Devlin Drywall Contractors

Drywall Contractors
3208 - 275A Street Langley Township BC V4W 3J5
Write a Review
Write a Review
Website
HomeStars
Drywall Contractors
Devlin Drywall Contractors
Star Score
StarScore uses a complex algorithm which considers a company’s review ratings, responsiveness, reputation, and recency. Learn more.

96%

This is the average rating based on homeowner reviews.
This indicates how long it's been since the last review.
Low reputation means there has been review tampering or a company request to remove a review. This score is also impacted when we do not have enough information i.e: low number of reviews.
How well a company responds to Service Requests and Reviews.
Reviews by rating (past 12 months)
Verified by HomeStars
Best of 2021 winner 2 timesBest of 2021winner 2 times

Reviews for Devlin Drywall Contractors

Average customer rating:
9.8 10 (54 reviews)

Sort by

Sarah
Sarah
1 review Surrey, BC
10/10

Ceiling repair

We had to upgrade our plumbing, which required cutting up the ceiling in our family room and kitchen. Devlin Drywall repaired all the holes made by the plumbers. They were prompt, friendly, and most importantly, they did an amazing job! We can’t even tell where the holes used to be anymore. Thank you, Devlin Drywall!

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you very much for the review Sarah, I'm so glad you are very happy with everything, a happy customer means everything to us, it's what we strive for and love to hear your feed back. So thanks again for the review and have a great day.

Margaret in Surrey
Margaret in Surrey
0 reviews Surrey, BC
10/10

service

I had a ceiling repair that needed doing. I called Devlin based on a. recommendation and I was so happy with this company. Alex was friendly and got me booked in right away with a reasonable price. George did the repair and he was polite and reliable and the work done was excellent. I would highly recommend this company to anyone.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you for the nice review Margaret. I'm glad your happy with everything. If you need anything further, please don't hesitate to reach out. We love to help.
Have a great day.

Peter in Coquitlam
Peter in Coquitlam
0 reviews Port Coquitlam, BC
4/10

Basement Mudroom Renovation

I contacted Alex at Devlin about boarding, tape, mud, and finishing our basement mudroom. He was quick to respond, and replies were professional. He was able to schedule the work within a weeks time.
He did not make a physical appearance, quoted based on photos and some questions.

The issues all came from boarding:
1. There were areas that weren't boarded: when I brought this issue up, I was met with lots of resistance from Alex's end on why that wasn't done, and how the framing wasn't proper, so it couldn't have been done. I ended up just doing that part myself since it didn't need the work he spoke of, and took about 30 minutes of my own time.
2. There were drywall that was just hanging and not secured: there was one area that has the drywall contacting about 2 feet of the foundation. this board wasn't secured via glue or other means. I also brought this issue up at the same time, was again, met with lot of resistance and excuses on why this couldn't have been done. I spend about 45 minutes and secured it myself.
3. All the cutouts of the receptacles were cut way too big: The outlets and switches had been wired prior to the drywall job to verify wiring. The drywallers did not raise any issues, nor did they cut the correctly sized holes for the electrical boxes and pivot the switches and outlets through the drywall during install. Instead, they just cut huge holes around the whole receptacle, leading to ugly messes around each of the outlets and switches (see photos) that cannot be covered with a faceplate.
When I brought this issue up, no apologies were given, and I was met with many reasons why they did what they did. They offered to come in to fix it, but I had already painted the walls assuming that the job would have been done properly. I will likely just have to accept oversized faceplates despite their looks to avoid having to wait for his team to come in on a work day to do the patch work, then have to sand and paint the area again.
4. Receptacles were also marked up badly by the drywaller's routers, this was brought up, refer to the excuse from #3. I was told that this is not his fault.
Overall, I was not happy with the service provided. Any issue that was brought up was dismissed as "not their problem". I'm not a confrontational type, and do not want to fight to get what I need when I can just patch it up myself.

Marty did a great job with mud, tape, and sanding.

Alex was great to deal with when nothing goes wrong, when something goes wrong, it's all excuses.

If you are looking for a team that can take it from the beginning and run with it themselves to get a job properly done, without excuses, I wouldn't recommend Devlin's.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

First off, I apologize Peter if you were not happy, but we did everything we could do, and I even offered multiple times to come correct the situations that arose from the prep that wasn't properly done by yourself. Sometimes it's best to let professionals handle things from the start.
I would like to address your concerns here, and explain the situation from another point of view.
All our customers are always treated the same way, we are extremely professional and respectful. I never once met you with resistance, I simply explained the situations, and you didn't like the fact that it was an underlying issue, and expected me to fix this, which I said I would, but you had no patience and immediately said, " It's fine, I guess I'll just fix it myself"
We are drywallers, not electricians or framers. There are things we can do, and there are things we can't. It becomes a legality issue, especially as we are not certified electricians.
All your concerns came about from issues that you didn't address properly before we came to do the Drywalling, and are now blaming it on our workmanship, which is unfair Peter, and I will explain them here again below, so anyone reading this can decide if it was my fault or not.
I'm no judge, so I'll leave this in the readers hands to decide.

