Underhill's Landscaping

Landscape Contractors & Designers
75 Howden Rd Toronto ON M1R 3C7
Write a Review
Write a Review
Star Score
StarScore uses a complex algorithm which considers a company’s review ratings, responsiveness, reputation, and recency. Learn more.

83%

This is the average rating based on homeowner reviews.
This indicates how long it's been since the last review.
Low reputation means there has been review tampering or a company request to remove a review. This score is also impacted when we do not have enough information i.e: low number of reviews.
How well a company responds to Service Requests and Reviews.
Reviews by rating (past 12 months)

Reviews for Underhill's Landscaping

Average customer rating:
9.1 10 (33 reviews)

Sort by

Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Toronto, ON
0/10

planting

We hired Wayne Underhill in 2018 to install new plants in 6 stone flowerboxes. His estimate was 40% higher than the next company, but we went ahead because he had previously done patio work for us.
This job was not complicated. Using a plan printed out by the flowerbox construction company, I supplied a written list of plant varieties that would do well in my space and location. Wayne’s responsibility was to gauge how many plants would be needed.
First problem: Wayne showed up with the exact number of plants that the flowerbox construction company had laid out in their plan. There were 12 more hydrangeas, 10 more boxwood, and 5 more astilbe than needed. After much unpleasant arguing, he gave me a $20 rebate for each of the superfluous hydrangeas- far less than the price I had paid him. He planted the extra boxwood (most now dying) and astilbe (all now dead) in other places on my property with less hospitable soil and sun conditions.
Second problem: the weigela plants Wayne delivered were not the dwarf varieties specified in writing in the work contract. He very grudgingly replaced those plants.
Third problem: Wayne kept hurrying up the workers. One worker asked if he should grass an area disturbed by the planting; Wayne’s angry look silenced him.
Fourth problem: The plants were guaranteed for 3 seasons, and in the second summer I informed Wayne that the Karl Foerster grasses were slanting downward, weigela flowering was minimal (I paid for enriched soil and I fertilized weekly), and the extra boxwoods and astilbe planted in sub-optimal locations were dying or dead. Wayne refused to make a single warranty-covered effort towards customer satisfaction.
When we paid him (almost $9,000!), my husband rounded out the cost, which came to $5 less than the estimate. Wayne insisted on getting that last measly $5 - he said he needed to buy coffee! My advice: look elsewhere!

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Mrs. Borer, while our response to your review is rather late, we certainly wanted say a few words in response for those others who choose to read your review. I will begin by stating that we completed your planting project on August 18th, 2018 - yet you chose to wait more than 2 full years to post your negative review (your review was posted on November 18th, 2020). Seems odd for you to wait so long. However, let me address some of your comments. To begin, I will address your project cost. It is a well known fact that price quotes throughout the landscape industry can vary dramatically. We have never been, and never will be the "Cheapest price" contractor. Your previous experience with our company would attest to that, and you were obviously comfortable with our pricing structure since you chose to hire us back again. Next, addressing your "First Problem". Yes you supplied us a written list of plant varieties provided by the flowerbox construction company. You have obviously forgotten that Wayne suggested the Green Gem Boxwoods as a better suited substitute for the Tom Thumb Euonymus originally suggested on your supplied list. You are also forgetting that our written quotation that Wayne provided you specifically listed the plant varieties AND quantities - and you signed and approved that quotation on June 3rd, 2018. We provided the exact quantity of plants you approved & signed for. The specific Hydrangeas you requested are not a readily available plant, and required a special order to receive them. Re-stocking fees were charged to us for the quantity you chose not to take. We have numerous customers in your neighbourhood annually, and Wayne noticed on a number of drive by occasions during the summers of 2019 and 2020 that your plants were growing and filling in quite well. As for your "Second Problem" - yes, the Weigela plants that arrived were not the dwarf "My Monet" variety that was specified. Sometimes mistakes happen. You yourself mentioned that Wayne exchanged the wrong Weigelas. I don't see what the problem is here. As for your "Third Problem" - asking our workers to maintain a proper work pace allowed us to get to the next customer on time. Again, I don't get what the problem is. Your "Fourth Problem" is a mistake on your part. We only guarantee our plants for 2 years - NOT the 3 years you are mistakenly listing. And that is under the assumption that the customer ensures regular watering. The dry roots on some of the plants you are referring to indicated inadequate watering. You got the "enriched soil" that was specified in your quotation - triple mix planting soil with extra peat moss. I can't comment on the "measily $5" you are referring to. Not sure how your husband "rounded out the cost", because your signed quotation was specific for the costs - exactly $8,800 plus HST tax.

