S. S. Engineering Inc

Structural Engineering
Toronto ON M2N 2Y6
Write a Review
Write a Review
HomeStars  >  Basement Renovation in Toronto  >  S. S. Engineering Inc  >  Unprofessional, took our money and did not finish the job- be aware
Sherine in Toronto
Sherine in Toronto
1 review Toronto, ON
0/10

Unprofessional, took our money and did not finish the job- be aware

We hired Shawn after seeing the good reviews regarding his service online. As new homebuyers he took advantage of us and made us provide him a cash deposit for his services. Once this was received he continually delayed providing us with permit drawings and finally sent us drawings that were incorrect. He did not correct the drawings and refused to release the drawings to us until he received the rest of his payment, offering no guarantee that the drawings would pass permit inspection. He should not be trusted with the structural integrity of someone’s home. It is clear that he does a poor job at best, and rushed our home inspection resulting in errors he refused to admit or correct. Please hire someone else that you can trust with your home, we hope that this review prevents people from having the same horrible experience we had and losing your money.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Sherine: facts speak for themselves
Re: service delay and refuse to release drawings.
We met December 22 re: wall removal. We discussed different options how to remove the load bearing walls using cost effective solution. We recommend obtaining building permit due to load bearing walls. You agreed that I will send my assitant to do the physical measurements for the floor plans. I send my assitant the next day December 23. One day after Christmas. December 27 you start to call for drawings and insist that we agreed to provide a free general review report for city inspection. That Time you asked to pay the deposits back and I thought you changed your renovation plan. December 30. I agreed to provide a free construction general review report for city inspection and We email you the floor plans with all structural informations for review anyway. ( have email as evidence)

This is what you mentioned "delay" and refuse releasing drawing"?

Re: wrong drawings
I am so patient to answer so many questions and I understand people want to learn construction . That's ok.
I told you if exterior wall is double brick then beams can directly rest on it and if studs wall with brick veneer then we need 4-2x6 posts. It is so common. The exterior wall need to confirmed double brick or studs wall with veneer
That's what you mentioned "wrong drawings"

Re: guarantee to pass city inspection
I understand that you guys do not have any renovation experience and knowledge. The point is that you do not listen and study what I told you. How can a engineer guarantee that you construction can pass the city inspection? Design and construction is different. If contractor installed the beams as per permit drawings. City inspector will pass. Nobody can pass wrong or poor installation.

I understand you change your plans of renovation. I am ok that you do not respect us and our work. But you can not lie and you can not threat us. I talked with home star about you before your review and we decide to face this. We provide more than 10 years residential engineering services. Our significant experience and knowledge and professional services will not be affected by this type of review. We still provide quick and turn around services.

Everyone want to be successful. Hard working. Keep learning;Honesty;positive; respect and professional are the keys.