Backyard Pros

Decks
Ottawa ON K2S 1B8
Write a Review
Write a Review
Website
HomeStars
Decks
Backyard Pros
Star Score
StarScore uses a complex algorithm which considers a company’s review ratings, responsiveness, reputation, and recency. Learn more.

80%

This is the average rating based on homeowner reviews.
This indicates how long it's been since the last review.
Low reputation means there has been review tampering or a company request to remove a review. This score is also impacted when we do not have enough information i.e: low number of reviews.
How well a company responds to Service Requests and Reviews.
Reviews by rating (past 12 months)
Verified by HomeStars

Reviews for Backyard Pros

Average customer rating:
8.5 10 (13 reviews)

Sort by

Private User
Private User
1 review Toronto, ON
10/10

Composite deck

To start, let me say we were extremely impressed with their paperless procedure, everything was done electronically, from the first visit until the finished job. Very easy process, and their excellent workmanship completes the package. We are extremely happy with Backyard Pros’s services, thanks again Mike for the wonderful deck you and your team built us!

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Many thanks for your honest feedback on our services, highly appreciated!

Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Ottawa, ON
10/10

High level of workmanship

Aside for their amazing workmanship and politeness, their paperless process from the first visit until the job was delivered was very impressive and easy for us. I highly recommend Backyard Pros’s services!

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Your honest feedback is highly appreciated!

Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Ottawa, ON
10/10

Backyard oasis

They did an amazing job! My gazebo my deck and interlock is done to perfection! They also stained my old wood fence for me

So happy with their work

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

We are thrilled to hear that, thank you for you honest feedback!

Private User
Private User
0 reviews Ottawa, ON
10/10

Deck + fence

Hands down to the best company in Ottawa !
My house was built 2 years ago and when it was time to get a deck and fence done i got many quotes from many companies but i chose backyard pros and im so glad i did.
Mike and his team are honestly the best and gave me my dream backyard.
TAKE MIKE’S IMPUT !!!

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you Natasha for you honest feedback, much appreciated and were thrilled you had a great experience!

Henderson in Guelph
Henderson in Guelph
1 review Ottawa, ON
0/10

Fence project

Do NOT trust this company!
We had multiple issues with this company, the primary one being he is untrustworthy, all the information on his website isnt accurate to what's intalled. When signing up with him, he won't give you a contract to sign, won't show up as scheduled, won't follow your request.
I had paid a surveyor to stake out our property line. The post were installed 6" off this line. He insured us the post were installed in 4" of concrete. They weren't, it was only 10" of concrete ( picture below). The job was never completed, as we asked him to leave, while leaving he damaged our property.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hello and thank you for your review.
Negative reviews are also appreciated as they help us better our services indeed.

The claims listed in this review however are somewhat inaccurate. Our office has supporting legal documents stating otherwise. Any mistake that is done by one of our team members is fixed in no time, that's how our fabulous reputation has been maintained. False accusations however are not appreciated.

Thank you again for sharing your part of the experience and we sincerely apologize for any inconvenience,
Our best regards!

B. Pringle from Cumberland
B. Pringle from Cumberland
5 reviews Ottawa, ON
0/10

Composite Deck

This company is unprofessional, unreliable and not trustworthy. It did not respond to voice mail, text messages and e-mail. The company did not show up for appointments it established. It posted an unauthorized and deceptive photograph of the project as if it were complete which is false. The company sent an e-mail 5 September stating that it had the materials to finish the project and that the next day it would be done. Again false. The project after approximately 4 months remains incomplete. The company blames Covid-19 for the situation but the virus has nothing to do with the concerns created by Backyard Pros.

The company response ignores the facts that it did not respond to voice mail, text messages or e-mail. It also does not address the fact that it posted a deceptive and unauthorized photograph of the project in early September. Nor does the company response address the fact that it informed me in early September that it had the material and it would be installed on a given date and time. The response also does not address the fact that it did not show up for appointments it established.
It was October 15 when the company finally installed the panel it assured me it had back on September 5. I paid the balance that was due because I do not mess over people or companies that I do business with.
This company has proven to my satisfaction that it is exactly what I have described; unprofessional, unreliable and not trustworthy.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Good day Mr. Pringle,

We are truly sorry for your experience, however for anyone reading this, a few clarifications need to be made:

- On the booking day, we promised that your deck project would start on June 18th and be completed by June 25th and then an additional 2 week wait for the custom railing was required.

