Reviews

10/10

It was truly a pleasure to work with Moise and I highly recommend him. We had the original brick fireplace/mantel in our living room and wanted to cover it up. Moise created a few designs for us and made several great suggestions with respect to what would suit the living room space. Our new mantel is absolutely beautiful, Moise is a talented craftsman and artist. Everyone who has seen the mantel has been awestruck by its presence, detailing and beauty. He has a great sense of design, makes suggestions with ease, and is great work with. He completed our mantel in the time frame he had guaranteed (4-6 weeks). Go with Moise as you won't be disappointed. Thanks again Moise!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you!

10/10

It was truly a pleasure to work with Moise and I highly recommend him. We had the original brick fireplace/mantel in our living room and wanted to cover it up. Moise created a few designs for us and made several great suggestions with respect to what would suit the living room space. Our new mantel is absolutely beautiful, Moise is a talented craftsman and artist. Everyone who has seen the mantel has been awestruck by its presence, detailing and beauty. He has a great sense of design, makes suggestions with ease, and is great work with. He completed our mantel in the time frame he had guaranteed (4-6 weeks). Go with Moise as you won't be disappointed. Thanks again Moise!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thanks!

10/10

I highly recommend Upper Canada Upholstery!! We had 6 dining room chairs recovered in 2 weeks time. Keith was great to work with. I spend some time in his showroom selecting fabric. Keith came to my home and picked up the chairs and delivered the newly upholstered in no time. The selection of fabric was outstanding and the cost overall was very affordable. Thanks so much Keith!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
10/10

We purchased 3 radiator covers from Fichman Furniture and they are absolutely beautiful. Aaron came to my home to measure the living room, dining room and hallway rads, and in 3 weeks the covers were ready. We opted for the covers to be delivered and installed and all went very well. I highly recommend Fichman Furniture and Radiator Covers what you see on their website and the design options you select will be exactly what you get! I will be going back for my bedroom and basement rads! Thanks so much!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
10/10

The entire main floor of our home (living room, dining room, kitchen, mud room, main hallway entrance and upper level hallway) needed to be refreshed. We connected with Finer Edge and they responded immediately by setting up a meeting to provide consultation. From the initial meeting with Bill, through to the subsequent meetings with Colin and to our final connection with our Project Manager Luigi, the professionalism and accommodation that was displayed by each Finer Edge team member was outstanding. We really put them to work as we decided to paint all of our wood trim and wainscoting. We also wanted to skim our living room walls as 1/3 of the walls had a plaster pattern we did not like. And finally we had them pull down our hallway ceiling (again sagging plaster that needed to go) and they re-dry walled the hallway and living room ceilings and added crown moulding to these rooms. All of this work, including the painting was completed in 5.5 days!!!! Luigi was in constant contact with me on a daily basis and everything was completely seamlessly. Luigi's crew was extremely hardworking, very polite, they cleaned up at the end of each day and when they left the house of the last day, it was spotless!!! Thank you very much Luigi and crew. I would use Finer Edge again without hesitation. Their signs are everywhere in our neighbourhood and there is a reason for that - they are great!! Thanks again.

Was this review helpful?
10/10

We had a bit of water coming up from our laundry room floor drain that had an upleasant odour to it and were concerned as we had just recently renovated our basement and did not want any water damage. We contacted Emergency Plumbing and Steve come to our house that very same day in the evening. He and a colleague placed a camera down the inside drain and also took a look at the outside drain pipe and discovered that the main sanitary drain pipe was broken and as a result water was blocked and backing up into the basement. He advised us to use as minimial amount of water as possible that evening as we were very close to a rather messy basement backup. Steve sent a crew in the next day to remove and replace the front yard broken drain pipe and installed back to back cleanouts (something that our 80+ year old home did not have). They worked outdoors digging on 2 very cold and drizzly November days, and no damage was done inside our new basement. Steve and his crew also discovered that we had a lead water pipe coming into our property line from the main city line and advised that we change these and apply for the Toronto Water Drain Grant. Steve and his crew (Pauly and Rahim) were done the job in 2 days, they worked long hard hours, they were professional and informative. I would not hesitate to use them again and would definately recommend their services if you are in need of any plumbing assistance. Thank you very much guys!!! Maria in North Toronto

