Quality Home Comfort

Formerly Quality Built-In Home Systems Inc.
Heating & Air Conditioning
50 Venture Dr Scarborough ON M1B 3L6
Write a Review
Write a Review
Website
Star Score
StarScore uses a complex algorithm which considers a company’s review ratings, responsiveness, reputation, and recency. Learn more.

96%

This is the average rating based on homeowner reviews.
This indicates how long it's been since the last review.
Low reputation means there has been review tampering or a company request to remove a review. This score is also impacted when we do not have enough information i.e: low number of reviews.
How well a company responds to Service Requests and Reviews.
Reviews by rating (past 12 months)
Verified by HomeStars
Best of 2021 winner 3 timesBest of 2021winner 3 times

Reviews for Quality Home Comfort

Average customer rating:
9.9 10 (110 reviews)

Sort by

Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Cambridge, ON
10/10

Furnace and AC

Kevin is an excellent person with great qualities of help.. I am from Cambridge and am having problems with my furnace and he helped me through the phone and threw texting even though he couldn’t or doesn’t work for my area.. He is a caring and very helpful person.. I have never meet a person like Kevin to be so understanding and caring for the big problem I was going threw.. highly recommend Quality Home Comfort with their amazing sales and customer service!

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you for your kind words, Rukhsana. We always try to help even if we cannot make it to you because you are out of our service area.

JASON in Toronto
JASON in Toronto
0 reviews Charlottetown, PE
0/10

HVAC issue

I don’t know how this company could have this many positive reviews, but had they diagnosed my HVAC system was a huge mistake!!!
AC seemed to have issues at my home. The moment this technician saw the HVAC system told me that I have a “custom made” heat pump which was specifically built for my condo unit. He checked all the wires and they all had power going into the system, therefore the electrical part was fine, but pointed out that the compressor wasn’t running, so I would need to replace the whole system. I showed him how to start up the compressor and he confirmed it was working. He then told me the reversing valve in the system was not working properly, but that it is irreparable, therefore I would still need to replace the whole system. I asked him if it would have something to do with the thermostat, he simply told me “if it’s the thermostat, just change the thermostat” (how can I say he’s wrong :) ... Then I asked him how we can confirm if the problem is associated with the wiring or not, but he said he couldn’t confirm since he is not an electrician… (how could you conclude the electrical part was fine if you’re not an electrician???)

During his 1 hour diagnose session ($175+HST), he spent nearly half of the time “educating” me how heat pumps work and how my heat pump unit is hard to get, also denying all the faulty symptoms I had experienced. Anyhow, luckily the problem is now solved and it was due to the wiring issue with my Google Nest thermostat, so that I don’t have to WASTE another $4800+tax which he quoted me ($4100 parts + $700 installation), whereas other companies are charging around $3500+tax (parts & labour) for the same item.

In case you’re reading this David, just like to let you know that my heat pump was manufactured by “the Whalen company”, each of their products have specific model and serial numbers, thus mine is not a “custom built” item. Such a company has been in the industry for decades, not as you described a “bankrupted” factory. They have distributors across North America, so that you don’t really have to find their “leftovers” from some abandoned warehouses.

Was this review helpful?
Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Toronto, ON
10/10

Great service

Very glad to find quality hone comfort
They were the most straightforward and easy company to deal with out of the 3 which i called for quotes
They were also the best priced.
I would highly recommend dealing with them for your hvac needs

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you for your kind words, Duncan. We are always here for you for your heating and cooling needs.

Marina
Marina
0 reviews Toronto, ON
10/10

AC

I recently replaced my air conditioning with Quality Home Comfort. Kevin helped me over the phone and in person. He was always available and prompt with his responses. I am happy with the work Bobby and Ali did. They have an excellent in house warranty so they stand by their work.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you for the kind words marina. It is our pleasure to help you with your air conditioner. We are always here for you. We have been a family owned and operated full service HVAC company for over 30 years.

Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Toronto, ON
10/10

Duct cleaning

The service was excellent, the person explained what he was going to do and was completed in a timely manner. I recommend this Company!

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

It is our pleasure to help you with duct cleaning services.

Private User
Private User
0 reviews Toronto, ON
10/10

Condo hvac

I called Kevin to check my condo air handler. He sent his technician Ali the same day to inspect and repair it. It was a quick fix and the price was more than fair. I’m very happy with the customer service and workmanship. Ali took all safety precautions with shoe covers and a masks. I highly recommend them to anyone looking for heating and cooling repairs.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you for your review, Zahra. We are fully insured to work in condos and experience with air handlers and fan oil units. It is our pleasure to help you.

Maryam in Toronto
Maryam in Toronto
0 reviews Richmond Hill, ON
10/10

New furnace and duct cleaning

I called Quality Home Comfort to help with the installation of a new furnace. Kevin provided a great price and helped answer all my questions. He organized the job for the next day and everything went smoothly. I also wanted a duct cleaning and was pleased to find out they provide this service. Special thanks to Michael and Bobby for installing the furnace and to Akhtar for providing a thorough duct cleaning and sanitization. They have great prices and great service. I highly recommend them.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you for your review, Maryam. We are always here to help you with duct cleaning and all your HVAC needs.

