installed. My kids were looking forward to having a pool this summer. If you had asked us back in October if there was a risk that we would not have our pool by July 1 we would have laughed. Unfortunately for us its very much a reality. Josh has been very difficult to get communicate with. We requested that he come to meet with us and he emailed us that he was too busy. Every part of this project has had cost overruns or problems so far. I would not recommend them to others, extremely disappointed

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Without doubt, this customers caption is not in perspective of the reality that had existed. Any reasonable person realizes that contracting in general can and does have issues from time to time. Often there can be extenuating circumstances, we rely on others outside of our direct control, suppliers, sub contractors, inclement weather, changes in work ordered, unforeseen/ unexpected problems that arise etc. It’s not the issues per se that become the problem, it’s how the company reacts to the problem. Certainly we want everything to run as smoothly as possible all of the time and furthermore realize the superior value in every client having the best experience along the way. It is for this reason that we exercise due diligence and strive to provide what we ourselves would want if the tables were turned.
The facts are as follows:
• The manufacturer made an error with the vinyl liner and had fabricated it to fit an 11' step as opposed to the 10 ft step that was ordered and built. They admitted 100% fault, supplied a written admission of fault and rectified the situation without cost. It was the busiest part of the season and with all of our efforts it did take over 2 weeks. The reality of this delay was in the end inconsequential to the homeowner as they had instructed us to not install the liner and fill the pool until the fence was installed around it because they have 4 children under 7 years old & 2 dogs, 1 elderly. This replacement liner was delivered and sat in the box for around a week waiting for them to install the fence. They didn't have the fence installed despite us arranging a top notch installer which they declined, and decided to do it themselves. We had arranged for them to buy the fence directly from the manufacturer at our cost. They had experienced a delay in getting the fence perhaps complicated by the fact that the homeowner managed to offend the owner of the fence manufacturer. We've not experienced that after working with this manufacturer for over 25 years. In the end, the homeowner instructed us to install the liner despite the fence not being installed and it had been weeks beyond that before they had completed it. It was a 20 acre parcel with other natural perils but still not a good idea.
• Regarding her comment on lack of communication, certainly we realize the value in meaningful communication as it is integral to the overall efficiency, accuracy and success of the project. She was apprised of all progressions along the way. At the point that the liner had to be remade she had decided to berate me incessantly, multiple times per day despite being given all the information that we had at that time. It was to the point of unrealistic expectation and became a substantial burden cutting into productive time. If you have the answer of the day, multiple more calls won’t change that.
• Regarding the landscaping component; we offer full service and also work with other subcontractors as hired directly by the homeowner. In this case we had referred a reputable landscaper that we had dealt with over the previous 5 years. The homeowner had contracted with them directly to install a modest surround including interlock decking and an Armour stone retaining wall. Unbeknownst to us, this landscaper had merged with another landscaper over the previous winter that turned out to be less than ethical and decided to bury the remaining unused interlock, approx 30 sq. ft. They were caught, and have been banished from our referral list. The homeowner had withheld $5,000 from him, many times more the cost of the damages.
• The homeowner had stated that "Every part of this project has had cost overruns or problems so far". The reality was that there was not one cost overrun, everything came in exactly within budget that was stipulated within the contract. They had ordered an increase in deck size, approximately 30% and their billing from the landscaper had reflected that. From the onset, we had provided a detailed drawing that clearly indicated the size, shape and position of the pool. On site meetings established the desired grade and the retaining wall was based upon that position & elevation. Upon commencement of the stake out before the pool excavation, the homeowner moved the pool location some 30 feet plus away where the grade drops off substantially thus requiring a taller retaining wall. They were aware of the costs involved for the change in volume to the wall.
• As for payments, she followed our standard contract which contains progress draws that reflect most of our competitors within this industry. The 4th installment for 10% of the contract amount is due upon the coping or the liner installation, whichever comes first. The coping had been done back in the fall & we did not request that draw until the springtime when we had resumed work. The liner issue subsequently followed, however the 4th draw was due regardless and we weren't aware of the liner issue until we had been instructed to install it despite the arrangement for the fence to be in place first.
In conclusion, we had followed up with written letters to her telling her that we wish to maintain amicable & ongoing relations. That we are committed to stand behind our product & for her to feel absolutely welcome in calling for any pool needs.

Upper Thornhill Estates
Upper Thornhill Estates
1 review Maple, ON
10/10

Swimming Pool Installation

Prior to buying our new house in Maple, my wife and I began our quest to look for a pool company who had a proven track record in the industry with a vast knowledge of equipment and construction designs. We met with more than a half a dozen pool companies and listened to their presentations, equipment choices, opinions regarding salt vs chorine, landscaping and pool designs. At the end of the day, we became more confused and further away from making a decision. It was through our landscaper that we were recommended to Josh Katz and Lido Pools. Josh met with us for several hours and walked us through various options for pool designs which accented our property, energy efficient heaters, pumps, salt generators. His knowledge of the pool industry exceeded our expectations. My wife and I felt comfortable with Josh’s product knowledge and his extensive portfolio of completed projects. Lido’s pricing were also within our budget projections. Once the paper work was completed for our permits, the construction began. John Zeijdel heads up the construction team at Lido. John and his wonderful crew worked very hard to have our pool ready before the winter. John’s knowledge of the pool industry proved to very advantageous, especially when a quick decision had to be made about the installation and operation of equipment. The final project was completed on time and with precise accuracy. Lido Pools provided quality service from the signing of the contract to the final pool completion. We would be very happy to recommend Lido Pools to our family and friends.