Anna in Richmond Hill
Anna in Richmond Hill
3 reviews Richmond Hill, ON
1/10

Horrible Service

They did a patio landscaping on our backyard last year. Gave us a warranty for 1 year. This year we found out that the plants partially died. During the last month we tried to contact Wayne. No one returned a call to us. We spoke with his secretary a few times. She always promised he will give us a call.
Today the same lady at the office was completely rude, hanged up the phone without letting us to complete the conversation.
This job turned to be very expensive and this kind of service is not at all acceptable.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Mrs Kitenberg, let me address some of these comments. First, our warranty does cover your plants for one year. You were originally informed this spring that during our busiest time of the year we record any customers requiring plant replacements, then accumulate these properties to schedule a dedicated crew to deal for these at a later date (often depending on plant variety availability). As Wayne told you during his visit yesterday, we will be replacing 9 out of the 12 Spireas we planted last season once that variety is available. We honour our warranties, and simply ask our customers for a little patience during this busy time of year. Secondly, I wish to point out to those reading this review the reason why our secretary hung up the phone on your husband. He was raising his voice to her, in an aggressive, almost verbally abusive manner. None of our staff members deserve to be spoken to like that.

10/10

Spring Garden Cleanup

Before my husband demised on March 21/2020, he strongly advised me to get a service whereby I did not have to weed and trim shrubs etc and said I should contact Underhill (which we have used before to trim shrubs). So I did and signed up for a full 'garden' service' that saves me a lot of effort - included a spring cleanup. Not long after paying for their estimated service costs. I contacted them and was told I could pay monthly thru my credit card. So not only was I surprised when a crew arrived in late April but my yard looked like it had been delicately 'house' cleaned! I can's say enough about the efforts of Stacey and Michael re not only doing such a good cleanup job but ALSO respecting my emerging 'forever' plants Thanks

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Mrs Harcus, Stacey & Micheal appreciate how pleased you were with your spring clean up for your property - and they are now anxious to make sure your yard looks great every week now throughout the rest of the season as they carry on with your weekly lawn maintenance. They take pride in their work, and I am glad to hear we are giving you peace of mind that your yard will look great all season long. Thank you for trusting Underhill's again for your lawn & garden care. Jamie

Brooke i.
Brooke i.
5 reviews Toronto, ON
10/10

Landscaping

Like my father before me , I have been dealing with Underhill's for approximately 20 years. Over these years they have replaced an old timber retaining wall with stone, laid new sod front and back, designed and built a raised 16"x 30' planter, planted interesting trees and shrubs and so much more. Wayne always has workable suggestions. Their "lawn plan" program has brought quite a lot of compliments from neighbours and passersby. Thanks guys and Joyce.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hello Brooke. It has been our pleasure to be your "landscaper of choice" for both you and your father over the past 4 decades. We really appreciate your business and loyalty. Thank you again.

Bob in Toronto
Bob in Toronto
1 review Toronto, ON
10/10

Landscaping and lawn care

My wife and I have been customers of Underhill's Landscaping since 2010. During this time, Underhill's have completed landscape projects for us involving a combination of bushes and plants, stone planters, a backyard patio and walkways at the front and side of our house. They have also provided lawn care services annually for the last five years. We have been very pleased by the work performed by Underhill's Landscaping, and have received many compliments for the appearance of our property. We would not hesitate to recommend Underhill's for a professional landscaping job and for their annual lawn care service.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi Bob. Thank you first for placing your trust in our company for your lawn &landscaping needs over the past 10 years. And thank you for your kind words.

Matt from Scarborough
Matt from Scarborough
15 reviews Toronto, ON
10/10

Clean up and Sod Installation

After being given the run around by another landscaper ("I'm busy I will come by soon" - no, you didn't!), I contacted Underhill's. The staff responded quickly, and Wayne came by within a few day's time, and was courteous to call to let me know he was running a bit late. I was given an accurate quote, and was informed that the service would be done soon. They came on by as promised, did the work, left a clean area, and I have beautiful new sod. Highly recommended, wonderful work and service.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you!
Underhill's Landscaping
https://www.underhill-wecare.com/
416-288-0313

barry in Brampton
barry in Brampton
1 review Brampton, ON
10/10

They saved our lawn!

