Belyea Bros Limited

Heating & Air Conditioning
2 Thorncliffe Park Dr, Unit 24 ON M4H
Write a Review
Write a Review
Website
Star Score
StarScore uses a complex algorithm which considers a company’s review ratings, responsiveness, reputation, and recency. Learn more.

92%

This is the average rating based on homeowner reviews.
This indicates how long it's been since the last review.
Low reputation means there has been review tampering or a company request to remove a review. This score is also impacted when we do not have enough information i.e: low number of reviews.
How well a company responds to Service Requests and Reviews.
Reviews by rating (past 12 months)
Verified by HomeStars
Best of 2021 winner 3 timesBest of 2021winner 3 times

Reviews for Belyea Bros Limited

Average customer rating:
9.3 10 (597 reviews)

Sort by

Cam
Cam
1 review Toronto, ON
0/10

Nest issue

called them to fix a nest thermostat that wasn't charging on the wall properly...they came and were unable to fix and were unware of the "common maker kit" solution that my wife had read about online...didn't provide any solution. They charged us for the visit even though they left without providing any solution. the next company we called knew exactly how and what to do and came and fixed it... the company was not willing to provide refund for the 0 value visit they provided... will never call them again!

Was this review helpful?
Susanne
Susanne
0 reviews Toronto, ON
10/10

Awesome & helpful service

My doorbell was no longer working & my kids wanted us to get the new Ring videodoorbell so I contacted Belyea brothers to install my Ring video doorbell pro. Also to ensure doirbell worked they sourced the chimes & transformer.
Install went smoothly & Atilla helped set up doorbell & video
Service was friendly efficient & helpful
Highly recommend this company!
Thanks Atilla & Belyea

Was this review helpful?
PaulK
PaulK
0 reviews Toronto, ON
2/10

Overpriced Furnace Repair

Came home from a long trip to find out we had no heat in the house. Called Belyea brothers and their technician diagnosed the problem with our furnace indicating the gas valve and ignitor had to be replaced. They quoted $1806 to replace these two parts. I paid for the service call and told the technician I would call them later if I wanted to go ahead with the repairs. Based on some research I did over the internet, I found that quote to be quite high so I contacted another heating repair company. The repairman from the other company quoted a price almost $900 less for the repair of the furnace. They indicated there was a problem with only the gas valve and there was nothing wrong with the furnace ignitor. Needless to say, I had this company go ahead and make the repair instead of Belyea Brothers. The furnace worked well for the next 3 weeks before we moved. Can't understand why Belyea would charge $450 more for a gas valve than their competitor and want to charge $400 for an ignitor that doesn't need to be replaced. Not good.

Was this review helpful?
Robert from Toronto
Robert from Toronto
3 reviews Toronto, ON
10/10

Electrician

Electrician did a very professional and safe job. Explained everything very well. Checked out all possible issues and quickly diagnosed problem. I really appreciated his concern for safety. I have a better appreciation for the work that was completed.

Was this review helpful?
Alexander in Toronto
Alexander in Toronto
1 review Toronto, ON
4/10

Perfunctory diagnosis, outlandish quote for repair

First off, we purchased a fine HTP furnace from Belyea about 4+ years ago - it wasn't cheap (12k+) and the installation was absolutely wonderful. The furnace itself works very well - but - after the first year, it threw an error - which is explained well in the manual - Flame Loss. While we can press the RESET button and restart the furnace, when it starts happening almost every 2 hours, I think there's a problem. We called for service. A technician arrived, seemingly solved the issue - but it comes back sporadically - time and time again. As long as it doesn't become repetitive, we RESET, and this usually seems to resolve the problem for weeks on end. The furnace never has any problem recovering this way, igniting normally each and every time.

This winter however, the problem has returned - requiring us to RESET in many cases, every 2-4 hours - so we again called for service. It's a pandemic, and we weren't freezing (as we could RESET) - so when the technician arrived (3 days), with a trainee in tow, we felt sure that we'd get the usual fine service. We did not.

His perfunctory 'diagnosis' (which took him about 3 minutes) was that the flame sensor was the issue, and without turning off the gas (although he did power down the furnace), he removed the sensor, cleaned it, restarted the furnace, monitored the flame strength for a few minutes - and declared it fixed. He then invoiced me $135 for diagnosis - and another $64 for cleaning the sensor. Total time on site was less than 40 minutes.

Less than 2 hours later - the error returned.

Needless to say - the suggested diagnostic procedure for this error, in the manual, is a bit more comprehensive, and following information in that, I monitored the flame strength (which was stable around 7 while firing). I called the company back to indicate that the problem was still present.

My next response was a quotation - by email - for over $800 - for the replacement of both the flame sensor and the ignitor. Do I sound a little miffed ?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Toronto, ON
10/10

Rescued by Belyea

We have a complex high velocity and tankless/on demand HVAC system in our 20 year old home. Our previous technician stopped returning our calls when I advised him that our relatively new boiler was no longer working. The guys at Beylea moved quickly to isolate the issue using highly competent staff and then devoted a full two days of work to fix the air handler and replace the boiler. My only regret is not calling Belyea sooner. Also, all of the staff that we interacted with were very friendly. They have our business going forward.

Was this review helpful?
Elle in Toronto
Elle in Toronto
4 reviews Toronto, ON
3/10

Frustrating Quote Experience

I don't really like to say bad things about a company, but we were ready to pull the trigger on the installation of 2 ductless air-conditioners in our home with Belyea. Had a great experience with the sales person on our initial visit. All he had to do was send us a quote. Unfortunately, he never got back to us. I called him directly, left him emails and then called the main line to make sure there wasn't any other reason he couldn't call us back (you never know). Not sure what happened here, but can't really give a better rating. Would have loved to have done business with them as their ratings looked so good!

