Your Backyard Haven Ltd

Swimming Pools, Spas & Hot Tubs
Toronto ON M3K 1Z9
Write a Review
Write a Review

Star Score
Learn more about how StarScore uses a complex algorithm which considers a company's review ratings, responsiveness, reputation, and recency.

80%

This is the average rating based on homeowner reviews.
This indicates how long it's been since the last review.
Indicates how well a pro reacts to reviews and review-related interactions with Homeowners.
How well a company responds to Service Requests and Reviews.
Reviews by rating (past 12 months)

Reviews for Your Backyard Haven Ltd

Average customer rating:
8.1 10 (11 reviews)

Sort by

Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Markham, ON
10/10

Satisfied Customer

Jim and Amber did a great job from the start. They were able to answer my questions and helped me through the whole process.

Approximate cost of services:
$150,000.00
Was this review helpful?
ALLISON in Kitchener
ALLISON in Kitchener
0 reviews Mississauga, ON
10/10

Pool installation

Jim and his team are fabulous to work with. They have gone consistently above and beyond. Quality of work a d customer service is number one. Definitely will hire them again if I need them!

Approximate cost of services:
$150.00
Was this review helpful?
Mona in North York
Mona in North York
1 review Brampton, ON
0/10

Pool/review

Well Jim - Ill continue to respond. Let me just say we can go back and forth just like your messages and emails and lack of answering phone calls.

I dont know about you .. but you have yet to give us the contract that you have promised multiple of times and even gave us a timeline of when you would send it. Email of proof I have - text messages of you doing a runaround I have. I have all emails of us requesting timelines and answers but yet again a run around.

Jim is all talk - when you actually do the work that you promised such as the contract that you have promised to send that you keep talking about but have yet to send. Its been about 2 weeks since at this point.

Lets go back to the pool you keep saying that we didnt want - we wanted it. You/your company messed up the measurements. The fastest solution was provided by your coworker or whoever you deal with when it comes to pool that you hired and sent to us and we then decided to switch for a faster option!!! Yet nothing was mentioned of a contract then when everything was agreed on.

Only reason why another contract was mentioned was because youve requested more money on top of what weve paid and we have refused.

Again we can go back and forth all day. But please see the email screenshot of your last response to us and we have yet to hear from you. When you finish doing your runarounds and games and can keep to your promises then maybe we will consider having a conversation.

You threatened to have a mediator to support. We have offered you multiple of times for you to come by and have seat to discuss. Again we get the runaround.

Say whatever youd like. Im not going back and forth anymore. Just know whoever does decide to go with this company - either make sure you go through the contract with your lawyer prior to signing or dont go with company at all.

$170,000.00 to do the backyard for the pool. And hes still asking for more. Something doesnt add up especially since he doesnt want to start without another payment and keeps referring to a contract that has yet to be sent.

Please refer to BBB. As well as not sure who is the hot head here and who needs to be cooler at this point as you mentioned.

Approximate cost of services:
$170,000.00
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Mona,

We are aware of the matter you are referring to, but you and your friends have failed to mention several very important items both here and on Google.
In our Contract that was approved by the insurance company who ultimately paid for everything, Mona and Ahmed decided on a 12ft x 32ft fibreglass pool with spa section 4'10" deep.
We first removed and disposed all the original pool, concrete and interlocking stones, then we delivered that pool in June of 2022 and installed it as per per our contract.
I was then contacted by Mona the day it was installed telling me to wait on finishing the project as they weren't sure if they still wanted it.
A few weeks later they decided that they wanted to change the pool to a much bigger vinyl pool both wider and deeper.
I informed them at the time there would be costs associated with this and they acknowledged it on several occasions.
I also told them timing would be an issue as we now had to order a pool kit in early July during summer season and covid, and that could take a while, not to mention we were also booked with other jobs and we could possibly look toward the fall for installation.
I was very clear on the additional excavation costs, crane charges, and construction charges on removing a fiberglass pool and installing a much bigger and deeper vinyl pool, and Mona acknowledged this.
The pool kit arrived and was installed, and the coping and Pavers were also shipped to their home as well but not installed.
I told them we have to complete this in the spring as the weather had turned and also determine how exactly they would address the additional charges.
We spoke with the insurance company and were told that they would not cover any upgrades the homeowners requested.
I informed Mona and Ahmed of this and they demanded we cover the costs associated with all their changes if the insurance company would not.
We emailed Mona several times again asking her how they wanted to address outstanding charges in order to move forward but we were told by Ahmed we had to complete everything in the original contract at our own expense several times.
Unfortunately we do not work for free and We are not obligated to pay for customers upgrades and changes.
The pool is essentially completed aside from the liner and installing the pavers.
This is an unfortunate situation but we have tried on several occasions to come to a resolution and are still willing to if cooler heads prevail.

