Reviews

10/10

Hi, On Jan 6, 2022 my 15 year old furnace stopped working. I contacted another large company to look into this as i had a service plan with them. they investigated and determined i had a crack in my heat exchanger and it could not be repaired and the whole furnace needed to be replaced. This large company quoted me $6000 for a new furnace. I then contacted BreezeCome who i had contacted in the past and for the same furnace installation they were able to do it for half of that price. Based on my past interaction with them and their HomeStar reviews i determined they were honest and fair in their prices so i immediately decided to sign up with them for a new furnace. They came on the next business day and installed the new furnace and fixed another problem (AC coils that were leaking) and i was very satisfied with their work. I highly recommend BreezeCome for any furnace or AC issues you may have.

Approximate cost of services:
$4,000.00
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you for trusting us! It is our responsibility to provide the honest service constantly!

3/10

Brawn bros was the first company i brought in to look into replacing my furnace. The man arrived on Friday Nov 19 and immediately starting making unsupported statements that by just looking at my furnace he knew it was 70,000 BTUs. And it was 85% efficient originally and now that it's 15 years old it loses 1% efficiency per year and therefore it is only 70% efficient today. He didn't do any measurements or anything - just made this claims. I insisted we should try to find the model number and check the BTUs and once we did we found it was actually 100,000 BTUs. Then the man insisted i needed a 110,000 BTUs furnace for the size of my house and gave me a quote of $5900 for that. It would be a Lennox brand furnace. Then he made statements that he could even upgrade to 120,000 BTUs for no extra cost. He also said the Enbridge program would give me $600 rebate for the furnace and i didn't need to do anything else. Finally he claimed he had a 4.8 star rating on Homestars. After he left i did more research on the company. They do not have a 4.8 star rating on Homestars - this was misleading. There is no such thing as a 120k BTU Lennox furnace - he either was guessing or was trying to mislead me. The Enbridge rebate was for $250 only (not $600) for a furnace and required 3 upgrades to my home to be eligible. Meaning i could not do just the furnace upgrade alone. Finally his quote of $5900 is very high - other contractors were quoting me approximately $3500. Overall i would not recommend hiring this company. too risky.

Approximate cost of services:
$0.00
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
0/10

We initially hired Orkin Canada to come and do an inspection for bed bugs and they claimed to have seen an infestation in our sofa. This was after I told them that’s where I was bit. Then we decided to go with another company for a treatment based on their great home stars review and reasonable prices. This other company came to our home today (Nov 20,2021) and started with an inspection and found absolutely no evidence of any bed bug activity. The “infestation” that Orkin observed turned out to be just some dried up food. The other company did a very thorough inspection flipping over all the sofas (unlike Orkin) and confirmed no bed bug activity anywhere. I don’t recommend hiring Orkin. In my opinion they are a dishonest company that is just trying to make a quick buck off of people’s fears.

Approximate cost of services:
$85.00
Was this review helpful?
10/10

We initially hired another company to come and do an inspection for bed bugs and they claimed to have seen an infestation in our sofa. Then we decided to go with All Corners Pest Control for a treatment based on their great home stars review and reasonable prices. Guy came to our home today (Nov 20,2021) and first did an inspection and found absolutely no evidence of any bed bug activity. The “infestation” that the other company observed turned out to be just some dried up food. Guy did a very thorough inspection flipping over all the sofas (unlike the other company) and confirmed no bed bug activity anywhere. (He double checked all the mattresses also with no bed bug activity). While Guy could have gone forward with the treatment we appreciated his honesty about our lack of need for treatment. He placed some bed bug monitor traps to give us some reassurance and just charged us for an inspection. We are very happy with Guy and his honesty and we highly recommend this company for any needs you have.

Approximate cost of services:
$100.00
Was this review helpful?
10/10

I got a very good price to clean out all my air ducts. I have around 25-30. They blow out each vent. Not more than that though. Also got a good price to blow out my furnace. Additional services I agreed to were to blow out all central vac vents and the dryer vent. Also got a good price on this. Fair prices for good service. I’m satisfied and would recommend.

Approximate cost of services:
$100.00
Was this review helpful?
10/10

I found Taping perfection off of Homestars and i’m so glad I did. Tony showed up promptly after I contacted him and gave me an accurate assessment of the plaster work that needed to be done and some of the deficiencies that needed to be corrected with the drywall work. Once the drywall work was all complete Tony came on site and started to do his thing. He honestly saved my basement. The prior work had large gaps and screws that were sticking out and tony fixed all those deficiencies and made my basement perfect. Also he went above and beyond and made other corrections around my house. His quality of workmanship is excellent and a 10/10 and his prices are quite fair. He is very kind and took the time to come back on site to make sure we were 100% satisfied with his work. I would highly recommend him.

