Distinctive By Design

Kitchen & Bathroom - Cabinets & Design
Toronto ON
Write a Review
Write a Review
Lee in Old Toronto
Lee in Old Toronto
1 review Toronto, ON
4/10

Kitchen cabinets and island

We paid 35,000 for our kitchen island and cabinets, and they looked great for the 18 months. But we are really disappointed with the quality over time, and the poor aftercare. After 18 months, some of the cabinets developed cracks/warping in the paint. These defects were very visible. When we contacted the owner of the company, they came to take a look. We were told that the defects in the paint were due to oil and water deposits. This was a puzzling statement -- in our impression, a kitchen would normally be subject to some oil and water in the environment, so the paint should be developed to withstand normal use. We were told that the company would not be replacing the defective cabinetry.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

We had gone out to the clients home to look at the cabinetry that was damaged due to water and oil deposits. We had sent out the door to our paint supplier to assess the damage, they said that this is not normal wear and tear and it is not considered a warranty or paint issue. Unfortunately cabinets are not waterproof they need to be taken care of with regular maintenance by wiping off the cabinetry if water or food items fall on them. The client was advised that we could repaint the doors at no charge but unfortunately they were too swelled up due to the water damage and they are not repairable. They would need to be redone and they are not covered under warranty. Based on my personal and installers observation of the doors there was water staining and oil deposits all over the doors which we pointed out to the client when we went back to reinstall the door that we took to inspect. Without proper maintenance any wood product will swell with excessive water that is left on the product. I appreciate that the client spent $35K but unfortunately its not the product that has failed its merely a maintenance and cleaning issue. Once again we have no problem with warrantying our product for manufacturing defects but unfortunately negligence is not covered under warranty.