1) Boarding not done.
I wish I could post a pic!
This issue was because of a door return not done, which we couldn't do properly because the framing was not all there, and there was plywood also sticking out on the side, so the return would end up being extremely wavy. My guys figured the owner would have to do the return in wood and left it as it couldn't be done at that time. Like no backing for nearly 2 feet on both sides. This plywood sticking out needed to be trimmed with a sawzall to make smooth before we could even attempt to try to screw a return to his backing every 2 feet.
Now my boarders don't come to every job carrying a sawzall, in fact I don't know any drywall crew in my life that ever had one to be honest. They have all there drywall tools, and sometimes maybe to odd guy has a skill saw with them, but not often, but the plywood was too deep for a skill saw, it needed a sawzall.
I explained this to him in a text, as was hard to reach him on the phone, and he immediately replied with this quote, that I just copied and will paste here below.

I’m not going to argue about this. I’ll just do that section myself. And I guess I’ll secure the board on top of the foundation myself as well

Which leads me to the next issue.

2) Drywall that was just hanging and not secured.

There was 1 wall that was not framed properly, he framed it flush to a 2ft high concrete foundation, this was not in the video that he sent me, and he neglected to let me know about this issue, or I would have sent my guys with a tube of PL Premium to glue this on. BUT, it is still not the right way to do things, the wall should have been framed over the concrete. And these two issues he brought to my attention in 1 text message after my boarders were done.
I explained the situation to him, even thou these were underlying issues, I still said I would send the proper materials with my taper, so when he starts taping he could fix these np. Which he then sent the message above that he would just do it himself. FYI, my response to both these issues I just copied from our text conversation and will post here below;

I’m not trying to be argumentative either. Trying to let you know the proper way to fix this.
I will talk to my taper and see what he can do there for you to bandaid the situation.

-But you supplied the drywall, and we had no mud/glue on site to adhere the drywall to the concrete.
If you had brought this situation to my attention at the beginning, I could have made recommendations on how it could have been fixed the proper way before we started.

-and from what I can see the framing isn’t done properly.

As mentioned, we will try to do what we can to address this situation, I don’t want you to be upset, but it’s like asking the plumber to finish the electrical.

Gluing drywall to concrete isn’t the proper way to do a job, the wall should have been fir out to clear it.
But as mentioned we will do what we can to address this, but keep in mind we are trying to bandaid a problem that needed addressing before we started. We do quality work, we never do things that aren’t right.
You may have further problems installing baseboards and door trim now because there is no wood backing to install it to at the bottom of the wall. Hopefully everything will be ok, but this situation if it should arise after us, is not our fault, we will attempt to fix this problem so we can finish it for you as your asking.
I hate to have upset customers. We will do what we can, but this situation is not how it should be properly done. But to your request we will make the attempt to patch this.
Let me know your thoughts after you read what I’m discussing here.
Thank you Peter

I then got this;

I’m not going to argue about this. I’ll just do that section myself. And I guess I’ll secure the board on top of the foundation myself as well

3)Holes apparently cut way to big.

file:///var/mobile/Library/SMS/Attachments/ca/10/59FE0F71-B31D-49A8-B323-1F5A6ADD85C5/IMG_1160.heic

Again, I really wish I could post a pic, here is a link if you can see it, because the so called way to big, is actually a minor little blemish, that isn't even a hole, it's a little under sanded because we had to mud around a few box's, because ya, some were cut to big, but that was because he installed all his electrical plugs and switches before we came to drywall. If you didn't know, I'll explain here, you see, a electrical box is mounted 1/2" sticking out of the wall so the drywaller can cut his drywall around it, but if you have a plug or switch installed before hand, those metal ears are only a 1/16th inch smaller that the plug cover, and our rotor that cuts the drywall is 1/8" thick, so there is literally no way we can cut out the box without over cutting. These ears are specifically designed to sit on the drywall to hold it steady, they are meant to install after the drywall, so the drywall can help hold them in place. They are definitely not designed to be installed before the Drywalling stage, which is why these holes where cut a little bigger, but my taper did do a good job trying to fill these, which shouldn't have happened to begin with. But never the less, the minor deficiencies that were left after my taper was just that, very minor, and typically a professional painter would have touch them up with a little mud after as well, but Peter did everything him self including the painting, which is fine, I also offered to come for any touch ups that were needed, np, I always do, ask anyone who has ever worked with me before, I always ask and offer to come back for any touch ups. I don't think that Peter has done much of this kind of thing before or he would have touched up those few concerns before he was done painting, or took me up on my offer for touch ups, I don't think he noticed anything until he went to put the cover plates on.

