Hermanos Roofing & Renovations

Roofing
Kitchener ON N2E 2K4
Write a Review
Write a Review
HomeStars
Roofing
Hermanos Roofing & Renovations
Star Score
StarScore uses a complex algorithm which considers a company’s review ratings, responsiveness, reputation, and recency. Learn more.

86%

This is the average rating based on homeowner reviews.
This indicates how long it's been since the last review.
Low reputation means there has been review tampering or a company request to remove a review. This score is also impacted when we do not have enough information i.e: low number of reviews.
How well a company responds to Service Requests and Reviews.
Reviews by rating (past 12 months)
Verified by HomeStars

Reviews for Hermanos Roofing & Renovations

Average customer rating:
8.8 10 (18 reviews)

Sort by

No repair here in Waterloo
No repair here in Waterloo
0 reviews Waterloo, ON
10/10

Shed Rescue

I had a bad roof on a usable shed. The budget was tight. Jonny was one of the only roofers to come look at it and give me an estimate that wasn’t out of range. I couldn’t do it in the fall but he followed up. He’s a young businessman and building his clients and did a good job at a fair price in a timely manner. Keep building Jonny. easy to work with. If anything, the bad reviews on this site is probably due to his easygoing style and people trying to take advantage.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

wow . we will stay in touch amigo . I appreciate the kind words and going beyond . If you need anything . Hermanos has you're back

Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Kitchener, ON
10/10

Exterior Vent Replacement for Kitchen Fan

Had Johnny replace a cheap plastic vent cover (brittle/broken from sun). He was very professional. His communication was excellent - always kept me informed (he had to move the date due to weather). I would recommend him!

Was this review helpful?
DIY in Ottawa
DIY in Ottawa
1 review Cambridge, ON
10/10

Siding and Picket fence posts

I have known Jonny for many year and have worked together at some point.
I had 2 sides of my 2nd floor bathroom to be covered with siding on 12/12 roof . Even though I do this job for living I just didn't have time to do it due to other house work/prep for sale .
I contacted Jonny and he responded within 5 minutes . I explained what needs to be done and he said that he can come same day .Wasn't expecting that because it was raining, well he was at my house in few hours and started working right away . First day he knocked out one side and then came back next day to finish up . They have also installed eavestrough and donwn pipes.

Next job I had was installing 6 fence posts that Jonny took care of .
Very professional young man .
Thank you Jonny for all your work and definitely will be calling you again if something comes up

Was this review helpful?
Irfan
Irfan
1 review Cambridge, ON
10/10

Exterior siding/plywood repair

I hired Hermanos Roofing via HomeStars to investigate and fix a bulge in exterior siding of my house. The scope of work included removing the exterior siding, investigate what caused the siding to bulge , fix the issue and put up a new vinyl siding.

Both Scott and Jonny are hard-working guys and they finished the work as per the agreement - especially Scott who put it in a lot of effort to investigate the issue. Their quoted price for the amount of work was competitive and they delivered on it. I hope they will also honour their commitment if any issue occurs during the warranty period.

All in, I'll recommend these guys and will hire for any future needs.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

It was our pleasure ! Thank you kindly for the review , it was nice meeting you .

jesseosier2014
jesseosier2014
2 reviews Kitchener, ON
10/10

Roofing and tree removal

I am very nervous of contractors, so when my roof started leaking I called at least 12 different company's for estimates including Johnny from Hermanos. After all quotes were received Johnny was considerably cheaper than the rest. I called him to ask if he missed something and he explained as a new company he can provide better prices than "the big guys" because he has no overhead. Still nervous I gave him the required deposit. The materials were delivered a day late, no fault of Johnny's the supplier took full responsibility. Johnny showed up exactly when he said he would and completed the job as efficiently as possible. I think a larger company could have done it quicker but Johnny is a very hard worker and completed everything he said he would. While doing the roofing, he recommended I remove some tree branches as they were wrecking my new roof. Instead I paid him to take the whole tree down. Never liked that tree. He was telling about his new baby and future wife. I trully wish all the success the world has to offer for this fine young man.
Thank you Hermanos roofing for helping me save in excess of 3000 dollars shortly before Christmas.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

You are most welcome , it is our pleasure to give you the affordable service before the holidays !

Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Waterloo, ON
10/10

Outdoor potlight replacement

I found Johnny through Kijiji and asked him to replace a second floor outdoor potlight. He contacted me and showed up to do the job on the same day. He tried to replace the bulb but found a problem with a potlight housing and suggested I buy a replacement part. He did not charge me for this time and returned to complete the work as soon as I bought the replacement part. The light now works and I was happy with the service.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you for the positive review

Darrin in
Darrin in
0 reviews Kitchener, ON
10/10

Made my problem into a solution

I had a company come to my property to install a new roof , they took my downpayment got the material ordered on site ... But never showed up again ... I called "hermanos roofing " .
They completed it the same day . I was astonished and satisfied to the fullest by the workmanship and professionalism the crew did .
Strongly recommend

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

I Appreciate the kind hospitality!

