Avl Landscape & Design

Interlocking Stone
Vaughan ON L4L 1J1
Write a Review
Write a Review
Website
HomeStars
Interlocking Stone
Avl Landscape & Design
Star Score
StarScore uses a complex algorithm which considers a company’s review ratings, responsiveness, reputation, and recency. Learn more.

82%

This is the average rating based on homeowner reviews.
This indicates how long it's been since the last review.
Low reputation means there has been review tampering or a company request to remove a review. This score is also impacted when we do not have enough information i.e: low number of reviews.
How well a company responds to Service Requests and Reviews.
Reviews by rating (past 12 months)
Verified by HomeStars

Reviews for Avl Landscape & Design

Average customer rating:
8.8 10 (24 reviews)

Sort by

PC
PC
1 review Vaughan, ON
0/10

Disappointed

If I knew what I know now, I would have gone with a different company but you see 10 out of 10’s and you think, how can you go wrong. It started well enough but ended up being a very unpleasant experience in the end. My wife and I felt disrespected and that our time meant nothing to them and really regret the amount of money spent.

The last picture is the frame we asked for, but I ended up completing in the end.

In point form.

- They cut a piece of the step edging while it was in place and you can see the cut on the riser below and is visible as you walk up to the front door.

- We requested multiple times that the steps leading up to the house be miter cut, they ignored this request. It was attempted by them 3 times and in the end, I paid an additional $64 for material and 6hrs of my time just so we could get it done. The last attempt was arranged to be completed on a Saturday. We made arrangements with Nick for Saturday to come by at noon and complete the steps, he never showed up I had to end up calling him, he said he would call me later that night but didn’t. During that call I offered to come and pick up the stones myself so I could just get the steps completed, he said no, and that he would like to finish the job, I was ok with that and I told him I would like to be here when then the work is being completed so I could again explain the miter cut look that we wanted. He said that he would call me later that night, he never did. Sunday rolled around and still we never received a call. On Monday I received a call from my wife while I was at work on that Monday morning letting me know that Nick just showed up. I sent a picture of the miter cut and he told me that he didn’t bring the right tool, I asked him just to leave the stones there and not to glue them down, I will just do it myself. He even ignored that request and proceeded to chisel the stone and glue it down anyway. This is why I had to spend additional money to replace those stones.

- We were advised that they could incorporate our existing "giants tooth" stones no problem, after their first go at it and them letting us know the job was completed, they left it in a bush and when they came back a second time to fix this and many other issues, they actually chiseled the front of the “giants tooth” off to make it fit around what they had done. There are actually still pieces of it behind the landing.

-Very messy. I had to pressure wash my driveway, they used our hose and it was covered in mud, I was able to clean it both, so I don’t understand why they left those in that condition.

- There were some gaps in the risers and I pointed them out to have them closed, I was told that "you can't fix that and If I had a problem with them, reach out the manufacturer and tell them", So, when I did the finishing work on my steps, I repaired the gaps myself.

- They have the cut side of some stones showing, and another chiseled piece right at the beginning of the bend, I'm going to replace them in the summer.

- Leveling issues all around. I have re-leveled the top 2 steps, but where the garage foundation and the stone meet, the stone is higher, so water builds up between the garage door and the stone, in turn the water comes into the garage now. With it being winter, ice forms and the doors weather stripping sticks to the ice. Nick did mention that the stone has to be higher and I told him I never heard of that before, but I trusted him, and now the north side of the stone is below the garage foundation and the south side is above.

The most disappointing things out of all of this is that my wife and I were made to feel like we were the bad guys for holding them responsible for what we paid them to do and for making us feel uncomfortable for doing so. We really felt like we couldn’t have any expectation and should have accepted the poor workmanship. Disappointingly unprofessional, the work was clearly rushed the first go around, and I to complete some of the work myself just so the nonsense would end. I have hired contractors before, but hiring them was defiantly one of my bigger mistakes.

Was this review helpful?
ambrosea67 in Toronto
ambrosea67 in Toronto
0 reviews Goodwood, ON
10/10

Interlocking

Very pleased with the work. They came and listened to our plan and helped us design our project. I would very much recommend them.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi Ambrose
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review! We appreciate the kind words and look forward to working with you and your family in the future.
Regards, Anthony and the Avl Landscaping Team

Michele in Toronto
Michele in Toronto
0 reviews Toronto, ON
10/10

Walkways and driveway

I dealt with Anthony and his crew. They were always professional and there work was amazing and artistic. Just can’t stop looking at my place now.

Thank you Anthony for everything.
Michele Goldstein.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi Michele
We are so grateful for your kind words. Thanks for sharing your review with us and the community.
Regards, Anthony and the Avl Landscaping Team

Monica
Monica
0 reviews Bradford West Gwillimbury, ON
10/10

Interlock and Sod

We hired Anthony and his team to replace our front steps and add interlock to the front and backyard. We also had new sod put down in the backyard. Excellent work on the interlock and sod - we are very pleased! Anthony and his team worked quickly, were professional, approachable and left the job site clean!