Thank You.

Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Mississauga, ON
10/10

Hot tub delivery and removal

I purchased a new hot tub and hire this company to pickup the new tub and remove the old one. They picked up the new tub, removed the old tub, and put it onto their trailer, and was about to put the new tub in place, when i noticed that it was smaller than the one i purchased. The retailer gave them the wrong tub.
So they went back and got the right tub and put it into place. This added process took over 1.5 hour.
They did not complain, or ask for more money, which they deserved.
I am extremely pleased with their service and professionalism.

Approximate cost of services:
$850.00
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank You.

Private User
Private User
2 reviews Hamilton, ON
10/10

Complex pool build successfully pulled off

Jim and the team helped us to build our dream pool as we replaced an old above ground one with a new in-ground that would give our family a back yard oasis to enjoy for the next few years.

From the design process, to assisting with paperwork and permits, the team were a delight to work with. The build process wasn't particularly straightforward as our garden is on an incline but we were kept informed along the way and engaged with when it came to making tweaks to fit the spec.

The end result is a pool that we very much look forward to spending many hours in this summer.

As with any complex build, there are one or two kinks that still need to be ironed out but Jim and the team have committed to returning when the good weather comes to tidy things up. This is a mark of excellent customer service.

Approximate cost of services:
$120,000.00
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi D'arcy,

Thank you for the kind review and allowing us to work on this incredible project with both you and Kate.
Talk soon.

Thanks
Jim

Iwona
Iwona
0 reviews Mississauga, ON
10/10

Backyard pool and landscaping

To the team at Your Backyard Haven,

This company did an excellent job with my backyard. From start to finish, the process was swift and easy with the help of Jim, who took the time to come over to our backyard and go over our options to suit our space best. We went with the Bermuda-shaped fiberglass pool with a Rockland black bullnose coping and brushed concrete as our finished patio. The team working on installing our pool was great and worked very efficiently to finish the project in a timely fashion. Thank you for our dream backyard !! I recommend this company to anyone looking to install a fiberglass pool.
Than you Jim (Your Backyard Haven )
Iwona and Adam

Approximate cost of services:
$120,000.00
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi Iwona,
Thank you for the Review.
It was a pleasure working with you and Adam on your project.
Have a great summer.

Thanks
Jim

Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Burlington, ON
8/10

Outdoor Living Project

We had an extensive outdoor living space completed by Your Backyard Haven. The project required both soft and hard landscaping as well as the building of a custom design pavilion, privacy fencing and outdoor lighting. Denis worked with us in the design and construction of the project. He provided us with detailed landscape proposals which were modified as required throughout the project. He provided quality workmanship, professional designs, and modern outdoor living solutions.

Approximate cost of services:
$200,000.00
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

It was our pleasure working on your pool surround and backyard renovation. Thank-you for your review. Sincerely, Denis

Emma in Burlington
Emma in Burlington
0 reviews Oakville, ON
10/10

New deck

Denis had built the decks of two of my neighbours in recent years (new development in Bronte Creek). Their decks were nice and they were overall happy with the work. Hence, my immediate neighbour and myself decided to hire them to do our decks. The quote was acceptable, and Denis designed our deck. Once materials were available (backorders in the summer of 2020 due to Covid), the two decks (neighbour and I) were completed in approximately 2 weeks. We love the deck, perfect size and layout for our property, and it definitely adds enjoyment and value to our house.

Approximate cost of services:
$14,000.00
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hello Emma. I appreciate your kind words. It was a pleasure designing and building your project.

Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Burlington, ON
10/10

Deck

Overall, one of the best contractors we’ve ever hired."
Good company that has the most incredible response time.
Great customer service and they built me such a beautiful deck!"
I absolutely recommend Denis and his team!

Approximate cost of services:
$9,000.00
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thanks so much! I appreciate the kind words review. We do our best to make contracting as painless and stressfree as possible.

Templo Nueva Vida
Templo Nueva Vida
0 reviews Hamilton, ON
10/10

Garden Landscape

This was a landscape job done at our church's front lawn. The soil, plants, were carefully selected, still alive today after 4 winters. There has not been ground movement. It made quite a change from before and after. Denis is honest, kind, easy to work with. He is knowledgeable and get the job done in up time. Thank you Denis!

Approximate cost of services:
$0.00
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thanks so much for your kind words. It was pleasure working with you and the church family.

The reviews on this page are the subjective opinion of the Author and not of HomeStars Inc.

More about Your Backyard Haven Ltd

Over 35 years of landscape, pool design, and installation experience. We are your one stop shop for everything swimming pool and landscape related.
Company profile information is not moderated by HomeStars. Ask the contractor to verify before hiring.
Looking for Swimming Pools, Spas & Hot Tubs pros in Toronto?