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hello Elle,
Sorry for your frustration. Due to COVID-19 some members of our staff have chosen to stay home for health reasons. Could you possibly give me the name of the system consultant you were dealing with? I understand you may have chosen another company but here at Belyea Bros we try to not repeat our mistakes.
Sorry for any inconvenience this may have caused.
Thank you,
The Operations Manager of Belyea Bros Limited

share Leslieville
share Leslieville
2 reviews Toronto, ON
10/10

Heat Pump Installation

I own a small townhouse in Leslieville that was renovated years ago, replacing the furnace with electric baseboard heating. Summer cooling has been managed by a cumbersome pair of window air conditioners. Both systems are relatively expensive to run for the size of the house. I received a flyer from Belyea Brothers and decided to enquire about a Daiken heat pump after recently experiencing one in a hotel stay.
I was connected with their System Consultant, Jamieson. He immediately did a COVID-friendly assessment of the house and put together a recommendation, which to my surprise included both heating and cooling. His solution matched well with my vision of the requirements.
The Daiken system was delivered a week later and installed by Jit and his assistant Anwar. The installation team were awesome. They worked all day without a break. The workmanship was flawless, they cleaned up after each unit was installed, and they explained each step of the process to me as it evolved.
The crowning moment was when the neighbours (who were somewhat concerned about the noise level of the unit in the alley between our houses) got a tour of the unit while it was running. I took them to hear the noise level of the heat pump, but alas they could not hear it because their clothes dryer was running and the noise of the dryer vent drowned out the sound of the heat pump. We were all very pleased and they said they should look at getting a new dryer to reduce the noise level in the alley …
Overall, it was a very positive experience with this company and its employees!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
6/10

install rads in basement

Used this company to install rads in the basement. Before a year was over, we had a leak in some of the pipes. When I called to ask them to come out and look, they were going to charge $135 for a site visit, and then determine if it was their initial installation that was the result of the leak. I was very disappointed to say the least, given that the price for the initial work was comparatively high I thought they would stand behind their service guarantee.

Was this review helpful?
JL in Toronto
JL in Toronto
1 review Toronto, ON
3/10

7 year Mits Air Side Discharge

A simple coil leak in the furnace and they wanted to charge $750 plus tax just do a diagnosis.

Called another company, checked the AC, no leak. Checked the coil in the furnacee and found the leak instantly. Total charge $ 120 for the service call and the amount will be discounted from the new coil part and install. Almost $13K in referal business with neighbors and Bilyea Brothers head office still wanted to price gouge.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
The reviews on this page are the subjective opinion of the Author and not of HomeStars Inc.

More about Belyea Bros Limited

Heating & Air Conditioning

COOLING
At Belyea Bros. we install and service a range of air conditioning systems including forced air (central) air conditioning, ductless split air conditioners, and our custom designed Attic Pak and SpacePak systems. Due to our background as a hot water heating specialists we are experts at planning and executing cooling solutions for houses without ductwork.

HEATING
At Belyea Bros. Limited we hold the first heating license issued in Toronto. As a result, we have the experience to claim, “there is nothing about heating we don’t know”. We are experts in hot water, radiant in-floor, snow melt systems and forced air heating. Over a number of years we have carefully selected the products that we recommend to our customers. We sell only manufacturers that have a proven track record of quality and service so that we can offer you the best support possible. All the manufacturers we work with have parts centers or distributors within the GTA meaning we have access to a local support network. We offer only reliable premium equipment.

HOT WATER TANKS
Water heater rentals are a great solution for many homeowners who have a short-to-medium time frame in their house, own a tenanted property, are looking for a peace-of-mind solution to address their domestic hot water needs, or simply wish to have a clear idea of their monthly house budget over the long term without the worry of heater repairs.

Many consumers are confused by which company they actually rent their water heater from, thinking that because the charge appears on their gas bill that they rent from “gas-company”. In fact, most customers in Toronto rent their heaters from Centrica PLC, an international energy services company based in the United Kingdom, which operates in Canada under the brand name Direct Energy™. Although they bill on the gas bill, they are not, in any way, affiliated with your gas utility.

Belyea Bros. has a wide range of hot water tank solutions for your family’s needs. We have an excellent rental program providing a comparable rate and great reliable products. We provide a fix rate increase, unlike the other guys who may raise your billing at anytime.

TANKLESS HOT WATER
Tankless hot water heaters are common in Europe and Japan. They can supply an endless supply of hot water, with greater energy savings than conventional tanks. They are, however, limited in the amount of hot water that can be produced at one time and the upfront costs are higher.

ELECTRICAL SERVICE
Belyea Bros. Electrical specializes in helping home and business owners in the older neighborhoods of Toronto. We provide electrical service, repair and installation whether it’s diagnosing and fixing a broken outlet, or re-wiring your whole home, Belyea Bros. Electrical is here to help.

CATEGORIES
Heating & Air Conditioning, Electricians, and Electrical Vehicle Charging
SERVICES
Heating, Cooling, Hot water systems and electrical services
SPECIALITIES
Heating, cooling and electrical services for older Toronto Homes
WEBSITE
http://www.belyeabrothers.com
YEAR ESTABLISHED
1908
NUMBER OF EMPLOYEES
45
PAYMENT METHOD
All methods
LICENSES
PH1
LIABILITY INSURANCE
Yes
WORKERS COMPENSATION
Yes
BONDED
Yes
WRITTEN CONTRACT
Yes
Company profile information is not moderated by HomeStars. Ask the contractor to verify before hiring.