Kitchen & Bath Design And Renovation Center

Kitchen & Bathroom - Cabinets & Design
5809 Macleod Trail Southwest Calgary AB T2H 0J9
Write a Review
Write a Review
dgmcdnld in Airdrie
dgmcdnld in Airdrie
2 reviews Airdrie, AB

First Review

0/10

Unfinished Job

I just wanted to update this business is now on Kijiji and I wanted to warn consumers.
This business gives all the contractors a bad name.

403.618.3413
https://www.kijiji.ca/o-posters-other-ads/1007274621

BBB Accreditation

On 08/14/2017 this company's accreditation in BBB was revoked by BBB's Board of Directors due to recent government action involving the business's customer relations which indicates a significant failure of the business to meet standards of conduct expected of a BBB member and unresolved complaint(s).

This Business Is Not BBB Accredited

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

GOVERNMENT ACTION
The following describes a government action that has been resolved by either a settlement or a decision by a court or administrative agency. If the matter is being appealed, it will be noted below.

On June 1, 2017 Global Stone Inc. was fined $1,000 and Eliahu Yaacov Lapid was fined $862 for operating without a licence which is in contravention of the Fair Trading Act.

The charges were laid by the Government of Alberta.

Jan 10th 2017

update:

I have a civil clamin against this company; they didn't show for court.
Make sure you also review the BBB website for all the complaints!

Thanks

I have submitted a claim with the BBB, City of Calgary and Alberta Consumer Complaint.

I'm moving on with a new contractor to finish the work.

Hi,

Update Sept 1st 2016 -

I have put the company on 15 day termination notice, it has been 8 business days and no one has been back tot the project and the Sub has not been paid, I will keep you updated.

I’m writing this review on Aug 26th 2016 while in the progress of the Reno.

We hired Kitchen Bath Design (Global Stone INC) May 28th 2016 and are working with Jacob currently, Jacob seems very experienced, friendly, knowledgeable and has good reviews.

I liked how we were able to pick from various selections and Jacob had great suggestions on what items to pick.

I liked how Jacob wrote up a contract with all the items to buy and what was being installed and the payment schedule seemed good (50%) down payment and 3 other payments (20%, 20%, 10%) as certain goals are met during construction.

The Good –
Supplies are ordered and onsite, the sub contractors work seems good and professional quality.

We are about 4 weeks into the project, electrical, plumbing, tub frame are complete.

The Concerns -
The project was suppose to start on July 4th but due to shipping delays of the jetted tub the project started on July 23rd 2016.

There seems to be lack of communication between the sub contractors and Jacob, on various things like what work too complete, time to show up at the project. I found the sub contractors would just randomly show up at my home and expect I’m home or show up hours later or not show up.

Jacob asked for one of the 20% goal payments on Friday July 29th even though the construction goal was not met, he said he had to pay the sub contractors (this raised a flag) but I agreed to pay as Jacob promised to meet the goal that weekend (July 30th, July 31st). After Jacob left the project; I asked the Sub Contractor what time to expect him on the weekend, he indicated he is not working this weekend so the goal was not met that weekend.

As of Aug 22nd I have no sub contractors at the project, the sub contractor will not work on the project until paid by Jacob.

Jacob is currently out of town and has no way to pay the sub contractor so Jacob asked me to pay the sub contractor $1,500-$2,000 directly from the next 20% goal payment. My concern is these goal payments are in place on a signed contract to protect both parties and ensure to have the job is completed.

I have refused to pay the sub contractor directly as I pay Jacob and he is in charge of the sub contractors; now the project is on hold waiting for Jacob brother to come to Calgary which should be mid week Aug 31st to continue the project.

I will keep you updated on the progress and how it all turns out.

Thanks,

Doug MacDonald

Was this review helpful?

Previous versions of this review:

dgmcdnld in Airdrie
dgmcdnld in Airdrie
2 reviews Airdrie, AB

First Review

4/10

Unfinished Job

Hi,

Update Sept 1st 2016 -

I have put the company on 15 day termination notice, it has been 8 business days and no one has been back tot the project and the Sub has not been paid, I will keep you updated.

I’m writing this review on Aug 26th 2016 while in the progress of the Reno.

We hired Kitchen Bath Design (Global Stone INC) May 28th 2016 and are working with Jacob currently, Jacob seems very experienced, friendly, knowledgeable and has good reviews.

I liked how we were able to pick from various selections and Jacob had great suggestions on what items to pick.

I liked how Jacob wrote up a contract with all the items to buy and what was being installed and the payment schedule seemed good (50%) down payment and 3 other payments (20%, 20%, 10%) as certain goals are met during construction.

The Good –
Supplies are ordered and onsite, the sub contractors work seems good and professional quality.

We are about 4 weeks into the project, electrical, plumbing, tub frame are complete.

The Concerns -
The project was suppose to start on July 4th but due to shipping delays of the jetted tub the project started on July 23rd 2016.

There seems to be lack of communication between the sub contractors and Jacob, on various things like what work too complete, time to show up at the project. I found the sub contractors would just randomly show up at my home and expect I’m home or show up hours later or not show up.

Jacob asked for one of the 20% goal payments on Friday July 29th even though the construction goal was not met, he said he had to pay the sub contractors (this raised a flag) but I agreed to pay as Jacob promised to meet the goal that weekend (July 30th, July 31st). After Jacob left the project; I asked the Sub Contractor what time to expect him on the weekend, he indicated he is not working this weekend so the goal was not met that weekend.

As of Aug 22nd I have no sub contractors at the project, the sub contractor will not work on the project until paid by Jacob.

Jacob is currently out of town and has no way to pay the sub contractor so Jacob asked me to pay the sub contractor $1,500-$2,000 directly from the next 20% goal payment. My concern is these goal payments are in place on a signed contract to protect both parties and ensure to have the job is completed.

I have refused to pay the sub contractor directly as I pay Jacob and he is in charge of the sub contractors; now the project is on hold waiting for Jacob brother to come to Calgary which should be mid week Aug 31st to continue the project.

I will keep you updated on the progress and how it all turns out.

Thanks,

Doug MacDonald

Was this review helpful?