Rob Morin

Plastering
Calgary AB T2Z 1V9
Write a Review
Write a Review
HomeStars  >  Drywall Contractors in Calgary  >  Rob Morin   >  Basement Drywall work only 1/2 done
Matt in Calgary in Calgary
Matt in Calgary in Calgary
1 review Calgary, AB
0/10

Basement Drywall work only 1/2 done

The issue is not the quality of the work done, but that only HALF of the work contracted for was actually completed.

I met Rob onsite, at which time he agreed to complete boarding for $1800 and tape/mud/finish for an additional $2500. He was EXACT about the number of boards required and the lengths to prevent joints and keep scrap to a minimum.

So, day 1 things start off a little rocky. He calls wanting screws. I said, sure, I'd drop some off (I have boxes of them, 5000 per box), although I assumed he'd cover originally, it's not worth even mentioning an item that is 1% of the total cost.

Day 3, what is the final day of boarding, he complains that NOTHING is straight in the basement framing (for reference, home built in 1960s), and that he picked up an extra 8 sheets of material. He has the bill. I write him a check for boarding and another for the extra 8 sheets (remember, 35 years experience and he gets his board count EXACT. I didn't bring this up). He complains that he wanted CASH for the board. But, he takes the check.

Day 4 (Thursday) I find out he's a no show from tenants living upstairs. I call him. He has a few errands he forgot about. Will be there tomorrow (Friday) and possible Saturday. I update tenants.

Friday afternoon, I am again informed he's a no show. I call. Call again. Nothing. Around 8 PM I get a text from the tenants saying he GAVE BACK THE KEY. What?

He doesn't call me (remember, I hired him, not the tenants upstairs). He doesn't answer my calls. I call from another number, and he made the choice Friday to just not do the work. That it's a professional choice.

Wouldn't a pro finish the entire job they were hired for? Wouldn't a pro stand by their word? Wouldn't a pro at the very least call and discuss? Would a pro avoid calls of others?

I'm not going to talk about the quality of the work (not the main focus), but rather that I consider the job 1/2 done. NOW I have to find a REAL pro that wants to complete work that was only 1/2 done by Rob.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Boy that is long with a lot of missing fact. Including, this guy is not a contractor. He's been at this basement for 9 months. Hires handymen to do the work. Had nothing but problems. Was afraid to continue due to that fact of the inexperience of someone posing to be a contractor. Finished the drywall. For me that's a service just to do the finishing work. So to leave before that is not good for me but could not trust someone like that. Gut told me to not continue. Bet he has less than a year at what he's doing and I feel for the clients as I did talk to the tenants upstairs and they also think he's very under qualified. This my departure. In my 35 years of trade it's rare to come across such characters, but there are still some. Anyone reading this review I would be glad to give them the owners contact info to tell you all never to hire such a person. Too bad for the shady pretenders.