New Canadian Drain & Plumbing Ltd

Drain Services
182B Saint Helens Ave Toronto ON M6H 4A1
Write a Review
Write a Review
HomeStars  >  Drain Services in Toronto  >  New Canadian Drain & Plumbing Ltd  >  Unable to clear sewage block / quoted major unnecessary work / Overcharged my CC
ryan in Toronto
ryan in Toronto
1 review Toronto, ON

Unable to clear sewage block / quoted major unnecessary work / Overcharged my CC

Had a major sewage blockage. While New Canadian's were able to come quickly late on a Saturday night, they were unable to clear the blockage after 40mins of trying. He required a camera to scope the drain, which he did not have on his truck and was the only guy on duty. They were suppose to call me the next morning to notify me of when the second technician would show up, however I did not receive a call so I had to follow up at which point they had to look the work order. The second plumber came and scoped the drain (with a camera that appeared to barely work due to a taped up cut in the line). He said it was blocked and he was unable to scope it any further most likely due to an old pipe collapse. I asked him to snake it again knowing I would be charged (a snake is a smaller diameter and works more like a blender unlike a scope), but he said it would be of no use and said we would have to replace the pipe by cutting the concrete floor and digging it out with a quote for $4800. He charged me $380 for the two visits. We had another plumber come the following day and scope the pipe which cleared the drain in 5 minutes and for $250. I then checked my credit card to find that New Canadians were attempting to over charge my CC by $300. The plumbers were polite and seemed professional, but I question the level of proactive customer service they offer versus meeting sales quotas. The accounting department eventually refunded the over charge, but had no interest in giving me any discount on the negligible work they provided.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

When you contacted us last year on September 25, 2018 we sent technician to your house who did camera inspection. Our technician advised you that your main drain is broken. When you called us recently on the Saturday night, we dispatched technician to your home at 9 pm. He snaked your drain for 45 minutes free of charge, as he was unable to clear the blockage. On Sunday morning another technician came to your house to do camera inspection. It took him 1 ½ hour for camera inspection and he informed you that original pipe that is roughly 100 years old is broken and needs to be replaced. We gave you an estimate that would permanently solve your problem. You called another company that where able to clear the blockage, which is only temporary solution. We offered you the same expertise as last year. We do not deserve your negative feedback.