Philip
Philip
0 reviews Cambridge, ON
0/10

Never again

Siding and roof singles was destroyed due to high winds
Johnny came by and did some work and I paid for half for the work completed.
Good old Johnny was going to pickup some siding to compete the remaining work but never showed.
Johnny never came back after several times contacting him....Johnny never completed the work.

I'll never use this company again.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

You failed to mention I spent 2 hours there . In the most difficult spot . 2 stories high on a 6/12 roof with a ladder .

Along with putting most of it together . Besides one piece that was split .
It was 10 p.m at night . Where was I suppose to get material ? When I called you to reschedule , you did not pick up .
I even offered to do it no charge for the miscommunication .
It is what it is

Thank you for you're input .

Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Kitchener, ON
0/10

Hermanos Roofing crooked tactics

Called #Hermanos Roofing also known as Jonny Shingles to come look at my roof. Guy by name Jonathan shows up, checks roof and says I need a new roof. I pay $250 for the roof diagnostics/inspection.

He draws up a contract two days later and I pay him an advance by cheque of $2712 which represents 40% of full payment. I change my mind next day after issuing cheque, informs him and he agrees to pay my money back, but he still goes ahead and deposits the cheque at his bank.

Check clears from my bank and he maintains that the cheque hasn’t cleared at his, and that it'll take 5 business days. Patiently I wait, 5 business days turns into 10 business days as he says he is still 'waiting' for the check to clear at his bank.

I press on and he admits Cheque has cleared, except he now tells me categorically, that he will not refund me the full $2712, he initially says there is $200 cancellation fee, which I reluctantly agree even though the contract has no mention of such a fee upon cancellation.

Then $200 cancellation fee suddenly becomes $1200 fee for ‘re-stocking and all what not..’ I vehemently say no way!!, we go back and forth and he eventually pays $2000 and agreeing to pay the remaining balance the following week. This is after I threaten to take this up with the CRA, for an item of detail in his contract that represents illegal practice.

Fast forward to following week, Hermanos Roofing also known as Jonny Shingles refuses to pay my money. How do you keep payment for work that was never done in the first place? And additionally cannot keep your word?
Such a shady and untrustworthy way of dealing. I mean it when I say that I will go above and beyond to get my money back and make sure no one ends up with a similar experience. Take your business elsewhere and avoid at all cost.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

We apologize deeply , but you forgot to mention on how I wanted to give you back the cheque and asked for an etransfer ... I'm not sure why you couldn't do that , saying that you were to busy .
My bank simply did a hold on it ... to insure there were funds in you're account .
I then etrasnfered you 2000 immediately when it got released . I also told you about cancleation fees and re stocking fees because I went ahead and purchased material . You were 100 percent on board - but because you're neighbour was getting another quote you basically told me you don't want to proceed 2 days later ... if my defence . You asked for my service . I provided . I told you the solution , I didn't force anything upon you . I went out of my way 3 different occasions to Guelph when I'm located to Kitchener .
You agreed upon getting you're roof done, signed documents because it was a commitment . gave me a cheque .

There fore the time , gas , that you wasted for me was accountanted for .

Along with you threatened me , put my address on this site which is inappropriate , made false accusation on Facebook saying you paid for service , and didn't receive .
You did nothing but , slander and discredit .

If there is anything we can do to come to an understanding please contact me .

The reviews on this page are the subjective opinion of the Author and not of HomeStars Inc.

More about Hermanos Roofing & Renovations

we build lasting foundations

CATEGORIES
Roofing and Siding
PRODUCTS
Kaycan Convoy OWEN CORRNING Cerinteed GAF
SERVICES
Roofing- *tear off & Installment *Investigate & Diagnose *Repair Vinyl/Aluminum Siding - *Tear off & Installment *Repair -Soffit -Facia -Gutter Repair -Gutter Guard Installment -Downspout Repair -Exterior Painting - Window Capping - Exterior Power washing
BRANDS
HERMANOS HR
STYLES
Original / confident in everything we do .
SPECIALITIES
ROOFING SIDING
YEAR ESTABLISHED
2010
NUMBER OF EMPLOYEES
4
RETURN POLICY
Returns are valid
PAYMENT METHOD
Etransfer - Cash -
LICENSES
Master Business License / G
LIABILITY INSURANCE
Yes
DIPLOMAS
Construction techniques
WORKERS COMPENSATION
Yes
BONDED
Yes
WRITTEN CONTRACT
Yes
WARRANTY TERMS
All work done by hermanos is 2 years warranty ( Except repairs )
Company profile information is not moderated by HomeStars. Ask the contractor to verify before hiring.