Approximate cost of services:
$4,100.00
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you Faruk for the great review. Because of the prior poor quality workmanship, it was quite challenging to make your basement look beautiful. I'm very happy that you were satisfied with my work. Any future recommendations are always appreciated. Also, thank you for the hospitality.

10/10

I found Better choice caulking on Kijiji initially. Alex did a great job removing all my old caulking on my house and replacing with high quality caulking and filling in gaps with styrofoam. He found some areas that didn’t have any caulking at all and fixed them. I also asked him to come back later to do some areas related to my basement project and he followed through and did that even though I had paid him. he also has competitive prices. I highly recommend him for caulking work.

Approximate cost of services:
$1,000.00
Was this review helpful?
10/10

Hi, i hired Mohsen and his team to install potlights in my house. He and his team were quick, professional and cleaned up after themselves. Their price was also competitive. i highly recommend them for installing potlights.

Approximate cost of services:
$2,000.00
Was this review helpful?
10/10

in 2017 i bought my new home and wanted to have it painted before we moved in. Also my wife wanted to have the stucco ceilings changed to smooth ceilings. We went about seeking quotes from different reputable companies. New Point Painting came out as being quite competitive in price and within our budget so we went with them. Jimmy and his team were able to do the job in a timely manner and the quality was very good and meet our expectations. He even came back to make touch ups. We were very satisfied with his service and would recommend this company.

Approximate cost of services:
$10,000.00
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thanks Faruk for the great review. We are glad that you are happy with the service and work.

0/10

I signed a large contract with Wayde owner of this company (see picture attached.) and made the mistake to give him a large deposit. He claimed to be a general contractor but ultimately was an amateur worker at best and used my deposit against me to keep him on the job. He made numerous mistakes in all the work he did on my site. luckily i had inspectors checking his work and identifying the errors. while wayde was willing to fix these mistakes he took a long time and significantly delayed my project in the process. Some key mistakes: 1. Framing work - Wayde drilled large holes at the bottom of several joists in order to pass water lines through instead of making smaller holes in the middle of the joists. large holes at the bottom of joists cause the joists to weaken. he was trying to find a short cut in doing this work. 2. Insulation work - wayde initially only put 1 layer of insulation in the ceiling as opposed to filling the ceiling void completely as per the code. he clearly did not know the code. furthermore Wayde failed to install the vapour barrier all the way to the top of the subfloor and therefore had many gaps in the vapour barrier. he failed insulation inspections 3 times. 3. drywall work - Wayde installed the drywall on the ceiling in an unstable manner so the drywall moved. this work had to be redone. Also Wayde was quite negligent in his work and covered 3 heating vents in the ceiling with drywall. pure incompetence. you cannot trust this man for knowing what he's doing or to work with integrity. he certainly does not know the code and often blames others for his mistakes & ignorance. he also takes your deposit and then you're either stuck using his poor services or lose your money. i highly recommend against hiring this contractor.

Approximate cost of services:
$17,000.00
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

I do not know who Wayne is, this review is written on the wrong company.

2/10

In May 2018 i signed a $15,000 contract with Dejan (aka Danny) to complete my walkout entrance for my basement. see pictures attached. he did a bit of work and once i gave him my first payment of $4000 he disappeared. i am now taking him to court to retreive my money as he is in breach of contract and i believe he took more money than the work he completed. i would not recommend working with this man.

Approximate cost of services:
$4,000.00
Was this review helpful?
2/10

In June 2018 i signed a detailed contract with Babak going over the scope of my project a number of times and in detail. The work was to build out a separate entrance and put in some new windows for my basement. Babak demonstrated some good knowledge and claimed to be an engineer so i took a chance with him and signed with him in mid June 2018. i also managed my risk by paying him in accordance to work being completed. Initially the work was going well but then he started to take other jobs and the work slowed. ultimately he got overloaded and the work slowed significantly in july and august. i believe he was atleast 2 months later than he should have been as my separate entrance and windows were only completed by end of September. this caused significant delay with my other contractors doing the inside of the basement. additionally he did not respect the contract and specifically did not hire an electrician to complete the electrical work related to the heating cables in the staircase. we discussed this numerous times and he insisted he would do this and i even clearly wrote this into the contract. i was quite disappointed he didn't do this at the end and ultimately left me with this problem to resolve. another thing that i had to get involved with was he was going to place the metal lintel above my door backwards which would allowed water to potentially come into the house. had i not done my own research and insisted what he was going to do was incorrect he would have left me with this problem also. luckily i had an inspector involved to ensure he did this work correctly. While Babak comes across intelligent and customer service oriented, his actions were often to cut corners and find short cuts. unfortunately i cannot recommend him.

