West Coast Oil Tank Recovery

Excavation
North Vancouver BC V7K 2N4
Write a Review
Write a Review
HomeStars
Excavation
West Coast Oil Tank Recovery
Star Score
StarScore uses a complex algorithm which considers a company’s review ratings, responsiveness, reputation, and recency. Learn more.

50%

This is the average rating based on homeowner reviews.
This indicates how long it's been since the last review.
Low reputation means there has been review tampering or a company request to remove a review. This score is also impacted when we do not have enough information i.e: low number of reviews.
How well a company responds to Service Requests and Reviews.
Reviews by rating (past 12 months)

Reviews for West Coast Oil Tank Recovery

Average customer rating:
6.3 10 (6 reviews)

Sort by

Chad in Surrey
Chad in Surrey
1 review Surrey, BC
0/10

Yelled at by the manager

Their scanning was fine, but by far the WORST customer service I have ever experienced. Upon expressing displeasure with the information I received after the scan, I was chastised, yelled at, called names and otherwise verbally berated by LUCAS who I suppose is the manager??
Context:
The night before the scan, I received a confirmation email stating: Metallic objects (BBQs, trampolines etc) must be placed at least 50 ft away from the building to ensure scanning can be completed. (I am not disputing that)....
-I did move much of this away from the house to the back of the yard to accommodate. I had some remaining items under my deck which is part of an extension that was added on to the house. I acknowledge this and in no way was this an issue or disputed.
ON THE DAY:
-The moment the scanner arrived, I met him outside in the yard, wearing a mask. I politely took him to the back yard where I had questions about some remaining items. The 2 things in question were a camper I had at the back of my property, and items under my deck which were part of the extension. I WAS TOLD SPECIFICALLY that they didn't need to be moved because tanks aren't typically in that area. There was another table near the corner of my house that I asked about and he had no problem telling me to move it which I did.
THE PROBLEM:
-2 days later, I was told my scan results were inconclusive due to not being able to scan in the same areas I just mentioned. When I pointed out the fact that the scanner told me not to worry about moving the items during the scan because tanks aren't typically in those areas, their email response stated in part: "It's not particularly fair for us to send a technician and have them assist in moving the objects or having to adjust his schedule because the property was not prepared."
-I pointed out the fact that they didn't convey any of that on the day. He didn't tell me he didn't have time to wait around while I moved things (even though I was ready to and easily could have and offered to), and he never told me that by not moving them I would instantly receive and inconclusive result......and he should have. I waited 6 hours for their "window" of service specifically so I could meet and make sure I accommodated as much as possible. The simple fact is that most businesses would go out of their way to accommodate a customer paying for a service.....not guilt tripping someone for assuming that some questions could be asked on the day. (especially when its $400 for 15 minutes of work)
THE BIGGER PROBLEM:
-The issue isn't the fact that my results weren't to my satisfaction. The issue is the conflicting information I got on the day vs the justification I got afterwards when I pointed it out. I expressed discontent with this.
THE CUSTOMER SERVICE:
This is where the issue really starts. To sum up a few choice moments, I was told:
-Its not our job to babysit people moving stuff around their yard
-Had yelled at me: DID YOU OR DID YOU NOT READ THE EMAIL
-Was told: You can go to five other scanning services that charge 500 bucks and get the same result.
-LUCAS resorted to yelling the majority of conversation, consistently interrupted me, and I heard him say to someone "THIS **** IS TALKING IN CIRCLES AGAIN".
NEVER, have I experience anything like this from a company providing a service.
At one point while he continued yelling I simply hung up. He felt compelled to call back and continue. I was literally beside myself with disbelief. This is a company PROVIDING A SERVICE????
Initially I was very respectful. I pointed out he was yelling and told him to stop. I asked numerous times for him to stop interrupting and let me talk....to no avail. In the end I told him to go **** himself and hung up again.
I think the catalyst which set him off was the fact that I called the guy that did the scanning "some kid", which I didn't realize was actually LUCAS himself that did the scan..... which he angrily pointed out while telling me his age and experience in the industry. Great job Lucas!! A shining example of customer service!!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Owen J in North Vancouver
Owen J in North Vancouver
1 review North Vancouver, BC
0/10