Peter and Judy
Maple, Ontario

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Isaac from Oak Ridges
Isaac from Oak Ridges
1 review Richmond Hill, ON
10/10

inground pool

When looking for a company to install a pool at my house I called on several company's for a quote. Lido pools was reasonable price. Not having a pool growing up I did not know anything about maintaining a pool. Josh assured me that he would be there for any problem that would arise. When the crew starting to work the guys were very polite and good with the neighbours. The Job was completed on time. after the pool was open for a couple of weeks I screwed up on the epuipment, I call Josh and he sent someone over right away a fixed the problem. I highly recommend this company to any one who is interested in putting a pool in. They did everything they said they would and more.
Isaac

Was this review helpful?
Pam  & Allan in Thornhill
Pam & Allan in Thornhill
1 review Thornhill, ON
10/10

Swimming Pool

We contacted Josh of Lido Pools in the spring of 2008 and found him to be very knowledgeable and helpful especially in the design of a backyard that had everything on our wish list - a beautiful roman shaped pool with water features, a cabana and pavillion for shade and a lower deck coming out of our existing upper deck. He has wonderful ideas and was very pleasant to work with. He also provided us with a long list of references and it appears that some of his customers have used him to build their pools each time they have moved so he has a lot of repeat and happy customers. He also has highly skilled and wonderful people he referred us to i.e. Russell for carpentry and Rick for interlocking as well as electrical and gas technicians. We did go over budget slightly but we were so very happy with the end result and everyone who comes into our backyard loves it. We know we will get many years of pleasure from our new pool and we highly recommend Josh and his workers to anyone who is looking to change their backyard from wasted space to a virtual relaxing and fun paradise. Thanks Josh!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
The reviews on this page are the subjective opinion of the Author and not of HomeStars Inc.

More about Lido Pools & Aquatic Services

Established since 1968, Lido has accumulated over four decades of knowledge and expertise specializing in the design and development of the greatest proven innovations in construction methods and components this industry has to offer. Our unique structural design is superior in strength, tried and tested for longevity and backed by the exclusive "Pool Elite Warranty Program", the most comprehensive guarantee available in the industry.

CATEGORIES
Swimming Pools, Spas & Hot Tubs
PRODUCTS
Builders, designers & renovators of fine quality vinyl lined swimming pools, gunite swimming pools & prefab fiberglass - composite swimming pools & spas. Retailer of all pool & spa related products.
SERVICES
General Contracting Services, Design & Build, Renovation & Repair (major & minor), Liner Installations, Salt/Chlorine Generators, Leak Detection, Seasonal Openings & Closings, Spas & Hot Tubs, Sales of all Products. Toronto's first Jandy Pro-Edge Dealer.
BRANDS
Jandy, Zodiac, Hayward, Sta-Rite, Raypack, Pac Fab, Pentair, Rheem, Polaris, Dolphin, Barracuda, Kreepy Krauly, Aqualamp, Waterways, Viking Pools, Leisure Pools (Fiberglass), Artesian Spas, Nespa all tiled Spas, Bradford Stainless Spas, Canadian Hot Tubs, Latham Plastics, City Fiberglass, Riverflow, Speck Pumps, Fogco Misters, Fire by Design Fire Features, Open Aire Enclosures.
STYLES
Lido Geometric Series, Lido Lagoon Series, Lido Ornate Series, Lido Abstract Series, Lido Freeform series, Lido Lap & Resistance Pools, Lido Special Access Pools, Lido Standard Series, Custom Roman, Contemporary Geometric, Free-Form Lagoon, Lido Lazy River Series.
SPECIALITIES
Synergistic approach to custom design of unique vinyl lined swimming pools, that capture the opulence & aesthetics of gunite pools and the affordability & longevity of vinyl lined pools. Custom design of geometric all tiled concrete pools.
WEBSITE
http://www.lidopools.com
YEAR ESTABLISHED
1968
NUMBER OF EMPLOYEES
15
MEMBERSHIPS
Pool & Hot Tub Council of Canada
LIABILITY INSURANCE
Yes
DIPLOMAS
CPO
WORKERS COMPENSATION
Yes
WRITTEN CONTRACT
Yes
WARRANTY TERMS
Ten Year & Lifetime Structural Warranties
Company profile information is not moderated by HomeStars. Ask the contractor to verify before hiring.