4). Electrical plugs were marked up.

Again, same reason, these plugs should have not been installed prior to drywall. If your going to install plugs and switches before Drywalling, please understand it's not the right way to do things, we need to be able to cut a nice hole around the box so we don't need to mud every box, and your plugs will look good when finished. Yes, there was a few scratch marks on a plug or two, that's construction, especially when you install them before drywall. After the fact, when I explained why this happened, he said, well why wouldn't you remove them first, lol, I was thinking the same thing, but we are not certified electricians, we are not aloud to touch any electrical work at all, and not only that, my guys wouldn't feel comfortable doing this.
Only 2 situations here.
1- Don't install plugs and switches before drywall,
Or
2- if you do, expect to replace a few when we have to rotor out box's with them in place. First off you are making our lives way more difficult than it needs to be by having to try to cut around them, then afterwards, now I have to pay my guys extra to fix these cuts that are to big, then I get complaints about our workmanship, all because you couldn't wait till after drywall to install your plugs.
I always do my best to please our customers, even if it wasn't my fault, I'll go that extra mile, no problem, even in this situation, I did offer to fix these things that weren't my fault, I said I could fix them for you, but Peter had no patience, and did them himself, which is fine too, but then at the end of the day, he comes here and says our workmanship was bad.
I don't know, you the reader can decide, but I feel Peter wasn't to fair working with us, I was nothing short of professional, willing to fix issues that were not our fault, willing to come back after the fact to touch ups issues around the plugs, again we had to struggle with first off, because you had to install them before drywall, and then figure that I'm being difficult to deal with, or being resistant.
I was far from being resistant, I simply explained the situation and then offered to come fix the situation, but that wasn't good enough, you were going to fix it and show me.
Well again Peter, I apologize if the project didn't go according to your expectations, but if you don't do something all the time, or are not professional at something, you should expect a few situations to arise.
We did our best, and offered you all our services to fix your issues free of additional charges, but you did not accept them.
When something doesn't go right I'm all excuses he said, lol, I'm explaining the situation so you understand why we are at this point, we did everything right on our end Peter, it's the prep work that you should have done properly but didn't, and your getting frustrated at me because of it.
Not fair Peter!
I really don't know what I could have done better to make this experience better for you.
But I'll go to school on it, I'll think about it, to try to prevent this same situation next time.
Have a great day

Kyle in Toronto
Kyle in Toronto
1 review Surrey, BC
10/10

Bathroom Drywall

Responsive, respectful and professional business that made us feel our small job was just as important as any other large job. Work was done ontime as agreed upon at a fair price point. Quality was what we were looking for to obtain a professional end product. 100% would refer and hire again for any drywall needs

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you very much for the review Kyle.
Your right, in my eyes, every customer is just as important as the next, size of job doesn't matter.
Have a great day!

Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Langley City, BC
10/10

Fireplace drywall

A good professional service. With the clean and quality finishing, I am very happy with the job! I would definitely recommend this contractor to anyone in need of drywalling. Alex looked after arranging everything.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you for the review, much appreciated.
If you need anything further, you know how to reach me.
Have a great day!

ZhenP in Vancouver
ZhenP in Vancouver
1 review Vancouver, BC
10/10

Drywall ceiling refinish

The ceiling drywall was refinished smooth and even. We are very satisfied with the job done. Shawn is detail-attentive person and did the job diligently. We highly recommend Devlin drywall contractor; they’re reliable, efficient and professional.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you very much for your review. We always take our time to make sure things are done right.
Let me know if you need anything further
Have a great day.

Serg in Toronto
Serg in Toronto
0 reviews Surrey, BC
10/10

Our ceiling is now flawless.

Had water damaged ceiling and dog damaged wall. All fixed in really short time and reasonable price. Removed all popcorn ceilings.
Our ceiling is now flawless. These guys are amazing. Great work.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you Serg for the review
I'm glad we could help.
If you need anything further just let me know.
Have a great day!