Approximate cost of services:
$15,000.00
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

hi mr faruk
thank you for your review! finally you respond us after lots of email calls text and request for meeting about these problems you mentioned here !

I am really sorry to see in 2019 yet ! there is some major person that acts like kids and can be this much unhonest and unfair in society and trying to reflect totally opposite facts

when I accepted to do your job you already had discounted with bunch of contractors and I had to realize there should be some problems with this person
otherwise anyway someone has to stay and finish his job. even you had problem with you existing basement finisher and you were bringing complaints fram him to me about problems he brought for you.

I accepted to finish uncompleted and uncorrected jobs from previous contractors but if i knew you would pay me by delay and you would ask me many different extra
task which wasn't included in contract i really wouldn't start your project.

i passed many inspection processes and steps as you know and for sur you wouldn't mention here but to letting you know I have all those pictures and documents with me yet and I am ready to submit it anywhere you would like! even about that lintel you mentioned here I personally insisted to installing it correctly.

if there is delay on your project half is your falf.
why do you lieing about payment terms?? even when you didn't upgraded your third deposit we kept to working until I really needed to pay electrician to finish wire job and I really didn't had that much found.
many of financial problem I am dealing nowadays is coming from you because I spend it in you job and you didn't pay me!

some other delay is because of inspection process which we needed to stop work until pass inspection but
fortunately you can't lie about that anymore becouse my documents is complete about all those visits.

the other issue is about whether during your job you wouldn't mention here for sure how much rain we had at that time and I have all schadule about it.

at the end please pay your balance money what we did for you about extra job otherwise I will follow up with my legal department to receive it!

I also highly recommend to all my colleagues in all different fields of renovation and construction don't work any kind of small or big project with this person "FARUK PATEL" or people like him .becuse they are just really trying to take advantage from other people with no on time payments and no honesty!

0/10

I learned about DK Construction or Dejan K Construction from advertisements off kijiji. I was looking for someone to complete my basement walk-out as per my approved permit / drawings. I contacted this person’s references including: Ivic Construction, Pour Concrete, Bojan Renovation and Brian Fernandez ltd and I was informed he was an honest reliable guy and they had no hesitation with me hiring him. I spoke with the representative, Danny, and he came to my site and had a look at the work. We discussed the work and started drafting a contract. Even before we could finalize the details of the contract this contractor got started working on my job site. Finally, when we did sign the contract on June 2, 2018 and I gave him an initial ~30% deposit he promised to return on June 4 to continue the work and form the walls and everything would be done by June 20. Instead, on June 4 he returned and collected his belongings and then blocked my phone number. I know this because I kept going to voice mail and so when I contacted him through another number I got through to him at which point he claimed he “went to Europe for the next 20 days for a family emergency and that I should hire someone else.” And regarding the deposit as far as he was concerned, it paid for the work he completed and that we were square. The little work he completed was good (including establishing the footing and weeping tiles) however was certainly not equal to the ~30% deposit ii gave him as I have learned from new contractors who have come to give me new estimates. The main point is he left my job site with a lot of uncompleted work and was in breach of our contract. See picture. Ultimately Dejan K Construction is not an honest company and I would recommend you do not hire them. Perhaps he works well with other contractors but not so well with home owners.

Approximate cost of services:
$15,000.00
Was this review helpful?

First Review

0/10

I hired RFG construction to create a separate legal entrance for me along with cutting in some new windows. I provided him with the architectural drawings and we agreed on a price and I signed a contract. In a nutshell what happened is I gave him a significant deposit early on and he did some sloppy incomplete work and then demanded more money to return to the jobsite and ultimately did not complete the job and disappeared. The quality of all his work completed was very poor. He didn’t understand and/or follow the architectural drawings properly. THerefore the footing he established needed to be demolished as he didn't install insulation underneath as indicated in the drawings. The window openings he cut were cut crooked and need further finishing work. He had his HVAC guys come and dismount and move my AC unit and reconnect it but they didn’t remount it and so i needed to have that work redone as well. They also had poor workmanship. He unnecessarily damaged the fenceposts/gates, landscaping, one window, and the cover for my fireplace. See pics. Essentially all the work he did was sloppy and unprofessional. I highly recommend you do not hire RFG construction

Approximate cost of services:
$18,000.00
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?