- On June 21st (4 days before the estimated finish date) , your composite deck was completely framed and built as we made sure we had the composite material ahead of time due to Pandemic shortages. And we made sure you were satisfied with our services!

- Typically, custom glass railings take 2 weeks to be ready after a deck is built.

- A few days after the deck was built, our glass railing suppliers told us there would be a month and a half wait, we informed you right away. The Pandemic did unfortunately affect our line of work as there was a shortage of staff and materials in every fulfilling sector. Our suppliers were having a hard time fulfilling glass railing orders and you were informed of this the second we were!

We apologize for this experience you had to go through, however as previously mentioned, the deck was built before the due date but the railing was truly not in our hands. We know this isn't acceptable even though we can only control the controllable, however our team offered you to keep the remaining 30% and consider the Glass railing free of charge. But you're a fair man and insisted on paying us what was owed, we still made sure you got a discount and a gift to show our sincere apology for the wait your had to suffer until the railing material was shipped and installed.

That being said, uncontrollable disappointment played a role in this, but the way you described our services is very unfair, as we go above and beyond to ensure out clients's satisfaction, and this was one situation where we tried all resources however the Pandemic yes played a big role in fulfilling the railing aspect of the decking work.

Again, we apologize for any inconvenience and hope you enjoy your beautiful deck for many years to come, be safe!

Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Ottawa, ON
10/10

Deck building

Highly recommend this company as they were by far the most professional workers i've hired to date.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Your honest feedback is very much appreciated.

meech.lamirande in Toronto
meech.lamirande in Toronto
0 reviews Ottawa, ON
10/10

The RIGHT choice

Their name says it all, Mike and his team are very professional and polite. Their prices are very fair and the composite deck they built for us really stands out. We enjoy our time a lot more now in our yard. Highly recommended. Keep up the awesome work guys!

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you Mr. Lamirande, we are very glad you're enjoying the deck we have built for you and your family!

stephaniedaoud2 in Toronto
stephaniedaoud2 in Toronto
0 reviews Ottawa, ON
10/10

Deck and fence

Backyard pros has definitely changed my summer
Mike and his guys built my beautiful deck and fenced my backyard last summer within few days . They were very professional and i got exactly what i asked for.
Take Mike’s input he’s very knowledgeable and will get the job done once for all ! Do it once do it right !
I would definitely recommend this company!

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you Mrs. Stephanie for your honest feedback about our work, highly appreciated.

kadamany.elie in Toronto
kadamany.elie in Toronto
1 review Ottawa, ON
10/10

Deck

Highly recommended .. very professional , affordable price and done on time !
GREAT SERVICE

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Many thanks Mr. Kadamany, glad to hear that!

The reviews on this page are the subjective opinion of the Author and not of HomeStars Inc.

More about Backyard Pros

We are your trusted backyard improvement contractors. With years of experience, respect for your property and its cleanliness as well as making your envisions come to life, we’re here for you. We will help you build privacy, security and comfort into instant equity.

Master Services:

1 - Deck Building / Pergola / 3 Season room
2 - Fence Building
3 - Gravel Roads & Driveways
4 - Exterior Painting & Staining

Why you're going to love the process:

- Designed free of charge for you by experienced designers
- 3D image presented to you along with the quote for better visual
- Permits taken care of for you

Best of all, you will be working for a company which takes care of their environment, by planting a Tree for every project booked!

CATEGORIES
Decks
PRODUCTS
PVC - SIMTEK - IRON - WOOD - CHAINLINK - COMPOSITE
SERVICES
Custom Decks, Fences, Railings, Pergolas, 3 Season Sunrooms, Gravel Roads and Driveways & Exterior Staining and Painting.
BRANDS
- All Season Fencing - Trex - Timbertech
STYLES
- Ground level decks - 2 storey decks - Enclosed 3 season room - Pergola / roof Fences: - Flat top fences - Lattice top fences - 3 rail fences and more - Aristochat - Eco-Stone
SPECIALITIES
Backyard Revamping
WEBSITE
https://backyardpros.ca
YEAR ESTABLISHED
2014
PAYMENT METHOD
Cheque, Etransfer, Cash
LIABILITY INSURANCE
Yes
WRITTEN CONTRACT
Yes
WARRANTY TERMS
Labour and Material warranty
Company profile information is not moderated by HomeStars. Ask the contractor to verify before hiring.