We moved into our new house 12 years ago. It took a year until we got sod. We tried to tend our own landscaping for a few years but found that the grass was looking really sick! We thought that maybe the builders used sub-standard sod and were considering having it all replaced.

One of our neighbour's lawns looked fantastic. We asked them how they did it. They put us on to Underhill's. After one season of having them treat our lawn everyone was asking US how WE did it! We've been using them ever since and our lawn continues to look great. When we have a question or need additional service they're there for us. What more could you ask for!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi Barry, Hi Mona. When we first visit a new property and the lawn is in poor shape, we provide our recommendations AND give the new prospective customer extremely high expectations for fantastic results for an amazing lawn immediately within the first few months. We know our prices are higher than all the competitors, but we provide a more diversified structure of lawn care services that the larger competitors can't match. Your story about how we quickly transformed you lawn into turf that you thoroughly enjoy is proof of how we do things differently than most others. A customer once told me he calls Underhill's a "boutique lawn company" because of our diversity and results. Thank you for your comments, and we look forward to maintaining that thick, green lawn for you. Cheers, Jamie
Underhill's Landscaping
https://www.underhill-wecare.com/
416-288-0313

I. Francis in Scarborough
I. Francis in Scarborough
2 reviews Toronto, ON
10/10

Reliable , Top quality work over the years

We've known this company since 2001, when they laid the patio stones and wall garden at the side of our house. To date we have no problem with their work.
Since then they had done the following jobs for us:
1. Put up a fence in the backyard - still standing to date after 13 years
2. Redo our front lawn and flagstone walkway - did a great job 6 yrs ag0
3. Parged the outer side of our basement - still not flaking after 4 yrs
4. Cut and trim our trees and bushes - the areas are now neater 1 yr ago

Eighteen (18) years is a long time to continue dealing with this company. Why do we use them? Because they do top quality work, are reliable, clean up after each job and believe in a thoroughly satisfied customer---which we are.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

There are a number of reasons why so many of our customers continue to contact Underhill's after 5, 10, 20 or more than 30 years - and Francis you have told the world about all the reasons why you have felt comfortable to hire us again and again for your lawn & landscape projects over the years. We post comments like yours back in the shop for our crews to read - and we can see the pride in their eyes when they read your comments. Makes them feel good about the efforts they put in everyday for our customers. Thanks so much for your loyalty and your feedback.

Andre in Scarborough
Andre in Scarborough
2 reviews Toronto, ON
10/10

Underhill's Answers and Does Very Good Work Promptly

Underhill's always answers my questions promptly, makes sound recommendations and offers options and does the job very well and on time.

The front lawn looks the best it ever has.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi Andre. Our sound recommendations come from our 52 years experience in the lawn & landscape industry. Yes, you front lawn has responded quite nicely. Unfortunately your rear lawn is a challenge due to the heavy shade from the neighbor's trees. I left an envelope at the house yesterday with my recommendations comparing sodding vs over seeding with our premium shade tolerant seed mix for your consideration. Thanks for you kind words about our company.
Underhill's Landscaping
https://www.underhill-wecare.com/
416-288-0313

Dianne in Markham
Dianne in Markham
1 review Markham, ON
10/10

Lawn Care

Underhill’s Landscaping has been taking care of my lawn for the past few years and the service has been excellent! Prior to receiving lawn care services from Underhill Landscaping my lawn was full of weeds and probably the worst on my block. Now, I can proudly say that I have one of the best lawns on my block! Thank you Underhill Landscaping!

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi Dianne. We are pleased that you are happy with the your new thick, green lawn. I do give high expectations for positive lawn care results when talking to potential new customers - and we do deliver on those expectations. Thank you for your business, and we should be by next week for your first spring lawn fertilization. Cheers
Underhill's Landscaping
https://www.underhill-wecare.com/
416-288-0313

The reviews on this page are the subjective opinion of the Author and not of HomeStars Inc.

More about Underhill's Landscaping

After over 53 successful years providing our various Landscaping services, we are currently in the process of down sizing our company here during the 2021 season. We are no longer offering our Lawn Care & Lawn Maintenance services. We would like to take this opportunity to graciously thank all of ...
Company profile information is not moderated by HomeStars. Ask the contractor to verify before hiring.
Looking for Landscape Contractors & Designers pros in Goodwood?