Private User
Private User
0 reviews Surrey, BC
10/10

Patching holes in walls after ceiling work and general damage

I had electrical work done in my home.There were 22 holes in the walls in total plus some damage to the walls from my dog when young. The work happenned in May 2020. I contacted many companies for repair work. I had people say they would come and then cancel me or just ignore me. I had general refusal as well as they said they did not have time they were too busy. I gave up for a time. I then found Devlin Drywall contractors. Alex the owner called me back right away and the next day I had someone come to do the work. Dave came in and did such beautiful professional work. He was kind and very skilled. He even cleaned up after the job was done. Alex the owner came in and did texturing on the ceiling. I can not even tell where the holes were. I would recommend this company to everyone. They treated my smaller job as just as important to them as it was to me. What a positive experience. Thank you to Alex and Dave!

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you so much for the nice review. This story makes me so happy. It's why I started my business. To help home owners find a good quality contractor to help them on their small jobs that everyone else turns their nose up at. Or help them avoid getting stuck with a general labour who says they can do anything, but turns out they are professional at nothing. I'm sure most of us have either been there, or knows someone who has had a bad experience. Thank you again for the review, it brightened my day.
Take care!

 Caron
Caron
0 reviews Chilliwack, BC
10/10

Sunroom

We had decided to change our seasonal sunroom into a framed, insulated, and drywalled all-season space. I saw the Ad for Devlin on Facebook Fraser Valley Small Business and requested a quote. I sent a sketch and videos of the room as requested by Alex and he provided a competitive quote. I had obtained two other quotes but chose Devlin because of how professional Alex was and the excellent reviews for the company. John came to do the drywall install on ceilings and walls, followed by Jack to do the taping, mudding, and sanding. They were both skilled, personable, fast, and clean. I am very pleased with the job and would not hesitate to use them again or to recommend them to friends and family.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you very much for the kind review Caron.
It's what we do everyday. What sets us apart from the competition is the fact that I truly care about our customers. I've built my company with the customers best interests in mind. From hiring the right guys who not only
provide high quality results, but are also kind and respectful in your home, clean up behind themselves so you aren't waiting for a clean up guy to show up a day or two later. We do things right the first time, and I guarantee our work for a year after the fact, and if that weren't enough to show you that I back all our work, I don't ask for anything up front either, in fact I wait until the job is done and I know you are happy with everything before I send you our invoice. I don't like to make a customer nervous about hiring us, or working with us, we earn your trust and ensure your content, before you pay. Doing business this way, you will feel happy to pay your invoice, knowing you got everything you wanted, and received a quality job well done. It's how it should be, nothing feels worse than paying someone upfront for a job they haven't started, hoping they will show up, deliver on their promise, and hoping it will get done right. We create a experience where the worry is left at the front door.

StevenU
StevenU
0 reviews Delta, BC
10/10

Drywall Textured Ceiling Repairs

Alex and his crew did a fantastic job of replacing and repair our drywall ceilings in 4 areas and then retexturing the ceilings to an exact match. I highly recommend this contractor and would certainly use him again.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you for the review Steve. Looking forward to helping out again soon. Have a great day.

The reviews on this page are the subjective opinion of the Author and not of HomeStars Inc.

More about Devlin Drywall Contractors

Devlin Drywall Contractors is a ceiling and renovations specialist serving Langley through to Chilliwack for 16 years plus. We provide distinctive quality on all your small to large drywall or acoustical projects (residential and commercial ceilings). We also specialize in drywall renovations, new construction, popcorn removal, texture blending, soundproofing, and T-bar ceilings.
---
We service all of the Fraser Valley including but not limited to Langley, Abbotsford, Mission, and Chilliwack.
---
Contact us for a free quote today, or
some friendly advice. We love to help,
and truly care about what we do!
604-309-8317
alex@devlindrywall.ca
---
Or come visit us at;
https://www.facebook.com/officialdevlindrywall
https://www.instagram.com/devlindrywall/

CATEGORIES
Drywall Contractors
PRODUCTS
Trim-Tex Beads, Donn Products and Armstrong Products
SERVICES
Drywall Renovations of all kinds, and T-bar ceilings.
BRANDS
Columbia Tools, Trim-Tex, Synco, Sheetrock.
SPECIALITIES
Popcorn Removal, Texture Blending, Drywall Renovations, New Construction and T-Bar.
WEBSITE
https://www.devlindrywall.ca
YEAR ESTABLISHED
2010
PAYMENT METHOD
Cheques, Cash, E-transfer
LIABILITY INSURANCE
Yes
WORKERS COMPENSATION
Yes
PROJECT MINIMUM
No job is too small
WARRANTY TERMS
1-Year Warranty/Installation (Ask for further details)
Company profile information is not moderated by HomeStars. Ask the contractor to verify before hiring.