They quoted me $1500 on the phone for water damage restoration service in our home. Once they came, their quote changed to $2600 which I signed and paid a deposit of $2000. They did not leave a me a copy of the invoice when they started the work. Once the job was finished a few days later, they added HST on top of my original invoice of $2600. When I questioned why the HST was not included on my invoice that I signed, they stated that they reviewed the HST amount with me after I signed it. I do not recall seeing it as they had not left me a copy of the invoice, thankfully I had taken a picture of it and showed the original signed invoice. Why would you make a customer sign and pay a deposit without stating that there is an HST amount owing on top. I assumed that when I am signing the invoice it includes the HST. On top of it, why would you not leave a copy of that invoice with your customer?? After I complained I did hear back from the manager. She stated that I only signed a work order (not an invoice) and that is why I was not provided a copy of it in the first place. They also offered to credit me $100 for future service.
- Company Response
Thank you for choosing our water damage services. It was our pleasure to help with your flood emergency. Our technicians over the phone only give a rate for equipment rental and do not give a fixed price as it is very difficult to know the scope of the project over the phone. You were given a couple of options regarding your project, which to there were no complaints when the technicians left. Our price did not change, you added more services based on your project needs. All of our services include HST as it is law in Canada. The picture you have on your phone clearly shows a ‘subtotal’ amount and your signature for our work authorization. When paid for the deposit, all of the HST and pricing were filled out in detail. The technicians can not leave an invoice of the job when leaving, as the work is not completed yet or paid for in full. Lastly in our final invoice, we had included the personal number of our office manager for you to contact. We are sorry if this had caused you any inconvenience and thank you for your feedback.
5 Star Cleaning Team