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi Monica
We are so grateful for your kind words. Thanks for sharing your review with us and the community.
Regards, Anthony and the Avl Landscaping Team

Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Vaughan, ON
10/10

Front walkway remove old interlock, re-level and install new

I hired Nick to replace the interlock to a front walkway. AVL did a great job they came to do the work ahead of schedule. Nick keeps his word and will let you know ahead of time if there is a change in scheduling. Also, he ran into an unforeseen issue, he took care of it and was honest. The final product looks great! I would definitely recommend AVL.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

We are so grateful for your kind words. Thanks for sharing your review with us and the community.
Regards, Anthony and the Avl Landscaping Team

teresa in Toronto
teresa in Toronto
1 review Toronto, ON
10/10

backyard patio

We were very pleased with the work done by AVL. Anthony and his team were great. Punctual, professional and respectful. Was amazed at how quickly they got things done.

If you have a project you want to get done, give these guys a call - you are sure to see a great result

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi Teresa
We are so grateful for your kind words. Thanks for sharing your review with us and the community.
Regards, Anthony and the Avl Landscaping Team

Richard from Caledon
Richard from Caledon
1 review Caledon, ON
10/10

Repairs to Patio Interlock Pavers

We have 2 rear patios that were installed by another company 12 years ago. The pavers still look nice but the borders were separating & falling away on one patio while the other patio area was sunken & causing water to flow towards the home instead of away. Anthony & his team relifted the borders on one patio, raised & replaced the other sunken patio area. They replaced several broken floor lights, took out all the weeds between the pavers & resealed with polymeric sand. All work was done very quickly & professionally. I would highly recommend AVL Landscape to anyone for their knowledge, experience and high quality of workmanship.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi Richard
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review! We appreciate the kind words and look forward to working with you and your family in the future.
Regards, Anthony and the Avl Landscaping Team

SCBarrie
SCBarrie
7 reviews Newmarket, ON
10/10

Great Service !

Wonderful service, Nick and his crew did a really nice job taking down our old wooden front deck, wobbly stairs, and old flower bed and replacing all with new stone. They worked with me on what I wanted and made the vision come true. They were very patient with my requests changing this and that as it came up during the process. Would definitely recommend AVL.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi Susan
We are so grateful for your kind words. Thanks for sharing your review with us and the community.
Regards, Anthony and the Avl Landscaping Team

Anthony A
Anthony A
1 review Vaughan, ON
0/10

Sod & 1 Tree

Anthony and his team did a fair job with the front yard soding.
But are still have major concerns about the tree that was planted and needs to be replaced. We contacted Anthony number of times (phone calls, voice mails, texting) and yet to hear back. It's now 3 weeks and no reply. DO NOT USE THIS COMPANY !!! The frustration is not worth it.

Here's a "New" tree with broken branches.
Missing Gravel area & Gaps in the sod.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi Anthony,
We appreciate you finding us online and detailing your experience. We would like to apologize for any and all inconveniences experienced throughout your project. We did do our best to go above and beyond our usual scope in order to make sure you were satisfied with our work. As discussed, we have a 1-year warranty where dead trees can be replaced, and the current one you have was live when we checked up on it. At your earliest opportunity, please connect with us at (647) 850-0250 and we would be more than happy to help rectify the situation.

Regards,
Anthony and the AVL Landscape & Design Team

Big in Toronto
Big in Toronto
1 review Toronto, ON
10/10

Hardscape and Softscape

AVL was great right from the beginning. The stone work and steps look fantastic. The regrading of my landscape and new sod looks amazing. I highly recommend AVL Landscape and Design.

Was this review helpful?
The reviews on this page are the subjective opinion of the Author and not of HomeStars Inc.

More about Avl Landscape & Design

AVL Landscape and design is a family orientated company with over 15 years of experience within the industry. Our number one priority is pleasing our clients and fulfilling their expectations. Our vast knowledge of top-rated products and design allows our staff to cater uniquely to each project. We specialize in custom landscaping, offering personalized cedar decks, interlocking, concrete, water features (such as ponds, waterfalls), outdoor lighting effects, fireplaces and outdoor kitchens. We take great pride in our work and maintain a high standard of excellence in everything we do. We look forward to working on your next outdoor project and promise nothing less than the best.

CATEGORIES
Interlocking Stone, Landscape Contractors & Designers, and Waterproofing
WEBSITE
http://www.avllandscape.com/
NUMBER OF EMPLOYEES
7
PAYMENT METHOD
Etransfer, Cash, Cheques
LIABILITY INSURANCE
Yes
WORKERS COMPENSATION
Yes
PROJECT MINIMUM
7,000
WRITTEN CONTRACT
Yes
WARRANTY TERMS
Yes (see further for details)
Company profile information is not moderated by HomeStars. Ask the contractor to verify before hiring.