Was this review helpful?
1/10

Mario and his crew came to waterproof the exterior of our home. They completed the job in mid - March 2009 in less than a week, which was fast. What they did not do was compress the dirt that was dug up. As a result, we were left with a huge mud pit for almost 2 months as we took Mario's advice that the dirt would settle once the weather got warmer - this did not happen. He also told us he would refer us to a paver to pave our cut driveway - when we asked him he didn't share any referrals. Given that we had never gone through waterproofing before, we were not aware of the importance of compressing the soil, placing gravel, sand etc... something Home Improvements did not do. It was too late however, because Mario had his money and would not give us the time of day. I feel short changed with this company - buyer be ware!!! In the end we hired another contractor to compress the soil and to interlock the driveway.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?

First Review

1/10

Kevin from Heritage Stone Facing come to provide a quote on our old & cracked concrete porch. We were looking to replace the original porch, stairs and retaining wall with something new. We met with Kevin in March of 2009 who showed us his work and we decided to redo the front porch and widen our walkway with flagstone. We further decided to redo and extend our retaining wall with large armour stone. The job was schedule to begin in late April/early May 2009. They were late on this and did not begin the work for another 4 weeks - early June 2009. Once here, the crew did a great job with respect to the flagstone on the porch and walkway. The armour stone retaining wall was not so great. The stones were all different shapes and sizes and seemed to be thrown in a L shape with no apparent thought or symmetry in mind. They also failed to place a landscape cloth behind the stones and did not glue or secure any of the stones which posed a safety issue in a neighbourhood full of young kids. We placed several calls to Heritage with promise responses that they would come back and refit the stones and glue them together and also place a landscape cloth. Additionally, we decided on a semi-gloss seal for the flagstone in order to protect it. The original coat of semi-gloss faded in 1.5 weeks. Again it took several phone calls on our part to get Heritage back to re-gloss the stone. It has since faded again (now August 2009) and we are about to place another call - it will probably take just as long to have a 3rd coat put on. This company provides a 25 year warranty on their work - the guys work hard and have the potential of doing good work, unfortunately, they have too much work and their quality and service leaves a lot to be desired. I learned my lesson - don't pay in full until you are completely satisfied with the job!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hello Maria . feel free to contact us @1866 616 3146 to resolve any issues you may still have. One of our representatives will gladly come to see any of your concerns. We make great efforts to connect with our customers and give them exactly what they want, clearly the retaining wall was part of the project that we didn't connect again feel free to contact us anytime www.heritagestonefacing.com

10/10

While renovating our basement we decided to remove all knob and tube wiring. We were tight on time as our basement contractor wanted to finish the job quickly. Several electricians came to see our house - an older home in North Toronto - and did not seem confident about the job. Enter Sam and his crew - Dwayne, Markus and Ari. Sam was completing an electrical job in the neighbourhood, I asked him to come by and look at my home. In looking at our home, not only was Sam confident in removing the knob and tube and rewiring our home, he also made several additional suggestions. He is a very hands - on, professional and knowledgeable electrician. Dwayne and Marcus who were predominantly on the job for 5 days were here early every morning and worked exceptionally well. The job was completed within 5 days, they were clean and outstanding. I highly recommend Berg Electric and will use them again for any future electrical needs.

Was this review helpful?
10/10

Allan Sinclair provided excellent service from the initial meeting and quote for redoing our front garden. His advice, plant suggestions and design were outstanding. The job was completed in one day (probably the most humid day of 2009!). The crew (Chris, Jordan and others) worked very hard, and were very professional. Thank you for a great perennial garden that we will enjoy for years to come.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?