Two Small Men With Big Hearts

Moving & Storage
Toronto ON
Write a Review
Write a Review

HomeStars  >  Moving & Storage in Mississauga  >  Two Small Men With Big Hearts  >  Moved a small one bedroom apartment
Dawn in London
Dawn in London
1 review London, ON

Moved a small one bedroom apartment

A horrific experience with almost all my furniture damaged and incompetent staff which they refuse to be responsible for. They deceived me about an insurance claim and refuse to pay for my tv which was dropped and broken. It took four hours for them to load 16 items and thirty four boxes. Do not hire this company with no hearts, ethics or compassion for a senior who doesnt have money or anyone to help them. As far as their response goes, they just make stuff up as they go along, not honest. I dont know how they got 34 items. I had 16 items and 34 boxes. Also, they came back the next day to put my bed together properly and while they were here I told them to take the tv. They broke it, they can dispose of it. Again, they refuse responsibility. A lot of stuff I loaded in my car because they were so slow. I paid $185 an hour so if thats a discount , then what is the regular price? The driver told me that hed only had two hours sleep and it was the helpers second day on the job. The helper was in no shape to do the work and proceeded to whine, spend most of the time texting taking breaks and both of them sitting in the truck. I have witnesses to that. The only thing I signed was the bill when I paid. If thats an insurance waiver I wasnt aware. Who is going to say yeah you broke and damaged most of my stuff and overcharged me but its okay? When I was called for more money I was told that they couldnt do an insurance claim unless I paid. I paid and they didnt do a claim. They knew how upset I was all the damages, especially the tv. I was told it would take ten to fifteen days for the insurance claim. When I told them I wasnt willing to be without a tv for that long and was buying one they said by all means. No one ever said the tv wasnt covered and an insurance claim was never made. Not only am I out the money for the tv, I also have extensive damages that a few hundred dollars wont come close to fixing. I paid $1,749 for the move and $595 for the tv so Ive still paid $1,719. Why should I be responsible for their staff? It wasnt the stairs or elevator but incompetent staff that was the problem.

Approximate cost of services:
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi Dawn,

Again, I am deeply sorry to hear you were not happy with the services you received from our staff/crews for your move back at the end of March, 2022 in London ON.

Your original complaint from April 2022 has been responded to on multiple occasions, on multiple platforms. Thank you for giving me the opportunity to address your concerns again.

You were originally booked with a 3 man crew. Unfortunately due to Covid, we had a staff shortage that day and you only received a 2 man crew which was reflected in the discounted hourly rate you received. In your original complaint you were not satisfied with only having 2 movers due to the size of your item list, which exceeded 35 + items. I am unsure of where the new count of 16 items came from?

Definitely a 3rd man would have been beneficial for your move. A full 1 bedroom apartment with 35 + items as well as boxes going from a walk-up to an apartment with an elevator can take time.

Again I apologize that you did not receive the red carpet service you deserved. To try and resolve the situation, at the end of your move hours were discounted off your final invoice for a total discount of $313.57. This was to compensate for the staffing issues that day.

As per the damage to your T.V.
You were sent your confirmation email prior to your move which also included our industry standard insurance. You were asked to thoroughly review this information including the insurance, as it was all imperative to your move. "Electronics are not covered under insurance unless in their original box", "Please have your electronics and musical instruments professionally prepared for moving beforehand." You also signed the damage waiver form on move day which also states this, which I sent you a copy via email.
Under the circumstances and the issues you had with your move we still then sent you another refund of $600.00 in the form of a cheque, which you cashed. As well as, we sent a crew out free of charge the following day to remove your old T.V.
You have had a total discount of $913.57. A few days later you emailed me stating that you demand another $500.00 or you were going to leave bad reviews on the BBB website and Google Reviews and contact the media. These threats started 4 months ago, and I am sorry we have not been able to come to a resolution with you, since then.

If you would like to contact me directly to discuss this further please reach out to our office. We are at your service and always strive for the best customer service we can provide.

Mary Mayo
Operations Manager
Two Small Men with Big Hearts Moving London ON