Backyard Pros

Decks
Ottawa ON K2S 1B8
Write a Review
Write a Review
Website
HomeStars
Decks
Backyard Pros
Star Score
StarScore uses a complex algorithm which considers a company’s review ratings, responsiveness, reputation, and recency. Learn more.

74%

This is the average rating based on homeowner reviews.
This indicates how long it's been since the last review.
Low reputation means there has been review tampering or a company request to remove a review. This score is also impacted when we do not have enough information i.e: low number of reviews.
How well a company responds to Service Requests and Reviews.
Reviews by rating (past 12 months)
Verified by HomeStars

Reviews for Backyard Pros

Average customer rating:
8.8 10 (8 reviews)

Sort by

B. Pringle from Cumberland
B. Pringle from Cumberland
6 reviews Ottawa, ON
0/10

Composite Deck

This company is unprofessional, unreliable and not trustworthy. It did not respond to voice mail, text messages and e-mail. The company did not show up for appointments it established. It posted an unauthorized and deceptive photograph of the project as if it were complete which is false. The company sent an e-mail 5 September stating that it had the materials to finish the project and that the next day it would be done. Again false. The project after approximately 4 months remains incomplete. The company blames Covid-19 for the situation but the virus has nothing to do with the concerns created by Backyard Pros.

The company response ignores the facts that it did not respond to voice mail, text messages or e-mail. It also does not address the fact that it posted a deceptive and unauthorized photograph of the project in early September. Nor does the company response address the fact that it informed me in early September that it had the material and it would be installed on a given date and time. The response also does not address the fact that it did not show up for appointments it established.
It was October 15 when the company finally installed the panel it assured me it had back on September 5. I paid the balance that was due because I do not mess over people or companies that I do business with.
This company has proven to my satisfaction that it is exactly what I have described; unprofessional, unreliable and not trustworthy.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Good day Mr. Pringle,

We are truly sorry for your experience, however for anyone reading this, a few clarifications need to be made:

- On the booking day, we promised that your deck project would start on June 18th and be completed by June 25th and then an additional 2 week wait for the custom railing was required.

- On June 21st (4 days before the estimated finish date) , your composite deck was completely framed and built as we made sure we had the composite material ahead of time due to Pandemic shortages. And we made sure you were satisfied with our services!

- Typically, custom glass railings take 2 weeks to be ready after a deck is built.

- A few days after the deck was built, our glass railing suppliers told us there would be a month and a half wait, we informed you right away. The Pandemic did unfortunately affect our line of work as there was a shortage of staff and materials in every fulfilling sector. Our suppliers were having a hard time fulfilling glass railing orders and you were informed of this the second we were!

We apologize for this experience you had to go through, however as previously mentioned, the deck was built before the due date but the railing was truly not in our hands. We know this isn't acceptable even though we can only control the controllable, however our team offered you to keep the remaining 30% and consider the Glass railing free of charge. But you're a fair man and insisted on paying us what was owed, we still made sure you got a discount and a gift to show our sincere apology for the wait your had to suffer until the railing material was shipped and installed.

That being said, uncontrollable disappointment played a role in this, but the way you described our services is very unfair, as we go above and beyond to ensure out clients's satisfaction, and this was one situation where we tried all resources however the Pandemic yes played a big role in fulfilling the railing aspect of the decking work.

Again, we apologize for any inconvenience and hope you enjoy your beautiful deck for many years to come, be safe!

meech.lamirande in Toronto
meech.lamirande in Toronto
0 reviews Ottawa, ON
10/10

The RIGHT choice

Their name says it all, Mike and his team are very professional and polite. Their prices are very fair and the composite deck they built for us really stands out. We enjoy our time a lot more now in our yard. Highly recommended. Keep up the awesome work guys!

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you Mr. Lamirande, we are very glad you're enjoying the deck we have built for you and your family!

stephaniedaoud2 in Toronto
stephaniedaoud2 in Toronto
0 reviews Ottawa, ON
10/10

Deck and fence

Backyard pros has definitely changed my summer
Mike and his guys built my beautiful deck and fenced my backyard last summer within few days . They were very professional and i got exactly what i asked for.
Take Mike’s input he’s very knowledgeable and will get the job done once for all ! Do it once do it right !
I would definitely recommend this company!

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you Mrs. Stephanie for your honest feedback about our work, highly appreciated.

kadamany.elie in Toronto
kadamany.elie in Toronto
1 review Ottawa, ON
10/10

Deck

Highly recommended .. very professional , affordable price and done on time !
GREAT SERVICE

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Many thanks Mr. Kadamany, glad to hear that!

corabianfrancesca in Toronto
corabianfrancesca in Toronto
0 reviews Ottawa, ON
10/10

PVC Fence

Very impressed with their work! My neighbours and I came to a clean job site after everyday of work. After shopping for fence builders Mike offered us a very high quality of PVC fence for a price that beat all the other quotes. I would highly recommend Backyard Pros to anybody looking for a clean, professional and worry-free service!

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

We are very pleased to hear that!

marounayoub35 in Toronto
marounayoub35 in Toronto
1 review Ottawa, ON
10/10

Outdoor Kitchen

I have been through contractors more then I can count. But, I am so lucky to have met these guys, they put me at ease the min I met them and throughout the project. Delivered on time, paid for the project as quoted, guaranteed work etc... things we all expect out of a contractor but unfortunately there are few bad apples in the industry, these guys have taught me how to trust a contractor and their work and most importantly their word. they expanded my existing deck, built a beautiful outdoor kitchen and re-stained the deck. fantastic workmanship. I would definitely recommend them again and again and I know you will once you hire them.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Mr. Maroun, we are extremely glad to hear your satisfaction about our service! Thank you kindly.

hamzaiqbal in Toronto
hamzaiqbal in Toronto
0 reviews Ottawa, ON

First Review

10/10

Deck and fence

Highly Recommend these guys! very professional and built my deck and fence on the time they committed. The quality of work is amazing. Don't waste your time going to a bunch of contractors, these guys are amazing!

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you Mr. Hamza, we are pleased to hear that!

The reviews on this page are the subjective opinion of the Author and not of HomeStars Inc.

More about Backyard Pros

We build high quality Decks & Fences. Designed uniquely to compliment your yards.
Choose one of our many options:
- PVC
- Composite
- Simtek
- Wood
- Iron
- Chainlink

CATEGORIES
Decks
PRODUCTS
PVC - SIMTEK - IRON - WOOD - CHAINLINK - COMPOSITE - VINYL
SERVICES
Custom Deck, Fence, railing designing and building
BRANDS
Manufactured in Toronto! Canadian products. Lifetime warranty on PVC
STYLES
Ground level decks - 2 storey decks - Traditional decks and more... Flat top fences - Lattice top fences - 3 rail fences and more..
SPECIALITIES
Backyard decks, fences and railings
WEBSITE
https://backyardpros.ca
YEAR ESTABLISHED
2014
PAYMENT METHOD
Cheque, Etransfer, Cash
LIABILITY INSURANCE
Yes
WRITTEN CONTRACT
Yes
WARRANTY TERMS
YES, restrictions apply. Ask for details!
Company profile information is not moderated by HomeStars. Ask the contractor to verify before hiring.