Overcharged and incomplete work and Property Damage

I had such a bad experience with WCTR this is the first time I have submitted an online review. After the tank was removed WCTR did nothing to ensure I was satisfied with the final result. They left my house covered in mud all along my door, siding, BBQ and fence. Nothing was done to clean it up. I spent the better part of three hours cleaning my property and fixing the work they had not done in filling the hole. Additionally, although I had asked for an invoice, while I was away, the office manager, Lucas, bullied my wife into submitting a CC payment. AFTER payment was made and invoice was produced with a hidden fuel surcharge and tax added in that had not been in the contract. Also, the crew dropped four of my deck chairs into the 9 foot hole during clean up. The powder coating was scraped off and now the chairs are rusting. Lucas won't even talk about the chairs, claims that they filled in the hole fully (they did not) and now when I ask for refund of the hidden charge tells me my emails are considered 'harassment'. Stay away from this company at all costs unless you enjoy being treated with disrespect, deceived to and overcharged. I wish I had never used them - terrible aftertaste

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Owen;

We apologize for your dissatisfaction. We never want to have an upset customer and have attempted to correct this. We have offered you an apology and attempted to rectify the situation. We feel compelled to address these issues directly---

1) Our office did in fact email you an invoice, and your wife reviewed it with our office on the phone. We were specifically asked by you to deal with your wife directly and collect a credit card payment because you were away on business. Nobody was bullied and we do have emails which we can provide contrary to your claims.

2) Our crew did in fact back-fill the void left in the ground. Our contract clearly states that restoration of the area and new landscaping is not included in our scope of work, and we have photos to show the work being completed contrary to your claims.

3) Although we do not provide warranties on back-fill, a crew was sent to attempt to rectify the situation. They brought in more material and cleaned up for you on a goodwill basis. We then took photos of your property which show the back-fill was completed including washing down of all the surrounding areas.

4) Regarding possible damage to your yard belongings- it was many weeks after the work was done that we received your complaint. We have asked several times for photos or proof of our crew damaging the items on your property and if received, we would have gladly taken care of the issue, if any. We have received nothing.

We again apologize to you for the misunderstandings and your concerns. We have many times tried to address them with you and rectify the situation. We will keep the photos of our completed work and look forward to showing the photos to any current or potential customers who are reading this review who want proof that we completed the work.

-West Coast Tank Recovery
Customer Satisfaction Team

Richard in Vancouver
Richard in Vancouver
1 review Vancouver, BC
8/10

Oil tank removal

We hired them to remove a buried oil tank from our back yar. West Coast organized the whole process, completed their work capably and quickly, at a reasonable cost. We have no complaints or criticisms whatsoever.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you, Richard. Your review is much appreciated and we are glad we provided professional and satisfactory service.

-West Coast Tank Recovery

Chrislana in
Chrislana in
1 review Vancouver, BC
10/10

Oil tank removal and contaminated soil remediation

I would highly recommend West Coast. I had a complicated job (very tight time deadline, constrained area to work in, a leaking tank with soil contamination) and West Coast went above and beyond to ensure that the work was done properly and on time. They gave great advise throughout the process and each and every person I dealt with was knowledgeable, courteous, and helpful.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you for your review! We appreciated your business and are glad we were of service.

-West Coast Tank Recovery

Tom Fry in West vancouver
Tom Fry in West vancouver
4 reviews West Vancouver, BC
10/10

Oil Tank Scan and letter

West Coast Oil Tank Recovery came highly recommended to me by my Realtor. I called and they can and did the scan on the day and time requested. The scan result was that no oil tank was found and West Coast Oil Tank Recovery promptly provided a professional letter stating same. I highly recommend West Coast Oil Tank Recovery to all and without hesitation.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you for the review,Tom!

-West Coast Tank Recovery

Mary in North Vancouver
Mary in North Vancouver
1 review North Vancouver, BC

First Review

10/10

Tank Scan and removal service

I highly recommend West Coast Tank removal. They always respond quickly and always fit me in. My homeowners are always happy whether they just scan or if they have had to remove a tank!
I needed a scan done before we entered into a multiple Offer situation- this would be a subject free offer. They managed to meet my deadline! Very grateful and relieved!

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you! We appreciate your review, Mary.

-West Coast Tank Recovery

The reviews on this page are the subjective opinion of the Author and not of HomeStars Inc.

More about West Coast Oil Tank Recovery

Providing Oil Tank Detection & Removal, Contaminated Land Remediation in the entire Lower Mainland and Fraser Valley. Free estimates.
Company profile information is not moderated by HomeStars. Ask the contractor to verify before hiring.
Looking for Excavation pros in North Vancouver?