Private User
Private User
0 reviews Toronto, ON
10/10

Duct cleaning

Kevin sent his crew the day after I called him to provide a duct cleaning. He always answers his phone and his reception provided excellent customer service. The crew was polite and wore masks. They did a through job and I am pleased with their work. Air in the home is much cleaner and I noticed less dust is sitting on surfaces.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you for you review. We are always here within 24 hours for duct cleaning.

Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Toronto, ON
10/10

Furnace

Kevin had his crew install a new furnace and air conditioner for my home. They quoted a competitive price and took good care of my home. They did an excellent job. I would highly recommend them.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you for your kind words Dorottya. We are a fully licensed and insured hvac company for over 30 years. We are always here for you.

Linda & Joe in Scarborough
Linda & Joe in Scarborough
4 reviews Toronto, ON
10/10

Very Honest & Professional!

If you want the short version of this review, this company saved us anywhere from $450 - $11,000. (Yes, that is typed correctly!). Trust them.

They are honest and will truly tell you what is wrong with your furnace or, like they did to us, even tell you there is nothing wrong with it if everything is fine. The long version is below... I learned a lot. Might be worth a read.

During one of the first cold days this winter our furnace stopped working. We had completed maintenance service each year with one of the big companies and never had any issues. We called them and they sent the same person who had been there a few months prior for our regular service. At that time, we still had warranty on the furnace and it was apparently fine.

Service man came and reset the furnace and got it going. However, he said part needed to be changed that would cost us $450 but he wasn't sure if that would fix it. If it wouldn't, we would need to change another part that cost $1000. He said this was risky because the motor (which was just fine a few months ago) was overheating too so we should just get a new furnace at $6200. He also pushed for us to get a new air conditioner too because installing both at the same time would save us money and it was old. Another $4800. He was really so pushy about it that we got suspicious and decided to get a second opinion. It just didn't seem right.

We called Quality Home Comfort. Over the phone Kevin told me that even if we did need to change the parts they had indicated, the price was a fraction of what we were quoted. But it gets better.... When Dave showed up, he said NOTHING WAS WRONG WITH IT! Sometimes, they just need to be reset!

We did nothing and it has been months now and thank goodness we haven't had any issues!

I can't believe this other guy knew nothing was wrong with it, and was totally fine with a family with small kids spending $450 or $6200 or even $11,000 THAT THEY DIDN'T NEED TO SPEND.

I did some research and it turns out that these service people at some companies get paid commission on the contracts they make! That explains why the first guy was so pushy for us to get the new furnace!

Needless to say I have nothing but good things to say about Kevin and David and they are now the company we will trust going forward and frankly I am happy to give such honest people my business!

Thank you Kevin & David!!

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

It was a pleasure to help you. Customers like you make our efforts worth while. We have served the GTA for over 30 years and we built our reputation based on a commitment to excellence in service and customer care.

The reviews on this page are the subjective opinion of the Author and not of HomeStars Inc.

More about Quality Home Comfort

Full service residential and commercial heating and cooling. Fully licensed and certified. Family owned and operated for over 30 years. Masters of installation and design. Commitment to excellence in customer service.

Specialists in radiant heating and electric/oil to gas conversions.

CATEGORIES
Heating & Air Conditioning and Solar Water Heating
PRODUCTS
Furnace Air conditioner Boiler Tankless water heater Duct Cleaning And much more
SERVICES
We service all makes and models. Furnaces, boilers, air conditioners (central and ductless/mini-split), water heaters (tanks and tankless), radiant and in floor heating, gas connection for bbq, stove, etc, duct work, HVAC design, electric/oil to gas conversion, duct cleaning
BRANDS
Goodman,Carrier,Lennox, Daikin,Mitsubishi,Fujitsu, LG
SPECIALITIES
HVAC,Water Heaters,Ventalation, Duct Work,HVAC Design, In Floor Heaters, Gas Connections,Radiant Heating,Pool Heaters,Tankless Water Heaters, Furnace, Boilers, Combi Boilers,Smart Thermostats,Air Quality, Duct Cleaning
WEBSITE
http://www.qualityhomecomfort.ca/
YEAR ESTABLISHED
1988
PAYMENT METHOD
Cash, Cheque & Etransfer
LICENSES
HVAC Design,Heating Fuel Contractor, TSSA, HRAI, Licensed Gas Tech, Ont College of Trades Ref Tech
MEMBERSHIPS
HRAI, TSSA, GreenON
LIABILITY INSURANCE
Yes
WORKERS COMPENSATION
Yes
WRITTEN CONTRACT
Yes
WARRANTY TERMS
Yes, minimum 1 year.
Company profile information is not moderated by HomeStars. Ask the contractor to verify before hiring.